Illinois Department of Revenue IL-990-T Instructions

What's new for 2009?

- Fiscal year filers only: The Replacement Tax Investment Credit, scheduled to expire December 31, 2008, has been extended. If you are a fiscal year filer that had qualifying property placed in service on or after January 1, 2009, and you filed a 2008 tax return but did not claim the credit on Form IL-477, you may file an amended tax return and a complete Form IL-477 in order to claim the credit.
- For tax years **beginning on or after July 30, 2009**, the Research and Development credit has expired and is no longer allowable.
- For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2009, and on or before December 30, 2020, the Student-Assistance Contribution Credit allows a credit for employers who make matching contributions to Illinois pre-paid tuition programs. The credit is limited to \$500 per qualifying employee, cannot reduce tax to less than zero, and may be carried forward five years.
- For tax years **beginning on or after January 1, 2010**, the Veterans Jobs Credit has been increased to the lesser of 10 percent of wages or \$1200 per qualifying employee.
- For tax years **ending on or after December 31, 2008,** the sales factor apportionment laws have changed.

General Information

Who must file Form IL-990-T?

You must file Form IL-990-T if you are an organization exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) with unrelated business taxable income under IRC Section 512, **and**

- have net income as defined under the Illinois Income Tax Act (IITA); or
- are a resident or qualified to do business in the state of Illinois and are required to file U.S. Form 990-T (regardless of net income or loss).

It is your duty as a taxpayer to obtain forms. Failure to obtain them will not be an excuse for failure to file returns as required by law.

What forms must I use?

In general, you must use forms prescribed by the Illinois Department of Revenue. Separate statements not on forms provided or approved by the department will not be accepted and you will be asked for appropriate documentation. Failure to comply with this requirement may result in a penalty for failure to file returns or the delay of processing your return or generating any refund. Additionally, failure to submit appropriate documentation when requested may result in a referral to our Audit Bureau for compliance action.

Exempt organizations must complete Form IL-990-T. Do not send a computer printout with line numbers and dollar amounts attached to a blank copy of the return. Computer generated printouts are not acceptable, even if they are in the same format as the department forms. Computer generated forms from a department-approved software developer are acceptable.

How do I register my business?

If you are required to file Form IL-990-T, you should register by calling our Central Registration Division at **217 785-3707**. You may be able to register electronically. Visit our web site at **tax.illinois.gov** for more information.

Registering with the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) **prior to filing your return** ensures that your tax returns are accurately processed.

Your identification numbers as an Illinois business taxpayer are your federal employer identification number (FEIN) and your Illinois account number.

When should I file?

Your Illinois filing period is the same as your federal filing period. In general, Form IL-990-T is due on or before the 15th day of the **5th** month following the close of the tax year. If you are an employee trust as described in IRC Section 401(a), you must file Form IL-990-T on or before the 15th day of the **4th** month following the close of the tax year.

Automatic six-month extension — We grant you an automatic six-month (seven-month for corporations) extension of time to file your tax return. You are not required to file Form IL-505-B, Automatic Extension Payment, in order to obtain this automatic extension. However, if you expect tax to be due, you must use Form IL-505-B to pay any tentative tax due in order to avoid interest and penalty on tax not paid by the original due date of the return. An extension of time to file your Form IL-990-T is not an extension of time for payment of Illinois tax.

Additional extensions beyond the automatic extension period — We will grant an extension of more than six months (seven months for corporations) **only** if an extension of more than six months is granted by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). You must attach a copy of the approved federal extension to your Form IL-990-T.

Where should I file?

Mail your Form IL-990-T to

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19009 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9009

When should I pay?

Payment of tax — You must pay your Illinois income and replacement tax in full on or before the original due date of the return. This payment date applies even though an automatic extension for filing your return has been granted.

Estimated tax payments — If you reasonably expect your Illinois income and replacement tax liability to be more than \$400 for the tax year, you are required to make quarterly payments of estimated tax. For further information regarding estimated taxes, see the instructions for Form IL-1120-ES, Estimated Income and Replacement Tax Payments for Corporations.

ENote Trusts are **not** required to make estimated payments.

Who should sign the return?

