
ILLINOIS REGISTER 
 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 
 
1) Heading of the Part:  Retailers' Occupation Tax 
 
2) Code Citation:  86 Ill. Adm. Code 130 
 
3) Section Numbers:   Proposed Actions: 

130.501    Amendment 
130.535    Amendment 
130.565    New Section 
130.1520    Amendment 
130.2500    Amendment 

 
4) Statutory Authority:  Implementing the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act [35 ILCS 120] 

and authorized by Sections 2505-25 and 2505-795 of the Civil Administrative Code 
of Illinois. (Department of Revenue Law) [20 ILCS 2505]. 

 
5) A Complete Description of the Subjects and Issues Involved:  This rulemaking 

implements the provisions of P.A. 103-592 that impose a $1,000-per-month cap, 
effective January 1, 2025, on the discount retailers may claim when remitting 
certain taxes to the Department as reimbursement for the expenses incurred in 
keeping records, preparing and filing returns, remitting the tax and supplying data to 
the Department on request (“vendor’s discount”).  The corresponding returns on 
which the vendor’s discount is capped at $1,000 per month are Form ST-1 for non-
titled property other than aviation fuel and cannabis; Form ST-70 for aviation fuel; 
Form CD-1 for cannabis; and Forms ST-556/ST-556-LSE for titled property. 

 
6) Published studies or reports, and sources of underlying data, used to compose this 

rulemaking:  None 
 
7) Will this proposed rulemaking replace an emergency rule currently in effect?  No 
 
8) Does this rulemaking contain an automatic repeal date?  No 
 
9) Does this proposed rulemaking contain incorporations by reference?  No 
 
10) Are there any other proposed rulemakings pending on this Part?  Yes 

 
Section Numbers Proposed Actions Illinois Register Citations  
130.305  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.13979; September 20, 2024 
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130.1415  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.13979; September 20, 2024 
130.1955  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.13979; September 20, 2024 
130.1970  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.13979; September 20, 2024 
130.2100  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.13979; September 20, 2024 
130.2110  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.13979; September 20, 2024 
130.801  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.14233; October 4, 2024 
130.805  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.14233; October 4, 2024 
130.810  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.14233; October 4, 2024 
130.820  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.14233; October 4, 2024 
130.825  Amendment  48 Ill. Reg.14233; October 4, 2024 
130.541  New Section  48 Ill. Reg. 15268; November 1, 2024 
130.2532  New Section  48 Ill. Reg. 17483; December 6, 2024 
130.120  Amendment   48 Ill. Reg. 17691; December 13, 2024 

 130.341  Repealed  48 Ill. Reg. 17691; December 13, 2024 
 
11) Statement of Statewide Policy Objectives:  These rules do not create or enlarge a 

mandate as described in Section 3(b) of the State Mandates Act. 
 
12) Time, Place, and Manner in which interested persons may comment on this 
proposed rulemaking:  Persons who wish to submit comments on this proposed 
rulemaking may submit them in writing by no later than 45 days after publication of this 
Notice to: 
 

Samuel J. Moore 
Illinois Department of Revenue 
Legal Services Office 
101 West Jefferson 
Springfield, Illinois  62794 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov 
(217) 782-7055 

 
13) Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis: 
 

A) Types of small businesses, small municipalities and not for profit 
corporations affected:  Retailers who report less than $914,286 per month in 
taxable gross sales receipts at a 6.25% sales tax rate are not affected. 
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B) Reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures required for compliance:  Basic 
accounting and computer skills. 
 

C) Types of professional skills necessary for compliance:  Basic accounting and 
computer skills. 

