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Who must file Form IL-1120-ST-X?
You should file Form IL-1120-ST-X if you are amending a previously filed, 
processable Form IL-1120-ST, Small Business Corporation Replacement 
Tax Return, for a tax year ending on or after December 31, 2006. Your 
change can occur from a state or federal change that affects items used to 
compute your Illinois net income, net loss, or credits, such as
•	 an amendment of your federal income tax return,
•	 an adjustment made by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or
•	 any other recomputation or redetermination. 

A separate amended return must be filed for each tax year you need 
to amend.

 Use Form IL-843, Amended Return or Notice of Change in 
Income, and the corresponding year’s Form IL-1120-ST, to amend 
tax years ending prior to December 31, 2006.

What if I need to change my return before the 
extended due date expires?
If you filed your original Form IL-1120-ST and a state or federal 
correction or change needs to be made before the extended due date 
expires (see the instructions of your original return), you should file 
Form IL-1120-ST-X. Due to the automatic extension, any return filed 
after the original return and on or before the extended due date will 
be treated as the original return.

If you are filing Form IL-1120-ST-X to change the election on your 
original return to treat all income other than compensation as 
business income, mark the box in Step 1, Line M, and provide a 
written explanation indicating the change to your election on Form 
IL-1120-ST-X, Step 2.

 How long do I have to amend my return?
The amount of time you have to amend your return depends on whether 
your Form IL-1120-ST-X is being filed to report a state or federal change.

State change - If your change creates or increases the Illinois net 
loss for the year, you must file Form IL-1120-ST-X showing the 
increase in order to carry the increased loss amount to another year.
If your change decreases the tax due to Illinois and you are entitled 
to a refund, you must file Form IL-1120-ST-X within

• 	 three years after the due date of the return (including extensions),
•	 three years after the date your original return was filed, or
•	 one year after the date your Illinois tax was paid, whichever is latest.

If your change increases the tax due to Illinois, you should file Form 
IL-1120-ST-X and pay the tax, penalty, and interest promptly.

Federal change - You should not file this form until you receive a federal 
finalization notification from the IRS stating that they have accepted your 
change, a formal agreement, or judgment.

If your federal change decreases the tax due to Illinois and you are 
entitled to a refund, you must file Form IL-1120-ST-X within two years 
plus 120 days of federal finalization.

If your federal change increases the tax due to Illinois, you must file Form 
IL-1120-ST-X and pay any additional tax within 120 days of IRS partial 
agreement or finalization, in order to avoid late payment penalties. You 
must attach proof of the federal finalization date, showing the change 
was reported to Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you may be 
assessed a late-payment penalty.

 What is new for 2013?

General Information

Use for tax years ending on or 
after December 31, 2013.

•	 Your mailing address is now required information on Step 1.

•	 Step 7, Figure your income allocable to Illinois, has been modified.  
You must indicate whether your base income or loss is derived 
inside Illinois only, if it is derived both inside and outside Illinois, 
or entirely outside Illinois. See Specific Instructions for more 
information.

•	 For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2012, and before 
December 31, 2014, Schedule NLD, Illinois Net Loss Deduction has 
been redesigned. See Schedule NLD for more information.

•	 If you wish to allow us to speak with your preparer about your return, 
check the box in Step 11, and see Specific Instructions for more 
information.

•	 For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2012, and on or 
before December 31, 2016, the Veterans Jobs Credit has been 
modified to allow a credit for either “qualified veterans” or “qualified 
unemployed veterans.” See Schedule 1299-A instructions for more 
information.

•	 For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2012, a Hospital 
Credit is available.  See Schedule 1299-A instructions for more 
information.

•	 The Enterprise Zone Dividend Subtraction and Enterprise 
Zone Interest Subtraction have been eliminated. Do not claim a 
subtraction for these amounts on your Form IL-1120-ST-X.

•	 For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2013, Illinois 
lottery winnings and proceeds from sales or other transfers of 
rights to lottery winnings are sourced to Illinois.

•	 The Ex-felons Jobs Credit has been modified.  The maximum 
amount of credit that may be claimed for all tax years for wages 
paid to a particular ex-offender has been raised to $1,500.  The 
definition of a “qualified ex-offender” has also changed.  See the 
Specific Instructions on Schedule 1299-A for more information.

•	 Public Act 98-0122 enacted the Compassionate Use of Medical 
Cannabis Pilot Program Act surcharge for taxpayers with tax years 
ending on or after January 1, 2014.  See Specific Instructions in the 
Form IL-1120-ST Instructions for more information. 

