

Illinois Department of Revenue IL-990-T-X Instructions

Use for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2015.

What's new for 2015?

- For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2015, the Illinois Income Tax rate for
 - corporations is 5.25 percent (.0525).
 - trusts is 3.75 percent (.0375).
- Short-year filers only If your tax year begins on or after January 1, 2016, and you are taxed as a corporation, we grant you an automatic extension of time to file your tax return as described in Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.5020(b), which is available on our website tax.illinois.gov. See "When should I file?" in the Form IL-990-T instructions for more information.
- For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2014, Schedule 4255 has been redesigned to allow you to report and pay any recaptured Angel Investment Credit amounts. See the Schedule 4255 Instructions for more information.
- Exempt organizations may now claim pass-through withholding payments made on their behalf and reported to them on Schedule(s) K-1-P or K-1-T. See Specific Instructions for more information.
- As a result of Public Act 98-0925 taxpayers can now elect to apply their overpayments from this return against their estimated tax obligation for next year, even if the election is made after the extended due date of their return. See Specific Instructions for more information.
- Short-year filers The River Edge Redevelopment Zone Investment Credit has expired for tax years **beginning** on or after July 12, 2016. If your tax year **begins** on or after July 12,

2016, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Lines 15a through 15c. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 16. The Enterprise Zone Investment Credit is still allowed.

- Fiscal-year filers The Research and Development Credit has expired for tax years ending after December 31, 2015. If your tax year ends after December 31, 2015, enter zero on Schedule 1299-D, Lines 26 through 33. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 34.
- The Veterans Jobs Credit for "qualified veterans" has expired. You cannot claim a Veterans Jobs Credit for "qualified veterans" for tax years **beginning** on or after January 1, 2015. The credit for "qualified unemployed veterans" is still allowed.
- Short-year filers The River Edge Historic Preservation Credit has expired for tax years **beginning** on or after July 28, 2016. If your tax year **begins** on or after July 28, 2016, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Line 58. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 59.
- Fiscal-year filers The Historic Preservation Credit has expired for tax years ending after December 31, 2015. If your tax year ends after December 31, 2015, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Line 72. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 73.

General Information

Who must file Form IL-990-T-X?

You should file Form IL-990-T-X if you are amending a previously filed, processable Form IL-990-T, Exempt Organization Income and Replacement Tax Return, for a tax year ending **on or after December 31, 2007.** Your change can occur from a state or federal change that affects items used to compute your Illinois net income, net loss, or credits, such as

- an amendment of your federal income tax return,
- an adjustment made by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or
- any other recomputation or redetermination.

A separate amended return must be filed for each tax year you need to amend.

<u>ENote</u> Use Form IL-843, Amended Return or Notice of Change in Income, and the corresponding year's Form IL-990-T, to amend tax years ending **prior to December 31, 2007.**

What if I need to change my return before the extended due date expires?

If you filed your original Form IL-990-T and a state or federal correction or change needs to be made before the extended due date expires (see the instructions of your original return), you should file Form IL-990-T-X. Due to the automatic extension, any return filed after the original return and on or before the extended due date will be treated as the original return.

How long do I have to amend my return?

The amount of time you have to amend your return depends on whether your Form IL-990-T-X is being filed to report a state or federal change.

State change - If your change decreases the tax due to Illinois and you are entitled to an overpayment, you must file Form IL-990-T-X within

- three years after the due date of the return (including extensions),
- three years after the date your original return was filed, or
- one year after the date your Illinois tax was paid, whichever is latest.

If your change increases the tax due to Illinois, you should file Form IL-990-T-X and pay the tax, penalty, and interest promptly.

Federal change - You should not file this form until you receive a federal finalization notification from the IRS stating that they have accepted your change, either by paying a refund, or by final assessment, agreement, or judgment.

If your federal change decreases the tax due to Illinois and you are entitled to an overpayment, you must file Form IL-990-T-X within two years plus 120 days of federal finalization.