 
14) Small Business Impact Analysis: 
 

A) Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule: 
 

44-45 Retail Trade 
 
B) Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking will impact, 

including: 
 
ii. regulatory requirements; 
iii. purchasing; 
viii. record keeping 

 
15) Regulatory Agenda on which this rulemaking was summarized:  July 2024 

 
The full text of the Proposed Amendments begins on the next page: 
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Section 130.501  Monthly Tax Returns – When Due – Contents 
 

a) Except as provided in Section 130.502, 130.510 and 130.2045, on or before 
the twentieth day of each calendar month, every person engaged in the 
business of selling tangible personal property at retail in this State during the 
preceding calendar month shall file a return with the Department for the 
preceding month, stating the name of the seller, the seller’s residence 
address and the address of the seller’s principal place of business, and the 
address of the principal place of business (if that is a different address) from 
which the seller engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property 
at retail in this State.  On and after January 1, 2018, except for returns 
required to be filed prior to January 1, 2023, for motor vehicles, watercraft, 
aircraft, and trailers that are required to be registered with an agency of this 
State, with respect to retailers whose annual gross receipts average $20,000 
or more, all returns required to be filed pursuant to the Act shall be filed 
electronically.  On and after January 1, 2023, with respect to retailers whose 
annual gross receipts average $20,000 or more, all returns required to be 
filed pursuant to the Act, including, but not limited to, returns for motor 
vehicles, watercraft, aircraft, and trailers that are required to be registered 
with an agency of this State, shall be filed electronically.  Retailers who 
demonstrate that they do not have access to the Internet or demonstrate 
hardship in filing electronically may petition the Department to waive the 
electronic filing requirement. [35 ILCS 120/3] 

 
b) In addition, the return shall disclose the following: 

 
1) Total Receipts for the Month from Sales of Tangible Personal Property 

and Services. Real estate builders and construction contractors, who 
are also retailers, and who assume the responsibility for accounting 
for the tax on building materials they purchase, must include, in total 
receipts, not only their receipts from "over-the-counter" resales of 
those materials, but also their cost prices of the materials that they 
convert into real estate (see Section 130.2075). This may be 
accomplished in the case of a construction contractor by including 
the contractor’s receipts from construction contracts in total receipts 
and by deducting those receipts from total receipts only to the extent 
to which those receipts exceed the cost price to the contractor of the 
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tangible personal property that the contractor incorporates into real 
estate as a construction contractor. 

 
2) Deductions Allowed by Law 

The taxpayer should include in the taxpayer’s total receipts, but 
should deduct before computing the amount of the tax: 

 
A) taxes collected from sales of the following: 

 
i) general merchandise retail sales; 

 
ii) general merchandise service sales; 

 
iii) food, drugs and medical appliances retail sales; 

 
iv) food, drugs and medical appliances service sales; 

 
B) receipts from sales of tangible personal property for purposes 

of resale in any form as tangible personal property (see 
Subparts B and N); 

 
C) receipts from sales that are within the protection of the 

Commerce Clause of the Constitution of the United States 
(see Section 130.605); 

 
D) cash refunds for returned merchandise (see Section 130.401); 

 
E) receipts from the sales of newspapers and magazines (see 

Section 130.2105); 
 

F) State motor fuel taxes collected; 
 

G) the exempt receipts or exempt percentage of receipts from 
sales of gasohol, biodiesel, renewable diesel, and blended 
fuels as described in Section 130.320; 

 
H) receipts from sales of any kind to any corporation, society, 

association, foundation or institution organized and operated 
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exclusively for charitable, religious or educational purposes or 
any not-for-profit corporation, society, association, 
foundation, institution or organization that has no 
compensated officers or employees and that is organized and 
operated primarily for the recreation of persons 55 years of age 
and older (see Section 130.2005); 

 
I) receipts from sales of any kind to a governmental body (see 

Section 130.2080); 
 

J) receipts from nontaxable sales of service; 
 

K) any other deduction allowed by law, such as receipts from 
isolated or occasional sales (see Section 130.110); federal 
taxes that are imposed at the level of the retail sale, but not 
federal excise taxes on manufacturers, etc. (see Section 
130.445); and 

 
L) total of all deductions allowed by law. 

 
3) Total receipts that are obtained by subtracting deductions from total 

receipts. 
 

