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Protecting Illinois Taxpayers
Our enhanced efforts to protect Illinois taxpayers from identity 
theft and tax fraud have proven to be highly successful. We 
will continue to combat the criminals attempting to steal your 
identity to file fraudulent tax returns while making every effort 
to get your tax refund to you as quickly as possible. 
Please remember, filing your return electronically and 
requesting direct deposit is still the fastest way to receive 
your refund. You can file for free using MyTax Illinois, our 
online account management program for taxpayers. For more 
information, go to mytax.illinois.gov or visit our website.  

Form IL-1040 Due Date
The due date for filing your 2021 Form IL-1040 and paying any 
tax you owe is April 18, 2022. 

Income Tax Rate
The Illinois income tax rate is 4.95 percent (.0495).  

Refund Options
The debit card option is no longer available to receive your 
refund.

 	 Exemption Allowance

The personal exemption amount for tax year 2021 is $2,375.

 

Pass-through Entity Tax Credit
Taxpayers are now allowed to take credit for payments of tax made 
on their behalf by a partnership or subchapter S corporation.  Line 
28 was added to Form IL-1040 to claim the pass-through entity tax 
credit provided on Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T.

Form IL-2210
Due to the federal and state extension to file 2020 returns, 
quarterly 2021 Estimated Payments can be made in 4 equal 
installments based upon 90% of the liability for year 2021 or 100% 
of the liability of year 2020 or 2019 to avoid penalty if timely made.

 

What’s New for 2021? 

IL-1040 Instructions (R-12/21)
Printed by authority of the State of Illinois, web only, 1

Mailing your income tax return

If no payment is enclosed, mail your return to:  	 If a payment is enclosed, mail your return to: 

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19041						      PO BOX 19027
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9041				    SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9027
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•	 Include any required attachments (e.g., Schedule M, 	
Schedule ICR, Schedule IL-E/EIC, Schedule CR, federal 
Form 1040 and Schedules) with your Form IL-1040.

•	 Make sure to have any support documentation available if 
requested.

•	 If you are claiming a property tax credit, you must enter the 	
county in which your property is located and the property 	
number on Schedule ICR, Illinois Credits. 

•	 If you enter an amount you want refunded to you on 
Line 37, you must check one box on Line 38 to indicate 
how you would like us to issue your refund. You may select 
direct deposit or paper check.

•	 Review the entries you made on each line for accuracy 
and verify your calculations.

•	 Sign your return.

•	 File your return electronically! Visit mytax.illinois.gov 
or see your tax professional.

•	 Enter your correct Social Security number (SSN) and 
name. If you are married, you must include your spouse’s 
SSN and name.  

•	 If you received federally taxed Social Security benefits or 	
qualified retirement income, you may be able to subtract it 	
on Line 5. See the Line 5 Instructions for details.

•	 Attach a completed Schedule IL-WIT and all withholding 
forms (W-2s, 1099s, etc.) to support the amount you claim 
as Illinois Income Tax withheld on Line 25. 

•	 Enter the correct amount of estimated payments you 
made, including any overpayment applied from a prior year 
return.  You may verify the amount using the estimated 
payment inquiry on our website. 
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General Information

If you were 
•	 an Illinois resident, you must file Form IL-1040 if 

	 you were required to file a federal income tax return, or
	 you were not required to file a federal income tax return, but your Illinois base income from Line 9 is 		

	 greater than your Illinois exemption allowance.

•	 an Illinois resident who worked in Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, or Wisconsin, you must file 		
Form IL-1040 and include as Illinois income any compensation you received from an employer in these 		
states. Compensation paid to Illinois residents working in these states is taxed by Illinois. Based on 		
reciprocal agreements between Illinois and these states, these states do not tax the compensation of 		
Illinois residents. 

If your employer in any of these states withheld that state’s tax from your compensation, you may file the 	
correct form with that state to claim a refund. You may not use tax withheld by an employer for these 	
states as a credit on your Illinois return.

•	 a retired Illinois resident who filed a federal return, you must file Form IL-1040. However, certain 	
types of retirement income (e.g., pension, Social Security, railroad retirement, governmental deferred 
compensation) may be subtracted from your Illinois income. For more information, see the instructions for 
Line 5 and Publication 120, Retirement Income. 

•	 a part-year resident, you must file Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR, Nonresident and Part-Year 		
Resident Computation of Illinois Tax, if

	 you earned income from any source while you were a resident,
	 you earned income from Illinois sources while you were not a resident, or
	 you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld.

•	 a nonresident, you must file Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR if
	 you earned enough taxable income from Illinois sources to have a tax liability (i.e., your Illinois base 		

	 income from Schedule NR, Step 5, Line 46, is greater than your Illinois exemption allowance on 		
	 Schedule NR, Step 5, Line 50), or

	 you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld in error. You must attach a letter of explanation 		
	 from your employer.

 If you are a nonresident and your only income in Illinois is from one or more partnerships,  		
S corporations, or trusts that withheld enough Illinois Income Tax to pay your liability, you are not required 	
to file a Form IL-1040.

•	 an Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, or Wisconsin resident who worked in Illinois, you must file 
Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR if

	 you received income in Illinois from sources other than wages, salaries, tips, and commissions, or
	 you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld.

If you received wages, salaries, tips, and commissions from Illinois employers, you are not required to 		
pay Illinois Income Tax on this income. This is based on reciprocal agreements between Illinois and 		
these states.

The reciprocal agreements do not apply to any other income you might have received, such as Illinois 		
lottery winnings and Illinois unemployment income.

•	 an Illinois resident who was claimed as a dependent on your parents’ or another person’s 		
return, you must file Form IL-1040 if 

	 your Illinois base income from Line 9 is greater than $2,375, or 
	 you want a refund of Illinois Income Tax withheld from your pay.

 If your parent reported your interest and dividend income through federal Form 8814, Parents’ 		
Election to Report Child’s Interest and Dividends, do not count that income in determining if you must 		
file your own Form IL-1040.

•	 the surviving spouse or representative of a deceased taxpayer who was required to file in Illinois, 
you must file any return required of that taxpayer. 

•	 a student, you are not exempt from tax nor are there special residency provisions for you. However, 
income, such as certain scholarships or fellowships, that is not taxable under federal income tax law, is 
also not taxed by Illinois.

•	 a nonresident alien, you must file Form IL-1040 if your income is taxed under federal income tax law. 
You must attach a copy of your federal Form 1040NR, U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return.

Who must file 		
an Illinois 			 
tax return?



4 tax.illinois.gov  

Even if you are not required to file Form IL‑1040, you must file to get a refund of 
•	 Illinois Income Tax withheld from your pay, 
•	 estimated tax payments you made, or
•	 withholding on income passed through to you by a partnership, S Corporation, or trust.

You are an Illinois resident if you were domiciled in Illinois for the entire tax year. Your domicile is the place where 
you reside and the place where you intend to return after temporary absences. Temporary absences may include 
duty in the U.S. Armed Forces, residence in a foreign country, out-of-state residence as a student, or out-of-state 
residence during the winter or summer.  

 If you filed a joint federal return and one spouse is an Illinois resident while the other spouse is a 
nonresident or a part-year resident, you may file separate Illinois returns.  If you file a joint Illinois return, you will 
both be taxed as residents.

