Illinois Department of Revenue IL-990-T Instructions

What's new for 2015?

- For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2015, the Illinois Income Tax rate for exempt organizations taxed as
 - corporations is 5.25 percent (.0525).
 - trusts is 3.75 percent (.0375).
- Short-year filers only If your tax year begins on or after January 1, 2016, and you are taxed as a corporation, we grant you an automatic extension of time to file your tax return as described in Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.5020(b), which is available on our website tax.illinois.gov. See "When should I file?" in these instructions for more information.
- For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2014, Schedule 4255 has been redesigned to allow you to report and pay any recaptured Angel Investment Credit amounts. See the Schedule 4255 Instructions for more information.
- Exempt organizations may now claim pass-through withholding payments made on their behalf and reported to them on Schedule(s) K-1-P or K-1-T. See Specific Instructions for more information.
- As a result of Public Act 98-0925 taxpayers can now elect to apply their overpayments from this return against their estimated tax obligation for next year, even if the election is made after the extended due date of their return. See Specific Instructions for more information.
- Short-year filers The River Edge Redevelopment Zone Investment Credit has expired for tax years **beginning** on or after July 12, 2016. If your tax year **begins** on or after July 12, 2016, you

cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Lines 15a through 15c. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 16. The Enterprise Zone Investment Credit is still allowed.

- **Fiscal-year filers** The Research and Development Credit has expired for tax years **ending** after December 31, 2015. If your tax year **ends** after December 31, 2015, enter zero on Schedule 1299-D, Lines 26 through 33. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 34.
- The Veterans Jobs Credit for "qualified veterans" has expired. You cannot claim a Veterans Jobs Credit for "qualified veterans" for tax years **beginning** on or after January 1, 2015. The credit for "qualified unemployed veterans" is still allowed.
- Short-year filers The River Edge Historic Preservation Credit has expired for tax years **beginning** on or after July 28, 2016. If your tax year **begins** on or after July 28, 2016, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Line 58. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 59.
- **Fiscal-year filers** The Historic Preservation Credit has expired for tax years **ending** after December 31, 2015. If your tax year **ends** after December 31, 2015, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Line 72. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 73.

General Information

Who must file Form IL-990-T?

You must file Form IL-990-T if you are an organization exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) with unrelated business taxable income under IRC Section 512, **and**

- have net income as defined under the Illinois Income Tax Act (IITA); or
- are a resident or qualified to do business in the state of Illinois and are required to file U.S. Form 990-T (regardless of net income or loss).

What forms must I use?

In general, you must use forms prescribed by the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR). Separate statements not on forms provided or approved by the Department will not be accepted and you will be asked for appropriate documentation. **Failure to comply with this requirement may result in failure to file penalties, a delay in the processing of your return, or a delay in the generation of any overpayment.** Additionally, failure to submit appropriate documentation when requested may result in a referral to our Audit Bureau for compliance action.

Exempt organizations must complete Form IL-990-T. Do not send a computer printout with line numbers and dollar amounts attached to a blank copy of the return. Computer generated printouts are not acceptable, even if they are in the same format as the Department's forms. Computer generated forms from a Department-approved software developer are acceptable.

How do I register my business?

If you are required to file Form IL-990-T, you should register with the Illinois Department of Revenue. You may register

- online with MyTax Illinois, our free online account management program for taxpayers; or
- by calling our Central Registration Division at 217 785-3707.

Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov for more information.

Registering with IDOR **prior to filing your return** ensures that your tax returns are accurately processed.

Your identification numbers as an Illinois business taxpayer are your federal employer identification number (FEIN) and your Illinois account number.

When should I file?

Your Illinois filing due date is the same as your federal filing due date. In general, Form IL-990-T is due on or before the 15th day of the **5th** month following the close of the tax year. If you are an employee trust as described in IRC Section 401(a), you must file Form IL-990-T on or before the 15th day of the **4th** month following the close of the tax year.

Automatic extension — If you are taxed as a

• **trust**, we grant you an automatic six-month extension of time to file your tax return.

- corporation,
 - and your tax year begins **before** January 1, 2016, we grant you an automatic seven-month extension of time to file your tax return.
 - and your tax year begins **on or after** January 1, 2016, we grant you an automatic extension of time to file your tax return as described in Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.5020(b), which is available on our website **tax.illinois.gov**.

You are not required to file Form IL-505-B, Automatic Extension Payment, in order to obtain this automatic extension. However, if you expect tax to be due, you must use Form IL-505-B to pay any tentative tax due in order to avoid interest and penalty on tax not paid by the original due date of the return. An extension of time to file your Form IL-990-T is not an extension of time for payment of Illinois tax.

Additional extensions beyond the automatic extension

period — We will grant an additional extension **only** if an extension of more than six months is granted by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). You must attach a copy of the approved federal extension to your Form IL-990-T.

When should I pay?

Payment of tax — You must pay your Illinois Income and Replacement Tax in full on or before the original due date of the return. This payment date applies even though an automatic extension for filing your return has been granted.

Estimated tax payments — If you reasonably expect your Illinois Income and Replacement tax and surcharge liability to be more than \$400 for the tax year, you are required to make quarterly payments of estimated tax. For further information regarding estimated taxes, see the instructions for Form IL-1120-ES, Estimated Income and Replacement Tax Payments for Corporations.

ENote Trusts are **not** required to make estimated payments.

Who should sign the return?

If you are a corporation, your Form IL-990-T must be signed by the president, vice president, treasurer, or any other officer duly authorized to sign the return. In the case of a bankruptcy, a receiver, trustee, or assignee must sign any return that is required to be filed on behalf of the corporation. If you are a trust, Form IL-990-T must be signed by a fiduciary of the trust. If there are two or more joint fiduciaries, the signature of one will comply with the requirements of the IITA. The signature verifies by written declaration (and under penalties of perjury) that the signing individual has personally examined the return and the return is true, correct, and complete. The fact that an individual's name is signed to a return is prima facie evidence that the individual is authorized to sign the return on behalf of the corporation or trust.

Any person paid to prepare the return (other than a regular employee of the taxpayer, such as a clerk, secretary, or bookkeeper) must provide a signature, date the return, and enter the paid preparer's taxpayer identification number. If the paid preparer is an employee or partner of a firm or corporation, the preparer must also provide the firm's name and address, and instead of the preparer's taxpayer identification number, the preparer must provide the firm's FEIN. Self-employed preparers must provide their own name, address, and taxpayer identification number in the appropriate spaces. **ENOTE** If your return is not signed, any overpayment of tax is considered forfeited if, after notice and demand for signature, you fail to provide a signature within three years from the date your return was filed.