4) The Amount of Tax Due 
 

A) An allowance, not to exceed $1,000 per month beginning on 
January 1, 2025, is available to reimburse the taxpayer for the 
expenses incurred in keeping records, preparing and filing 
returns, remitting the tax and supplying data to the 
Department on request.  The minimum discount, over the 
entire period of any given calendar year, for any single taxpayer 
(if the taxpayer incurs that much tax liability) shall be $5.00 for 
that calendar year.  This allowance is available when the tax is 
remitted with a return that is filed when due under the Act, but 
is not available in any case in which the tax is paid late (with or 
without a return, and whether or not formally assessed by the 
Department); in the case of retailers who report and pay the 
tax on a transaction by transaction basis, the discount shall be 
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taken with each tax remittance instead of when the retailer 
files its periodic return.  Retailers required to file returns 
electronically pursuant to the Act who fail to file their returns 
electronically may not take the discount allowed to reimburse 
retailers for the expenses incurred in keeping records, 
preparing and filing returns, remitting the tax and supplying 
data to the Department on request. 

 
B) Balance of Tax Due 

 
i) The return should also show the amount of penalty (if 

any) that is due, the total of the tax and penalty due, 
and such other reasonable information as the 
Department may require. 

 
ii) If a total amount of less than $1 is payable, refundable 

or creditable, the amount shall be disregarded if it is 
less than 50 cents and shall be increased to $1 if it is 50 
cents or more.  Any amount that is required to be shown 
or reported on any return or other document under the 
Act shall, if the amount is not a whole-dollar amount, be 
increased to the nearest whole-dollar amount in any 
case in which the fractional part of a dollar is 50 cents 
or more, and decreased to the nearest whole-dollar 
amount when the fractional part of a dollar is less than 
50 cents (Section 3 of the Act). 

 
iii) The Department may require returns to be filed on a 

quarterly basis. If so required, a return for each 
calendar quarter shall be filed on or before the 
twentieth day of the calendar month following the end 
of such calendar quarter. The taxpayer shall also file a 
return with the Department for each of the first two 
months of each calendar quarter, on or before the 
twentieth day of the following calendar month, stating: 

 
• The name of the seller; 
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• The address of the principal place of business from 
which the seller engages in the business of selling 
tangible personal property at retail in this State; 

 
• The total amount of taxable receipts received by the 

seller during the preceding calendar month or 
quarter from sales of tangible personal property by 
the seller during the preceding calendar month or 
quarter, including receipts from charge and time 
sales, but less all deductions allowed by law; 

 
• The amount of credit provided in Section 2d of the 

Act; 
 

• The amount of tax due; 
 

• The amount of penalty due, if any; and 
 

• Such other reasonable information as the 
Department may require.  (Section 3 of the Act) 

 
c) Returns must be signed by the taxpayer.  If a taxpayer fails to sign a return 

within 30 days after the proper notice and demand for signature by the 
Department, the return shall be considered valid and any amount shown to 
be due on the return shall be deemed assessed. (Section 3 of the Act) 

 
(Source:  Amended at 49 Ill. Reg. _____, effective __________) 

 
Section 130.535  Payment of the Tax, Including Quarter Monthly Payments in Certain 
Instances 
 

a) Except as noted hereinafter, at the same time that a tax return required by 
the provisions of the Act is filed with the Department, the taxpayer shall pay 
the tax that is due with such return to the Department. 

 
b) Before October 1, 2000, if the taxpayer's average monthly tax liability to the 