If your federal change increases the tax due to Illinois, you must file Form IL-990-T-X and pay any additional tax within 120 days of IRS partial agreement or finalization. In order to avoid late payment penalties, you must attach proof of the federal finalization date, showing the change was reported to Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you may be assessed a late-payment penalty. **<u>INote</u>** If you fail to notify us of your change by filing Form IL-990-T-X, we may issue a notice of deficiency at any time. Once you file your change, we may issue a notice of deficiency within two years.

Who should sign the return?

If you are a corporation, your Form IL-990-T-X must be signed by the president, vice president, treasurer, or any other officer duly authorized to sign the return. In the case of a bankruptcy, a receiver, trustee, or assignee must sign any return required to be filed on behalf of the corporation. If you are a trust, Form IL-990-T-X must be signed by a fiduciary of the trust. If there are two or more joint fiduciaries, the signature of one will comply with the requirements of the IITA. The signature verifies by written declaration (and under penalties of perjury) that the signing individual has personally examined the return and the return is true, correct, and complete. The fact that an individual's name is signed to a return is *prima facie* evidence that the individual is authorized to sign the return on behalf of the taxpayer.

Any person paid to prepare the return (other than an authorized officer, fiduciary, or a person who is a regular employee of the taxpayer, such as a clerk, secretary, or bookkeeper) must provide a signature, date the return, and enter the paid preparer's taxpayer identification number. If the paid preparer is an employee or partner of a firm or corporation, the preparer must also provide the firm's name and address, and instead of the preparer's taxpayer identification number, the preparer must provide the firm's FEIN. Self-employed preparers must provide their own name, address, and taxpayer identification number in the appropriate spaces.

Can a reasonable facsimile be used?

In general, you must obtain and use forms prescribed by the Illinois Department of Revenue. Separate statements not on forms provided or approved by the Department will not be accepted and you will be asked for appropriate documentation. **Failure to comply with this requirement may result in failure to file penalties, a delay in the processing of your return, or a delay in the generation of any overpayment.** Additionally, failure to submit appropriate documentation when requested may result in a referral to our Audit Bureau for compliance action.

Exempt organizations must complete Form IL-990-T-X. Do not send a computer printout with line numbers and dollar amounts attached to a blank copy of the return. Computer generated printouts are not acceptable, even if they are in the same format as the Department forms. Computer generated forms from a Department-approved software developer are acceptable.

What are the penalties and interest?

Penalties — You will owe

- a **late-filing penalty** if you do not file a processable return by the extended due date;
- a **late-payment penalty** if you do not pay the tax you owe by the original due date of the return;
- a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution;

What if I need additional assistance or forms?

If you need additional assistance:

- visit our website at tax.illinois.gov;
- write to us at PO BOX 19044, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9044;
- call our Taxpayer Assistance Division at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336; or
- call our telecommunications device for the deaf at **1 800 544-5304**.

Our office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

• a **cost of collection fee** if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on your bill.

Interest — The interest rate is the federal underpayment rate, which is set by the IRS under IRC Section 6621.

ENOTE For more information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, available at **tax.illinois.gov.**

What must I attach to my Form IL-990-T-X?

This form must contain a complete explanation of the reasons for filing the claim or amendment. You **must** attach proof of the federal finalization date and any schedules, forms, breakdowns, statements, or other documentation required to support your claim. If Form IL-990-T-X is submitted without the proper attachments, it may be partially or totally denied.