  
Your Illinois income includes the adjusted gross income (AGI) amount figured on your federal return, plus any  
additional income that must be added to your AGI. Some of your income may be subtracted when figuring your 
Illinois base income. For more information, see the Step-by-Step Instructions.  

You should follow the federal law concerning passive activity income and losses. You are not allowed to refigure 
your federal passive activity losses.

Also, federal law will govern the taxation of income from community property sources in the case of spouses who 
file joint federal returns and who file separate Illinois returns.

File your individual income tax return electronically by using
•	 MyTax Illinois, available on our website for free, 
•	 a tax professional, or 
•	 tax preparation software.

Almost all taxpayers can file electronically. Visit mytax.illinois.gov or see your tax professional. If you do not wish 
to file electronically, you may use the paper Form IL-1040.

 
Your Illinois filing period is the same as your federal filing period. We will assume that you are filing your 
Form IL-1040 for calendar year 2021 unless you are filing for a fiscal year and indicate a different filing period in 
the space provided at the top of the return. The due date for calendar year filers is April 18, 2022. 

We grant an automatic six-month extension of time to file your return. If you receive a federal extension of more 
than six months, you are automatically allowed that extension for Illinois. These extensions do not grant you an 
extension of time to pay any tax you owe. If you determine that you will owe tax, you must use Form IL-505-I, 
Automatic Extension Payment for Individuals, to pay any tax you owe to avoid penalty and interest on tax not paid 
by April 18, 2022.

You must round cents to whole dollars on Form IL-1040 and most schedules, as directed. To round you must  
•	 drop amounts under 50 cents and
•	 increase amounts of 50 to 99 cents to the next dollar.

For example, $1.49 becomes $1 and $2.50 becomes $3. 

If you have to add two or more amounts to figure the amount to enter on a line, include cents when adding the 
amounts and round only the total.   

You will owe  
•	 a late-filing penalty if you do not file a return that we can process by the extended due date. 
•	 a late-payment penalty for tax not paid by the original due date of the return.
•	 a late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax if you were required to make estimated tax 		

payments and failed to pay the required amount by the payment due dates.
•	 a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution.
•	 a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on 		

any IDOR-2-BILL, Final Notice of Tax Due for Form IL-1040, Individual Income Tax Return, you receive.

General Information

What is 		
Illinois 		
income?

Who is an 		
Illinois 		
resident?

How may 		
I file?

When must 
I file?	

Should I 
round?

Will I owe 	
penalties 
and 	
interest?
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General Information

What if		
I cannot 		
pay? 

When must 	
I file an 		
amended 		
return?

What if I have 
household employees? 

What if I change my 
address? 

What if I participated 
in a potentially 
abusive tax 
avoidance 
transaction? 

•	 a frivolous return penalty if you file a return that does not contain information necessary to figure the 		
correct tax or shows a substantially incorrect tax, because you are taking a frivolous position or are trying 	
to delay or interfere with collection of the tax.

•	 interest on unpaid tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay 
the tax. 

We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more information about penalties and interest, see 
Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes.

If you cannot pay the tax you owe but you can complete your return on time, file your return by the due 
date without the payment. This will prevent a late-filing penalty from being assessed. You will, however, owe 
a late-payment penalty and interest on any tax you owe after the original due date, even if you have an 
extension of time to file.
You have the option to pay the amount you owe electronically by using our website or by credit card. See the 
instructions for Line 40.

 
Do not file another Form IL-1040 to make changes to a previously filed Form IL-1040. You must file 
Form IL-1040-X, Amended Individual Income Tax Return, if 

•	 you discover that you made an error on your Illinois return after it was filed, or
•	 your federal return has been adjusted either by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or on a federal 		

Form 1040X, Amended U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, you filed; the change affects your Illinois 		
income, additions, subtractions, exemptions, or credits; and the change is final. 

 If the federal change results in a refund, do not file Form IL-1040-X until you receive notification 		
that your change has been accepted by the IRS.  

For more information, see Form IL-1040-X and Instructions.

 
You may use Form IL-1040 to pay your household employees’ Illinois withholding. For more details on how to 
pay withholding for your employees, see the instructions for Line 20.

If you change your address after you file, visit our website or call us to tell us your new address and the date 
you moved.   

If you are married and you filed a joint federal return with your spouse and you are an injured spouse (e.g., 
your spouse owes a liability, for which you are not responsible, to a government agency), you may elect to file 
separate Illinois returns using the “married filing separately” filing status. You may make this election up until 
the extended due date of your return, and once the election is made, it is irrevocable for the tax year. 

  
If you file a joint Illinois return, we may take the entire refund to pay your spouse’s liability. 	

If you participated in a reportable transaction, including a “listed transaction,” during this tax year and were 
required to disclose that to the IRS, you are also required to disclose that information to Illinois.
You must send us two copies of the form you used to disclose the transaction to the IRS. You must
•	 attach one copy to your tax return, and
•	 mail a second copy to the Illinois Department of Revenue, 
       P.O. Box 19029, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9029. 

 Employee benefit plans and other subtractions allowed on Form IL-1040, Lines 5 through 7, are not 
reportable transactions. For more information, contact the IRS or your tax professional. 

What if I am an 
injured spouse? 
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Step-by-Step Instructions

Personal Information

Line A 
Name, year of birth, Social Security number, and address
Print your full name, year of birth (YYYY), Social Security number 
(SSN), address, and email address. If you are married and filing 
a joint return, print both names, years of birth, and SSNs as they 
appear on your federal return. If you are married and filing separate 
returns, print your full name and SSN and your spouse’s full name 
and SSN if you have it. Also include the Illinois county you lived in as 
of 12/31/2021. If you were an Illinois resident during any part of the 
year but are no longer living in Illinois, enter the county name you 
lived in while an Illinois resident. If you did not live in Illinois during 
the tax year, leave the county name blank. 

 If you do not qualify for a SSN and were issued an 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) by the IRS, 		
enter your ITIN.

 Do not redact your SSN as it can cause processing delays.

 Email address is requested per legislation and will not be 
used for correspondence.  

	  Filing a decedent’s return
When you are filing a joint return as a surviving spouse 
•	 print your name and your spouse’s name on the                 

appropriate lines.
•	 write “deceased” and the date of death above your 	

spouse’s name. 
•	 sign your name in the area provided for your signature, 	

and write “filing as surviving spouse” in place of the 		
decedent’s signature. 

If you, as the surviving spouse, are due a refund, the refund 	
will be issued directly to you. You are not required to complete 	
Form IL-1310, Statement of Person Claiming Refund Due a 		
Deceased Taxpayer.

When you are filing a return on behalf of a single deceased 	
taxpayer
•	 print the name of the taxpayer on the appropriate line.
•	 write “deceased” and the date of death above the 

decedent’s name. 
•	 write “in care of,” and the executor’s name and address. 
A personal representative, such as an executor or administrator, 	
must sign and date the return. The representative’s title and 	
telephone number must be provided. 

 If you are filing a return on behalf of a single deceased 
taxpayer and a refund is due, attach Form IL-1310, Statement of 
Person Claiming Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer.

	  Foreign addresses
Enter your 
•	 street address on the “Mailing address” line. 
•	 apartment number, if applicable. 
•	 city, province or state, and postal code on the “City, State,	

ZIP” lines in that order. Follow the country’s practice for 	
entering the postal code. 

•	 country name on the “Foreign Nation” line. Do not 	
abbreviate the country name. 