What are the penalties and interest?

Penalties — You will owe

- a **late-filing penalty** if you do not file a processable return by the extended due date;
- a **late-payment penalty** if you do not pay the tax you owe by the original due date of the return;
- a **bad check penalty** if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution;
- a **cost of collection fee** if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on your bill.

Interest — Interest is calculated on tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay the tax.

We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, available at **tax.illinois.gov**.

What if I am discontinuing my business?

Liquidation, withdrawal from Illinois, loss of charter or termination — If you are a corporation that is liquidated, withdraws either voluntarily or involuntarily from Illinois, or in any manner surrenders or loses its charter, or if you are a trust that is terminated, you are still required to file tax returns. We will pursue the assessment and collection of taxes if you are liable for income and replacement tax for this year or any previous tax period.

Sales or transfers — If, outside the usual course of business, you sell or transfer the major part of any one or more of

- the stock of goods which you are in the business of selling,
- the furniture or fixtures of your business,
- · the machinery and equipment of your business, or
- the real property of your business,

you or the purchaser must complete and send us Form CBS-1, Notice of Sale, Purchase, or Transfer of Business Assets, no later than 10 days after the date the sale took place. Mail this form, along with copies of the sales contract and financing agreement, to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE BULK SALES UNIT 100 WEST RANDOLPH, LEVEL 7-400 CHICAGO IL 60601

Request for prompt determination — You may make a request for prompt determination of liability, in accordance with IITA 35 ILCS 5/905(i), if you are a corporation in the process of dissolution. A completed tax return must be on file with us before you can submit a request for prompt determination. Do not submit your return and request at the same time. Mail your initial return to the address on the form. You should allow 12 weeks for processing. If your request is properly made, the expiration of the statute of limitations (absent fraud) will not extend beyond 18 months from the date of your request. Mail your request and a copy of your previously submitted return to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19044 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

ENote The procedure described above does not apply to 11 U.S. Code Section 505 Determination of Tax Liability requests.

What if I need to correct or change my return?

Do not file another Form IL-990-T with "amended" figures to change your originally filed Form IL-990-T. If you need to correct or change your return after it has been filed, you must file Form IL-990-T-X, Amended Exempt Organization Income and Replacement Tax Return. Returns filed before the extended due date of the return are treated as your original return for all purposes. For more information, see Form IL-990-T-X instructions.

You should file Form IL-990-T-X only after you have filed a processable Illinois Income Tax return. You must file a separate Form IL-990-T-X for each tax year you wish to change.

State changes only — You must file Form IL-990-T-X promptly if you discover an error on your Illinois return that does not relate to any error on your federal return but rather was caused by

- a mistake in transferring information from your federal return to your Illinois return,
- failing to report to Illinois an item that has no effect on your federal return, or
- a mistake in another state's tax return that affects the computation of your Illinois tax liability,

If you are filing Form IL-990-T-X to claim an overpayment, it must be filed within three years after the extended due date or date the return was filed, or within one year after the tax giving rise to the overpayment was paid, whichever is latest.

Federal changes only — If you have filed an amended federal return or if you have been notified by the IRS that they have made changes to your return, you must file Form IL-990-T-X. This includes any change in your federal income tax liability; any tax credit; or in the computation of your federal unrelated business taxable income, as reported for federal income tax purposes, if the change affects any item entering into the computation of net income, net loss, or any credit for any year under the IITA. You must file Form IL-990-T-X no later than 120 days after the changes have been agreed to or finally determined to avoid a late-payment penalty.

If you are filing Form IL-990-T-X to claim an overpayment resulting from a federal change, it must be filed within two years after the date such notification was due (regardless of whether such notice was given). For further information, see Form IL-990-T-X instructions.

Attach a copy of federal finalization or proof of acceptance from the IRS along with a copy of your amended federal form, if applicable, to your Form IL-990-T-X. Examples of federal finalization include a copy of one or more of the following items:

- your federal refund check
- your audit report from the IRS
- your federal transcript verifying your federal taxable income

What attachments do I need?

When filing your return there are certain types of income items and modifications that require the attachment of Illinois or federal forms and schedules. Breakdowns, statements, and other documentation may also be required. Instructions for these attachments appear throughout the specific instructions for completing your return.

ENote All Illinois forms and schedules include an
"IL Attachment No." in the upper right corner of the form.
Required attachments should be ordered numerically behind the

tax return, as indicated by the IL Attachment No. Failure to attach forms and schedules in the proper order may result in processing delays.

Required copies of documentation from your federal return or other sources should be attached **behind the completed Illinois return**.

All taxpayers must attach a copy of your U.S. Form 990-T, Page 1 to your Illinois return.

ENOTE When filing your Form IL-990-T include only forms and schedules required to support your return. Send correspondence separately to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE TAXPAYER CORRESPONDENCE PO BOX 19044 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

What records must I keep?

You must maintain books and records to substantiate any information reported on Form IL-990-T. Your books and records must be available for inspection by our authorized agents and employees.

Do the IDOR and the IRS exchange income tax information?

The IDOR and the IRS exchange income tax information for the purpose of verifying the accuracy of information reported on federal and Illinois tax returns. All amounts you report on Form IL-990-T are subject to verification and audit.

Should I round?

You must round the dollar amounts on Form IL-990-T and accompanying schedules to whole-dollar amounts. To do this, you should drop any amount less than 50 cents and increase any amount of 50 cents or more to the next higher dollar.

What if I participated in a reportable transaction?

If you participated in a reportable transaction, including a "listed transaction" during this tax year and were required to disclose that transaction to the IRS, you are also required to disclose that information to Illinois.

You must send us two copies of the form used to disclose the transaction to the IRS.

• Mail the first copy of the federal disclosure statement to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19029 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9029

• Attach the second copy to your Illinois Income Tax return for the tax year that the IRS disclosure was required. Mail the second copy and your Illinois Income Tax return to the address shown on your return. **Do not** mail the second copy and your Illinois Income Tax return to the address listed above.

What are Illinois Schedules K-1-T and K-1-P?

Illinois Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary's Share of Income and Deductions, is provided for trusts and estates to supply each beneficiary with income amounts that are taxable to Illinois and pass-through withholding payments made on the beneficiary's behalf. If you are a beneficiary of a trust or an estate, you should receive a completed Illinois Schedule K-1-T and a copy of **Illinois Schedule K-1-T(2)**, Beneficiary's Instructions, from that trust or estate.

