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In an effort to assist taxpayers, the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) is 
providing guidance regarding quarter-monthly (accelerated) payments. 

How does IDOR calculate the amount of 
quarter-monthly (accelerated) payment I must 
make?
Illinois law allows taxpayers that are required to make quarter-monthly 
(accelerated) payments two options for calculating those payments:
• Option 1 - at least 22.5 percent of the taxpayer’s current month’s actual

tax liability, or
• Option 2 - 25 percent of the taxpayer’s actual tax liability for the same

month of the preceding year.

IDOR uses the minimum amount calculated using both options to determine 
whether you have met your statutory obligation. That is, if option 1 calculates 
to a lower amount than option 2, we use that amount as your required payment 
amount. Note that you may be subject to penalties if you pay less than the 
required minimum amount. For more information on penalties, see Publication 
103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes.

For example, assume in the current month that your business collected a 
total of $24,000 in tax. For the same month last year, assume your business 
collected a total of $30,000 in tax. 
Option 1
The minimum weekly payment amount due using option 1 is calculated 
as 22.5 percent (.225) of the actual liability for the current month: 
$24,000 X .225 = $5,400. 
Option 2
The minimum weekly payment amount due using option 2 is calculated 
as 25 percent (.25) of the actual liability for the same month of the 
preceding year: $30,000 X .25 = $7,500. 
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In the above example, IDOR would use option 1 to 
determine whether you met your quarter-monthly payment 
responsibility because it is the lesser amount.

Prior to each quarter, when IDOR sends you a letter 
containing your quarter-monthly (accelerated) payment 
requirements, we use the latter of these two amounts 
(i.e., 25 percent of the retailer’s liability for the same month 
last year) because we have no way of knowing what a 
retailer’s current monthly liability will be until that retailer 
files its return for that month. 

IDOR also uses the amount based on last year’s liability in 
the application to schedule quarter-monthly (accelerated) 
tax payments in MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov.

What if I have no tax collections or 
greatly reduced tax collections for the 
current month?
No collections
If you have no tax collections for the current month, 
you are not required to make any quarter-monthly 
(accelerated) payments. Your minimum amount, as 
calculated using option 1 above, due in this situation is $0 
(i.e., $0 X .225 = $0).

Reduced collections
If your tax collections are greatly reduced for the 
current month, you may calculate your quarter-monthly 
(accelerated) payments using an estimate of what you 
believe will be the actual current month’s tax liability.

• Example 1
You have plans to close your business temporarily
starting in the middle of the month. If at this point, after
making two payments according to IDOR’s payment
schedule, you estimate that you have met or exceeded
what your actual tax liability will be for the month, you
may choose not to make your final two payments.

• Example 2
You realize, after making two payments according to
IDOR’s payment schedule, that those payments likely
will meet or exceed what you estimate will be your
actual tax liability for the month. In this situation, you
may choose to reduce the amount or to not make your
final two payments.

• Example 3
You have closely tracked your receipts for the month
and have made two payments based on estimates of
those receipts. You realize that you estimated too high
for your current month’s receipts and that the payments
you made likely will meet or exceed what you estimate
will be your actual tax liability for the month. In this
situation, you may choose to reduce the amount or to
not make your remaining payments.

However, as noted above, you may be subject to penalties 
if IDOR subsequently determines that you did not meet 
your minimum quarter-monthly (accelerated) threshold. 
For more information on penalties, see Publication 103, 
Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes.

If I have no tax collections and have 
made no payments for the current 
month, do I still need to file a return?
Yes. Even if you have no tax collections for the current 
month and have made no payments, you are still required 
to file your return with IDOR.

If I am using MyTax Illinois to make 
my quarter-monthly (accelerated) 
payments, can I change the amount 
that IDOR displays?
Yes. MyTax Illinois allows the user to change the amount 
that IDOR pre-populates to schedule quarter-monthly 
(accelerated) tax payments. 

Am I able to cancel a payment I 
previously submitted using MyTax 
Illinois that has not yet been 
processed?
Yes. MyTax Illinois allows the user to cancel pending tax 
payments. See IDOR’s Instructions to Cancel a Login 
Payment Request on MyTax Illinois, available on the IDOR 
website at tax.illinois.gov.

What happens if I overpay my final 
liability?
If your quarter-monthly (accelerated) payments exceed the 
total liability for the month shown on your tax return, you 
will have an overpayment credit that you may apply against 
existing or future liabilities, including future quarter-monthly 
(accelerated) payments. See IDR-825, Guidelines for 
Quarter-monthly (Accelerated) Payments, for more 
information on applying overpayment credit.

What if I have questions?
If you have questions, visit our website at tax.illinois.gov, 
see IDR-825, Guidelines for Quarter-monthly (Accelerated) 
Payments, or email us at REV.TA-Sales@illinois.gov. 
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