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      Illinois Department of Revenue     

Illinois Filing, Payment, and Refund Resources for Marketplace  
Facilitators, Marketplace Sellers,  and Remote Retailers 

 
 Filing, Paying, and Refunds 

ID* Description Explanation Reference 

2003 Filing returns If  a retailer’s** annual gross receipts average $20,000 or more, as determined by IDOR, it is required 
to electronically file Form ST-1. Form ST-1 may be electronically filed for free using MyTax Illinois, or 
through a direct file service. Open accounts have a filing expectation, even if there are no taxable 
sales. Remote retailers and CSPs are mandated to electronically file and pay. Form ST-2, along with 
Form ST-1, will need to be completed for destination-based sales. See Destination-Based Sales Tax 
Assistance Effective January 1, 2021 for more information.  

86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 
130.535 and 
130.545 

2004 Due dates Form ST-1 returns are due on the 20th of the month following the end of the reporting period in 
which sales are made. At the time of registration, IDOR will assign the CSP, marketplace facilitator, 
remote retailer, or out-of-state retailer with physical presence to a monthly or quarterly filing 
f requency. 

86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 130.545 

2005 Payments Payment of tax is due with Form ST-1. A retailer with an average monthly liability of $20,000 or more 
during the preceding four complete calendar quarters will be required to make accelerated payments 
following notification by IDOR. The amount of the payments will be equal to 22.5% of the actual 
liability for the month or 25% of the retailer’s liability for the same calendar month of the preceding 
year or 100% of the actual liability for the quarter monthly reporting period. Retailers shall make 
payment to IDOR on or before the 7th, 15th, 22nd and last day of the month during which such 
liability is incurred. Electronic payment is required for annual liabilities of $20,000 or more. 

 
86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 130.535 

2006 Retailer's discount Retailers who f ile returns and pay tax on time may take a discount of 1.75 percent (.0175) of the Use 
Tax properly collected on receipts from sales. The discount is not allowed on excess tax collected 
(tax improperly collected) or on Use Tax paid on purchases for use by the retailer. In the case of 
partial payment or accelerated payers, the discount will be calculated on the portion of timely paid 
tax. If  a retailer is mandated to electronically file Form ST-1 and fails to file electronically, the 
discount will not be allowed. See Filing returns (ID 2003). The entity that files Form ST-1 is the only 
entity allowed the discount, e.g., remote retailers using a CSP do not get the discount.  

Publication 113 
and 
86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 
130.535 and 
130.545 

2007 Penalties Please see Publication 103 for a detailed explanation of penalties. To request an abatement of 
penalty for reasonable cause, submit a letter to IDOR detailing your request. 

Publication 103 

2008 Tax paid in error - no 
direct refund from 
IDOR to purchaser 
allowed 

IDOR does not refund sales or use tax remitted by retailers or marketplace facilitators to IDOR 
directly to purchasers. Claims for credit or a refund must be filed by retailers or marketplace 
facilitators on Form ST-1-X. To file a claim for credit or a refund the retailer must first return the tax to 
the purchaser or execute an instrument promising to unconditionally refund the tax to the purchaser 
before the claim for credit or a refund is allowed. 

 
86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 130.1501 

*ID column is a unique numerical identifier for each item to be used by programmers. 
**The term “Retailer”, as used in this document. includes marketplace facilitators, marketplace sellers, and remote retailers, unless otherwise specified. 

https://mytax.illinois.gov/
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/taxinformation/sales/Pages/Destination-Based-Sales-Tax-Assistance-Effective-January-1%2c-2021.aspx
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/taxinformation/sales/Pages/Destination-Based-Sales-Tax-Assistance-Effective-January-1%2c-2021.aspx
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05350R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/legalinformation/regs/Documents/part130/130-545.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05450R.html
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05450R.html
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05350R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/publications/pubs/Documents/pub-113.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/publications/pubs/Documents/pub-113.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/publications/pubs/Documents/pub-113.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05350R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/legalinformation/regs/Documents/part130/130-545.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05450R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/publications/pubs/Documents/pub-103.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/publications/pubs/Documents/pub-103.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300O15010R.html
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Filing, Paying, and Refunds 

ID* Description Explanation Reference 

2009 How to file a claim for 
credit or refund 

You must file Form ST-1-X, Amended Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge Return, if you are a 
registered retailer** who files Form ST-1, Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge Return, and you 
need to request a credit or refund for tax, E911 Surcharge, or ITAC Assessment you overpaid. Do not 
f ile Form ST-1-X for amounts less than $1. Do not use the credit until we notify you that your credit 
has been approved. 
 

 

2009.1 Tax paid in error – 
claims for credit or 
refund must be filed 
by the entity which 
paid the tax in error 
to IDOR 

Retailers may, but are not required to, file a claim for credit if they have overpaid their sales or use tax 
obligation, providing they have unconditionally repaid to the purchaser any amount collected from the 
purchaser with respect to the same transaction. The statute of limitations for f iling a claim is 36 
months to 42 months depending upon the filing period in which the tax was erroneously paid. 

 
86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 
130.1501 
and 140.1401 

2010 Credit memorandum - 
refunds to the entity 
which paid the tax in 
error to IDOR 

Once IDOR has approved a credit and issued a credit memorandum, a retailer may request a cash 
refund by filing Form ST-6. Refunds shall be made only from such appropriations as may be available 
for that purpose. If it appears likely the amount appropriated would not be sufficient to pay every claim 
allowed during the period covered by such appropriation, IDOR will make such refunds only in 
hardship cases. 

86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 
130.1510 
and 
140.1401 

2011 Credit memorandum - 
transfers 

Once IDOR has approved a credit and issued a credit memorandum, a retailer may request to have 
the credit memorandum transferred to another retailer by filing Form ST-6. The credit memorandum 
will not be available to the second retailer until such time as IDOR notifies the retailer. 

 
86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 140.1405 

2012 Converting credits to 
accelerated 
payments 

Retailers who are required to remit quarter-monthly payments may request IDOR to apply any credit 
on their account to their quarter-monthly payments. They may do so by notifying IDOR at least one 
day before the payment due date. Failure to timely notify IDOR of a request to apply a credit as an 
accelerated payment may result in an assessment of penalty. See IDR-825, Guidelines for Quarter-
monthly (Accelerated) Payments. 

 
86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 130.535 

2013 Rounding Rule To round you must  
• drop amounts under 50 cents and 
• increase amounts of 50 to 99 cents to the next dollar. 

For example, $1.49 becomes $1 and $2.50 becomes $3. If  you need to add two or more amounts to 
f igure the amount to enter on a line, include cents when adding the amounts and round only the total.   

 

 
 
 
*ID column is a unique numerical identifier for each item to be used by programmers.  
**The term “Retailer”, as used in this document. includes marketplace facilitators, marketplace sellers, and remote retailers, unless otherwise specified. 
 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300O15010R.html
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001400N14010R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/forms/sales/Documents/sales/st-6.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300O15100R.html
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001400N14010R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/forms/sales/Documents/sales/st-6.pdf
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001400N14050R.html
https://www2.illinois.gov/rev/research/publications/Documents/sales/IDR-825.pdf#search=idr%20825
https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/086/086001300E05350R.html