•	 Changes are in place for Form IL-1023-C and Form IL-1000 filers 
that affect this year’s and next year’s filing. Form IL-1023-C, Form 
IL-1000, and the corresponding amended returns will be retired 
next year and cannot be used for tax years ending on or after 
December 31, 2014. The amounts that would have been reported 
on these forms will be 

•	 reported on your 2014 Form IL-1065, Form IL-1120-ST, Form 
IL-1041, or the corresponding amended return, and

•	 paid with those returns or with Form IL-505-B.

	 In addition, Form IL-1023-CES and Form IL-1000-P cannot be 
used for making voluntary prepayments for tax years ending on 
or after December 31, 2014. These vouchers have been replaced 
by Form IL-516-I and Form IL-516-B, Pass-through Prepayment 
Vouchers.  Form IL-516-I and Form IL-516-B allow you to 
voluntarily prepay your own tax liability from Form IL-1120-ST, as 
well as make voluntary pass-through entity prepayments on behalf 
of your shareholders for tax years ending on or after December 31, 
2014. See Form IL-516-I and IL-516-B for more information.
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 If you fail to notify us of your change by filing Form IL-1120-ST-X, 
we may issue a notice of deficiency at any time. Once you file your 
change, we may issue a notice of deficiency within two years.

What if my amended return involves unitary 
filing?
If you are amending your original

•	 non-unitary Form IL-1120-ST to be included in an existing unitary 
group, you must file an amended Form IL-1120-ST-X, following the 
line by line instructions provided for Form IL-1120-ST and Illinois 
Schedule UB, Combined Apportionment for Unitary Business Groups, 
for the tax year you are amending. In addition,
—	any combined return filed by the combined group on Form IL-1120 

must also be amended to include your information, and
—	each member that filed a separate unitary return must file an 

amended return to include your information.
•	 unitary Form IL-1120-ST to report a state or federal change to your 

unitary income, any combined return filed by the group or separate 
unitary return may also need to be amended.

What if my amended return involves an Illinois 
net loss deduction (NLD)?
If you have an Illinois NLD carryover from any loss year ending on or after 
December 31, 1986, it is subtracted from and limited to base income 
allocable to Illinois.

To determine your “Illinois net loss” start with your total unmodified 
base income and apply all addition and subtraction modifications, 
and all allocation and apportionment provisions.

If you are carrying an Illinois NLD, you must complete and attach Illinois 
Schedule NLD, Illinois Net Loss Deduction, and claim the deduction on 
Step 8, Line 50. See Specific Instructions for Step 8, Line 50.

If you had discharge of indebtedness income for a taxable year ending 
on or after December 31, 2008, and all or a portion of this income was 
excluded from your federal gross income due to bankruptcy or insolvency, 
then you may be required to reduce any Illinois net loss you incurred for 
that year before you determine an Illinois NLD. See the instructions for 
IL-1120-ST, Step 7 and Schedule NLD or UB/NLD for more information.

Do not file Form IL-1120-ST-X to report an Illinois NLD carryforward until 
after you have filed the loss year Form IL-1120-ST, Form IL-1120-ST-X, or 
Form IL-843 (for tax years ending prior to December 31, 2006), reporting 
the loss. When you file Form IL-1120-ST-X, you must attach a completed 
Illinois Schedule NLD. Failure to attach the correct and completed 
schedule could result in partial or total denial of your claim.

If you need more information visit our website at tax.illinois.gov and view 
the Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Sections 100.2050 and 100.2300 
through 100.2330. 

Who should sign the return?
Your Form IL-1120-ST-X must be signed by the president, vice president, 
treasurer, or any other officer duly authorized to sign the return. If you 
paid someone to prepare your return, that individual must also provide a 
signature, date the return, and provide his or her tax identification number. 
If the preparer is an employee or partner of a firm or corporation, he 
or she must also provide the firm’s name, address, and instead of the 
preparer’s taxpayer identification number he or she must provide the firm’s 
FEIN. Self-employed preparers must provide their own name, address, 
and preparer’s taxpayer identification number in the appropriate spaces.

Can a reasonable facsimile be used?
In general, you must obtain and use forms prescribed by the Illinois 
Department of Revenue. Separate statements not on forms provided or 
approved by the Department will not be accepted and you will be asked 
for appropriate documentation. Failure to comply with this requirement 
may result in failure to file penalties, a delay in the processing of 
your return, or a delay in the generation of any refund. Additionally, 
failure to submit appropriate documentation when requested may result in 
a referral to our Audit Bureau for compliance action.