Illinois Schedule K-1-P, Partner's or Shareholder's Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, and Recapture, is for partnerships and S corporations to supply each partner or shareholder with income amounts that are taxable to Illinois, the partner's or shareholder's share of Illinois credits, and pass-through withholding payments made on the partner's or shareholder's behalf. If you are a partner in a partnership or a shareholder in an S corporation, you should receive a completed Illinois Schedule K-1-P and a copy of **Illinois Schedule K-1-P(2)**, Partner's or Shareholder's Instructions, from that partnership or S corporation.

What are pass-through withholding payments?

A **pass-through entity** is any entity treated as a partnership, subchapter S corporation, or trust for federal income tax purposes.

Pass-through entity income is the income that any partnership, subchapter S corporation, or trust passes through to its partners, shareholders, or beneficiaries.

Pass-through withholding payments are payments required to be reported and paid by the pass-through entity on behalf of its **nonresident** partners, shareholders, and beneficiaries

• who have **not** submitted Form IL-1000-E, Certificate of Exemption for Pass-through Withholding Payments, to the pass-through entity, and

Where should I file?

Online - Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov and click on the MyTax Illinois logo.

By mail - If a payment is enclosed with your return, mail your Form IL-990-T to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19053 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9053

What if I need additional assistance or forms?

If you need additional assistance -

- Visit our website at **tax.illinois.gov**.
- Write to us at: ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19044 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044
- Call **1 800 732-8866** or **217 782-3336** (TDD, telecommunications device for the deaf, at **1 800 544-5304**).

Our office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

• who receive business and nonbusiness income from the pass-through entity.

ENOTE For tax years ending before December 31, 2014, pass-through withholding payments were known as "pass-through entity payments" or "composite return payments" and were reported on Form IL-1000 or Form IL-1023-C respectively.

Exempt organizations can receive pass-through withholding payments. **Pass-through withholding payments reported to you** are credits for pass-through withholding payments **you receive** on Schedules K-1-P and K-1-T as a partner, shareholder, or beneficiary of a pass-through entity. This amount will be reported on Form IL-990-T, Line 28d.

If you are a nonresident and the pass-through withholding payments reported to you satisfy your Illinois Income Tax liability, you are not required to file an Illinois Income Tax return. If you had Illinois income from other sources and the payments made on your behalf do not cover your liability, you must file a return to report the tax on all of your Illinois income and claim a credit for pass-through withholding payments made on your behalf.

All residents and pass-through entities must file their own annual Illinois Income Tax return and claim a credit for any pass-through withholding payments reported to them.

If a payment is **not** enclosed, mail your Form IL-990-T to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19009 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9009

If you need additional forms or schedules, visit our website at **tax.illinois.gov.**

Specific Instructions

Specific instructions for most of the lines are provided on the following pages. If a specific line is not referenced, follow the instructions on the form.

Step 1— Identify your exempt organization

A — All taxpayers: Type or print your legal business name. If you have a name change from last year, check the corresponding box.

 ${f B}$ — Type or print your mailing address. If your address has changed since you filed your last return or if this is your first return, check the box.

ENOTE If you checked the box in Line B because you have never filed an Illinois return, you must also check the "first return" box in Line C.

 \mathbf{C} — If this is your first or final return, check the appropriate box. Page 4 of 13 D — Enter your federal employer identification number.

E — **Corporation** — If you are taxed as a corporation, check the box.

F — Trust — If you are taxed as a trust, check the box.

G — Provide the nature of your unrelated trade or business in the space provided.

H — If you earned or can carry forward credits on Illinois Schedule 1299-D, Income Tax Credits, you must mark the box and attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D to your tax return, even if you are unable to use any of the credits in this tax year.

I — Enter your North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) Code. If you are unsure of your code, you can research the information at www.census.gov/eos/www/naics or www.irs.gov. IL-990-T Instructions (R-01/16)

ENote→ You must complete a Department-issued or previously approved Form IL-990-T and corresponding

schedules. Do not send a computer printout or spreadsheets with line numbers and dollar amounts attached to a blank copy of the return.

You must use the same accounting method (*e.g.*, cash or accrual) and tax year that you used for federal income tax purposes.

Step 2 — Figure your base income or loss

Line 1 — Enter the amount of unrelated business taxable income or loss from U.S. Form 990-T, Line 34. This entry is the unrelated business taxable income or loss after deducting income exempt from tax by reason of the United States or Illinois Constitutions, or by reason of law, statute, or treaties of the United States. Attach a worksheet explaining the source and amount of any such deduction.

ENOTE You must attach a copy of Page 1 of your U.S. Form 990-T if you made any entries in Part I or Part II of that page.

Line 2 — You must add back any amount of Illinois Income and Replacement taxes and surcharge that you deducted on your U.S. Form 990-T to arrive at your federal unrelated business taxable income.

Line 3 — This is your base income or loss. Follow the instructions on the form and check a box on Line A or B. You must check one of these boxes and follow the instructions for that line.

Check the box on Line A if

- all of your base income or loss is derived inside Illinois or you are an Illinois resident trust; and
- you do not have any income or loss to report on Lines 4 or 10.

If you check the box on Line A, do not complete Step 3. All of your base income or loss is allocable to Illinois. Skip Step 3, enter the amount from Step 2, Line 3 on Step 4, Line 12, and complete the remainder of the return.

Check the box on Line B if any of the following apply

- your base income or loss is derived inside and outside Illinois;
- all of your base income or loss is derived outside Illinois; or
- you have income or loss to report on Lines 4 or 10.

If you check the box on Line B, you must complete all lines of Step 3. Submitting Form IL-990-T with an incomplete Step 3, including Lines 6, 7, and 8 may result in a delay in processing your return, further correspondence, and you may be required to submit further information to support your filing. See the Specific Instructions for Step 3 for more information.

Step 3 — Figure your income allocable to Illinois

You **must** check the box on Line B and complete all lines of Step 3 if any portion of Line 3, base income or loss, is derived outside Illinois, or you have income or loss to report on Lines 4 or 10.

If you do not complete **all** of Step 3, Lines 4 through 11, we may issue a notice and demand proposing 100 percent of business income as being apportioned to Illinois, or in the case of a loss return, a notice indicating none of your loss as being allocated to Illinois.

Line 4 — Enter the amount of all business income or loss included in base income received from any non-unitary partnership, partnership included on a Schedule UB, IL-990-T Instructions (R-01/16)

S corporation, trust, or estate, of which you are a partner or a beneficiary. See Illinois Schedules K-1-P(2) or K-1-T(2) for more information. Attach a copy of all Illinois Schedules K-1-P and K-1-T you received to your Form IL-990-T. If you do not have an amount to report on this line, enter "0".

