# Payment Coupon (IL-501) and Instructions

### This form is for limited use only

Most withholding payments should be made electronically or with preprinted, personalized forms — not the form below.

#### For your payment to be applied quickly and accurately to your account, either

- electronically pay on our website at tax.illinois.gov, or
- order personalized, preprinted forms by calling us at the numbers listed below.

# Who should use this payment coupon?

Use this payment coupon to pay the Illinois Income Tax you withheld if

- you are a NEW business and have not received your registration information from us yet; or
- you are an existing business and
  - 1) cannot electronically pay (see "May I pay electronically?"); or
  - 2) do not use a tax professional or tax prep software; or
  - have ordered but not yet received personalized payment coupons from us.

**Do not** use this payment coupon on a regular basis.

**Important:** If you have been notified that you are required to make semi-weekly payments, you must make your payments *electronically*.

#### When are my payments due?

Most taxpayers who use payment coupons are considered monthly payers. Monthly payers must pay by the 15th day of each month for amounts withheld the preceding month. You may pay more frequently using one of our electronic methods or preprinted payment coupons. **Do not** use your return, Form IL-941, to pay more frequently. **If you exceed \$12,000 in withholding during a quarter**, you must begin using

IL-501 Front (R-12/13)



the semi-weekly payment schedule for the following quarter, the remainder of the year, and the subsequent year. In addition, you must make your payments **electronically**. See Publication 131, Withholding Income Tax Payment and Filing Requirements, for more information.

# When is income tax considered withheld?

In Illinois, income tax is considered withheld on the date you pay your employees. This is important to determine when your payment is due.

#### May I pay electronically?

Yes. We encourage you to pay electronically.

- MyTax Illinois on our website at tax.illinois.gov offers an easy, convenient, and fast way to submit payments at any time. You can schedule the dollar amount, debit date, and tax period. No software is required and it is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- TaxNet or Federal State Employment Tax (FSET) programs allow you to directly debit your bank account.
- Other electronic options (You must complete Form EFT-1, Authorization Agreement for Certain Electronic Payments.):

**ACH credit** — instructs your financial institution to transfer funds from your account to ours.

ACH debit telephone option — is your instruction to us to take the payment from your account.

Visit our website at **tax.illinois.gov** for more information regarding our electronic options or call **217** 782-6257 or email to **rev.taxpay@illinois.gov.** 

### What penalties may be assessed?

To avoid penalties, all tax withheld must be paid by each payment due date. We may ask you to provide payroll information. You will owe a **late-payment penalty** if you are required to make annual, monthly, or semi-weekly tax payments and do not pay the required amounts by the payment due dates. A **bad check penalty** of \$25 will be assessed if you send a remittance that is not honored by your financial institution. This penalty will be assessed in addition to any other penalty. For more information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes.

#### Where do I get help?

- Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov
- Call our Taxpayer Assistance Division at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336 (or our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) at 1 800 544-5304)
- Write to ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19044 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

Check the appropriate box to tell us when you withheld the withholding income tax you are paying. Check <u>one</u> box only.

1	2	3	4	
Jan Feb Mar	Apr May Jun	Jul Aug Sep	Oct Nov Dec	
Amount paid:		\$		

• Make check payable to "Illinois Department of Revenue" and write your FEIN and "IL-501" on the check.

 Mail to: ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19447 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9447

**Note:** Do not mail Form IL-501 if you electronically pay or are reporting a zero amount.