S corporations must complete Form IL-1120-ST-X. Do not send 
a computer printout with line numbers and dollar amounts attached 
to a blank copy of the return. Computer generated printouts are not 
acceptable, even if they are in the same format as the Department forms. 
Computer generated forms from a Department-approved software 
developer are acceptable.

What are the penalties and interest?
Penalties  — You will owe 

•	 a late-filing penalty if you do not file a processable return by the 
extended due date;

•	 a late-payment penalty if you do not pay the tax you owe by the 
original due date of the return; 

•	 a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
financial institution; 

•	 a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount you owe 
within 30 days of the date printed on your bill.

Interest — The interest rate is the federal underpayment rate, which is set 
by the IRS under IRC Section 6621.

 For more information about penalties and interest, see 
Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, available at 
tax.illinois.gov.

What must I attach to my Form IL-1120-ST-X?
This form must contain a complete explanation of the reasons for filing the 
claim or amendment. You must attach proof of the federal finalization 
date and any required schedules or forms to support your claim. If Form 
IL-1120-ST-X is submitted without the proper attachments, it may be 
partially or totally denied.

Examples of federal finalization include a copy of one or more of the 
following items:
•	 your audit report from the IRS
•	 your federal record of account verifying your ordinary business 

income
If you are filing Form IL-1120-ST-X because

•	 you filed an amended federal return and your tax due to Illinois 
decreases, you must attach proof of the federal finalization date, a copy 
of that return, plus any other related forms, schedules, or attachments, 
including a signed and dated copy of any federal report of income tax 
examination changes, if applicable.

•	 you filed an amended federal return and your tax due to Illinois 
increases, you must attach proof of the federal finalization date,  
including a signed and dated copy of any federal report of income tax 
examination changes, if applicable, showing the change was reported 
to Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you may be assessed 
a late-payment penalty.

•	 of a change by the IRS, you must include all copies of the federal 
examining officer’s reports, including preliminary, revised, corrected, 
and superseding reports, and a signed and dated copy of any federal 
report of income tax examination changes, if applicable.
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For instructions regarding completion of Steps 1, and 3 through 9, refer 
to the Form IL-1120-ST Instructions and schedules for the year being 
amended.

Specific instructions for most of the lines are included. Lines that are not 
discussed in the instructions are self-explanatory. 

Write the tax year you are amending in the space provided at the top 
of Form IL-1120-ST-X.

Step 1:  Identify your small business 
corporation
A — All taxpayers: Type or print your legal business name. If you have a 
name change from your original return, check the corresponding box.

B — Type or print your mailing address. If your address has changed 
since you filed your last return, check the box.

C — Check the box if you are filing this form only to report an increased 
net loss, you have no Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot 
Program Act surcharge on your original or amended return, and no refund 
will result. Complete Steps 2 through 6, Step 7, if applicable, and Step 8, 
Lines 47 through 49. Sign the return in Step 11 and leave the rest of the 
form blank.

D — You must check the box and attach Schedule IL-4562, Special 
Depreciation, if you are claiming special depreciation addition or 
subtraction modifications on Form IL-1120-ST-X, even if the amounts are 
not changing from your original return.

E — You must check the box and attach Schedule M, Other Additions 
and Subtractions (for businesses), if you are claiming other addition or 
subtraction modifications on Form IL-1120-ST-X, even if the amounts are 
not changing from your original return.

F — You must check the box and attach Schedule 80/20, Related-Party 
Expenses, if you are claiming related-party expenses modifications on 
your Form IL-1120-ST-X, even if the amounts are not changing from your 
original return.

G — Check the box if you are claiming certain deductions or credits 
listed on Illinois Schedule 1299-A, Tax Subtractions and Credits. You must 
check the box on Line G and attach Illinois Schedule 1299-A to your tax 
return to support any deductions or credits you are claiming or passing to 
your shareholders.

H — Check the appropriate box for the reason you are filing this 
return. If you are amending due to a federal change, you must check the 
appropriate box for partial agreed or finalized and include the date of IRS 
finalization, which might not be the date the federal amended return was 
filed. Attach a dated copy of any federal examining officer’s report. If you 
do not provide this date, you may be assessed penalties and interest.

J — Unitary Business Group — If you are a member of a unitary 
business group, check the box and write the federal employer identification 
number (FEIN) of the member who is filing Illinois Schedule UB.