Examples of federal finalization include a copy of one or more of the following items:

- your federal refund check
- your audit report from the IRS
- your federal transcript verifying your federal taxable income

If you are filing Form IL-990-T-X because

- you filed an amended federal return and your tax due to Illinois decreases, you must attach proof of the federal finalization date, include a copy of that federal return, plus any other related forms, schedules, or attachments, including a signed and dated copy of any federal report of income tax examination changes, if applicable.
- you filed an amended federal return and your tax due to Illinois increases, you must attach proof of the federal finalization date, including a signed and dated copy of any federal report of income tax examination changes, if applicable, showing the change was reported to Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you may be assessed a late-payment penalty.
- of a change by the IRS, you must include all copies of the federal examining officer's reports, including preliminary, revised, corrected, and superseding reports, and a signed and dated copy of any federal report of income tax examination changes, if applicable.
- you copied information incorrectly from your federal Form 990-T onto your Form IL-990-T, you must include a copy of your federal Form 990-T.
- of a change in, or audit of, another state's tax return, you must include a copy of the other state's corrected return or the examining officer's reports.
- of changes reported on a revised Schedule K-1-P or K-1-T (or any equivalent document) you received, you must include a copy of the revised Schedule(s) K-1-P or K-1-T (or equivalent document).
- of changes, other than those described above, see Form IL-990-T Instructions and any schedules for the year you are changing to determine what attachments you must provide.

If you need additional forms or schedules, visit our website at **tax.illinois.gov.**

Specific Instructions

For instructions regarding completion of Steps 1, and 3 through 6, refer to the Form IL-990-T Instructions and schedules for the year being amended.

Specific instructions for most of the lines are included. If a specific line is not referenced, follow the instructions on the form.

Enter the tax year you are amending in the space provided at the top of Form IL-990-T-X.

Step 1: Identify your exempt organization

A — **All taxpayers:** Type or print your legal business name. If you have a name change from your original return, check the corresponding box.

B — Type or print your mailing address. If your address has changed since you filed your last return, check the box.

D — Check the appropriate box for the reason you are filing this return. If you are amending due to a federal change, you must check the appropriate box for partial agreed or finalized, and include the date of IRS finalization, which might not be the date the federal amended return was filed. Please attach a dated copy of any federal examining officer's report. If you do not provide this date or the required attachments, you may be assessed penalties and interest.

E — Check the box if you are taxed as a corporation.

F — Check the box if you are taxed as a trust.

G — If you are entitled to take income tax credits on Step 6, Line 22, you must check the box on Line G, and attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D to your tax return, even if you are unable to use any of the credits in this tax year.

Step 2: Explain the changes on this return

The purpose of Step 2 is to allow you to explain the specific changes you are making to your Illinois tax return. You should include all relevant information, including, but not limited to, changes made to

- specific addition and subtraction modifications,
- · credit or credit recapture amounts, and
- the federal or other state return that caused changes to the Illinois return.

You must provide an explanation for each line item you change.

If your changes generate an overpayment which you elect to receive as a credit carryforward and you elect to apply that credit to a tax year other than the year described in the Line 36 instructions, you must follow the instructions found under "May I apply my credit to a different tax year?" If you fail to include the required information in your explanation, your election will be considered invalid and we will not apply your credit as you requested.

General Information for Steps 3 through 6

Column A — Enter the amounts from your most recently filed or adjusted return for the year that you are amending. These may be figures from your original Form IL-990-T or a previously amended or audited return.

Column B — Enter the correct amount for each line in Column B.

For each line item you change, you must provide an explanation for that change in Step 2.

Step 3: Figure your base income or loss

Lines 1 and 2 — List each item and the amount on the line provided. Refer to your Form IL-990-T, Step 2, Specific Instructions, for the year being amended. IL-990-T-X Instructions (R-01/16) Line 3 — This is your base income or loss.

Column A — Enter the amounts from your most recently filed or adjusted return. **Do not check a box on Lines A or B to indicate how your income was reported on your most recently filed or adjusted return.** The check boxes on Lines A and B are used when reporting your amended base income or loss in column B.

Column B — Follow the instructions on the form and check the box on Line A or B that applies to the amount in Column B. You must check one of these boxes and follow the instructions for that Line when completing Column B.