 

Line B 
Filing status
In general, you should use the same filing status as on your federal 
return. However, 
•	 if you file a joint federal return and you are an injured spouse 	

(your spouse owes a liability, for which you are not 	
responsible, to a government agency), you should file separate 	
Illinois returns using the “married filing separately” filing status. 	
Do not recalculate any items on your federal return. Instead, 
you must divide each item of income and deduction shown on 
your joint federal return between your separate Illinois returns 
following the Allocation Worksheet on Page 17. 
You may choose to file separately as an injured spouse only until 	
the extended due date of the return, and once you choose a 		
filing status, the decision is irrevocable for the tax year. 

 If you choose to file a joint Illinois return, we may take 
the entire refund to pay your spouse’s liability.   

•	 if you file a joint federal return and one spouse is a full-year 	
Illinois resident while the other is a part-year resident or a 		
nonresident (e.g., military personnel), you may choose to 		
file “married filing separately.” Do not recalculate any items on 
your federal return. Instead, you must divide each item of income 
and deduction shown on your joint federal return between your 
separate Illinois returns following the Allocation Worksheet on 
Page 17. 
If you choose to file a joint Illinois return, you must treat both 	
your spouse and yourself as residents. This election is 		
irrevocable for the tax year. You may be allowed a credit 		
for income tax paid to another state on Schedule CR, Credit 
for Tax Paid to Other States. For more information, see the 
Schedule CR Instructions. 

Line C 
Dependent status
If someone else can claim you, or your spouse if you are married and 
filing a joint return, as a dependent, check the corresponding box.

Line D 
Resident status
If you are filing your return as a nonresident of Illinois, check the 
Nonresident box. If you are filing your return as a part-year resident 
of Illinois, check the Part-year resident box. Be sure to complete and 
attach Schedule NR to your IL-1040. 

 Schedule NR

Step 1

Lines A-D
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Line 5 
Social Security benefits and certain retirement plans
Enter the amount of federally taxed Social Security and retirement 
income included in your adjusted gross income on Form IL-1040, 
Line 1 that you received from
•	 qualified employee benefit plans (including railroad retirement 

and 401(K) plans) and Individual Retirement Accounts or self-
employed retirement plans reported on federal Form 1040 or 
1040-SR, Line 4b and 5b. 

•	 Social Security and railroad retirement benefits reported on 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 6b.

•	 government retirement and government disability plans 
and group term life insurance premiums paid by a qualified 
retirement plan reported as wages on your federal Form 1040 
or 1040-SR, Line 1.

•	 state or local government deferred compensation plans 
reported on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 1 and 5b. 

•	 certain capital gains on employer securities reported on federal 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 7. 

•	 certain retirement payments made directly to retired 
partners reported on federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 
1, Line 5.

 Your beneficiary share of payments from certain retirement 
plans and retirement payments to retired partners reported on 
Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary’s Share of Income and Deductions, 

Line 1 
Adjusted gross income
Enter the adjusted gross income from your federal return. If you 
are not required to file a federal income tax return, use a federal 
Form 1040 as a worksheet to determine your adjusted gross income.

	  Net operating loss (NOL)
If you have a federal NOL this year, you may enter a 		
negative amount on Line 1. However, you must reduce the 	
amount you enter on your 2021 Form IL-1040, Line 1, by any 
NOL that you carry back to prior years.  
If you deducted an NOL carryforward on your federal return 
for this year and some of that NOL remains available to carry 
forward to next year, the amount on Line 1 should be your 
federal adjusted gross income calculated without deducting 
the NOL carryforward, minus the amount of “Modified Taxable 
Income” on Line 8 of the federal Worksheet for NOL Carryover 
found in Table 1 of IRS Publication 536, Net Operating Losses 
(NOLs) for Individuals, Estates, and Trusts. 

Line 2 
Federally tax-exempt income 
Enter the amount of federally tax-exempt interest and dividend 
income reported on federal Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax 
Return, Line 2a. 

  Your distributive share of federally tax-exempt interest and 
dividend income received from a partnership, S corporation, trust, or 
estate is added back on Schedule M, Line 2.

Line 3 
Other additions
Complete Schedule M if you have any of the following items: 
•	 your child’s federally tax-exempt interest and dividend income as 

reported on federal Form 8814
•	 a distributive share of additions you received from a partnership, 

S corporation, trust, or estate
•	 Lloyd’s plan of operation loss, if reported on your behalf on Form 

IL-1065, and included in your adjusted gross income
•	 earnings distributed from IRC Section 529 college savings 

and tuition programs and ABLE plans if these earnings are not 
included in your adjusted gross income, Line 1

•	 an addition amount calculated on Form IL-4562, Special 
Depreciation

•	 business expense recapture (nonresidents only)
•	 recapture of deductions for contributions to Illinois college 

savings plans and ABLE plans transferred to an out-of-state plan
•	 credit received on Schedule 1299-C for student-assistance 

contributions made as an employer on behalf of your employees
•	 deductions claimed in prior years for college savings plan and 

ABLE plan contributions if you made a nonqualified withdrawal 
this tax year

•	 any other amounts that you are required to add to your federal 
adjusted gross income 			 

For more information, see the Schedule M Instructions. 

 	 Schedule M and any required supporting documents.

should not be included on Line 5.  For more information, see the 
Schedule M Instructions. See Publication 120 for detailed information 
about what retirement income you may subtract. 

 Federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Page 1 and Schedule 1, and 
any W-2 and 1099 forms. If your retirement income is not reported on 
your federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Lines 4b, 5b, or 6b, or shown on 
your W-2 and 1099 forms, see Publication 120 for a list of any additional 
required attachments. 

Line 6 
Illinois Income Tax overpayment
Enter the total amount of any Illinois Income Tax overpayment 
(including any amount that was credited to another tax liability) 
reported as income on your 2021 federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule 1, Line 1. Do not include other states’ refunds on this line.  

Line 7 
Other subtractions
You may be entitled to subtract other items from your income. See 
the instructions for Schedule M to see if you are eligible for other 
subtractions. 

  Schedule M and any required supporting documents.

Line 9  
Base income 
This line may not be less than zero. If the result is a negative 
number, enter “zero.” 

Lines 1-9

Step 2
 
Income

Step 3  Base Income 
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Line 10 
Illinois exemption allowance 
See Income Exceptions in the box below.

Line 10a  
See chart to figure your exemption amount for this line. 

Filing Status Did you 
check either 
box on Step 
1, Line C?

Base 
income from 
Line 9 or 
Schedule 
NR, Line 46

Exemption 
Amount - 
enter this 
amount on 
Step 4, Line 
10a:

Single* No **any amount $2,375
Single* Yes $2,375 or 

below
$2,375

Single* Yes $2,376 or 
greater

$0

Married filing 
jointly

No **any amount $4,750

Married filing 
jointly

Yes - only 
one

$2,375 or 
below

$4,750

Married filing 
jointly

Yes - only 
one

$2,376 or 
greater

$2,375

Married filing 
jointly

Yes - both $4,750 or 
below

$4,750

Married filing 
jointly

Yes - both $4,751 or 
greater

$0

*Single filing status includes Head of Household, Widowed, and 
Married filing separately.
**See Income Exceptions.

Line 10b  
If you (or your spouse if married filing jointly) were 65 or older, check 
the appropriate box(es). Multiply the number of boxes checked by 
$1,000 and enter the amount on Line 10b.