ENOTE The partnership is required to send you an Illinois Schedule K-1-P and Schedule K-1-P(2), and the trust or the estate is required to send you an Illinois Schedule K-1-T, and Schedule K-1-T(2), specifically identifying your share of income.

Especial<u>Note</u> If you are a partner engaged in a unitary business with your partnership, you must include your distributable share of the partnership's business income in your business income. Do not subtract this business income on Line 4.

Lines 6 through 8 —

You must complete Lines 6 through 8 if any of the following apply

- your business income or loss is derived inside and outside Illinois;
- all of your business income or loss is derived from outside Illinois; or
- you have income or loss to report on Lines 4 or 10.

Follow the specific instructions below for Lines 6 through 8.

ENOTE If you are a partner engaged in a unitary business with your partnership, you must include your distributive share of the "everywhere" and "Illinois" sales factors from the partnership in your "everywhere" and "Illinois" sales factors. For more information, see Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.3380(d).

Line 6 — Enter your total sales everywhere.

Line 7 — Enter your total sales inside Illinois.

Example 1 Lines 6 and 7 cannot be less than zero. The amount on Line 7 cannot exceed the amount on Line 6.

If you checked the box on Line 3 B and do not complete Lines 6 and 7 we may issue a notice and demand proposing 100 percent of income as being allocated to Illinois, or in the case of a loss return, a notice indicating none of your loss as being allocated to Illinois.

Include gross receipts from the license, sale, or other disposition of patents, copyrights, trademarks, and similar items of intangible personal property in the numerator and denominator of your sales factor only if the gross receipts are more than 50 percent of the total gross receipts included in gross income for this tax year and each of the two immediately preceding tax years.

Do not include the following items of income in the numerator or denominator of your sales factor

- dividends,
- amounts included under IRC Section 78,
- subpart F income as defined in IRC Section 952, and
- any item of income excluded or deducted from base income.

For more information on what should be included in the numerator or denominator of your sales factor, see Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Sections 100.3370 and 100.3380.

Sales of tangible personal property are in Illinois if

 the property is delivered or shipped from anywhere to a purchaser in Illinois, other than the United States government, regardless of the Free on Board (f.o.b.) point or other conditions of the sale;

- the property is shipped from Illinois to any place and the purchaser is the United States government;
- the property is shipped from Illinois to another state and you are not taxable in the state of the purchaser; or
- your salesperson operates out of an office in Illinois, and the property sold by the salesperson is shipped from a state in which you are not taxable, to a state in which you are not taxable.

For radio and television broadcasting (including cable and satellite broadcasting), the following sales are in Illinois:

- advertising revenue received from an advertiser whose headquarters is in Illinois.
- fees received by a broadcaster from its viewers or listeners in Illinois.
- in the case of fees received by a broadcaster from the production or other owner of the contents of a program, the percentage of the fees equal to the percentage of the broadcast's viewing or listening audience located in Illinois.
- in the case of a person who owns the contents of a program and who provides the contents to a broadcaster for a fee or other charge, the percentage of the fees received for that program from a broadcaster located in Illinois.

If the "sales everywhere" amount includes gross receipts from the licensing, sale, or other disposition of patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other similar items of intangible personal property and the receipts are not covered by the broadcasting rules, then these receipts should be allocated to Illinois to the extent the item is used in Illinois during the year the gross receipts are included in gross income. An item is used in Illinois if

- a patent is employed in production, fabrication, manufacturing, or other processing in Illinois or if the patented product is produced in Illinois.
- copyrighted material is printed or other publications originated in Illinois.
- the commercial domicile of the licensee or purchaser of a trademark or other item of intangible personal property is in Illinois.

ENOTE If you cannot determine from your books and records in which state an item is used, do not include the gross receipts from that item in the numerator or denominator of the sales factor.

For sales of telecommunications services, the following sales are in Illinois:

- sales of telecommunications service sold on a call-by-call basis, where the call both originates and terminates in Illinois, or the call either originates or terminates in Illinois and the customer's service address is in Illinois;
- retail sales of postpaid telecommunications service if the point of origination of the signal is in Illinois;
- retail sales of prepaid telecommunications service where the purchaser receives the prepaid card or other means of conveyance at a location in Illinois;
- charges imposed at a channel termination point in Illinois;
- charges for channel mileage between two channel termination points in Illinois;

- charges for channel mileage between one or more channel termination points in Illinois and one or more channel termination points outside Illinois, times the number of channel termination points in Illinois divided by total termination channels;
- charges for services ancillary to sales of services in Illinois.
 If you provide ancillary services, but cannot determine where the sales of the related services are located, your sales are in Illinois if your customer is in Illinois;
- access fees charged to a reseller of telecommunication for a call that both originates and terminates in Illinois;
- 50 percent of access fees charged to a reseller of telecommunications services for an interstate call that originates or terminates in Illinois; and
- end user access line charges, if the customer's service address is in Illinois.

For more information see 86 III. Adm. Code, Section 100.3371.

Illinois lottery winnings and proceeds from sales or other transfers of rights to lottery winnings are in Illinois.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property or telecommunications service, and gross receipts from broadcasting, or the licensing, sale, or other disposition of patents, copyrights, trademarks, and similar items of intangible personal property, or Illinois lottery winnings or sales proceeds, are in Illinois as follows:

- sales or leases of real property in Illinois;
- leases or rentals of tangible personal property, to the extent it is located in Illinois during the rental period;
- interest, net gains, and other items of income from intangible personal property received by a taxpayer who is a dealer in that property from a customer who is a resident of Illinois (for individuals) or who is commercially domiciled in Illinois (for all other customers). A taxpayer without actual knowledge of the residence or commercial domicile of a customer may use the customer's billing address.
- interest, net gains, and other items of income from intangible personal property received by a taxpayer who is not a dealer in that property, if the income-producing activity is performed in Illinois or if the income-producing activity is performed inside and outside Illinois, and a greater proportion of the income-producing activity is performed inside Illinois rather than outside Illinois, based on performance costs;
- in all other cases, if the services are received in Illinois.

For more information, see 86 III. Adm. Code, Section 100.3370.

Line 8 — Divide Line 7 by Line 6 and enter the result, rounded to six decimal places. The result cannot be greater than "1" or less than "0."