If you are a corporation, your Form IL-990-T must be signed by the president, vice president, treasurer, or any other officer duly authorized to sign the return. In the case of a bankruptcy, a receiver, trustee, or assignee must sign any return that is required to be filed on behalf of the corporation. If you are a trust, Form IL-990-T must be signed by a fiduciary of the trust. If there are two or more joint fiduciaries, the signature of one will comply with the requirements of the IITA. The signature verifies by written declaration (and under penalties of perjury) that the signing individual has personally examined the return and the return is true, correct, and complete. The fact that an individual's name is signed to a return is *prima facie* evidence that the individual is authorized to sign the return on behalf of the corporation or trust.

Any person paid to prepare the return (other than a regular employee of the taxpayer, such as a clerk, secretary, or bookkeeper) must provide a signature, date the return, and write the preparer's taxpayer identification number. If the preparer is an employee or partner of a firm or corporation, the preparer must also provide the firm's name, address, and instead of the preparer's taxpayer identification number, the preparer must provide the firm's FEIN. Self-employed preparers must provide their own name, address, and taxpayer identification number in the appropriate spaces.

ENOTE If your return is not signed, any overpayment of tax is considered forfeited if, after notice and demand for signature, you fail to provide a signature within three years from the date your return was filed.

What are the penalties and interest?

Penalties - You will owe

- a **late-filing penalty** if you do not file a processable return by the extended due date;
- a **late-payment penalty** if you do not pay the tax you owe by the original due date of the return;
- a **bad check penalty** if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution;
- a **cost of collection fee** if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on your bill.

Interest — Interest is calculated on tax from the day after the original due date of your return through the date you pay the tax.

We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this publication, see "What if I need additional assistance or forms?" for our phone numbers and addresses.

What if I am discontinuing my business?

Liquidation, withdrawal from Illinois, loss of charter or termination — If you are a corporation that is liquidated,

withdraws either voluntarily or involuntarily from Illinois, or in any manner surrenders or loses its charter, **or** if you are a trust that is terminated, you are still required to file tax returns. We will pursue the assessment and collection of taxes if you are liable for income and replacement tax for this year or any previous tax period.

Sales or transfers — If, outside the usual course of business, you sell or transfer the major part of any one or more of

- · the stock of goods which you are in the business of selling,
- the furniture or fixtures of your business,
- · the machinery and equipment of your business, or
- the real property of your business,

you or the purchaser must complete and send us Form CBS-1, Notice of Sale or Purchase of Business Assets, no later than 10 days after the date the sale took place. Mail this form, along with copies of the sales contract and financing agreement, to

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE BULK SALES UNIT 100 WEST RANDOLPH CHICAGO IL 60601

Request for prompt determination — You may make a request for prompt determination of liability if you are a corporation in the process of dissolution. A completed tax return must be on file with us before you can submit a request for prompt determination. Do not submit your return and request at the same time. Mail your initial return to the address on the form. You should allow 12 weeks for processing. If your request is properly made, the expiration of the statute of limitations (absent fraud) will not extend beyond 18 months from the date of your request. Mail your request and a copy of your previously submitted return to

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19044 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

What if I need to correct or change my return?

Corrected — If you need to correct or change your return after it has been filed, but before the extended due date has passed, you must file a corrected Form IL-990-T-X, Amended Exempt Organization Income and Replacement Tax Return, showing the changes. Write "Corrected" at the top and show the changes. A corrected return is treated as your original return for all purposes.

Amended — If you need to change your return after it has been filed, and the extended due date has passed, you must file Form IL-990-T-X, showing the changes.

State changes only — You must file Form IL-990-T-X, promptly, if you discover an error on your Illinois return that does not relate to any error on your federal return but was caused by

- a mistake in transferring information from your federal return to your Illinois return,
- failing to report to Illinois an item that has no effect on your federal return, or
- a mistake in another state's tax return that affects the computation of your Illinois tax liability,

If you are filing Form IL-990-T-X to claim an overpayment, it must be filed within three years after the extended due date or date the return was filed, or within one year after the tax giving rise to the overpayment was paid, whichever is latest. **Federal changes only** — If you have filed an amended federal return or if you have been notified by the IRS that they have made changes to your return, you must file Form IL-990-T-X. This includes any change in your federal income tax liability; any tax credit; or in the computation of your federal unrelated business taxable income, as reported for federal income tax purposes, if the change affects any item entering into the computation of net income, net loss, or any credit for any year under the IITA. You must file Form IL-990-T-X no later than 120 days after the changes have been agreed to or finally determined to avoid a late-payment penalty.