Check the box on Line A if

- all of your base income or loss is derived inside Illinois or you are an Illinois resident trust; and
- you do not have any income or loss to report on Lines 4 or 10.

If you check the box on Line A, do not complete Step 4, Column B. All of your amended base income or loss is allocable to Illinois. Skip Step 4, Column B, enter the amount from Step 3, Column B, Line 3 on Step 5, Column B, Line 12, and complete the remainder of the return.

Check the box on Line B if any of the following apply

- your base income or loss is derived inside and outside Illinois;
- all of your base income or loss is derived outside Illinois; or
- you have income or loss to report on Lines 4 or 10.

If you check the box on Line B, you must complete all lines of Step 4, Column B. Submitting Form IL-990-T-X with an incomplete Step 4, Column B, including Lines 6, 7, and 8 may result in a delay in processing your return, further correspondence, and you may be required to submit further information to support your filing. See the Specific Instructions for Step 4 for more information.

Step 4: Figure your income allocable to Illinois

Complete Step 4 only if you originally completed this step, or you need to make a change that affects your base income or loss allocable to Illinois. Refer to Form IL-990-T, Step 3, Specific Instructions, for the year being amended.

You **must** check the box on Line B and complete Step 4 if any portion of Column B, Line 3, base income or loss, is derived outside Illinois, or you have any income or loss to report on Column B, Lines 4 or 10.

If you do not complete **all** of Step 4, Column B, Lines 4 through 11, we may issue a notice and demand proposing 100 percent of income as being allocated to Illinois, or in the case of a loss return, a notice indicating none of your loss as being allocated to Illinois.

Step 5: Figure your net replacement tax

Follow the instructions on the form. Be sure to attach any required schedules or forms.

Line 14 — See Illinois Schedule 4255, Recapture of Investment Tax Credits, for more information. You must attach Illinois Schedule 4255 if you have an amount on this line.

Line 16 — See Form IL-477, Replacement Tax Investment Credits, for more information. You must attach Form IL-477 and any other required support listed on Form IL-477 if you have an amount on this line.

Step 6: Figure your net income tax

Follow the instructions on the form. Be sure to attach any required schedules.

Line 20 — See Illinois Schedule 4255 for more information regarding the recapture of investment credits. You must attach Illinois Schedule 4255 if you have an amount on this line.

Line 22 — See Illinois Schedule 1299-D for more information regarding income tax credits. If you have an amount on this line, check the box in Step 1, Line G and attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D and any other required support listed on Schedule 1299-D.

Step 7: Figure your refund or balance due

Line 26 — Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act surcharge. Use the instructions and the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act Surcharge Worksheet in the Form IL-990-T instruction booklet to figure your surcharge.

Line 28a — Enter the amount of any overpayment from your prior year tax returns that you requested to be applied to this year's tax return. Take into account any correspondence we may have sent you that changed the amount of your credit carryforward from the previous year.

Line 28b — Enter the total amount of estimated payments you made during this tax year.

Line 28c — Enter the amount of Illinois income and replacement tax paid with Form IL-505-B.

Line 28d — Enter the amount you wish to claim of Illinois pass-through withholding payments reported to you by partnerships, S corporations, or trusts on Schedule(s) K-1-P or K-1-T. If you received more than one Schedule K-1-P or K-1-T, add the amounts you wish to claim from all the schedules and enter the total on Line 28d. Attach copies of the Schedules K-1-P and K-1-T you received from the pass-through entities to your Form IL-990-T. See "What are pass-through withholding payments?" under "General Information" in the Form IL-990-T instructions for more information.

Line 28e — Enter the total amount of gambling withholding. **Attach Forms W-2G.**

Line 31 — Enter the total amount of any tax payments you made with a previously filed Form IL-990-T-X, or for any other reason (*e.g.*, responding to a bill). Do not include any penalty and interest you previously paid.