K — Write your North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 
Code. If you are unsure of your code, you can research the information at 
www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/ or www.irs.gov. 

M — If you are filing Form IL-1120-ST-X on or before the extended 
due date and wish to make the election to treat all income, other than 
compensation, as business income for this tax year, check this box. If 
you previously reported nonbusiness income on Form IL-1120-ST, Step 
6, Lines 36 and 44, you must reduce these amounts to zero on this 
Form IL-1120-ST-X. This election must be made by the extended due 
date of the original tax return. Once made, the election is irrevocable. 
If you are filing Form IL-1120-ST-X after the extended due date of the 
original return and did not make the election on your original return, you 
cannot check this box. 

N — If you have completed federal Form 8886 or Schedule M-3 to report 
a tax shelter and you did not attach a copy to the original return, check 
the appropriate box and attach a copy of the federal form or schedule to 
this return. If you are filing this return because of changes associated with 
federal Form 8886 or Schedule M-3, provide a detailed explanation in 
Step 2.

O — Check the box if you must adjust loss or loss carryover due to 
discharge of indebtedness. For more information, see the instructions 
for Line 48 and the Loss Reduction worksheet in the Form IL-1120-ST 
instructions.

Step 2:  Explain the changes on this return
The purpose of Step 2 is to allow you to explain what specific changes 
you are making to your Illinois tax return. You should include all relevant 
information, including, but not limited to, changes made to

•	 specific addition and subtraction modifications, 
•	 unitary membership or unitary status, 
•	 the business income election, 
•	 credit or credit recapture amounts, 
•	 the Illinois net operating loss deduction, and
•	 the federal or other state return that caused changes to the Illinois return.
You must provide an explanation for each line item you change.

General Information for Steps 3 through 9

Column A — Write the amounts from your most recently filed or 
adjusted return for the year that you are amending. These may be 
figures from your original Form IL-1120-ST, or a previously amended 
or audited return.

Specific Instructions

What if I need additional assistance or forms?
If you need additional assistance:

•	 visit our website at tax.illinois.gov; 
•	 write to us at PO BOX 19044, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9044;
•	 call our Taxpayer Assistance Division at 1 800 732-8866 or 

217 782-3336; or
•	 call our telecommunications device for the deaf at 1 800 544-5304.

Our office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. 

If you need additional forms or schedules:
•	 visit our website at tax.illinois.gov; or 
•	 write to us at PO BOX 19010, Springfield, Illinois 62794-9010.

•	 you copied information incorrectly from your federal Form 1120S onto 
your Form IL-1120-ST, you must include a copy of your federal Form 
1120S.

•	 of a change in, or audit of, another state’s tax return, you must include 
a copy of the other state’s corrected return or the examining officer’s 
reports.

•	 of an Illinois net loss deduction, you must include a completed Illinois 
Schedule NLD. See Specific Instructions for Line 50.

•	 of changes, other than those described above, see Form IL-1120-ST 
Instructions and any schedules for the year you are changing to 
determine what attachments you must provide.
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Column B — Write the correct amount for each line in Column B.

For each line item you change, you must provide an explanation for 
that change in Step 2.

For instructions regarding completion of Steps 3 through 9, refer to the 
Form IL-1120-ST Instructions and schedules for the year being amended.

 If you are filing this form only to report an increase in your 
Illinois net loss, you have no Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis 
Pilot Program Act surcharge on your original or amended return, and the 
change will not result in a refund, see the instructions for Step 8, Line 
47.

Step 3 and Step 4:  Figure your ordinary income 
or loss and Figure your unmodified base 
income or loss

 If you are a member of a unitary group see “What if I am a 
member of a unitary group?“ and the instructions for Steps 2 and 3 in 
the Form IL-1120-ST instructions.

Lines 1 through 13 — Refer to your Form IL-1120-ST, 
Steps 2 and 3, Specific Instructions, for the year being amended.

 Do not apply your Illinois net loss deduction amount from Illinois 
Schedule NLD in this step. NLDs are reported on Step 8, Line 50.

Step 5 and Step 6:  Figure your income or loss 
and Figure your Illinois base income or loss

 If you are a member of a unitary group see “What if I am a 
member of a unitary group?“ and the instructions for Step 4 in the 
Form IL-1120-ST instructions. 

Line 14 — If you are a member of a unitary group write your 
combined company income as shown on Schedule UB, Step 2, 
Column E, Line 30. Otherwise, follow the instructions on the form.