ENOTE If you checked the box on Line 3 B and do not complete Line 8 we may issue a notice and demand proposing 100 percent of your income as being allocated to Illinois, or in the case of a loss return, a notice indicating none of your loss as being allocated to Illinois.

Line 9 — Follow the instructions on the form. If you checked the box on Line 3 B and did not complete Lines 6, 7, or 8 we may

- propose 100 percent of your income as being allocable to Illinois
- · propose none of your loss as being allocable to Illinois.

Line 10 — Enter the amount of business income or loss reported on Step 3, Line 4 that is apportionable to Illinois as reported by the partnership, partnership included on a Schedule UB, S corporation, trust, or estate, on Illinois Schedules K-1-P or K-1-T. See Illinois Schedules K-1-P(2) or K-1-T(2) for more information. **Attach a copy of all Illinois Schedules K-1-P and K-1-T you received to your Form IL-990-T.** If you do not have an amount to report on this line, enter "0".

Step 4 — Figure your net replacement tax

Line 14 — Enter your recapture of investment credits from Illinois Schedule 4255, Recapture of Investment Tax Credits, Step 4, Column C, Line 18.

If you claimed an Illinois investment tax credit in a prior year on Form IL-477, Replacement Tax Investment Credits, and any of the property was disqualified within 48 months of being placed in service, you must use Illinois Schedule 4255 to compute the amount of recapture. Credit must be recaptured in the year the property became disqualified. For more information, see Illinois Schedule 4255.

Line 16 — Enter the amount from Form IL-477, Step 1, Line 13. Attach Form IL-477 and any other required support listed on Form IL-477 to your Form IL-990-T.

You may claim a replacement tax investment credit of up to .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property placed in service in Illinois during the tax year.

An additional credit of up to .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property is available if your Illinois base employment increased over the preceding year or if your business is new to Illinois. Excess credit may be carried forward for five years following the excess credit year. For further information, refer to Form IL-477 instructions.

Step 5 — Figure your net income tax

Line 20 — Enter the total of your recapture of investment credits from Illinois Schedule 4255, Step 4, Columns A and B, Line 18, and Step 5, Line 21. See Schedule 4255 instructions for more information regarding the recapture of investment credits.

If you claimed an Enterprise Zone, River Edge Redevelopment Zone, High Impact Business Investment Credit, or Angel Investment Credit in a prior year on Illinois Schedule 1299-D, Income Tax Credits, and any of the property becomes disqualified, you must use Illinois Schedule 4255 to compute the amount of recapture. Credit must be recaptured in the year in which the property became disqualified. For more information, see Illinois Schedule 4255.

Line 22 — Enter the amount from Illinois Schedule 1299-D, Step 2, Line 33. The total of all credits is limited to the total income tax shown on Line 21. Attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D and any other required support listed on Schedule 1299-D to your Form IL-990-T. For more information, see Illinois Schedule 1299-D Instructions.

The TECH-PREP Youth Vocational Programs Credit and the Dependent Care Assistance Program Tax Credit are available to taxpayers primarily engaged in manufacturing. Any excess credit may be carried forward for **two** years following the excess credit year.

• **TECH-PREP Youth Vocational Programs Credit** — The programs must be certified as qualifying TECH-PREP programs by the State Board of Education. The credit is for an amount equal to 20 percent (.20) of your direct payroll expenditures for IL-990-T Instructions (R-01/16)

cooperative secondary school youth vocational programs in Illinois. The payroll expenditures must not have been claimed for the Training Expense Credit. You also may claim an additional credit of 20 percent (.20) for personal services rendered by a TECH-PREP student or instructor that would be subject to withholding if they were employed by you and no other credit has been claimed by the actual employer.

• Dependent Care Assistance Program Credit — A credit of 5 percent (.05) of the amount of expenditures reported under IRC Section 129(d)(7), to provide an on-site facility dependent care assistance program as defined in IRC Section 129 is allowed.

The following credits are also available and may be carried forward for **five** years following the excess credit year:

- Film Production Services Tax Credit Businesses in the film industry may receive a transferable credit for Illinois production expenses incurred in a project that has been approved by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO). Credits earned in tax years ending prior to July 11, 2005, may not be carried over, while credits earned in later years may be carried forward five years. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.
- Enterprise Zone Investment Credit A credit of .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property placed in service in an Illinois enterprise zone during the tax year is allowed.
- River Edge Redevelopment Zone Investment Credit For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, a credit is allowed which is a percentage of the basis of qualified property placed in service in an Illinois river edge redevelopment zone during the tax year. See the Illinois Schedule 1299-D instructions for specific percentage amounts.

ENOTE If your tax year **begins** on or after July 12, 2016, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Lines 15a through 15c. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 16.

- High Impact Business Investment Credit A credit of .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property placed in service in Illinois by you during your tax year as a "High Impact Business" is available. To claim this, the property must have been certified as a "High Impact Business" by the DCEO and you must have met the minimum investment required by the Illinois Enterprise Zone Act.
- Tax Credit for Affordable Housing Donations A credit of 50 percent (.50) of the amount of the donation a taxpayer makes under Section 7.28 of the Illinois Housing Development Act for the development of affordable housing in Illinois is allowed.
- Economic Development for a Growing Economy (EDGE) Tax Credit — A credit is available to taxpayers who have entered into an agreement with the DCEO under the Economic Development for a Growing Economy Tax Credit Act. The credit is available to businesses located within Illinois or businesses planning to locate within Illinois, who are participating in an economic development project. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.
- Research and Development Credit A credit of 6.5 percent (.065) of the qualifying expenditures for increasing research activities conducted in Illinois, and that are allowable under IRC Section 41 is allowed. Page 7 of 13

Note If your tax year **ends** after December 31, 2015, enter zero on Schedule 1299-D, Lines 26 through 33. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 34.

- River Edge Redevelopment Zone Remediation Credit A credit for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2006, for unreimbursed eligible remediation costs incurred in a Site Remediation Program under the Environmental Protection Act in a river edge redevelopment zone is allowed. See Illinois Schedule 1299-D instructions or contact the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency for more information.
- Ex-Felons Jobs Credit For tax years beginning after December 31, 2006, the Ex-Felons Jobs Credit is 5 percent (.05) of qualified wages paid during the taxable year to an employee who is a qualified ex-offender. The total credits for all years for wages paid to a particular ex-offender may not exceed \$1,500.
- Veterans Jobs Credit For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2012, and on or before December 31, 2016, the Veterans Jobs Credit is the lesser of 20 percent (.20) of qualified wages paid during the taxable year to a "qualified unemployed veteran," or \$5,000 per "qualified unemployed veteran."