Line 10c  
If you (or your spouse if married filing jointly) were legally blind, check 
the appropriate box(es). Multiply the number of boxes checked by 
$1,000 and enter the amount on Line 10c.

Line 10d  
If you are claiming dependents, complete Schedule IL-E/EIC, and 
enter the amount from Step 2, Line 1, on Line 10d. 

   Schedule E/EIC. 

**Income Exceptions
If your federal filing status is married filing jointly and your federal 
AGI is greater than $500,000, you are not entitled to an exemption 
allowance on Line 10.  Enter “zero” on Line 10.  

If your federal filing status is single, head of household, married 
filing separately, or widowed and your federal AGI is greater than 
$250,000, you are not entitled to an exemption allowance on Line 10.  
Enter “zero” on Line 10.

Line 11 
Illinois residents only – Net income
This line may not be less than zero. If the result is a negative 
number, enter zero “0.” 

Nonresidents and part-year residents only – Net income
Complete Schedule NR. Enter the amount from Schedule NR, Line 
51, on Line 11. This line may not be less than zero.  If the result is 
a negative number, enter zero “0.”

 Be sure to check the box in Step 1, Line D, to identify 
whether you were a nonresident or a part-year resident of Illinois 
during 2021.

   Schedule NR. 

Lines 10-13

Line 12 
Tax amount
Illinois residents: Follow the instructions on the form.
Nonresidents and part-year residents only: Enter your tax from 
Schedule NR, Line 52. 

   Schedule NR. 

Line 13  
Recapture of investment tax credits
If you claimed an investment credit in a previous year, and the 
property considered in the computation of that investment credit was 
disqualified within 48 months after being placed in service, you must 
complete Schedule 4255, Recapture of Investment Tax Credits, and 
enter the recapture amount on this line.  

  Schedule 4255.

Step 4 Exemptions  

Step 5 Net Income and Tax 
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Line 15  
Income tax paid to another state – Illinois residents and 
part-year residents only
If you were taxed by another state on income you received while you 
were an Illinois resident, you may be entitled to this credit. See the 
Schedule CR Instructions and Publication 111, Illinois Schedule CR 
for Individuals, to see if you are eligible to take this credit. 

 Schedule CR, Pages 1 through 3.

Line 16 
Property tax and K-12 education expense credit
You may be entitled to credit for property tax and K-12 education 
expenses you paid. See the instructions for Schedule ICR to see if 
you are eligible for these credits. 

Form IL-1040, Line 15 + Line 16 + Line 17
cannot be greater than Line 14.

 Income Exceptions
If your federal filing status is married filing jointly and your federal AGI 
is greater than $500,000, you are not entitled to a property tax credit 
or a K-12 education expense credit.

If your federal filing status is single, head of household, married 
filing separately, or widowed and your federal AGI is greater than 
$250,000, you are not entitled to a property tax credit or a K-12 
education expense credit.

  Schedule ICR and any required supporting documents.

Line 17 
Credit from Schedule 1299-C
You may be entitled to credits from Schedule 1299-C. See the 
instructions for Schedule 1299-C and Schedule 1299-I to determine if 
you are eligible for these credits. 

  Schedule 1299-C and any required supporting documents.

Step 6 Tax After Nonrefundable 	
Credits

Lines 15-21

Line 20 
Household employment tax 
Enter the amount of Illinois Income Tax you withheld from a 
household employee. See Publication 121, Illinois Income Tax 
Withholding for Household Employees, for details on how to figure 
the amount to withhold and report. 

 Do not report household employee withholding here if you 
have already reported or paid this amount using Form IL-941, Illinois 
Withholding Income Tax Return.    

Line 21 
Use tax 
Enter the amount of Illinois Use Tax you owe. Use the Use Tax (UT) 
Worksheet or Use Tax (UT) Table to determine your use tax. You 
must make an entry on Line 21 (enter “zero” if you are not paying 
use tax on Form IL-1040).  

 If you owe more than $600 in use tax ($1,200 for married 
filing jointly taxpayers), you must file Form ST-44, Illinois Use Tax 
Return.

 You cannot change the amount of Illinois Use Tax you enter 
on Form IL-1040 by filing a Form IL-1040-X.

 Do not report Illinois Use Tax here if you have already 
reported or paid this amount using Form ST-44.

What is Illinois Use Tax?
Illinois Use Tax is a form of sales tax that you, as the purchaser, owe 
on items that you buy for use in Illinois. If the seller does not collect 
this tax from you, you must pay the tax to the Illinois Department of 
Revenue (IDOR). The most common purchases on which the seller 
does not collect Illinois Use Tax are those made through the internet, 
from a mail order catalog, or when traveling outside Illinois.  

When must I pay Illinois Use Tax to IDOR?
You must pay Illinois Use Tax to IDOR if 
•	 the items you bought are taxable in Illinois,
•	 you used or consumed these items in Illinois, and
•	 when you purchased the items you either 

	 did not pay any sales tax to the seller, or 

	 paid sales tax at less than Illinois’ Use Tax rates of 6.25 percent 	
	 for general merchandise and 1 percent for food and drugs.

For example, if you purchased 
•	 a computer over the internet for use in Illinois and paid no sales 

tax, you owe 6.25 percent Illinois Use Tax.	
•	 jewelry while vacationing in Georgia upon which you paid 4 

percent sales tax and which you brought back to Illinois, you will 
owe Illinois Use Tax on the 2.25 percent 	difference in tax rates.

•	 cheese by mail order from a company in Wisconsin and paid no 
sales tax, you owe 1 percent Illinois Use Tax. 

How do I determine the Illinois Use Tax I owe?
To determine the Illinois Use Tax you owe, check your records to see 
if you were charged tax on internet, mail order, or other out-of-state 
purchases and use the UT Worksheet to calculate your tax. 
If your records are incomplete and you had 
•	 major purchases, add the actual cost of your major purchases to 

the estimated cost of any other purchases you made during the 
year. Enter the total on Lines 1a or 2a of the UT Worksheet to 
calculate the use tax you owe.  

•	 no major purchases, use the UT Table to help you estimate the 
use tax you owe.

Enter the Illinois Use Tax from the UT Worksheet or UT Table on 
Form IL-1040, Line 21.

 If we find that you owe additional tax, we may assess the 
additional tax plus applicable penalties and interest. We conduct 
routine audits based on information received from third parties, 
including the U.S. Customs Service and other states.

Other TaxesStep 7
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Use Tax (UT) Worksheet
Complete this worksheet to report and pay your use tax on Form IL-1040. If your annual use tax liability is over $600 ($1,200 if 
married filing jointly), you must file and pay your use tax with Form ST-44. 

  Do not include any 
•	 items for which you paid sales tax in another state (but not in another country) of 

		  	 6.25% or more on Line 1a and
		  	 1% or more on Line 2a.