If you are filing Form IL-990-T-X to claim an overpayment resulting from a federal change, it must be filed within two years after the date such notification was due (regardless of whether such notice was given). For further information, see Form IL-990-T-X instructions.

What records must I keep?

You must maintain books and records to substantiate any information reported on Form IL-990-T. Your books and records must be available for inspection by our authorized agents and employees.

Do the IDOR and the IRS exchange income tax information?

The IDOR and the IRS exchange income tax information for the purpose of verifying the accuracy of information reported on

What if I need additional assistance or forms?

If you need additional assistance -

- Visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov.
- · Write to us at

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19044 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

• Call **1 800 732-8866** or **217 782-3336** (TDD, telecommunications device for the deaf, at **1 800 544-5304**). Our office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

federal and Illinois tax returns. All amounts you report on Form IL-990-T are subject to verification and audit.

Should I round?

You must round the dollar amounts on Form IL-990-T and accompanying schedules to whole-dollars with the exception of self-assessed penalties, refund, credit, and balance due amounts. To do this, you should drop any amount less than 50 cents and increase any amount of 50 cents or more to the next higher dollar.

What if I participated in a reportable transaction?

If you participated in a reportable transaction, including a "listed transaction" during this tax year and were required to disclose that transaction to the IRS, you are also required to disclose that information to Illinois.

You must send us two copies of the form used to disclose the transaction to the IRS.

- Attach one copy to your tax return, and
- · Mail the second copy to

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19029 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9029

If you need additional forms or schedules -

- Visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov.
- Call our 24-hour Forms Order Line at 1 800 356-6302.
- Write to us at

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19010 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9010

Specific Instructions

Specific instructions for most of the lines are provided on the following pages. Lines that are not discussed in the instructions are self-explanatory.

Step 1— Identify your exempt organization

A — Type or print the required name and address information clearly in the spaces provided. If your name or address has changed since you filed your last return, or you have never filed an Illinois return, check the box.

B — If this is your first or final return, check the appropriate box.

<u>ENote</u> If you checked the box on Line A because you have never filed an Illinois return, you must also check the "first return" box on Line B.

 \mathbf{C} — Write your federal employer identification number.

D — **Corporation** — If you are taxed as a corporation, check the box.

E — Trust — If you are taxed as a trust, check the box.

F — Provide the nature of your unrelated trade or business in the space provided.

G — If you earned or can carry forward credits on Illinois Schedule 1299-D, you must mark the box on Line G and attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D to your tax return, even if you are unable to use any of the credits in this tax year.

ENOTE You must complete department-issued or previously approved Form IL-990-T and corresponding schedules. Do not send a computer printout or spreadsheets with line numbers and dollar amounts attached to a blank copy of the return.

You must use the same accounting method (*e.g.*, cash or accrual) and tax year that you used for federal income tax purposes.

Step 2 — Figure your base income or loss

Line 1 — Write the amount of unrelated business taxable income or loss from U.S. Form 990-T, Line 34. This entry is the unrelated business taxable income or loss after deducting income exempt from tax by reason of the United States or Illinois Constitutions, or by reason of law, statute, or treaties of the United States. Attach a worksheet explaining the source and amount of any such deduction.

ENOTE You must attach a copy of Page 1 of your U.S. Form 990-T if you made any entries in Step 2 or Step 3 of that page.

Line 2 — You must add back any amount of Illinois income and replacement taxes that you deducted on your U.S. Form 990-T to arrive at your federal unrelated business taxable income.

Step 3 — Figure your income allocable to Illinois

You **must** complete Step 3 if any portion of Line 3, base income or net loss, is derived outside Illinois. If you do not complete **all** of Step 3, we may issue a notice and demand proposing 100 percent of business income being apportioned to Illinois.