See the instructions for Schedule 1299-D for more information, including the definitions of a "qualified unemployed veteran."

ENote The credit for hiring a "qualified veteran" cannot be claimed in tax years **beginning** on or after January 1, 2015.

- Student-Assistance Contribution Credit For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2009, this credit is allowed to employers who make a matching contribution to a qualified Illinois pre-paid tuition program on behalf of employees. Qualified Illinois pre-paid tuition plans include:
 - Illinois Bright Start Savings Pool,
 - Illinois Bright Directions Savings Pool, and
 - College Illinois Pre-paid Tuition Program.

The credit amount is 25 percent (.25) of the contribution for each employee, or \$500 per employee, whichever is less.

- Angel Investment Credit For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2011, and ending on or before December 31, 2016, a credit may be claimed in an amount equal to 25 percent (.25) of an investment made directly in a qualified new business. The credit may not reduce tax below zero and may be carried forward for five years. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.
- New Markets Credit For qualified investments made between 2008 and 2017 in a community development entity, a credit is allowed on the second anniversary of the investment (tax years ending on or after December 31, 2010), and the next four anniversaries. The credit may not reduce tax below zero and may be carried forward for five years. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.
- River Edge Historic Preservation Credit For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a credit for restoring certain types of real estate in a river edge redevelopment zone may be claimed if you entered into an agreement with the DCEO. The credit may not reduce tax below zero and may

be carried forward for five years. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.

Note If your tax year **begins** on or after July 28, 2016, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Line 58. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 59.

- Live Theater Production Credit For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, a credit for various costs associated with the production of live theater may be claimed if you applied with and were approved by the DCEO. The credit may not reduce tax below zero and may be carried forward for five years. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.
- Hospital Credit For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2012, a credit is available to the owner of a hospital that is licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act, and is not exempt from federal income taxes under the Internal Revenue Code. The credit is an amount equal to the lesser of the amount of real property taxes paid on Illinois property used for hospital purposes during the prior tax year or the cost of free or discounted services provided during the tax year at Illinois locations in accordance with the hospital's charitable financial assistance policy, measured at cost. See the instructions for Schedule 1299-D for more information.
- Historic Preservation Credit A credit for restoring certain types of real estate in Peoria area may be claimed if you entered into an agreement with the DCEO. The credit may not reduce tax below zero and may be carried forward for ten years. The credit is issued by the DCEO and a copy of your credit certificate from the DCEO must be attached to your return.

Note If your tax year **ends** after December 31, 2015, you cannot claim this credit on Schedule 1299-D, Line 72. You may still claim any distributive share of this credit passed through to you on Schedule(s) K-1-P by reporting it on Schedule 1299-D, Line 73.

Step 6 — Figure your refund or balance due

Line 26 — Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act surcharge.

Definitions

Organization registrant means a corporation, partnership, trust, limited liability company (LLC), or other organization, that holds either a medical cannabis cultivation center registration issued by the Illinois Department of Agriculture or a medical cannabis dispensary registration issued by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.

Transactions subject to the surcharge means sales and exchanges of

- capital assets;
- depreciable business property;
- real property used in the trade or business; and
- Section 197 intangibles

of an organization registrant.

What is the surcharge?

For each taxable year beginning or ending during the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program, a surcharge is imposed on all taxpayers on income arising from the transactions subject to the surcharge of an organization registrant under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act.

The amount of the surcharge is equal to the amount of federal income tax liability for the taxable year attributable to the transactions subject to the surcharge.

To whom does the surcharge apply?

The surcharge is imposed on any taxpayer who incurs a federal income tax liability on the income realized on a "transaction subject to the surcharge," including individuals and other taxpayers who are not themselves the "organization registrant" that engaged in the transaction.

A line has been included on Schedules K-1-P and K-1-T to identify the amount of federal income attributable to transactions subject to the surcharge that was passed through to you on federal Schedule K-1.

How do I figure the surcharge?

If the surcharge applies to you, complete the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act Surcharge Worksheet at the bottom of page 9.

For more information, see Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.2060.

Line 27 — Add Lines 24, 25, and 26 and enter the total on this line. This is your total net income and replacement taxes and surcharge.

Line 28a — Enter the amount of any overpayment from your prior year tax returns that you requested to be applied to this year's tax return. Take into account any correspondence we may have sent you that changed the amount of your credit carryforward from the previous year.

Line 28b — Enter the total amount of estimated payments you made during this tax year.

Line 28c — Enter the amount of Illinois income and replacement tax paid with Form IL-505-B.

Line 28d — Enter the amount you wish to claim of Illinois pass-through withholding payments reported to you by partnerships, S corporations, or trusts on Schedule(s) K-1-P or K-1-T. If you received more than one Schedule K-1-P or K-1-T, add the amounts you wish to claim from all the schedules and enter the total on Line 28d. Attach copies of the Schedules K-1-P and K-1-T you received from the pass-through entities to your Form IL-990-T. See "What are pass-through withholding payments?" under "General Information" in these instructions for more information. Line 28e — Enter the total amount of gambling withholding. Attach Forms W-2G.

Line 31 — Enter the amount of overpayment you elect to be credited forward.

Your credit carryforward will not be applied if you do not file a processable return.

ENOTE Your credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any other year. If we reduce your credit carryforward, it may result in a late-payment penalty in a subsequent year.

To which tax year will my credit apply?

ENOTE Different dates apply to the examples given below depending on if you file as a corporation or trust. Only read the section of the following instructions that apply to your filing type.

Corporations only (To which tax year will my credit apply?)

If your 2015 return was filed

□ on or before the original filing and payment due date of your return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on March 1, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. March 1, 2016, falls before the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (May 16, 2016, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

□ after the original filing and payment due date of your return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year in which timely payments can be made as of the date you are filing this return, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on August 4, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. August 4, 2016, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (May 16, 2016, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (May 15, 2017, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on May 29, 2017, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. May 29, 2017, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (May 15, 2017, for

Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act Surcharge Worksheet

2	
IS	subject to the

calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2017 tax year (May 15, 2018, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2017 tax year liability.

ENOTE If you wish to apply the credit to a different tax year, see "May I apply my credit to a different tax year?"

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 12 and 13 if you require assistance determining the year to which your credit will apply.

Trusts only (To which tax year will my credit apply?)

