
  

ST 24-0032-GIL  10/09/2024  COMPUTER SOFTWARE:   
 

Computer software provided through a cloud-based delivery system is not 
subject to tax.  A cloud-based delivery system is one in which computer software 
is never downloaded onto a client’s computer and only accessed remotely.  86 Ill. 
Adm. Code 130.1935.  (This is a GIL.) 

 
October 9, 2024 
 
NAME 
ADDRESS 
 
Dear NAME:  
 

This letter is in response to your letter dated September 24, 2024, in which you 
requested information.  The Department issues two types of letter rulings.  Private Letter 
Rulings (“PLRs”) are issued by the Department in response to specific taxpayer inquiries 
concerning the application of a tax statute or rule to a particular fact situation.  A PLR is 
binding on the Department, but only as to the taxpayer who is the subject of the request 
for ruling and only to the extent the facts recited in the PLR are correct and complete.  
Persons seeking PLRs must comply with the procedures for PLRs found in the 
Department’s regulations at 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.110.  The purpose of a General 
Information Letter (“GIL”) is to direct taxpayers to Department regulations or other sources 
of information regarding the topic about which they have inquired.  A GIL is not a 
statement of Department policy and is not binding on the Department.  See 2 Ill. Adm. 
Code 1200.120.  You may access our website at https://tax.illinois.gov/ to review 
regulations, letter rulings and other types of information relevant to your inquiry. 
 

The nature of your inquiry and the information you have provided require that we 
respond with a GIL.  In your letter you have stated and made inquiry as follows: 

 
Thank you for taking the time to call me back this afternoon in response to 
my inquiry on a sales tax charge for a yearly membership to APP fitness 
app. 
 
Attached are the following documents: 
 
1. COMPANY invoice showing assessment of a $10 sales tax charge in 
connection with my yearly subscription to this app.  The invoice clearly 
identifies the $99.99 app fee as an “annual membership” renewable one 
year from now. 
 
2. Email thread from customer service department of APP. 
 
3. An Illinois Department of Revenue Private Letter Ruling, ST 17-0008-
PLR issued on September 14, 2017 that states (highlighted text) 
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membership fees are exempt from Illinois sales tax because it is an 
intangible.  Under my membership to APP app, I have no right to download 
anything for offline use or otherwise receive any tangible personal property.  
I realize that the private letter ruling is not binding on any taxpayer other 
than the one who requested it, but I am confident that the Illinois Department 
of Revenue would want to follow this private letter ruling when similar facts 
as here are present. 
 
4. A response to an AI inquiry on this issue made by AI PLATFORM that 
suggests that an Illinois sales tax should not be imposed for my purchase 
of a membership subscription to this app. 
 
I thank you for looking into this matter, and look forward to receiving your 
response.  COMPANY has already refused to refund the sales tax and 
referred me to the Illinois Department of Revenue for relief.  If you agree 
with my position, I ask your assistance when I reach out to COMPANY again 
so that I can get a credit card refund on the sales tax.  You may also want 
to issue some written guidance on this matter for me as well as other Illinois 
residents who are currently being charged a sales tax on app membership 
fees.  Thank you. 
 
NAME 
 
My residence address is: 
ADDRESS. 
 

DEPARTMENT’S RESPONSE: 
 
The Illinois Retailers’ Occupation Tax Act imposes a tax upon persons engaged in 

this State in the business of selling tangible personal property to purchasers for use or 
consumption.  86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.101.  The Use Tax Act imposes a tax upon the 
privilege of using in this State tangible personal property purchased at retail from a 
retailer.  86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.101.  These taxes comprise what is commonly known as 
“sales” tax in Illinois.  If the purchases occur in Illinois, the purchasers must pay the Use 
Tax to the retailer at the time of purchase.  The retailers are then allowed to retain the 
amount of Use Tax paid to reimburse themselves for their Retailers’ Occupation Tax 
liability incurred on those sales.  If the purchases occur outside Illinois, purchasers must 
self-assess their Use Tax liability and remit it directly to the Department.  If no tangible 
personal property is being transferred to the customers, then neither Illinois Retailers’ 
Occupation Tax nor Use Tax would apply.  Likewise, the Service Occupation Tax and 
Service Use Tax are imposed on the transfer of tangible personal property incident to 
sales of service.  86 Ill. Adm. Code 140.101 and 160.101.  If no tangible personal property 
is being transferred to customers incident to the services being provided, then neither 
Illinois Service Occupation Tax nor Service Use Tax would apply. 
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Donors of Tangible Personal Property 
 

If the arrangement between a business and a customer is such that the business 
provides tangible personal property to the customer free-of-charge, then a donor/donee 
situation may exist.  A donor who purchases tangible personal property and gives the 
tangible personal property to a donee makes a taxable use of the property when making 
the gift.  86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.305(c).  A donor owes Use Tax on the donor’s cost price 
of the tangible personal property that is transferred.  Although the donor/user is not 
taxable on the value of the finished product which he produces himself, such donor/user 
is taxable on the purchase price of the tangible personal property that he purchases and 
incorporates into such finished product which he uses in this State, such purchase being 
a purchase at retail or a purchase for use.  86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.305(b).   
 