Department under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, the Use Tax Act, the 
Service Occupation Tax Act, the Service Use Tax Act, excluding any liability 
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for prepaid sales tax to be remitted in accordance with Section 2d of the Act, 
was $10,000 or more during the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters, he 
shall file a return with the Department each month by the 20th day of the 
month next following the month during which such tax liability is incurred 
and shall make payments to the Department on or before the 7th, 15th, 22nd 
and last day of the month during which such liability is incurred. If the month 
during which such tax liability is incurred begins on or after January 1, 1988 
and prior to January 1, 1989, each payment shall be in an amount equal to 
22.5% of the taxpayer's actual liability for the month or 25% of the taxpayer's 
liability for the same calendar month of the preceding year. If the month 
during which such tax liability is incurred begins on or after January 1, 1989, 
and prior to January 1, 1996, each payment shall be in an amount equal to 
22.5% of the taxpayer's actual liability for the month or 25% of the taxpayer's 
liability for the same calendar month of the preceding year or 100% of the 
taxpayer's actual liability for the quarter monthly reporting period. If the 
month during which such tax liability is incurred begins on or after January 1, 
1996, each payment shall be in an amount equal to 22.5% of the taxpayer's 
actual liability for the month or 25% of the taxpayer's liability for the same 
calendar month of the preceding year. The amount of such payments shall 
be credited against the final tax liability of the taxpayer's return for that 
month.  Prior to January 1, 1999, if any such payment is not paid at the time 
or in the amount required in this subsection, then the taxpayer's 2%, 2.1% or 
1.75% vendors' discount shall be reduced by 2%, 2.1% or 1.75% of the 
difference between the minimum amount due as a payment and the amount 
of such quarter monthly payment actually and timely paid, and the taxpayer 
shall be liable for penalties and interest on such difference except insofar as 
the taxpayer has previously made payments for that month to the 
Department in excess of the minimum payments previously due as provided 
in this Section.  Beginning on and after January 1, 1999, if any such payment 
is not paid at the time or in the amount required in this subsection, then the 
taxpayer shall be liable for penalties and interest on the difference between 
the minimum amount due as a payment and the amount of such quarter 
monthly payment actually and timely paid, except insofar as the taxpayer 
has previously made payments for that month to the Department in excess 
of the minimum payments previously due as provided in this Section. 

 
On and after October 1, 2000, if the taxpayer's average monthly tax liability to 
the Department under the Act, the Use Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax 
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Act, and the Service Use Tax Act, excluding any liability for prepaid sales tax 
to be remitted in accordance with Section 2d of the Act, was $20,000 or more 
during the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters, he shall file a return with 
the Department each month by the 20th day of the month next following the 
month during which such tax liability is incurred and shall make payment to 
the Department on or before the 7th, 15th, 22nd and last day of the month 
during which such liability is incurred. (Section 3 of the Act) 

 
c) Before October 1, 2001, without regard to whether a taxpayer is required to 

make quarter monthly payments as specified above, any taxpayer who is 
required by Section 2d of this Act to collect and remit prepaid taxes and has 
collected prepaid taxes which average in excess of $25,000 per month during 
the preceding 2 complete calendar quarters, shall file a return with the 
Department as required by Section 2f and shall make payments to the 
Department on or before the 7th, 15th, 22nd and last day of the month during 
which such liability is incurred. If the month during which such tax liability is 
incurred begins on or after January 1, 1987, each payment shall be in an 
amount equal to 22.5% of the taxpayer's actual liability for the month or 
26.25% of the taxpayer's liability for the same calendar month of the 
preceding year.  The amount of such quarter monthly payments shall be 
credited against the final tax liability of the taxpayer's return for that month 
filed under this Section or Section 2f, as the case may be.  Once applicable, 
the requirement of the making of quarter monthly payments to the 
Department pursuant to this paragraph shall continue until such taxpayer's 
average monthly prepaid tax collections during the preceding 2 complete 
calendar quarters is $25,000 or less.  If any such quarter monthly payment is 
not paid at the time or in the amount required, the taxpayer shall be liable for 
penalties and interest on such difference, except insofar as the taxpayer has 
previously made payments for that month in excess of the minimum 
payments previously due. (Section 3 of the Act) 