Line 33 — Enter the total amount of any overpayment, credit, or refund (whether received or not) reported on your previously filed Form IL-990-T or Form IL-990-T-X. Do not include any interest that you received.

Line 36 — Enter the amount of overpayment you elect to be credited forward.

Your credit carryforward will not be applied if you do not file a processable return.

If your overpayment accrues interest and you elect to receive your

- entire overpayment as a credit carryforward, any interest due will be applied with your credit as an additional credit carryforward. We will calculate the amount of interest due and notify you. When you claim your credit carryforward in a future year you must include this interest amount in the amount claimed.
- overpayment as both a credit carryforward and a refund, we will apply the credit as you request and include any interest due with your refund.

Note Your credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any other year. If we reduce your credit carryforward, it may result in a late-payment penalty in a subsequent year. Page 4 of 7

To which tax year will my credit apply?

ENote Different dates apply to the examples given below depending on if you file as a corporation or trust. Only read the section of the following instructions that apply to your filing type.

Corporations only (To which tax year will my credit apply?)

If your amended 2015 return was filed

on or before the original filing and payment due date of your original return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on March 1, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. March 1, 2016, falls before the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (May 16, 2016, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

after the original filing and payment due date of your original return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year in which timely payments can be made as of the date you are filing this return, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on August 4, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. August 4, 2016, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (May 16, 2016, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (May 15, 2017, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on May 29, 2017, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. May 29, 2017, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (May 15, 2017, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2017 tax year (May 15, 2018, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2017 tax year liability.

ENOTE If you wish to apply the credit to a different tax year, see "May I apply my credit to a different tax year?"

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 6 and 7 if you require assistance determining the year to which your credit will apply.

Trusts only

(To which tax year will my credit apply?)

If your amended 2015 return was filed

on or before the original filing and payment due date of your original return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on March 1, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. March 1, 2016, falls before the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (April 18, 2016, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

after the original filing and payment due date of your original return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year in which timely payments can be made as of the date you are filing this return, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on August 4, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. August 4, 2016, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (April 18, 2016, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (April 18, 2017, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on April 28, 2017, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. April 28, 2017, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (April 18, 2017, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2017 tax year (April 17, 2018, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2017 tax year liability.

ENOTE If you wish to apply the credit to a different tax year, see "May I apply my credit to a different tax year?"

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 6 and 7 if you require assistance determining the year to which your credit will apply.

With what date will my credit apply against my tax liability?

<u>ENote</u> Different dates apply to the examples given below depending on if you file as a corporation or trust. Only read the section of the following instructions that apply to your filing type.

Corporations only (With what date will my credit apply against my tax liability?)

If your amended 2015 return was filed

on or before the extended due date of your original return (December 15, 2016, for calendar-year filers), your credit is considered to be paid on the original due date of your original return (May 16, 2016, for calendar-year filers).

However, if all or a portion of your overpayment results from payments made after the original due date of your original return, that portion of your credit is considered to be paid on the date you made the payment.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on or before the extended due date of your original return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. All of your payments are made before the original due date of your original return. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on May 16, 2016.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on or before the extended due date of your original return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your overpayment includes payments of \$400 you made before the original due date of your original return, and a \$100 payment you made on June 1, 2016. Your credit of \$400 will be considered to be paid on May 16, 2016. The remaining \$100 credit will be considered to be paid on June 1, 2016.

□ after the extended due date of your return, your credit is considered to be paid on the date you filed the amended return on which you made the election.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on December 19, 2016, requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on December 19, 2016, because you filed your amended return after the extended due date of your 2015 calendar-year original return.

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 6 and 7 if you require assistance determining with what date your credit will apply.

Trusts only (With what date will my credit apply against my tax liability?)

If your amended 2015 return was filed

on or before the extended due date of your original return (October 17, 2016, for calendar-year filers), your credit is considered to be paid on the original due date of your original return (April 18, 2016, for calendar-year filers).