Computer Software 
 

“‘Computer software’ means a set of statements, data, or instructions to be used 
directly or indirectly in a computer in order to bring about a certain result in any form in 
which those statements, data, or instructions may be embodied, transmitted, or fixed, by 
any method now known or hereafter developed, regardless of whether the statements, 
data, or instructions are capable of being perceived by or communicated to humans, and 
includes prewritten or canned software.”  35 ILCS 120/2-25.  Generally, sales of “canned” 
computer software are taxable retail sales in Illinois.  Canned computer software is 
considered to be tangible personal property regardless of the form in which it is 
transferred or transmitted, including tape, disc, card, electronic means, or other media.  
86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.1935.  However, if the computer software consists of custom 
computer programs, then the sales of such software may not be taxable retail sales.  
Custom computer programs or software are prepared to the special order of the customer.  
The selection of pre-written or canned programs assembled by vendors into software 
packages does not constitute custom software unless real and substantial changes are 
made to the programs or creation of program interfacing logic.  See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 
130.1935(c)(3).  Computer software that is not custom software is considered to be 
canned computer software. 

 
Software as a service is generally defined as a cloud computing service model 

where the provider licenses the use of computer software to a client and manages all 
needed physical and software resources.  The possession and ownership of software 
remains with the provider, and the client accesses the software on web-enabled devices 
over the internet.  The software is often provided on a subscription basis.  A provider of 
software as a service is acting as a serviceman.  As a serviceman, the seller does not 
incur Retailers’ Occupation Tax.  Service Occupation Tax is imposed upon all persons 
engaged in the business of making sales of service on all tangible personal property 
transferred incident to a sale of service, including computer software (35 ILCS 115/3). 

 
Computer software is defined broadly in the Retailers’ Occupation Tax Act.  

However, computer software accessed through a cloud-based delivery system – a system 
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in which computer software is never downloaded onto a client’s computer and is only 
accessed remotely – is not subject to tax.  If a provider of such a service provides to the 
subscriber an API, applet, desktop agent, or a remote access agent to enable the 
subscriber to access the provider’s network and services, the subscriber is receiving 
computer software.  A serviceman may provide such software along with a subscription 
for software as a service in a single transaction.  Although there may not be a separate 
charge to the subscriber for the computer software, it is nonetheless subject to tax, unless 
the transfer qualifies as a non-taxable license of computer software. 

 
If an Illinois customer downloads computer software for free from an out-of-State 

retailer’s or serviceman’s web site or server that is also located out of State, the retailer 
or serviceman, even though it is donating tangible personal property to the customer, has 
exercised no power or control over the property in Illinois. In this instance, the donor would 
not have made any taxable use of the property in Illinois.  The customer, the donee, would 
incur no Use Tax liability for the retailer or Service Use Tax liability for the serviceman to 
collect and remit to Illinois.  

 
The Department does not consider the viewing, downloading or electronically 

transmitting of video, text, and other data over the internet to be the transfer of tangible 
personal property.  However, if a company provides services that are accompanied with 
the transfer of tangible personal property, including computer software, such service 
transactions are generally subject to tax liability under the Service Occupation Tax Act. 

 
If a transaction does not involve the transfer of any tangible personal property to 

the customer, then it generally would not be subject to Retailers’ Occupation Tax, Use 
Tax, Service Occupation Tax, or Service Use Tax.  Information or data that is electronically 
transferred or downloaded is not considered the transfer of tangible personal property in 
this State.  See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.2105(a)(3).  Illinois does not tax subscriptions of 
software as a service. 
 
Claim for Credit 

 
The Department’s regulation at 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.1501 describes the 

procedures used to obtain a credit for sales tax that is erroneously paid.  Please note that 
only persons who have actually paid tax to the Department can file a claim for credit.  
Since retailers usually pay the tax to the Department, usually only retailers can file a claim 
for credit.  

 
To file this claim, however, if a seller has collected tax from a purchaser, it must 

first prove to the Department that it has unconditionally repaid the taxes to the purchaser.  
The taxpayers must apply for the credit in the manner described in the rule.  Under Illinois 
sales tax laws, retailers are not required to file claims for credit.  Please note that the 
Department has no authority to compel the seller to file a claim for credit.  As this 
regulation explains, this procedure is a matter of business between the purchaser and the 
retailer – the retailer is not required by the tax laws to file a claim for credit. 
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If a retailer does not agree to file a claim for credit on a given transaction, the 
purchaser must enforce his right to any refund of taxes collected as he would any other 
debt owed to him. 

 
Please note that the form ST-6, Claim for Prior Overpayment/Request for Action 

on a Credit Memorandum, is not the form to use in the situations you have described.  If 
the retailer has paid the amount that was shown due on an original Form ST-1, Sales and 
Use Tax Return, the retailer must file a corresponding ST-1-X, Amended Sales and Use 
Tax Return for that same period if it later determines that all or part of the tax shown on 
the original return was paid in error. 
 

I hope this information is helpful.  If you require additional information, please 
visit our website at https://tax.illinois.gov/ or contact the Department’s Taxpayer 
Information Division at 800-732-8866. 
 

 
Very truly yours,  

 
 

Alexis K. Overstreet 
Deputy General Counsel 
Sales and Excise Tax Policy  
 

 
AKO:slc 
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