 
On and after October 1, 2001, without regard to whether a taxpayer is 
required to make quarter monthly payments as specified above, any taxpayer 
who is required by Section 2d of the Act to collect and remit prepaid taxes 
and has collected prepaid taxes that average in excess of $20,000 per month 
during the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters shall file a return with the 
Department as required by Section 2f and shall make payments to the 
Department on or before the 7th, 15th, 22nd and last day of the month during 
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which the liability is incurred.  Each payment shall be in an amount equal to 
22.5% of the taxpayer's actual liability for the month or 25% of the taxpayer's 
liability for the same calendar month of the preceding year.  The amount of 
the quarter monthly payments shall be credited against the final tax liability 
of the taxpayer's return for that month filed under this Section or Section 2f of 
the Act, as the case may be.  Once applicable, the requirement of the making 
of quarter monthly payments to the Department pursuant to this paragraph 
shall continue until the taxpayer's average monthly prepaid tax collections 
during the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters (excluding the month of 
highest liability and the month of lowest liability) is less than $19,000 or until 
such taxpayer's average monthly liability to the Department as computed for 
each calendar quarter of the 4 preceding complete calendar quarters is less 
than $20,000.  If any such quarter monthly payment is not paid at the time or 
in the amount required, the taxpayer shall be liable for penalties and interest 
on such difference, except insofar as the taxpayer has previously made 
payments for that month in excess of the minimum payments previously due. 
(Section 3 of the Act) 

 
d) If any such payment or deposit provided for herein exceeds the taxpayer's 

present and probable future liabilities under the Retailers' Occupation Tax 
Act, the Use Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act and the Service Use Tax 
Act, the Department shall, if requested by the taxpayer, issue to the taxpayer 
a credit memorandum, which may be submitted by the taxpayer to the 
Department in payment of tax liability subsequently to be remitted by the 
taxpayer to the Department or be assigned by the taxpayer to a similar 
taxpayer under the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, the Use Tax Act, the 
Service Occupation Tax Act or the Service Use Tax Act.  If no such request is 
made, the taxpayer may credit such excess payment against tax liability 
subsequently to be remitted to the Department under the Act, the Use Tax 
Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act or the Service Use Tax Act.  If the 
Department subsequently determines that all or any part of the credit taken 
was not actually due to the taxpayer, the taxpayer's  vendor's discount shall 
be reduced, if necessary, to reflect the difference between the credit taken 
and that actually due, and that taxpayer shall be liable for penalties and 
interest on such difference. 

 
e) For the purposes of this Section, the phrase "preceding 4 complete calendar 

quarters" means the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters for which 
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returns would have been filed or should have been filed for the last month of 
the 4 quarter period since, until then, the making of the required 
computations for the 4 quarter period would be impossible.  For example, 
the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters with reference to a November 1, 
1976, date would actually have ended June 30, 1976, since most returns for 
the last month of that 4 quarter period would not have to have been filed 
until July 31, 1976, and the preceding 4 complete calendar quarters with 
reference to a July 1, 1977, date would actually end March 31, 1977, since 
most returns for the last month of that 4 quarter period would not have to be 
filed until April 30, 1977.  The calendar quarters are January through March, 
April through June, July through September and October through December. 

 
f) Beginning October 1, 1993, a taxpayer who has an average monthly tax 

liability of $150,000 or more shall make all payments required by rules of the 
Department (see 86 Ill. Adm. Code 750 "Payment of Taxes by Electronic 
Funds Transfer") by electronic funds transfer.  Beginning October 1, 1994, a 
taxpayer who has an average monthly tax liability of $100,000 or more shall 
make all payments required by rules of the Department by electronic funds 
transfer. Beginning October 1, 1995, a taxpayer who has an average monthly 
tax liability of $50,000 or more shall make all payments required by rules of 
the Department by electronic funds transfer. 

 
g) Beginning October 1, 2000, a taxpayer who has an annual tax liability of 

$200,000 or more shall make all payments required by rules of the 
Department by electronic funds transfer (see 86 Ill. Adm. Code 750).  The 
term "annual tax liability" shall be the sum of the taxpayer's liabilities under 
the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, and all other State and local occupation 
and use tax laws administered by the Department, for the immediately 
preceding calendar year. (Section 3 of the Act) 

 
(Source:  Amended at 49 Ill. Reg. _____, effective __________) 

