RUT-76 Transaction Return Chart

Purchase Transactions

RUT-25	RUT-50	RUT-75	ST-556
Purchased from	Purchased/acquired from	Purchased/acquired from	Purchased from
Sellers who are not subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax, including purchases from: Unregistered out-of-State dealer Lending institution	 Individual Company not in the business of selling the type of vehicle purchased Gift or transfer from a private party Trucks purchased from a leasing company that is not also in the business of selling passenger cars (these are considered occasional sales) — see 86 III. Adm. Code 130.110 for more information on occasional sales. 	 Individual Company not in the business of selling aircraft or watercraft at retail Gift or transfer from a private party 	 Registered Illinois dealer Registered out-of-State leasing company selling to an Illinois resident Registered leasing company selling at retail Remote retailers and marketplace facilitators making sales subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax
Item	ltem	ltem	Item
 Motor vehicle (car, truck*, van, bus) Motorcycle Watercraft Aircraft Trailer Motor home Manufactured (mobile) home Snowmobile All terrain vehicles (ATV) *Trucks purchased from a leasing company that is not also in the business of selling passenger cars are excluded (these are considered occasional sales). See 86 III. Adm. Code 130.110 for more information on occasional sales. 	Motor vehicle (car, truck, van, bus) Motorcycle Motor home All terrain vehicles (ATV) Excludes: Watercraft	 Any aircraft defined in Illinois Aeronautics Act, Section 3 Airplane Helicopter Hot-air balloon Glider Blimp Dirigible Seaplane Watercraft Personal watercraft (jet skis, wave runners, etc.) Excludes: Class A canoe and kayak Class 1 watercraft (less than 16 feet in length, not equipped with an outboard motor) 	 Motor vehicle (car, truck, van, bus) Motorcycle Watercraft Aircraft Trailer Motor home Manufactured (mobile) home Snowmobile All terrain vehicles (ATV) NOTE: For information pertaining to leasing and rental companies selling motor vehicles off lease and when these sales are subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax, see 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.2013(e).
Due	Due	Due	Due
30 days after purchase date or date brought into Illinois	30 days after purchase/acquired date, or date brought into Illinois, whichever is later	30 days after purchase/acquired date, or date brought into Illinois, whichever is later	20 days after date of delivery
Attachments	Attachments	Attachments	Attachments
Bill of sale	No specific requirements. Bill of sale is recommended.	Aircraft - FAA Bill of sale Watercraft - Bill of sale	None

RUT-76 (R-03/25) Page 1 of 2



RUT-76 Transaction Return Chart

Lease Transactions

RUT-25-LSE	ST-556-LSE	
Leased through	Leased through	
Sellers making sales for lease who are not subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax, including: • Unregistered out-of-State dealer or retailer • Unregistered out-of-State leasing company leasing to an Illinois resident	 Registered Illinois dealer Registered out-of-State leasing company Registered Illinois leasing company Remote retailers and marketplace facilitators making sales for lease subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax NOTE: For information pertaining to leasing and rental companies selling motor vehicles off lease and when these sales are subject to Retailers' Occupation Tax, see 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.2013(e). 	
Item	ltem	
 Motor vehicle (car, truck, van, bus) Motorcycle Watercraft Aircraft Trailer Motor home Manufactured (mobile) home Snowmobile All terrain vehicles (ATV) 	 Motor vehicle (car, truck, van, bus) Motorcycle Watercraft Aircraft Trailer Motor home Manufactured (mobile) home Snowmobile All terrain vehicles (ATV) 	
Due	Due	
30 days after purchase date or date brought into Illinois	20 days after date of delivery	
Attachments	Attachments	
Bill of sale or lease agreement	None	

This chart is intended to assist you in filing the proper form based on your original sale, purchase, or lease transaction of the titled or registered items listed above.

For more information on proper reporting practices for leases and rentals of the limited category of titled or registered property listed above that is subject to tax on lease receipts (*i.e.*, trailers other than semitrailers and items that are required to be titled but not registered), see our website at **tax.illinois.gov**.

The information in this document is current as of the date of the publication, is informational only, and does not take the place of statutes, rules, or court decisions.