

Informational Bulletin

David Harris, Director

Telecommunications Excise Tax Rate Change, Effective July 1, 2025

This bulletin is written to inform you of recent changes; it does not replace statutes, rules and regulations, or court decisions.

To: All persons who, in the ordinary course of business, provide telecommunications service

For information Visit our website at: tax.illinois.gov



Call us at: 217 782-7517

Effective **July 1, 2025**, the state Telecommunications Excise Tax rate increases from **7 percent** to **8.65 percent**. The increase is designated to support the state 9-8-8 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline. See 35 ILCS 630/3(c) and 4(c), as amended by P.A. 104-0006.

How can I verify the rate of Telecommunications Excise Tax for each municipality and county where I provide service?

To verify your telecommunications tax rates (i.e., state and local telecommunications taxes) go to the **MyTax Illinois Tax Rate Finder** at **mytax.illinois.gov** and select rates for July 2025.

If you file Form RT-2, Telecommunications Tax Return, electronically using MyTax Illinois at **mytax.illinois.gov**, the rates will be populated for you on Form RT-2-M, Telecommunications Tax Schedule, according to the locations you register. MyTax Illinois allows users to add or remove locations using the Maintain Locations link in your Telecommunications Excise Tax account. You also can contact us by calling 217 785-3707 or writing to:

CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19030 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9030

It is important to keep your registration information updated so your returns will include the correct tax rates.

How do I file Form RT-2 and pay the tax due?

You can use MyTax Illinois to submit Form RT-2 and your payment electronically. Electronic filing options are also available through certain tax preparation services. Form RT-2 also is available on our website at **tax.illinois.gov**.

When is Form RT-2 due?

You must submit Form RT-2, along with your payment for any tax due, on or before the last day of the month following the reporting period.

Note: If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, your return and payment are due the next business day.