Lines 15 through 21 and Lines 23 through 33 — List each item 
and the amount on the line provided. You must identify all subtractions 
and attach all of the required supporting documentation.

 If you need to make a correction to Line 20 or Line 24, 
use the worksheet located in the Schedule B Instructions (Form 
IL-1120-ST Instructions) to figure the correct amounts.

Line 35 — This is your base income or loss.

Column A — Write the amounts from your most recently filed or adjusted 
return.  Do not check a box on Lines A or B to indicate how your 
income was reported on your most recently filed or adjusted return.  
The check boxes on Lines A and B are used when reporting your amended 
base income or loss in column B.

Column B — Follow the instructions on the form and check the box 
on Line A or B that applies to the amount in Column B.  You must 
check one of these boxes and follow the instructions for that Line 
when completing Column B.

Check the box on Line A if
•	 all of your base income or loss is derived inside Illinois; and
•	 you do not have any income or loss to report on Lines 36, 37, 44, 

or 45.
If you check the box on Line A, do not complete Step 7, Column 
B. All of your amended base income or loss is allocable to Illinois.  
Skip Step 7, Column B, write the amount from Step 6, Column B, 
Line 35 on Step 8, Column B, Line 47, and complete the remainder 
of the return.

Check the box on Line B if any of the following apply
•	 your base income or loss is derived inside and outside Illinois; 
•	 all of your base income or loss is derived outside Illinois; or
•	 you have income or loss to report on Lines 36, 37, 44, or 45.

If you check the box on Line B, you must complete all lines 
of Step 7, Column B. Submitting Form IL-1120-ST-X with an 
incomplete Step 7, Column B, including Lines 40, 41, and 42 may 
result in a delay in processing your return, further correspondence, 
and you may be required to submit further information to support 
your filing.  See the Specific Instructions for Step 7 for more 
information.

	 Unitary filers - You must complete both Step 4 of the 
Schedule UB and Step 7, Column B of the Form IL-1120-ST-X.

Step 7:  Figure your base income allocable to 
Illinois
Complete Step 7 only if you originally completed this step, or you need 
to make a change that affects your base income or loss allocable to 
Illinois. Refer to Form IL-1120-ST, Step 6, Specific Instructions, for the 
year being amended.

You must check the box on Line B and complete Step 7 if any portion 
of Step 6, Column B, Line 35, base income or loss, is derived outside 
Illinois, or you have any income or loss to report on Column B, Lines 
36, 37, 44, or 45.  

If you do not complete all of Step 7, Column B, Lines 36 through 46, 
we may issue a notice and demand proposing 100 percent of income 
as being allocated to Illinois, or in the case of a loss return, a notice 
indicating none of your loss as being allocated to Illinois. 

Lines 36 and 44 — If you elected to treat all of your income other 
than compensation as business income on your original tax return, you 
must follow that election by writing zero on Form IL-1120-ST-X, Lines 36 
and 44. If you are filing Form IL-1120-ST-X before the extended due date 
and are making the election to treat all nonbusiness income as business 
income, Column B, Lines 36 and 44 should be reduced to zero.

Step 8:  Figure your net income

Line 47 — Follow the instructions on the form. If the amount 
in Column A reflects income and the corrected amount in 
Column B reflects a loss, you may be able to carry this loss to other 
years as an Illinois NLD. See the instructions for Illinois Schedule NLD 
for more information.

 If you are filing this form only to report an increase in your 
Illinois net loss, you have no Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis 
Pilot Program Act surcharge on your original or amended return, and 
the change will not result in a refund, check the box in Step 1, Line C, 
complete Steps 3 through 6, Step 7, if applicable, and Step 8, Lines 47 
through 49. Complete Step 2, explaining what caused the increase in 
the Illinois net loss and sign the return in Step 11. Leave the rest of the 
form blank.

Line 48 — If the amount on Line 47 is a loss, and you were required 
to reduce the net operating loss reported on your federal Form 1120S 
because you excluded any discharge of indebtedness income from 
this tax year’s gross income, then you may be required to reduce the 
net loss reported on Line 47. Use the loss reduction worksheet found 
in the IL-1120-ST Instructions to figure your loss reduction. Attach a 
copy of your federal Form 982, Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to 
Discharge of Indebtedness, to your Form IL-1120-ST-X. For more 
information, see Illinois Income Tax Regulations Section 100.2310(c).

Line 49 — If you have a discharge of indebtedness adjustment 
on Line 48, add Lines 47 (a negative number) and 48 (a positive 
number), and write the result here. This amount cannot be greater than 
zero.