•	 sales tax you paid in another state, on Line 4, for items not included in Lines 1a or 2a.  
1a		 Enter the total cost of general merchandise you purchased 
		  to use in Illinois on which you did not pay the required amount of 
		  Illinois Use Tax. 		  1a  	 .00
	1b	 Multiply Line 1a by 6.25% (.0625). Round the result to whole dollars.	 		  1b	 	 .00
	2a	 Enter the total cost of qualifying food, non-prescription drugs, and
		  medical appliances you purchased to use in Illinois on which you 
		  did not pay the required amount of Illinois Use Tax. 		  2a  	 .00
2b		 Multiply Line 2a by 1% (.01). Round the result to whole dollars.	 		  2b	 	 .00
	 3	 Add Lines 1b and 2b. This is your use tax on purchases.	 		  3	 	 .00
	 4	 Enter the amount of sales tax you paid in another state (not in another country) 
		  on the items included on Lines 1a and 2a.  			   4	 	 .00
	 5	 Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. Enter the result here and on Form IL-1040, Line 21                                                                                       
        (if the result is less than zero, enter “zero”).
		    		        	 5	 	 .00

  Be sure to keep this worksheet with your income tax records. You must send us this information if we request it.

Use Tax (UT) Table
If you had no major purchases and you do not have receipts to figure your 
purchases, use this table to estimate your annual Illinois Use Tax liability. 

AGI (from Form IL-1040, Line 1)  	          Use Tax

	 $0 	- 	 $10,000		    $3

	$10,001 	- 	 $20,000		    $8

	$20,001 	- 	 $30,000		  $13

	$30,001 	- 	 $40,000		  $18

	$40,001 	- 	 $50,000		  $23

	$50,001 	- 	 $75,000		  $31

	$75,001 	- 	$100,000		  $44

Above $100,000	      Multiply AGI by 		
			        0.05% (0.0005)

Line 21
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Lines 22-30
Line 22 
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act 
and sale of assets by gaming licensee surcharges
Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act 
Definitions

Organization registrant means a corporation, partnership, trust, 
limited liability company (LLC), or other organization, that holds 
either a medical cannabis cultivation center registration issued by the 
Illinois Department of Agriculture or a medical cannabis dispensary 
registration issued by the Illinois Department of Financial and 
Professional Regulation.

Transactions subject to the surcharge means sales and 
exchanges of
•	 capital assets,
•	 depreciable business property,
•	 real property used in the trade or business, and
•	 Section 197 intangibles
of an organization registrant.
What is the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program 
Act surcharge?
For each taxable year beginning or ending during the Compassionate 
Use of Medical Cannabis Program, a surcharge is imposed on all 
taxpayers on income arising from the transactions subject to the 
surcharge of an organization registrant under the Compassionate 
Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act.
The amount of the surcharge is equal to the amount of federal 
income tax liability for the taxable year attributable to the transactions 
subject to the surcharge.
To whom does the surcharge apply?
The surcharge is imposed on any taxpayer who incurs a federal 
income tax liability on the income realized on a “transaction subject 
to the surcharge,” including individuals and other taxpayers who 
are not themselves the “organization registrant” that engaged in the 
transaction.
A line has been included on Schedule K-1-P, Partner’s or 
Shareholder’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, and Recapture,  
and Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary’s Share of Income and Deductions, 
to identify the amount of federal income attributable to transactions 
subject to the surcharge that was passed through to you on federal 
Schedule K-1.

Sale of Assets by Gaming Licensees 
Definitions

Gaming licensee means an organization licensee under the Illinois 
Horse Racing Act of 1975 and/or an organization gaming licensee 
under the Illinois Gambling Act.
Transactions subject to the surcharge means income arising from 
sales and exchanges of 
•	 capital assets,
•	 depreciable business property, 
•	 real property used in the trade or business, and
•	 Section 197 intangibles 
of a gaming licensee.

What is the Sale of Assets by Gaming Licensees surcharge?
For each taxable year beginning in 2019 through 2027, the amount 
of the surcharge is equal to the amount of federal income tax liability 
attributable to those sales and exchanges.
To whom does the Sale of Assets by Gaming Licensees 
surcharge apply?
The surcharge is imposed on any taxpayer who incurs a federal 
income tax liability on the income realized on a “transaction subject 
to the surcharge,” including individuals and other taxpayers who 
are not themselves the “organization licensee” that engaged in the 
transaction.
The surcharge imposed shall not apply if 
•	 the organization gaming license, organization license, or 

racetrack property is transferred as a result of any of the 
following:
•	 bankruptcy, a receivership, or a debt adjustment initiated by 

or against the initial licensee or the substantial owners of 
the initial licensee;

•	 cancellation, revocation, or termination of any such license 
by the Illinois Gaming Board or the Illinois Racing Board;

•	 a determination by the Illinois Gaming Board that transfer of 
the license is in the best interests of Illinois gaming;

•	 the death of an owner of the equity interest in a licensee;
•	 the acquisition of a controlling interest in the stock or 

substantially all of the assets of a publicly traded company;
•	 a transfer by a parent company to a wholly owned 

subsidiary; or 
•	 the transfer or sale to or by one person to another person 

where both persons were initial owners of the license when 
the license was issued; or

•	 the controlling interest in the organization gaming license, 
organization license, or racetrack property is transferred in a 
transaction to lineal descendants in which no gain or loss is 
recognized or as a result of a transaction in accordance with 
Section 351 of the Internal Revenue Code in which no gain or 
loss is recognized; or 

•	 live horse racing was not conducted in 2010 at a racetrack 
located within 3 miles of the Mississippi River under a license 
issued pursuant to the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975.

•	 the transfer of an organization gaming license, organization 
license, or racetrack property by a person other than the initial 
licensee to receive the organization gaming license is not 
subject to a surcharge. 

A line has been included on Schedule K-1-P, Partner’s or 
Shareholder’s Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, and Recapture,  
and Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary’s Share of Income and Deductions, 
to identify the amount of federal income attributable to transactions 
subject to the surcharge that was passed through to you on federal 
Schedule K-1.

How do I figure the surcharge?
If either surcharge applies to you, complete the Surcharge 
Worksheet.

Surcharge Worksheet 
1 	 Enter your federal income tax liability for the taxable year.  	 1	 _________________	
2	 Enter your federal income tax liability for the taxable year computed as if transactions subject to the

	 surcharge made in that year had not been made. 	 2	 _________________	
3	 Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. This is your Surcharge. Enter the result here and on Form IL-1040, Line 22. 	 3	 _________________	
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Line 25 
Illinois Income Tax withheld
If Illinois income tax was withheld from your income for 2021, see the 
instructions for Schedule IL-WIT.

  Schedule IL-WIT and a copy of each W-2, 1099-R, 1099-G, 
1099-MISC, 1099-INT, 1099-DIV, 1099-OID, 1099-NEC, and W-2G 
form.   

Line 26 
Estimated income tax payments
Enter the total of any payments you made with 
•	 Form IL-1040-ES, Estimated Income Tax Payments for Individuals;
•	 Form IL-505-I; and 
•	 any overpayment applied to your 2021 estimated tax from a prior 

year return. 

 If you expect your yearly tax liability to be greater than 
$1,000 after subtracting your withholding, pass-through withholding 
payments, and credits, you may be required to make estimated income 
tax payments. For more information, see Line 33 and the instructions 
for Form IL-2210, Computation of Penalties for Individuals.  

Line 27 
Pass-through withholding
Enter the total of any pass-through withholding (income tax paid) 
made on your behalf by a partnership, S corporation, or trust and 
shown on Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T for this tax year. 

  Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T. 

Line 28 
Pass-through entity tax credit
Enter the total share of pass-through entity tax credit passed through 
to you by a partnership, S corporation, or trust and shown on 
Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T for this tax year. 

  Schedule K-1-P or Schedule K-1-T. 