 
Section 130.565  Vendor’s Discount Cap 
 

a) Periodic returns. Except as provided in Section 3 of the Retailers’ Occupation 
Tax Act, the retailer filing the return under that Section shall, at the time of 
filing such return, pay to the Department the amount of tax imposed by the 
Act less a discount of 1.75% or $5 per calendar year, whichever is greater, 
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which is allowed to reimburse the retailer for the expenses incurred in 
keeping records, preparing and filing returns, remitting the tax and supplying 
data to the Department on request. Beginning with returns due on or after 
January 1, 2025, the vendor's discount allowed under the Retailers’ 
Occupation Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act, the Use Tax Act, and the 
Service Use Tax Act, including any local tax administered by the Department 
and reported on the same return, shall not exceed $1,000 per month in the 
aggregate for returns other than transaction returns filed during the month. 
[35 ILCS 120/3] 

 
1) The following non-transaction return types are each subject to a 

separate $1,000 per month cap: 
 

A) Form ST-1, Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge Return 
(sales and use tax portion of the return).  Public Act 103-592 
imposed a separate $1,000 per month vendor’s discount cap 
on the Prepaid Wireless E911 surcharge [50 ILCS 753/15] 
reported and remitted on Schedule B of Form ST-1.  The 3% 
vendor’s discount for the Illinois Telecommunications Access 
Corporation (“ITAC”) Assessment [220 ILCS 5/13-703] also 
reported and remitted on Schedule B of Form ST-1 does not 
have a cap. 

 
B) Form ST-70, Aviation Fuel Sales and Use Tax Return. 
 
C) Form CD-1, Cannabis Dispensary Tax Return (“Step 1: Sales 

and Use Tax” portion of the return).  The “Step 2: Cannabis 
Purchaser Excise Tax” portion of Form CD-1 is subject to a 
separate statutory $1,000 per month vendor’s discount cap. 

 
D) Form LSE-1, Lease Tax Return for Vehicle Leasing Companies.  

For purposes of the vendor’s discount cap, Form LSE-1 is 
considered a periodic return subject to a separate $1,000 per 
month vendor’s discount cap.  Tax reported on Form LSE-1 is 
not reported on a transaction-by-transaction basis.  Instead 
Form LSE-1 is filed once per month to report aggregate 
monthly amounts related to numerous, previously filed, 
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transaction returns. In this capacity, it functions in the same 
manner as a periodic return, such as Form ST-1. 

 
2) Amended periodic returns.  If an amended periodic return is filed for a 

prior period and results in a reduction in the vendor’s discount 
awarded for that prior period, then the amount of any tax refund or 
credit issued to the taxpayer shall be reduced by the amount of the 
reduction in the vendor’s discount.  If an amended periodic return is 
filed for a prior period and results in an increase in tax due, then the 
vendor’s discount awarded for that period shall be increased only if 
the additional tax due had been timely paid, and in no event shall the 
vendor’s discount awarded for a given month exceed $1,000. 

 
3) The $1,000 per month vendor’s discount cap is incorporated into the 

following taxes by reference to Section 3 of the Retailers’ Occupation 
Tax Act and therefore creates a separate $1,000 per month vendor’s 
discount cap on returns filed under each of the following taxes. 

 
A) Form ST-201, Rental Purchase Agreement Occupation and Use 

Tax Return. 
 
B) Form ART-1, Automobile Renting Occupation and Use Tax 

Return. 
 
C) Form CMFT-1 County Motor Fuel Tax Return. 
 
D) Form MMFT-1 Municipal Motor Fuel Tax Return. 

 
b) Transaction returns. In the case of retailers who report and pay the tax on a 

transaction by transaction basis, as provided in Section 3 of the Retailers’ 
Occupation Tax, such discount shall be taken with each such tax remittance 
instead of when such retailer files his periodic return, but, beginning with 
returns due on or after January 1, 2025, the discount allowed under the 
Retailers’ Occupation Tax and the Use Tax Act, including any local tax 
administered by the Department and reported on the same transaction 
return, shall not exceed $1,000 per month for all transaction returns filed 
during the month. [35 ILCS 120/3] 
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1) All transaction returns filed under the same Illinois Account ID are 
subject to the $1,000 per month discount cap, which shall apply to all 
original returns filed during a given calendar month.  This means that 
the discount taken on all Form ST-556s filed under an Account ID 
during the month plus the discount taken on all Form ST-556-LSEs 
filed under the same Account ID during the same month shall not 
exceed $1,000 in total. 

