# **General Information**

#### What's new for 2018?

The Illinois dependent exemption allowance is now reported on Schedule IL-E/EIC.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the Illinois Earned Income Credit is increased to 18 percent of the federal Earned Income Tax Credit.

## What is the purpose of Schedule IL-E/EIC?

Schedule IL-E/EIC, Illinois Exemption and Earned Income Credit, provides instruction for you to figure the total amount of dependent exemption allowance you are allowed and the total amount of earned income credit you may claim on Form IL-1040, Individual Income Tax Return.

#### What must I attach to Form IL-1040?

If you enter an amount on Form IL-1040, Line 28, you **must** attach to your Form IL-1040, a completed Schedule IL-E/EIC, a copy of page 1 and 2 and Schedule 1 of your federal Form 1040, and any other required documentation listed in the "Step-by-Step Instructions" of this schedule.

<u>Note</u> We will review the earned income credit you claim and, if necessary, we may ask you to provide additional information to verify your credits. If you fraudulently claim the Illinois EIC, you may not be allowed to claim the credit for up to ten years. You also may have to pay penalties.

# Am I eligible for the Illinois Earned Income Credit?

In general, if you qualified for a federal Earned Income Tax Credit, you also qualify for the Illinois EIC.

<u>Note</u> If you reported business income or loss on your federal return, we may ask you to provide additional information to verify your Illinois EIC.

#### What if I need additional assistance or forms?

- Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov for assistance, forms or schedules.
- · write to us at

## ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19001

**SPRINGFIELD ILLINOIS 62794-9001** 

- call 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336 (TDD, telecommunication device for the deaf, at 1 800 544-5304), or
- visit a taxpayer assistance office 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Springfield office) and 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (all other offices), Monday through Friday.

# **Step-by-Step Instructions**

### Step 1: Provide the following information

Enter your name and Social Security number as shown on your Form IL-1040.

### **Illinois Dependent Exemption Allowance**

<u>Note</u> An Illinois exemption allowance is not allowed if the taxpayer's adjusted gross income for the taxable year exceeds \$500,000 for returns with a federal filing status of married filing jointly, or \$250,000 for all other returns.

### **Step 2: Dependent Information**

Enter information in the table for each dependent you are claiming. If claiming more than 3 dependents, continue on Table A on Page 2.

- Dependent's first name Enter your dependent's first name.
- **Dependent's last name -** Enter your dependent's last name.
- **Social Security number -** Enter your dependent's complete Social Security number.
- Dependent's relationship to you Enter your dependent's relationship to you (for example, son, daughter, grandchild, niece, nephew, eligible foster child, etc.)
- Dependent's date of birth Enter your dependent's date of birth.
- Is the dependent a full-time student? Check the box if "yes."
- Does the dependent have a disability? Check the box if "yes."
- Number of months living with you Enter the number of months the dependent has lived with you during the calendar year. This amount cannot exceed "12."
- Is the dependent eligible for Earned Income Credit? Check the box if the dependent meets the IRS requirements for a "Qualifying Child" for the Earned Income Credit.

**Line 1** — Follow the instructions on the form. Enter the result on Form IL-1040, Line 10d.

#### Illinois Earned Income Credit

# Step 3: Qualifying Child Information (other than a dependent)

<u>Note</u> Do not include qualifying children that are included in Step 2 here.

Note If you did not claim a qualifying child on your federal Schedule EIC, skip Step 3, and continue to Step 4.

Complete the table for each child you claimed on your federal Schedule EIC. To report additional qualifying children, complete Schedule IL-E/EIC Table B on Page 2.

- Child's first name Enter your qualifying child's first name.
- Child's last name Enter your qualifying child's last name.
- **Social Security number -** Enter your qualifying child's complete Social Security number.
- Child's relationship to you Enter your qualifying child's relationship to you (for example, son, daughter, grandchild,

# 2018 Schedule IL-E/EIC Instructions, continued.

- niece, nephew, eligible foster child, etc.)
- Child's date of birth Enter your qualifying child's date of birth
- Is the child a full-time student? Check the box if "yes."
- Does the child have a disability? Check the box if "yes."
- Number of months living with you Enter the number of months the child has lived with you during the calendar year. This amount cannot exceed "12."

**Line 1** — Follow the instructions on the form.

**Line 2** — Follow the instructions on the form. If you enter an amount on Line 2, you must answer the question on Line 2a. If you did not enter an amount on Line 2, continue to Line 3.

**Line 2a** — If you entered an amount on Line 2, you must check the appropriate box. If you check "Yes," you also must report additional information on Line 2b. If you check "No," continue to Line 3.

**Line 2b** — If you checked "Yes" on Line 2a, you must report the name of the issuing agency of your professional license, registration, or certification required for your occupation. You must also report your license, registration, or certification number.

To report information for more than one license, registration, or certification, complete Schedule IL-E/EIC Table C on Page 2.

**Line 3** — Follow the instructions on the form. If you enter an amount on Line 3, you must enter your spouse's Social Security number from your married filing jointly federal return on Line 3a. If you did not enter an amount on Line 3, continue to Line 4.

**Line 3a** — If you entered an amount on Line 3, you must follow the instructions on the form.

Note If you filed a joint federal return and you elected to file separate Illinois returns because one spouse is an injured spouse, you may each claim the Illinois EIC. However, the total federal credit reported on Schedule IL-E/EIC, Line 5, for both spouses cannot exceed the EIC amount claimed on your joint federal return.

**Line 4** — Check the appropriate box.

# Step 4: Figure your Illinois Earned Income Credit

**Lines 5 through 8** — Follow the instructions on the form.

Enter the amount from Line 8 on Form IL-1040, Line 28.

Remember: Intentionally submitting false information is a crime under Section 1301 of the Illinois Income Tax Act.