Line 29 
Earned Income Credit 
If you qualified for a federal Earned Income Credit (EIC), you also 
qualify for the Illinois Earned Income Credit. 
Complete Schedule IL-E/EIC to determine the amount of your credit. 

  Schedule IL-E/EIC.

Line 30 
Total payments and refundable credit
Add Lines 25, 26, 27, 28, and 29, and enter the total on Line 30. 

Payments and 
Refundable Credit

Step 8 TotalStep 9

Line 31 

If Line 30 is greater than Line 24, subtract Line 24 from Line 30. 

Line 32 

If Line 24 is greater than Line 30, subtract Line 30 from Line 24. 

Lines 25-32
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Lines 33-34

 Only complete this step for late-payment penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax or to make a voluntary charitable 
donation.  

Line 33 
Late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax
If you 
•	 have a tax liability greater than $1,000 after subtracting your	

withholding, pass-through withholding payments, and credits, or
•	 were required to make estimated tax payments and failed to 	

pay the required amount by the payment due dates, you may 
owe a late-payment penalty for underpayment of estimated tax. 	
See Form IL-2210 for details. 

 If you are 65 years of age or older and you permanently 
live in a nursing home, or if at least two-thirds of your federal gross 
income is from farming, you are not required to make estimated tax 
payments and are not subject to a late-payment penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax. 

 You do not owe a late-payment penalty for underpayment 
of estimated tax if you were not required to file a Form IL-1040 last 
year.  

 If you owe this penalty, you should consider increasing your 
withholding or the amount of your estimated tax payments. For more 
information, see the Form IL-1040-ES Instructions and Form IL-W-4, 
Employee’s Illinois Withholding Allowance Certificate. 

	  Let us figure your penalty and bill you
	 Figuring your own penalty can be difficult. We encourage 	
	 you to file your Form IL-1040 and pay the tax you owe 	
	 without including any penalty. If you owe this penalty, we will 	
	 figure the amount and bill you.

	  If you annualized your income, you must complete
                Form IL-2210. See the instructions for Line 33c. 

Line 33a 
Farmers
Check the box if at least two-thirds of your total federal gross 
income came from farming. Total federal gross income includes your 
spouse’s income if your filing status is “married filing jointly.”

	  Federal gross income from farming
“Federal gross income from farming” is the amount of income 
you received from your participation in the production of 
crops, fruits, fish, livestock (used for draft, breeding, or dairy 
purposes), or other agricultural products. This includes income 
from the operation of a stock, dairy, poultry, fruit, or truck farm, 
plantation, ranch, nursery, range, or orchard – regardless of 
whether the operation is organized as a sole proprietorship, 
a partnership, an S corporation, or a trust. “Federal gross 
income from farming” also includes a share of crops produced 
in exchange for the use of the land. See IRS Publication 225, 
Farmer’s Tax Guide.

“Federal gross income from farming” does not include 
payments from the sale of farm land and farm equipment, nor 
does it include income received by a custom grain harvester 
who performs grain harvesting and hauling services on farms 
he or she does not own, rent, or lease. It also does not include 
the wages of a farm employee or cash rent.

Line 33b 
Nursing home residents
Check the box if you or your spouse are 65 years of age or older and 
permanently living in a nursing home. 

Line 33c 
Annualized income
Check the box if you annualized your income on  Form IL-2210, Step 6.

  Form IL-2210.

Line 33d 
Previous year Form IL-1040 not required
Check the box if you were not required to file a Form IL-1040 in the
previous tax year.

Line 34  

Donations
You may contribute to one or more charitable contribution funds. 
Contributions to the funds may be in any amount of $1 or more and 
will decrease your refund or increase your balance due. 

 You cannot change your contributions to these funds on an 
amended return.

  Schedule G.

Step 10 Underpayment of 			 
Estimated Tax Penalty 		
and Donations
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Lines 37-39  

Line 37 
Refund  
We will not refund any amount less than $1. We also will reduce 
any overpayment by the amount of any outstanding tax, penalties, 
and interest you owe and by amounts you owe to other agencies or 
governments, if those debts have been certified to us. 

Line 38 
Choose your refund method
Check the box next to the method by which you would like to receive 
your refund. You may only check one box.

 If this is the first year you are filing a Form IL-1040, your 
refund will be issued as a paper check.

Direct Deposit
If you use direct deposit, you will get your refund faster. You must 
enter your routing number, account number, and select either 
checking or savings.

	  Direct deposit into checking or savings
	 If you choose to deposit your refund directly into your checking 	
	 or savings account, you must 

•	 	enter your routing number.
			   	For a checking account, your routing number must be 	
				   nine digits and the first two digits must be 01 through 	
				   12 or 21 through 32. 
				   The sample check below has an example of a routing 	
				   number.  

	 		  	For a savings account, you must contact your financial 	
				   institution for your routing number. 

•	 	check the appropriate box to indicate that you want your  
refund deposited into your checking or savings account.

•	 enter your account number. 

		  	 	For a checking account, your account number may be up 	
				   to 17 digits. 

			  The sample check below has an example of an account 	
			  number. 

		  	 	For a savings account, you must contact your financial 	
				   institution for your account number. 
		  Do not take your account and routing numbers from 		
		  your checking or savings account deposit slip or include 	
		  your check number. Include hyphens, but omit spaces and 	
		  special symbols. You may have unused boxes. 

	  Some financial institutions may not allow a refund 	
	 to be deposited into an account if the names on the account 	
	 are not the same names that appear on the refund. If your 	
	 financial institution does not honor your request for direct 	
	 deposit, we will send you a check instead.

	  We do not support international ACH transactions.  	
          We will only deposit refunds into accounts located within the 	
	 United States. If your financial institution is located outside 	
	 the United States, we will send you a check instead of 		
	 depositing your refund into your account.

	  Direct deposit into “Bright Start” or Bright           
                      Directions”
	 If you choose to deposit your refund into your “Bright Start” 	
	 or “Bright Directions” College Savings Pool account, follow the 	
	 instructions below.  
	 For “Bright Start” you must,

•	 enter “101000695” as the routing number.
•	 check the “Savings” box.
•	 enter “1111514” plus your ten digit “Bright Start” account 

number. 
	 For “Bright Directions” you must,

•	 enter “104910795” as the routing number.
•	 check the “Savings” box.
•	 enter “529” plus your nine digit “Bright Directions” account 

number. 

Paper Check
If you choose to receive a paper check, your check will be mailed to 
the address entered on your return.

Line 39 
Amount of overpayment to be credited forward
Subtract Line 37 from Line 36. This is the amount of overpayment 
you elect to be applied against your estimated tax obligation. 

 We will reduce any credit to your estimated tax by the 
amount of any outstanding tax, penalties, and interest you owe. If 
your credit is reduced, you may owe a late-payment penalty for 
underpayment of estimated tax. For more information, see 
Form IL-1040-ES.

To which tax period will my credit apply?
We will apply your credit to the tax period for which estimated 
payments currently are due based on the date you file this 2021 
return.  
Example 1: You file your 2021 calendar year return on 
October 6, 2022, which is before the last estimated tax due date for 
2022 (January 17, 2023, for calendar year filers). You request your 
$500 overpayment be applied against your estimated tax. We will 
apply $500 to your 2022 estimated tax. 
Example 2: You file your 2021 calendar year return on 
February 3, 2023, which is after the last estimated tax due date for 
2022 (January 17, 2023, for calendar year filers). You request your 
$500 overpayment be applied against your estimated tax. We will 
apply $500 to your 2023 estimated tax.