If you do not have a discharge of indebtedness adjustment, write 
zero on Line 48 and the amount from Line 47 on Line 49.
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Line 50 — Write your Illinois NLD carryforward amount from an Illinois 
net loss year ending on or after December 31, 1986. This amount is from 
your loss year return, Form IL-1120-ST or Form IL-1120-ST-X, reduced 
by any Illinois net loss applied to an earlier year.

You must attach an Illinois Schedule NLD, Illinois Net Loss 
Deduction, to support the amount of Illinois NLD claimed.

Step 9:  Figure your net replacement tax and 
surcharge
Follow the instructions on the form. Be sure to attach any required 
schedules or forms.

Line 53 — See Illinois Schedule 4255, Recapture of Investment 
Credits, for more information. You must attach Illinois Schedule 4255 
if you have an amount on this line. 

Line 55 — See Form IL-477, Replacement Tax Investment Credits, 
for more information. You must attach Form IL-477 if you have an 
amount on this line.

Line 57 — Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act 
Surcharge. Fiscal filers only. For taxpayers with tax years ending 
on or after January 1, 2014. Use the instructions and the worksheet in 
the Form IL-1120-ST instruction booklet to figure your surcharge. 

Step 10:  Figure your refund or balance due
 If you are filing this form only to report an increase in your 

Illinois net loss, you have no Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis 
Pilot Program Act surcharge on your original or amended return, and a 
refund will not result, do not complete this step.

Line 62 — Write the total amount of any subsequent tax payments you 
made with a previously filed Form IL-1120-ST-X, or for any other reason 
(e.g., responding to a bill). Do not include any penalty and interest you 
previously paid.

Line 64 — Write the total amount of any overpayment, credit, or 
refund (whether received or not) reported on your previously filed Form 
IL-1120-ST, or Form IL-1120-ST-X. Do not include any interest that you 
received.

Line 66 — Follow the instructions on the form. We will calculate any 
interest that may be due you and include it in your refund check. Any 
refund may be reduced to satisfy any outstanding liability.

 Overpayments from Form IL-1120-ST-X cannot be credited 
to next year’s return, unless this return is filed before the extended due 
date of the original return.

We do not currently offer direct deposit as a method for receiving a refund 
from an amended return. Overpayments will be refunded by check.

Also, we are not required to credit your overpayment against any other 
liability at your request.  If you have not made previous arrangements 
with us to credit your overpayment against another liability, and we 
refund your overpayment or credit it against a different liability, you may 
incur additional penalties and interest on your liability.

Line 67 — Follow the instructions on the form. This is your amount 
of tax due that must be paid in full if $1 or more. If you do not wish to 
calculate penalty and interest, write the amount you are paying on the 
top of Page 1, complete a payment voucher, Form IL-1120-ST-X-V, 
make your check or money order payable to “Illinois Department of 
Revenue,” and attach them to the first page of this form. We will 
compute any penalty or interest due and notify you.

 We will apply all payments against tax first, penalty second, 
and interest third.

Lines 68 through 70 — We will bill you for penalties and interest. 
If you prefer, you may calculate the penalties and interest you owe on 
Form IL-2220, Computation of Penalties for Businesses, and write these 
amounts on the lines provided. For more information see “What are the 
penalties and interest?” and Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for 
Illinois Taxes. If you calculate penalty and interest, be sure that your 
payment is equal to the amount on Line 70.

 Lines 68 and 69 are applicable only if you wish to self-assess 
late-filing and late-payment penalties on Form IL-2220. If you do not 
wish to complete Form IL-2220, we will compute any penalty or interest 
due and notify you. 

If you have a balance due on Lines 67 or 70, be sure to write the amount 
you are paying on the top of Page 1 of the Form IL-1120-ST-X. 
Complete a payment voucher, Form IL-1120-ST-X-V, make your 
check or money order payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue,” 
and attach them to the first page of this form.

Step 11 — Signature, date, and preparer’s infor-
mation
You must sign and date your return. If you do not sign your return, 
it will not be considered filed and you may be subject to a nonfiler 
penalty.

If you want to allow the preparer listed in this step to discuss this 
return with us, check the box.  This authorization will allow your 
preparer to answer any questions that arise during the processing of 
your return, call us with questions about your return, and receive or 
respond to notices we send.  The authorization will automatically end 
no later than one year after you file your amended return.  You may 
revoke the authorization at any time by calling or writing us.