However, if all or a portion of your overpayment results from payments made after the original due date of your original return, that portion of your credit is considered to be paid on the date you made the payment.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on or before the extended due date of your original return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. All of your payments are made before the original due date of your original return. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on April 18, 2016.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on or before the extended due date of your original return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your overpayment includes payments of \$400 you made before the original due date of your original return, and a \$100 payment you made on June 1, 2016. Your credit of \$400 will be considered to be paid on April 18, 2016. The remaining \$100 credit will be considered to be paid on June 1, 2016.

after the extended due date of your return, your credit is considered to be paid on the date you filed the amended return on which you made the election.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year amended return on December 1, 2016, requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on December 1, 2016, because you filed your amended return after the extended due date of your 2015 calendar-year original return.

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 6 and 7 if you require assistance determining with what date your credit will apply.

May I apply my credit to a different tax year?

Yes. If you wish to apply your credit to a tax year other than the one described above, you must indicate the tax year to which you wish to have the credit apply in the explanation you provide in Step 2 of this return.

If you do not follow these instructions, your election will be considered invalid and we will apply your credit as indicated under "To which tax year will my credit apply?"

If you submit a valid request, we will apply your credit as you requested and notify you. Once made, your election to change the tax year to which your credit will apply is irrevocable.

ENOTE You may only apply your credit to tax years occurring after the year of the return creating the overpayment. If you request to apply more credit than our records show you have available, we will apply the maximum amount available and notify you of the difference.

Line 37 — Follow the instructions on the form. We will calculate any interest that may be due you and include it in your refund check. Any refund may be reduced to satisfy any outstanding liability.

We do not currently offer direct deposit as a method for receiving a refund from an amended return. Overpayments will be refunded by check.

Line 38 — Follow the instructions on the form. This is your amount of tax due that must be paid in full if \$1 or more. We encourage you to let us figure your penalties and interest and send you a bill instead of determining these amounts yourself. We will compute any penalty and interest due and notify you. If you do not calculate your penalty and interest, enter the amount you are paying on the top of Page 1, complete a payment voucher, Form IL-990-T-X-V, make your check or money order payable to "Illinois Department of Revenue," and attach them to the front of this form. We will compute any penalty or interest due and notify you.

<u>ENote</u> We will apply all payments against tax first, penalty second, and interest third.

Lines 39 through 41 — We encourage you to let us figure your penalties and interest and send you a bill instead of determining these amounts yourself. We will compute any penalty and interest due and notify you. If you calculate the penalties you owe on Form IL-2220, Computation of Penalties for Businesses, enter these amounts on the lines provided. For more information see "What are the penalties and interest?" and Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. If you calculate penalty and interest, be sure that your payment is equal to the amount on Line 41.

ENOTE Lines 39 and 40 are applicable only if you wish to self-assess late-filing and late-payment penalties on Form IL-2220. We encourage you to leave Lines 39 and 40 blank. We will calculate all penalties and interest and send you a bill.

If you have a balance due on Lines 38 or 41, be sure to **enter** the amount you are paying on the top of Page 1 of the Form IL-990-T-X. Complete a payment voucher, Form IL-990-T-X-V, make your check or money order payable to "Illinois Department of Revenue," and attach them to the first page of this form.