Step 11 Refund
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Lines 39-40  
With what date will my credit apply against my estimated 
tax?
If your 2021 return was filed
•	 on or before the extended due date of your return 

(October 17, 2022, for calendar year filers), your credit is 
considered to be paid on the original due date of your 2021 
return (April 18, 2022, for calendar year filers).                            

	 Example 1: You file your 2021 calendar year return on 	
	 or before the extended due date of your return requesting 	
	 $500 be applied against estimated tax. All of your 		
	 payments are made before the original due date of your 	
	 return. Your credit of $500 will be considered to be paid on 	
	 April 18, 2022. 

However, if all or a portion of your overpayment results from 
payments made after the original due date of your 2021 return, 
that portion of your credit is considered to be paid on the date 
you made the payment.

		  Example 2: You file your 2021 calendar year return on 	
	      or before the extended due date of your return requesting 	
		  $500 be applied against estimated tax. Your overpayment 	
		  includes payments of $400 you made before the original 	
		  due date of your return, and a $100 payment you made on 	
		  June 1, 2022. Your credit of $400 will be considered to be 	
		  paid on April 18, 2022. The remaining $100 credit will be 	
		  considered to be paid on June 1, 2022. 
•	 after the extended due date of your return, your credit is 

considered to be paid on the date you filed the return on which 
you made the election. 

		  Example 3: You file your 2021 calendar year 		
		  return on December 1, 2022, requesting $500 be applied 	
		  against estimated tax. Your credit of $500 will be considered 	
		  to be paid on December 1, 2022, because you filed your 	
		  return after the extended due date of your 2021 calendar 	
		  year return.

May I apply my credit to a different tax period? 
Yes. If you wish to apply your credit to a tax period other than the one 
described above, you must submit a separate request in writing to: 

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19023
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9023

  You must submit your request to the address above at the 
time you file your return. 
Your request must include 
•	 your name,
•	 your SSN, 
•	 the tax period of the return creating the overpayment, and
•	 the tax period you wish to have the credit apply.
If your request does not contain this information, your election will be 
considered invalid and we will not apply your credit as you requested.
If you submit a valid request, we will apply your credit as you requested 
and notify you. Once made, your election to change the tax period to 
which your credit will apply is irrevocable. 

 You may only apply your credit to tax periods occurring after 
the period of the return creating the overpayment. If you request to apply 
more credit than our records show you have available, we will apply the 
maximum amount available and notify you of the difference. 

Step 12

Line 40 
Amount you owe  
If you owe less than $1, you do not have to pay, but you still must file 
your tax return. 

Your tax payment is due on or before April 18, 2022.

	  Payment options
	  You may pay by

•	 	 electronic payment. To have your payment electronically 	
	taken from your checking or savings account,

			   		 visit mytax.illinois.gov, or 

			   		 ask your tax professional. 

			   You need the same information that is required for direct 	
			   deposit (see the instructions for Line 38) plus your IL-PIN 	
			   (Illinois Personal Identification Number). 
			   Warning: Many credit unions will not allow an 		
			   electronic debit from a savings account. Please check with 	
			   your financial institution.

 We do not support international ACH 
transactions.  We will only debit your account if your 
financial institution is located within the United States. If 
your financial institution is located outside the United 
States, you must choose another payment option. 

•	  	 credit card. Use your MasterCard, Discover, American 
Express, or Visa. The credit card service provider will 
assess a convenience fee. Have your credit card ready 
and visit our website, or call one of the following:  

	 	 Official Payments Corporation at 1 833 747-1434.  

	 	 Value Payments Systems at 1 888 9-PAY-ILS 		
			  (1 888 972-9457).

	 	 FIS at 1 877 57-TAXES (1 877 578-2937).

	 	 In person at any IDOR Regional office.

•	 		 check or money order. Make the check or money order 	
payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue” (not IRS). 	
Write the taxpayer’s Social Security number, the spouse’s 	
Social Security number if filing jointly, and the tax year in 
the lower left corner of the payment.   
Payments must be U.S. negotiable currency, expressed in 
U.S. 	dollars, and drawn on a U.S. bank. 

•	 		 cash. Pay by cash at the Springfield or Chicago IDOR 
office.

		    Staple your check or money order and Form IL-1040-V, 	
		  Payment Voucher for Individual Income Tax, to the front of your 	
		  paper Form IL-1040.

	  Late filing or late payment	
			   If you do not file or pay your tax on time, you may 		
			   owe penalties and interest. We will send you a bill.
 			   If you prefer to figure the penalties yourself, complete 		
			   Form IL-2210. 

Amount You Owe
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Sign and date  
You, and your spouse if filing jointly, must sign and date your return. If 
you are filing for a minor as a parent or guardian, you must sign and 
date the return. 
If you do not sign your return,
•	 it will be considered not filed and you may be subject to a 

nonfiler penalty. 
•	 and three years have passed since the extended due date of 	

that return, any overpayment will be forfeited. 

  Staple all required copies of forms and schedules, powers 
of attorney, and letters of estate or office to the tax return. 

Paid preparer
If you pay someone to prepare your return, the paid preparer must 
also sign and date your return, provide a phone number, and enter 
their Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) issued by the IRS.  
Check the box if the paid preparer is self-employed.  If the paid 
preparer is employed with a professional tax preparation firm, the 
paid preparer also must provide the name, the Federal Employer 
Identification Number (FEIN), the address, and phone number of the 
firm.  

Third party designee (optional) 
If you want to allow another person to discuss this return and any 
previous return that affects the liability reported on this return with us, 
check the box and print the designee’s name and telephone number. 
The authorization will allow your designee to answer any questions 
that arise during the processing of your return, call us with questions 
about your return, and receive or respond to notices we send. You 
may revoke the authorization at any time by calling or writing us.

Step 13
Sign and Date 
Paid Preparer
Third Party Designee

Mailing your income tax return

If no payment is enclosed, mail your return to:  	 If a payment is enclosed, mail your return to: 

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19041						      PO BOX 19027
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9041				    SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9027
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Allocation Worksheet
Keep this worksheet with your income tax records.

	 		     –   –     	 	
Primary taxpayer’s name			  Primary taxpayer’s Social Security number

	 			      –   –     
Spouse’s name		  Spouse’s Social Security number

								       Column A		  Column B			  Column C		
					    			   Your joint		 Primary’s portion			 Spouse’s portion
								       federal return		  of Column A			  of Column A

	 1	Wages, salaries, tips, etc. (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 1)	 1	 	 	
	 2 	Taxable interest (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 2b)	 2	 	     

	 3 	Ordinary dividends (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 3b)	 3	 	 	
	 4 	Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets of state and local income taxes 	

		  (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 1)	 4	 	 	

	 5	 Alimony received (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 2a) 	5	 	 	

	 6	Business income or loss (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 3)	6	 	 	

	 7	 Capital gain or loss (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 7)	 7	 	 	

	 8	 Other gains or losses (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 4)	 8	 	 	

	 9	 Taxable IRAs (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 4b)	 9	 	 	

10	 Pensions & annuities (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 5b)	 10	 	 	
11	 Rental real estate, royalties, partnerships, S corporations, trusts, etc. 	