Line 4 — Write the amount of all non-unitary business income or loss included in base income received from any partnership, trust, or estate, of which you are a partner or a beneficiary.

ENOTE The partnership is required to send you an Illinois Schedule K-1-P, Partner's or Shareholder's Share of Income, Deductions, Credits, and Recapture, and the trust or the estate is required to send you an Illinois Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary's Share of Income and Deductions, specifically identifying your share of income.

Special Note - If you are a partner engaged in a unitary business with your partnership, you must include your distributable share of the partnership's business income in your business income. Do not subtract this business income on Line 4.

Lines 6 through 8 —

You must complete Lines 6 through 8 if

- business income or loss is derived inside and outside Illinois.; or
- all of your business income or loss is derived from outside Illinois.

Follow the specific instructions below for Lines 6 through 8.

ENOTE If you are a partner engaged in a unitary business with your partnership, you must include your distributive share of the "everywhere" and "Illinois" sales factors from the partnership in your "everywhere" and "Illinois" sales factors. For more information, see the Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Section 100.3380(d).

Line 6 — Write your total sales everywhere.

Line 7 — Write your total sales inside Illinois.

Include gross receipts from the license, sale, or other disposition of patents, copyrights, trademarks, and similar items of intangible personal property in the numerator and denominator of your sales factor only if the gross receipts are more than 50 percent of the total gross receipts included in gross income for this tax year and each of the two immediately preceding tax years. Do not include the following items of income in the numerator or denominator of your sales factor

- dividends,
- amounts included under IRC Section 78,
- subpart F income as defined in IRC Section 952, and
- any item of income excluded or deducted from base income.

For more information on what should be included in the numerator or denominator of your sales factor, see Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Sections 100.3370 and 100.3380.

Sales of tangible personal property are in Illinois if

- the property is delivered or shipped from anywhere to a purchaser in Illinois, other than the United States government, regardless of the f.o.b. point or other conditions of the sale;
- the property is shipped from Illinois to any place and the purchaser is the United States government;
- the property is shipped from Illinois to another state and you are not taxable in the state of the purchaser; or
- your salesperson operates out of an office in Illinois, and the property sold by the salesperson is shipped from a state in which you are not taxable, to a state in which you are not taxable.

For radio and television broadcasting (including cable and satellite broadcasting), the following sales are in Illinois:

- advertising revenue received from an advertiser whose headquarters is in Illinois.
- fees received by a broadcaster from its viewers or listeners in Illinois.
- in the case of fees received by a broadcaster from the production or other owner of the contents of a program, the percentage of the fees equal to the percentage of the broadcast's viewing or listening audience located in Illinois.
- in the case of a broadcaster who owns the contents of a program, the percentage of the fees received from another broadcaster for the right to broadcast the program equal to the percentage of the broadcast's viewing or listening audience located in Illinois.
- in the case of a person who owns the contents of a program and who is not a broadcaster, the percentage of the fees received for that program from a broadcaster located in Illinois.

If the "sales everywhere" amount includes gross receipts from the licensing, sale, or other disposition of patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other similar items of intangible personal property and the receipts are not covered by the broadcasting rules, then these receipts should be allocated to Illinois to the extent the item is used in Illinois during the year the gross receipts are included in gross income. An item is used in Illinois if

- a patent is employed in production, fabrication, manufacturing, or other processing in Illinois or if the patented product is produced in Illinois.
- copyrighted material is printed or other publications originated in Illinois.
- the commercial domicile of the licensee or purchaser of a trademark or other item of intangible personal property is in Illinois.

ENOTE If you cannot determine from your books and records in which state an item is used, do not include the gross receipts from that item in the numerator or denominator of the sales factor.