 
2) For the purposes of uniform administration and to avoid assessing 

penalties and interest on taxpayers who claim excess vendor 
discount in error, for transaction returns due on or after January 1, 
2025, taxpayers may claim the discount with each tax remittance but 
shall not reduce tax payments by the amount of any discount 
claimed.  Instead, after the end of each calendar month, the 
Department shall determine the discount allowed to each taxpayer 
for that month and shall issue a discount payment to each taxpayer in 
the amount calculated, not to exceed $1,000 per Account ID per 
month for all original transaction returns filed during the month.  This 
process avoids the errors that would result if taxpayers and the 
Department attempt to track in real time the ongoing monthly 
discount total and whether the cap has been reached.  This is in light 
of the fact that transaction returns under a given Account ID may be 
filed using the Department’s online filing tool, a third party vendor, or 
paper returns, or all three during a given month as well as the fact that 
multiple returns may be filed simultaneously or nearly simultaneously 
– all of which could result in over-claiming a discount, which, in turn, 
would result in tax assessment, late payment penalties, and interest. 

 
3) Amended transaction returns.  If an amended transaction return is 

filed for a prior period which results in a reduction in tax due and 
therefore a reduction in the vendor’s discount awarded for that prior 
period, then a subsequent discount payment made to the taxpayer 
following the filing of the amended return shall be reduced to reflect 
the reduction in the prior discount amount resulting from the 
amended return. If an amended transaction return is filed for a prior 
period which results in an increase in tax due, then the vendor’s 
discount awarded for that period shall be increased only if the 
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additional tax due had been timely paid, and in no event shall the 
vendor’s discount awarded for a given month exceed $1,000. 

 
4) No interest paid.  No interest is paid on vendor discount payments. 

 
(Source:  Added at 49 Ill. Reg. _____, effective __________) 

 
SUBPART O: CLAIMS TO RECOVER ERRONEOUSLY PAID TAX 

 
Section 130.1520  Verified Credit 
 

a) Verified credit.  A verified credit is a specific type of credit arising under 
Section 3 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, which states: 

 
If any payment provided for in this Section exceeds the taxpayer's liabilities 
under this Act, the Use Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act and the 
Service Use Tax Act, as shown on an original monthly return, the Department 
shall, if requested by the taxpayer, issue to the taxpayer a credit 
memorandum no later than 30 days after the date of payment.  The credit 
evidenced by such credit memorandum may be assigned by the taxpayer to 
a similar taxpayer under this Act, the Use Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax 
Act or the Service Use Tax Act, in accordance with reasonable rules and 
regulations to be prescribed by the Department. If no such request is made, 
the taxpayer may credit such excess payment against tax liability 
subsequently to be remitted to the Department under this Act, the Use Tax 
Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act or the Service Use Tax Act, in 
accordance with reasonable rules and regulations prescribed by the 
Department.  If the Department subsequently determined that all or any part 
of the credit taken was not actually due to the taxpayer, the taxpayer's  
vendor's discount shall be reduced, if necessary, to reflect the difference 
between the credit taken and that actually due, and that taxpayer shall be 
liable for penalties and interest on such difference.  [35 ILCS 120/3] 

 
b) Verified credit – explanation – no interest paid.  A verified credit is an amount 

of tax overpaid in a prior period that may be rolled over and applied to 
subsequent tax liabilities without the need to comply with the formalities 
involved in submitting a claim for credit.  Since the taxpayer has the 
immediate use of the verified credit to apply against its liability without the 
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need to file a claim for credit and prove the overpayment, interest is not paid 
on verified credits.  (See also, 86 Ill. Adm. Code 700.230(a)(2)).  Verified 
credits appear on a taxpayer's Statement of Account. 