If your 2015 return was filed

on or before the original filing and payment due date of your return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on March 1, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. March 1, 2016, falls before the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (April 18, 2016, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

after the original filing and payment due date of your return, your credit will be applied to the next full tax year in which timely payments can be made as of the date you are filing this return, unless you elect to apply the credit to a different tax year.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on August 4, 2016, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. August 4, 2016, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2015 tax year (April 18, 2016, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (April 18, 2017, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2016 tax year liability.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on April 28, 2017, requesting to receive your overpayment as a credit. April 28, 2017, is after the original filing and payment due date of the 2016 tax year (April 18, 2017, for calendar-year filers), but is before the original filing and payment due date of the 2017 tax year (April 17, 2018, for calendar-year filers). Your credit will be applied against your 2017 tax year liability.

ENOTE If you wish to apply the credit to a different tax year, see "May I apply my credit to a different tax year?"

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 12 and 13 if you require assistance determining the year to which your credit will apply.

With what date will my credit apply against my tax liability?

ENOTE Different dates apply to the examples given below depending on if you file as a corporation or trust. Only read the section of the following instructions that apply to your filing type.

Corporations only (With what date will my credit apply against my tax liability?)

If your 2015 return was filed

on or before the extended due date of your return (December 15, 2016, for calendar-year filers), your credit is considered to be paid on the original due date of this return (May 16, 2016, for calendar-year filers).

However, if all or a portion of your overpayment results from payments made after the original due date of this return, that portion of your credit is considered to be paid on the date you made the payment.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on or before the extended due date of your return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. All of your payments are made before the original due date of your return. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on May 16, 2016.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on or before the extended due date of your return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your overpayment includes payments of \$400 you made before the original due date of your return, and a \$100 payment you made on June 1, 2016. Your credit of \$400 will be considered to be paid on May 16, 2016. The remaining \$100 credit will be considered to be paid on June 1, 2016.

□ after the extended due date of your return, your credit is considered to be paid on the date you filed the return on which you made the election.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on December 19, 2016, requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on December 19, 2016, because you filed your return after the extended due date of your 2015 calendar-year return.

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 12 and 13 if you require assistance determining with what date your credit will apply.

Trusts only (With what date will my credit apply against my tax liability?)

If your 2015 return was filed

on or before the extended due date of your return (October 17, 2016, for calendar-year filers), your credit is considered to be paid on the original due date of this return (April 18, 2016, for calendar-year filers).

However, if all or a portion of your overpayment results from payments made after the original due date of this return, that portion of your credit is considered to be paid on the date you made the payment.

Example 1: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on or before the extended due date of your return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. All of your payments are made before the original due date of your return. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on April 18, 2016.

Example 2: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on or before the extended due date of your return requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your overpayment includes payments of \$400 you made before the original due date of your return, and a \$100 payment you made on June 1, 2016. Your credit of \$400 will be considered to be paid on April 18, 2016. The remaining \$100 credit will be considered to be paid on June 1, 2016.

after the extended due date of your return, your credit is considered to be paid on the date you filed the return on which you made the election.

Example 3: You file your 2015 calendar-year return on December 1, 2016, requesting \$500 be applied as a credit. Your credit of \$500 will be considered to be paid on December 1, 2016, because you filed your return after the extended due date of your 2015 calendar-year return.

You may complete the Credit Carryforward Worksheet on pages 12 and 13 if you require assistance determining with what date your credit will apply.

May I apply my credit to a different tax year?

Yes. If you wish to apply your credit to a tax year other than the one during which you file this return, you must submit a separate request in writing to:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19004 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9004

ENote Submit your request at the time you file your return. **Do not** submit your return to this address.

Your request must include

- your name,
- your FEIN,
- · the tax year of the return creating the overpayment, and
- the tax year you wish to have the credit apply.

If you do not follow these instructions, your election will be considered invalid and we will not apply your credit as you requested.

If you submit a valid request, we will apply your credit as you requested and notify you. Once made, your election to change the tax year to which your credit will apply is irrevocable. Requests will be worked in the order we receive them.

ENOTE You may only apply your credit to tax years occurring after the year of the return creating the overpayment. If you request to apply more credit than our records show you have available, we will apply the maximum amount available and notify you of the difference.

Line 32 — Follow the instructions on the form. Your refund will not be issued if you do not file a processable return.

ENOTE Your refund may be reduced by us to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any other year.

Line 33 — Direct deposit information.

If you choose to deposit your refund directly into your checking or savings account, you must

- Enter your routing number.
 - For a checking account, your routing number must be nine digits and the first two digits must be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32.

The sample check following these instructions has an example of a routing number.

- For a savings account, you must contact your financial institution for your routing number.
- Check the appropriate box to indicate whether you want your refund deposited into your checking or savings account.
- Enter your account number.
 - For a checking account, your account number may be up to 17 digits.

The sample check following these instructions has an example of an account number.

• For a savings account, you must contact your financial institution for your account number.

Do not use your account and routing numbers from your checking or savings account **deposit slip**. **Do not** include your check number. Include hyphens, but omit spaces and special symbols. You may have unused boxes.

ENote If your financial institution does not honor your request for direct deposit, we will send you a check instead.

ENote We do not support international ACH transactions. We will only deposit refunds into accounts located within the United States. If your financial institution is located outside the United States, we will send you a check instead of depositing your refund into your account.

Business Taxpayer 1234 Square Lincoln Land, IL 12345
PAY TO THE ORDER OF DOLLARS
The Land Bank Do not include Vour check number Routing number Number
Memo

Line 34 — Follow the instructions on the form. This is your amount of tax due that must be paid in full if \$1 or more. If you are not paying electronically, complete a payment voucher, Form IL-990-T-V, make your check or money order payable to "Illinois Department of Revenue" and attach them to the front of the return.

ENote If you are paying electronically **do not** complete and attach a payment voucher.

You should also enter the amount you are paying in the box located on the top of Page 1 of the Form IL-990-T.

We encourage you to let us figure your penalties and interest and send you a bill instead of determining these amounts yourself. We will compute any penalty or interest due and notify you (see General Information, "What are the penalties and interest?").

Step 7 — Signature, date, and paid preparer's information

You must sign and date your return. If you do not sign your return, it will not be considered filed and you may be subject to a **nonfiler penalty.**

If you want to allow the paid preparer listed in this step to discuss this return with the Department, check the box. This authorization will allow your paid preparer to answer any questions that arise during the processing of your return, call us with questions about your return, and receive or respond to notices we send. The authorization will automatically end no later than the due date for filing your 2016 tax return (excluding extensions.) You may revoke the authorization at any time by calling or writing us.