Credit Carryforward Worksheet	
Step 1: Determine the tax year to which your credit will apply	
Check box A or B and follow the instructions for the box you checked. If you did not check a box, do n associated with that box.	ot complete the question(s)
A 🗌 I filed my amended return on or before the original filing and payment due date of my original re-	eturn.
Complete Line 1a only if you checked box A, above.	
↓ 1a Enter the ending date of the next full tax year. This is the year your credit will be applied to unless you elect to apply it to a different year.	1a//
Example:	
 Corporations only - A calendar-year filer, filing an amended return on March 1, 2016 (whic original filing and payment due date for the 2015 tax year), would enter the next full tax year Trusts only - A calendar-year filer, filing an amended return on March 1, 2016 (which falls b filing and payment due date for the 2015 tax year), would enter the next full tax year ending 	ending date, 12/31/2016. Defore April 18, 2016, the original
B I filed my amended return after the original filing and payment due date of my original return.	
Complete Lines 1b through 2b only if you checked box B, above.	
→ 1b Enter the date you filed this amended return.	1b / /
→ 2b Enter the ending date of the next full tax year for which a payment made on the date entered	
on Line 1b would be considered a timely payment. This is the year your credit will be applied	
to unless you elect to apply it to a different year.	2b//
Examples:	
Corporations only -	
 A calendar-year filer, filing an amended return on August 4, 2016 (which falls after May 16, 2 due date for the 2015 tax year, but before May 15, 2017, the original filing and payment due enter 12/31/2016 on Line 2b. 	
 A calendar-year filer, filing an amended return on May 29, 2017 (which falls after May 15, 20 due date for the 2016 tax year, but before May 15, 2018, the original filing and payment due enter 12/31/2017 on Line 2b. 	
Trusts only -	
 A calendar-year filer, filing an amended return on August 4, 2016 (which falls after April 18, 2 due date for the 2015 tax year, but before April 18, 2017, the original filing and payment due enter 12/31/2016 on Line 2b. 	
 A calendar-year filer, filing an amended return on April 28, 2017 (which falls after April 18, 2 due date for the 2016 tax year, but before April 17, 2018, the original filing and payment due enter 12/31/2017 on Line 2b. 	

Step 8 — Signature, date, and paid preparer's information

You must sign and date your return. If you do not sign your return, it will not be considered filed and you may be subject to a **nonfiler penalty.**

If you want to allow the paid preparer listed in this step to discuss this return with the Department, check the box. This authorization will allow your paid preparer to answer any questions that arise during the processing of your return, call us with questions about your return, and receive or respond to notices we send. The authorization will automatically end no later than one year after you file your amended return. You may revoke the authorization at any time by calling or writing us.

Credit Carryforward Worksheet (continued)

Step 2: Determine th	e date that your	credit will apply again	nst you	r tax liabi	ility		
Check box A or B and fol associated with that box.		or the box you checked. If	you did n	ot check a	box, do not complete the q	uestion(s)	
credit carryforward ma	ay be reduced by us (due to corrections we make	e to your	return, or te	return is processed by the o satisfy any unpaid tax, pe a late-payment penalty in a	enalty, and interest	
A 🗌 I filed my amended	d return on or before	the extended due date of r	ny origina	al return.*			
Complete Lines 1a	through 3a only if you	checked box A, above.					
\rightarrow 1a Enter the original due date for this 2015 original return.		1a//					
entered on Line entered on Line → 3a Enter the overp the date entere	e 1a. A credit in this an e 1a. payment amount(s) and d on Line 1a. Credit(s)	ayment from payments made nount will be applied to your d payment date(s) for any pa) in the amount(s) listed belo	account v ayment(s) w will be a	vith the date you made a applied to ye	2a after		
account and wi	I be considered to be	paid on the date you made	the payme	ent.			_
Overpayment Amount	Date of Payment	Overpayment Amount	Date of	Payment	Overpayment Amount	Date of Payment	
\$	/ /	\$	/	/	\$	/ /	
\$	/ /	\$	/	/	\$	/ /	
Complete Line 1b of 1b Enter the date y credit to have b *Short-year filers only - automatic extension of tim	only if you checked box you filed this amended een paid. If your tax year begir ne to file your tax retu	d return. The date you enter in s on or after January 1 , <i>urn as described in Illinois i</i>	is the date 2016, an Income T	d you are t ax Regulat	1b/ taxed as a corporation, w ions, Section 100.5020(b),		
on our website tax.illinois	s.gov. See "When sh	nould I file?" in the Form IL-	-990-T ins	structions f	or more information.		