 
c) Verified credit − How used.  A verified credit may be used by a taxpayer in 

only 3 ways: 
 

1) It can be used to offset liability of the taxpayer that arises under this 
Act, the Use Tax Act, the Service Occupation Tax Act, or the Service 
Use Tax Act subsequent to the origination of the verified credit; 

 
2) It can be converted to a credit memorandum no later than 30 days 

after the date of overpayment, by making a request to the Department 
using forms prescribed by the Department and available at 
https://tax.illinois.gov.  See [35 ILCS 120/6a], for information required 
to be included.  Interest is not paid on verified credits that are 
converted to credit memoranda in accordance with this subsection 
(c)(2); and 

 
3) It can be converted to a credit memorandum at any time, starting 30 

days after the date of overpayment, by making a request to the 
Department using forms prescribed by the Department and available 
at https://tax.illinois.gov , and without regard to the limitations on 
claims for refund.  See also 86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.1401 for 
information on limitations and procedures.  Interest is not paid on 
verified credits that are converted to credit memoranda in 
accordance with this subsection (c)(3). 

 
d) A verified credit that is converted to a credit memorandum under this 

subsection (d) may be assigned to another taxpayer in the same manner as 
other credit memoranda issued to taxpayers by the Department. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 49 Ill. Reg. _____, effective __________) 

 
SUBPART T: DIRECT PAYMENT PROGRAM 

 
Section 130.2500  Direct Payment Program 
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a) Effective July 1, 2001, a Direct Payment Program is established. Applicants 
who have been approved to participate in the Direct Payment Program will 
be issued a Direct Pay Permit (permit) by the Department, which participants 
may provide to retailers.  Use of the permit relieves the permit holder from 
paying Use Tax (including any local occupation tax reimbursements of taxes 
administered by the Department) to the retailer at the time of purchase of 
qualifying tangible personal property.  By using the permit, the permit holder 
voluntarily agrees to assume the liabilities of the retailer to report and remit 
Retailers' Occupation Tax (including any local occupation taxes 
administered by the Department) directly to the Department as set forth in 
130.2510(d) of this Part on those sales. 

 
b) Beginning July 1, 2001, retailers who are provided with a permit from a permit 

holder purchasing qualifying tangible personal property are relieved of their 
obligation to remit the Retailers' Occupation Tax (including any local 
occupation taxes administered by the Department) incurred on the sale of 
that qualifying tangible personal property.  Retailers who are presented with 
permits are also relieved of the obligation to collect Use Tax (including any 
local occupation tax reimbursements of taxes administered by the 
Department) from the permit holder.  Retailers who make sales to permit 
holders who present their permits must report those sales on their sales and 
use tax return (Form ST-1).  The retailer must show these transactions as 
exempt sales on Line 16 (Other) of his Form ST-1 Worksheet for Line 2.  The 
exemption must be identified as "direct pay". 

 
c) Proper use of Direct Pay Permit 

 
1) In order to be relieved of his obligation to pay tax at the time of 

purchase of qualifying tangible personal property, the permit holder 
must provide the retailer with a copy of the permit, unless the retailer 
already has a copy of that permit on file. 

 
2) Once the permit holder uses his permit to be relieved of paying tax to 

a particular retailer, he must use that permit for all of his purchases of 
qualifying tangible personal property from that retailer as long as the 
permit is valid. 
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d) Retailers' Discount.  Permit holders who make purchases of qualifying 
tangible personal property and use their permits with retailers who either 
incur Retailers' Occupation Tax on those sales, or are required to collect 
Illinois Use Tax on those sales, may take the 1.75%, not to exceed $1,000 per 
month beginning on January 1, 2025, retailers' discount attributable to those 
sales. Retailers who are presented a Direct Pay Permit on purchases of 
qualifying tangible personal property are not allowed the 1.75% retailers' 
discount on those sales. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 49 Ill. Reg. _____, effective __________) 