Credit Carryforward Worksheet
Step 1: Determine the tax year to which your credit will apply
Check box A or B and follow the instructions for the box you checked. If you did not check a box, do not complete the question(s) associated with that box.
 A I filed my return on or before the original filing and payment due date of my return. Complete Line 1a only if you checked box A, above.
↓ 1a Enter the ending date of the next full tax year. This is the year your credit will be applied to unless you elect to apply it to a different year. 1a
 Example: Corporations only - A calendar-year filer, filing a return on March 1, 2016 (which falls before May 16, 2016, the original filing and payment due date for the 2015 tax year), would enter the next full tax year ending date, 12/31/2016. Trusts only - A calendar-year filer, filing a return on March 1, 2016 (which falls before April 18, 2016, the original filing and payment due date for the 2015 tax year), would enter the next full tax year ending date, 12/31/2016.
B ☐ I filed my return after the original filing and payment due date of my return. Complete Lines 1b through 2b only if you checked box B, above. → 1b Enter the date you filed this return. → 2b Enter the ending date of the next full tax year for which a payment made on the date entered on Line 1b would be considered a timely payment. This is the year your credit will be applied to unless you elect to apply it to a different year. 2b
Examples:
 Corporations only - A calendar-year filer, filing a return on August 4, 2016 (which falls after May 16, 2016, the original filing and payment due date for the 2015 tax year, but before May 15, 2017, the original filing and payment due date for the 2016 tax year), would enter 12/31/2016 on Line 2b. A calendar-year filer, filing a return on May 29, 2017 (which falls after May 15, 2017, the original filing and payment due date for the 2016 tax year), would enter the 2016 tax year, but before May 15, 2018, the original filing and payment due date for the 2017 tax year), would enter 12/31/2017 on Line 2b.
Trusts only -
 A calendar-year filer, filing a return on August 4, 2016 (which falls after April 18, 2016, the original filing and payment due date for the 2015 tax year, but before April 18, 2017, the original filing and payment due date for the 2016 tax year), would enter 12/31/2016 on Line 2b.
 A calendar-year filer, filing a return on April 28, 2017 (which falls after April 18, 2017, the original filing and payment due date for the 2016 tax year, but before April 17, 2018, the original filing and payment due date for the 2017 tax year), would enter 12/31/2017 on Line 2b.

Step 2: Determine the date that your credit will apply against your tax liability Check box A or B and follow the instructions for the box you checked. If you did not check a box, do not complete the question(s) associated with that box. Tedit carryforwards calculated on this worksheet will not be available until your return is processed by the Department. Your credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any other year. If we reduce your credit carryforward, it may result in a late-payment penalty in a subsequent year. A I filed my return on or before the extended due date of my return.* Complete Lines 1a through 3a only if you checked box A, above. + 1a Enter the original due date for this 2015 return. + 2a Enter the total amount of your overpayment from payments made on or before the date entered on Line 1a. + 3a Enter the overpayment amount(s) and payment date(s) for any payment(s) you made after the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your account and will be considered to be paid on the date you made the payment. Overpayment Amount Date of Payment § / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / /	Credit Carryforward Worksheet (continued)
associated with that box. =Note=3 Credit carryforwards calculated on this worksheet will not be available until your return is processed by the Department. Your credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any other year. If we reduce your credit carryforward, it may result in a late-payment penalty in a subsequent year. A I filed my return on or before the extended due date of my return.* Complete Lines 1a through 3a only if you checked box A, above. + 1a Enter the original due date for this 2015 return. + 2a Enter the total amount of your overpayment from payments made on or before the date entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a. • 3a Enter the overpayment amount(s) and payment date(s) for any payment(s) you made after the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your account with the date on June 1a. Credit(s) in the date you made the payment. Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment \$ / \$ / \$ / \$ / \$ / B I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.* Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above. The Denter the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit	Step 2: Determine the date that your credit will apply against your tax liability
credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any other year. If we reduce your credit carryforward, it may result in a late-payment penalty in a subsequent year. A I filed my return on or before the extended due date of my return.* Complete Lines 1a through 3a only if you checked box A, above. 1a //// 2a Enter the total amount of your overpayment from payments made on or before the date entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your account and will be considered to be paid on the date you made the payment. Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment A /// A /// B I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.* Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above. Ha I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.* Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above. Ha I filed my return after the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit	
Complete Lines 1a through 3a only if you checked box A, above. 1a Enter the original due date for this 2015 return. 2a Enter the total amount of your overpayment from payments made on or before the date entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your account and will be considered to be paid on the date you made the payment. Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / * * / * * / / * / / * / / * / / * * / * * / * * * * * * * * * * * * <t< td=""><td>credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest</td></t<>	credit carryforward may be reduced by us due to corrections we make to your return, or to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest
1a Enter the original due date for this 2015 return. 2a Enter the total amount of your overpayment from payments made on or before the date entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a. 3a Enter the overpayment amount(s) and payment date(s) for any payment(s) you made after the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your account and will be considered to be paid on the date you made the payment. Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment \$ (/ / \$\$ / / \$\$ / / \$\$ / / \$\$ B I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.* Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above. 1b Enter the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit	A 🔲 I filed my return on or before the extended due date of my return.*
 2a Enter the total amount of your overpayment from payments made on or before the date entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount (s) and payment date(s) for any payment(s) you made after the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your account and will be considered to be paid on the date you made the payment. Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Amount Date of Payment \$ / / / \$	
<pre>entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a</pre>	\rightarrow 1a Enter the original due date for this 2015 return. 1a/
\$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / \$ / / B I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.*	 entered on Line 1a. A credit in this amount will be applied to your account with the date entered on Line 1a. 3a Enter the overpayment amount(s) and payment date(s) for any payment(s) you made after the date entered on Line 1a. Credit(s) in the amount(s) listed below will be applied to your
\$ / / \$ / / \$ / / B I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.* Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above. / / Ib Enter the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit / /	Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment Overpayment Amount Date of Payment
B ☐ I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.* <i>Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above.</i> → 1b Enter the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit	\$ / / \$ / /
Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above. 1b Enter the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit	\$ / // \$ / //
→ 1b Enter the date you filed this return. The date you enter is the date we will consider your credit	B I filed my return after the extended due date of my return.*
	Complete Line 1b only if you checked box B, above.
*Short-year filers only - If your tax year begins on or after January 1, 2016, and you are taxed as a corporation, we grant you an	
automatic extension of time to file your tax return as described in Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.5020(b), which is available on our website tax.illinois.gov . See "When should I file?" in these instructions for more information.	