For sales of telecommunications services, the following sales are in Illinois:

- sales of telecommunications service sold on a call-by-call basis, where the call both originates and terminates in Illinois, or the call either originates or terminates in Illinois and the customer's service address is in Illinois;
- retail sales of postpaid telecommunications service if the point of origination of the signal is in Illinois;
- retail sales of prepaid telecommunications service where the purchaser receives the prepaid card or other means of conveyance at a location in Illinois;
- charges imposed at a channel termination point in Illinois;
- charges for channel mileage between two channel termination points in Illinois;
- charges for channel mileage between one or more channel termination points in Illinois and one or more channel termination points outside Illinois, times the number of channel termination points in Illinois divided by total termination channels;
- charges for services ancillary to sales of services in Illinois. If you provide ancillary services, but cannot determine where the sales of the related services are located, your sales are in Illinois if your customer is in Illinois;
- access fees charged to a reseller of telecommunication for a call that both originates and terminates in Illinois;
- 50 percent of access fees charged to a reseller of telecommunications services for an interstate call that originates or terminates in Illinois;
- end user access line charges, if the customer's service address is in Illinois.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property or telecommunications service, and gross receipts from broadcasting, or the licensing, sale, or other disposition of patents, copyrights, trademarks, and similar items of intangible personal property, are in Illinois as follows:

- sales or leases of real property in Illinois;
- leases or rentals of tangible personal property, to the extent it is located in Illinois during the rental period;
- interest, net gains, and other items of income from intangible personal property from a customer who is not a dealer and who is a resident of Illinois (for individuals) or who is commercially domiciled in Illinois (for all other customers). A taxpayer without actual knowledge of the residence or commercial domicile of a customer may use the customer's billing address.
- interest, net gains, and other items of income from intangible personal property received by a taxpayer who is not a dealer in that property, if the income-producing activity is performed in Illinois or if the income-producing activity is performed inside and outside Illinois, and a greater proportion of the incomeproducing activity is performed inside Illinois rather than outside Illinois, based on performance costs;
- in all other cases, if the services are received in Illinois.

For more information, see 86 Ill. Adm. Code, Section 100.3370.

Line 8 — Divide Line 7 by Line 6 and write the result, carried to six decimal places.

Line 9 — Follow the instructions on the form. If Lines 6 through 8 are blank, write the amount from Line 5.

Line 10 — Write the amount of business income or loss reported on Step 3, Line 4 that is apportionable to Illinois as reported by the partnership, trust, or estate, on Illinois Schedules K-1-P or K-1-T.

Step 4 — Figure your net replacement tax

Line 14 — Write your recapture of investment credits from Illinois Schedule 4255, Recapture of Investment Tax Credits, Step 4, Column C, Line 16.

If you claimed an Illinois investment tax credit in a prior year on Form IL-477, Replacement Tax Investment Credits, and any of the property was disqualified within 48 months of being placed in service, you must use Illinois Schedule 4255 to compute the amount of recapture. Credit must be recaptured in the year the property became disqualified.

Line 16 — Write the amount from Form IL-477, Step 1, Line 11. Attach Form IL-477 to your Form IL-990-T.

You may claim a replacement tax investment credit of up to .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property placed in service in Illinois during the tax year.

An additional credit of up to .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property is available if your Illinois base employment increased over the preceding year or if your business is new to Illinois. Excess credit may be carried forward for five years following the excess credit year. For further information, refer to Form IL-477 instructions.

Step 5 — Figure your net income tax

Line 20 — Write your recapture of investment credits from Illinois Schedule 4255, Step 4, Columns A and B, Line 16.

If you claimed an Enterprise Zone or High Impact Business Investment Credit in a prior year on Illinois Schedule 1299-D, Income Tax Credits, and any of the property becomes disqualified, you must use Illinois Schedule 4255 to compute the amount of recapture. Credit must be recaptured in the year in which the property became disqualified. For more information, see Illinois Schedule 4255.

Line 22 — Write the amount from Illinois Schedule 1299-D, Step 2, Line 23. The total of all credits is limited to the total income tax shown on Line 21. **Attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D to your Form IL-990-T.** For more information, see Illinois Schedule 1299-D Instructions.

The TECH-PREP Youth Vocational Programs Credit and the Dependent Care Assistance Program Tax Credit are available to taxpayers primarily engaged in manufacturing. Any excess credit may be carried forward for **two** years following the excess credit year.