		  (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 5)	 11	 	 	
12	 Farm income or loss (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 6)	12	 	 	
13	 Unemployment compensation (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 

		  Schedule 1, Line 7)	 13	 	 	

14	 Taxable Social Security benefits (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 6b)	14	 	 	

15	 Other income (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 8) 	15	 	 	

16	 Educator Expenses (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 11)	16	 	 	

17	 Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and 
		  fee-basis government officials (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 

		  Schedule 1, Line 12) 	 17	 	 	

18	 Health savings account deduction (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 

		  Schedule 1, Line 13) 	 18	 	 	

19	 Moving expenses for members of the Armed Forces (federal 

		  Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 14) 	 19	 	 	

20	 Deductible part of self-employment tax 

		  (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 15) 	 20	 	 	

21	 Self-employed SEP, SIMPLE, and qualified plans 

		  (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 16) 	 21	 	 	

22	 Self-employed health insurance deduction 

		  (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 17) 	 22	 	 	

	23	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings (federal Form 1040 

		  or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 18) 	 23	 	 	

24	Alimony paid (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 19a) 	24	 	 	

25	IRA deduction (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 1, Line 20) 	25	 	 	

26	Student loan interest deduction (federal Form 1040, or 1040-SR

		  Schedule 1, Line 21) 	 26	 	 	

27	RESERVED	 27	 	 	

28	Archer MSA deduction (federal Form 1040, or 1040-SR, 

		  Schedule 1, Line 23)	 28	 	 	

29	Other Adjustments (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, 

		  Schedule 1, Line 25) 	 29	 	 	

30	Adjusted gross income (federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Line 11) 	30	 	 	

You must complete the Allocation Worksheet if you file a joint federal return, but choose to file “married filing separately” on your Illinois 
returns. In Column A, report the items of income and deductions as actually shown on your federal return, and then divide each item 
between you and your spouse in Columns B and C.

Column A: Enter the amounts from your joint federal return. 
Column B: Enter the primary taxpayer’s portion of the amount from Column A.
Column C: Enter the spouse’s portion of the amount from Column A.
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For more information on how your money is being spent, call 217 782-6000 or 312 814-2451, or visit illinoiscomptroller.gov.

General Funds Expenditures
By Function

How the Fiscal Year 2021 Dollar Was Spent

General Funds Revenues

Health and 
Social

Services
31.6%Education

40.8%

Transfers Out
11.6%

Public Protection
and 

Justice
5.7%

General
Government

9.9%

Where the Fiscal Year 2021 Dollar Came From

All Other
.4%

Federal             
Revenues

10%

Sales Taxes
19.8%

Corporate 
Income Taxes

7.5%

Lottery/Riverboat 
tranfers
1.7%

Miscellaneous
11.7%

Public Utility 
Taxes
1.6%

Individual Income 
Taxes
47.7%

How the Fiscal Year 2021 Lottery Dollar Was Spent
Lottery Expenditures

According to Illinois Office of Comptroller records, Illinois lottery 
revenues deposited into the State Treasury totaled $1.528 billion 
in fiscal year 2021. Of this total, $1.518 billion was deposited into 
the State Lottery Fund while just under $9.5 million from special 
instant games was deposited into nine separate funds. Total 
Illinois State Lottery Fund expenditures of $1.473 billion in fiscal 
year 2021 included $777 million, or 52.7%, in transfers to the 
Common School Fund for education; $416 million, or 28.2%, for 
prizes; and $280 million, or 19.1%, for operational expenses of 
the lottery, the largest component of which was $135 million for 
expenses of developing and promoting lottery games.

Operational 
Expenses

19.1%

Education
52.7%

Prizes
28.2%

General Funds revenues totaled $47.250 billion in fiscal year 2021. The 
largest source of revenue to the General Funds was the personal income 
tax with receipts of $22.525 billion, accounting for 47.7% of the total. 
Sales taxes were the second-largest source of revenue with $9.368 billion, 
or 19.8% of the total. Other major sources included federal revenues 
of $4.744 billion, or 10.0%; corporate income taxes of $3.563 billion, or 
7.5%; public utility taxes of $752 million, or 1.6%; and lottery and riverboat 
transfers of $777 million, or 1.7%. All other sources of revenue, including 
insurance, cigarette, inheritance and liquor taxes, borrowing transfers and 
other miscellaneous sources totaled $5.521 billion for fiscal year 2021, 
accounting for 11.7% of total revenues.

In fiscal year 2021, expenditures from the General Funds totaled $44.527 
billion, which is $2.723 billion less than revenues received for the fiscal year. 
Education encompassed the largest portion of the General Funds budget 
with fiscal year 2021 spending of $18.164 billion, or 40.8% of expenditures, 
including $14.417 billion for elementary and secondary education 
(includes teacher retirement contributions) and $3.747 billion for higher 
education (includes retirement contributions). Health and Social Services 
expenditures, which include spending for medical assistance, children 
and family services, the operation of mental health and developmentally 
disabled facilities and other related services, totaled $14.047 billion in fiscal 
year 2021, accounting for 31.6% of total General Funds expenditures. 
Transfers-out of $5.200 billion from the General Funds primarily supported 
debt service payments on bonds issued. Spending for Public Protection 
and Justice of $2.557 billion included funding for the operation of prisons, 
courts and law enforcement. Other spending included $4.390 billion for 
General Government, and $218 million for environmental assistance and 
employment and economic development.
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	Walk-in —               Business hours for the Springfield office are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

                                                   Springfield, IL — Willard Ice Building — 1 800 732-8866  or  217 782-3336
                                                   101 West Jefferson Street — 62702

		
	                                        Business hours for the following are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

		  Chicago — James R. Thompson Center — 1 800 732-8866 	
		  100 West Randolph Street — 7th Floor — 60601	

 	 Des Plaines — Maine North Regional Building — 1 800 732-8866	 Fairview Heights — 1 800 732-8866		
	 9511 West Harrison Street — 60016	 15 Executive Drive — Suite 2 — 62208	

	 Marion — 1 800 732-8866		  Rockford — 1 800 732-8866
 	 2309 West Main Street — Suite 114 — 62959	 200 South Wyman Street — 61101

For Tax Assistance

For Assistance or Forms, Instructions, and Publications
	 Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov for assistance, publications, forms, instructions or schedules. 
	 Write us at Illinois Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 19001, Springfield, Illinois  62794-9001.
	 During the filing season, Illinois forms are available at most libraries and at any taxpayer assistance office.

Other Assistance
	 For federal tax information — Call the IRS at 1 800 829-1040 or visit their website at www.irs.gov. 
  For other free tax help for low-income and senior taxpayers — Visit a free tax preparation assistance 		

	 location. To locate a site near you, visit our website, call us, or, if you live in Chicago, call 311. 			 

Phone — Call 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336 

	 to speak with our staff . . .  Business hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

	 Extended telephone hours for the 2021 filing season: 

•	 Friday April 15, 2022 		  8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

•	 Monday April 18, 2022 	 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM

	 for automated tax assistance . . .  24 hours a day, 7 days a week

The number for our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) is 1 800 544-5304.

 Visit our website for faster, easier service - 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  

		 Learn about our electronic filing and payment options and get your IL-PIN 
		 Get your 1099-G amount
		 Check your estimated payments
		 Check your refund status
		 Get information about a notice or a bill
		 Get answers to frequently asked questions 
		 Find a tax professional in your area
		 Change your address
		 Get information about Illinois Use Tax and Illinois Cigarette Use Tax you may owe 


