## ST 11-0091-GIL 10/28/2011 LEASING

Lessors of tangible personal property under true leases in Illinois are deemed end users of the property to be leased. As end users of tangible personal property personal property located in Illinois, lessors owe Use Tax on their cost price of such property. See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.220 and 130.2010. (This is a GIL.)

October 28, 2011

Dear Xxxxx:

This letter is in response to your letter dated August 10, 2011, in which you request information. The Department issues two types of letter rulings. Private Letter Rulings ("PLRs") are issued by the Department in response to specific taxpayer inquiries concerning the application of a tax statute or rule to a particular fact situation. A PLR is binding on the Department, but only as to the taxpayer who is the subject of the request for ruling and only to the extent the facts recited in the PLR are correct and complete. Persons seeking PLRs must comply with the procedures for PLRs found in the Department's regulations at 2 III. Adm. Code 1200.110. The purpose of a General Information Letter ("GIL") is to direct taxpayers to Department regulations or other sources of information regarding the topic about which they have inquired. A GIL is not a statement of Department policy and is not binding on the Department. See 2 III. Adm. Code 1200.120. You may access our website at <u>www.tax.illinois.gov</u> to review regulations, letter rulings and other types of information relevant to your inquiry.

The nature of your inquiry and the information you have provided require that we respond with a GIL. In your letter you have stated and made inquiry as follows:

We respectfully request the Illinois Department of Revenue to provide a binding letter ruling in regards to sales/use tax on funds received from any judgment or litigation of a deficiency on a lease contract that was charged off in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles and income tax purposes. We are requesting this binding letter ruling on behalf of COMPANY. The following is a description of the relevant facts.

## **ISSUE:**

1. Scenario 1: A 60 month Fair Market Value lease (non-cancellable / irrevocable) contract where the use tax had been remitted to the IL Department of Revenue at the contract commencement date (up-front) based on the purchase price of the tangible personal property which was financed. The lessee has defaulted on the lease contract prior to the end of term of the contract, leaving a deficiency balance of \$55,000, which is charged off to bad debt in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. No refund request or credit has been taken for the uncollected portion of the up-front sales tax that was financed into the contract. Would the subsequent receipt of \$20,000 as a final judgment

from litigation or the subsequent receipt of \$10,000 from a third party guarantor be taxable for sales/use tax?

2. Scenario 2: A 60 month capital/finance lease agreement (non-cancellable / irrevocable) with an option to purchase the tangible personal property at the end of the lease for \$1.00. The sales tax was remitted to the IL Department of Revenue based on each monthly lease charge. The customer has defaulted on the contract prior to the end of term of the contract, resulting in the equipment being sold to an unrelated third party (applicable sales tax was charged), leaving a net deficiency balance of \$25,000 which is charged off to bad debt in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. Would the subsequent receipt of \$8,000 as a final judgment from litigation or the subsequent receipt of \$2,000 from a third party guarantor be taxable for sales/use tax?

## **DEPARTMENT'S RESPONSE:**

The Department's regulation "Public Information, Rulemaking and Organization" provides that "[w]hether to issue a private letter ruling in response to a letter ruling request is within the discretion of the Department. The Department will respond to all requests for private letter rulings either by issuance of a ruling or by a letter explaining that the request for ruling will not be honored." 2 III. Adm. Code 1200.110(a)(4). Further, the Department's regulations regarding Private Letter Rulings provide that "[i]f there is case law or there are regulations dispositive of the subject to the request, the Department will decline to issue a letter ruling on the subject." 86 III. Adm. Code 1200.110(a)(3)(D). The Department declines to issue a Private Letter Ruling since its regulations are dispositive of the subject of your request.

The State of Illinois taxes leases differently for Retailers' Occupation Tax and Use Tax purposes than the majority of other states. For Illinois sales tax purposes, there are two types of leasing situations: conditional sales and true leases.

A conditional sale is usually characterized by a nominal or one dollar purchase option at the close of the lease term. Stated otherwise, if lessors are guaranteed at the time of the lease that the leased property will be sold, this transaction is considered to be a conditional sale at the outset of the transaction. Persons who purchase items for resale under conditional sales contracts can avoid paying tax to suppliers by providing certificates of resale that contain all the information set forth in 86 III. Adm. Code 130.1405. All receipts received by a person under a conditional sales contract are subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax at the time they are received. See 86 III. Adm. Code 130.2010.

A true lease generally has no buy out provision at the close of the lease. If a buy-out provision does exist, it must be a fair market value buy-out option in order to maintain the character of the true lease. Lessors of tangible personal property under true leases in Illinois are deemed end users of the property to be leased. See 86 III. Adm. Code 130.220. As end users of tangible personal property located in Illinois, lessors owe Use Tax on their cost price of such property. The State of Illinois imposes no tax on rental receipts. Consequently, lessees incur no tax liability.

As stated above, in the case of a true lease, the lessors of the property being used in Illinois would be the parties with Use Tax obligations. The lessors would either pay their suppliers, if their suppliers were registered to collect Use Tax, or would self-assess and remit the tax to the Department. If the lessors already paid taxes in another state with respect to the acquisition of the tangible personal property, they would be exempt from Use Tax to the extent of the amount of such tax properly due and paid in such other state. See subsection (a)(3) of 86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.310.

Under Illinois law, lessors may not "pass through" their tax obligation to the lessees as taxes. However, lessors and lessees may make private contractual arrangements for a reimbursement of the tax to be paid by the lessees. If lessors and lessees have made private agreements where the lessees agree to reimburse the lessors for the amount of the tax paid, then the lessees are obligated to fulfill the terms of the private contractual agreements.

The above guidelines are applicable to all true leases of tangible personal property in Illinois except for automobiles leased under terms of one year or less, which are subject to the Automobile Renting Occupation and Use Tax found at 35 ILCS 155/1 *et seq.* There are also some limited exceptions to the general rule described in the preceding paragraphs. There is an exemption from Retailers' Occupation Tax for sales of tangible personal property to lessors who lease that property to governmental bodies under leases of one year or longer. See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.2012. In addition, the sale of computers and communications equipment and equipment used in the diagnosis, analysis, or treatment of hospital patients is exempt when sold to lessors who lease that property under leases of one year or longer or longer at ax exemption identification number. See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.2011.

I hope this information is helpful. If you require additional information, please visit our website at <u>www.tax.illinois.gov</u> or contact the Department's Taxpayer Information Division at (217) 782-3336.

Very truly yours,

Debra M. Boggess Associate Counsel

DMB:msk