• TECH-PREP Youth Vocational Programs Credit — The programs must be certified as qualifying TECH-PREP programs by the State Board of Education. The credit is for an amount equal to 20 percent (.20) of your direct payroll expenditures for cooperative secondary school youth vocational programs in Illinois. The payroll expenditures must

not have been claimed for the Training Expense Credit. You also may claim an additional credit of 20 percent (.20) for personal services rendered by a TECH-PREP student or instructor that would be subject to withholding if they were employed by you and no other credit has been claimed by the actual employer.

• Dependent Care Assistance Program Credit — A credit of 5 percent (.05) of the amount of expenditures reported, pursuant to IRC Section 129(d)(7), to provide an on-site facility dependent care assistance program as defined in IRC Section 129.

The following credits are available and may be carried forward for **five** years following the excess credit year:

- Film Production Services Tax Credit Businesses in the film industry may receive a transferable credit for Illinois production expenses incurred in a project that has been approved by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO). Credits earned in tax years ending prior to July 11, 2005, may not be carried over, while credits earned in later years may be carried forward five years.
- High Impact Business Investment Credit A credit of .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property placed in service in Illinois by you during your tax year as a "High Impact Business," certified as such by DCEO. This credit is available only after you have met the minimum investment required by the Illinois Enterprise Zone Act.
- Jobs Tax Credit A credit of \$500 per eligible employee hired to work in an Illinois enterprise zone or foreign trade zone (or sub-zone) during the tax year.
- Enterprise Zone or River Edge Redevelopment Zone Investment Credit — A credit of .5 percent (.005) of the basis of qualified property placed in service in an Illinois enterprise zone or river edge redevelopment zone during the tax year.
- Research and Development Credit This credit has expired and is no longer allowable.
- Economic Development for a Growing Economy (EDGE) Tax Credit — A credit is available to taxpayers who have entered into an agreement with DCEO under the Economic Development for a Growing Economy Tax Credit Act. The credit is available to businesses located within Illinois or businesses planning to locate within Illinois, who are participating in an economic development project.
- Employee Child Care Tax Credit For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2007, this credit is a two-part credit and is available to corporations who provide a child care facility, located in Illinois, for the children of its employees. The first part allows a credit of 30 percent (.30) of the "startup costs" spent by you to provide a child care facility for the children of your employees. The second part allows a credit of 5 percent (.05) of the annual amount paid by you to provide a child care facility for your employees' children. The 5 percent (.05) credit cannot be claimed if the Dependent Care Assistance Program Tax Credit is claimed.
- Tax Credit for Affordable Housing Donations A credit of 50 percent (.50) of the amount of the donation a taxpayer makes under Section 7.28 of the Illinois Housing Development Act for the development of affordable housing in Illinois.
- River Edge Redevelopment Zone Remediation Credit A credit for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2006, for unreimbursed eligible remediation costs incurred in a Site Remediation Program under the Environmental Protection

Act in a river edge redevelopment zone. See Illinois Schedule 1299-D instructions or contact the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency for more information.

- **Ex-Felons Jobs Credit** For tax years beginning after December 31, 2006, the Ex-Felons Jobs Credit is 5 percent (.05) of qualified wages paid during the taxable year to an employee who is a qualified ex-felon. The total credits for all years for wages paid to a particular ex-felon may not exceed \$600.
- Veterans Jobs Credit For tax years beginning after December 31, 2006, the Veterans Jobs Credit is 5 percent (.05) of qualified wages paid during the taxable year to an employee who is a qualified veteran. The maximum allowable credit in any year is \$600.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, this credit has been increased to the lesser of 10 percent (.10) of wages or \$1,200 per qualifying employees.

- Student-Assistance Contribution Credit For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2009, this credit is allowed to employers who make a matching contribution to a qualified Illinois pre-paid tuition program on behalf of employees. Qualified Illinois pre-paid tuition plans include:
 - Illinois Bright Start Savings Pool,
 - Illinois Bright Directions Savings Pool, and
 - College Illinois Pre-paid Tuition Program.

The credit amount is 25 percent (.25) of the contribution for each employee, or \$500 per employee, whichever is less.

Step 6 — Figure your refund or balance due

Line 27a — Write the amount of any overpayment from your previous year's tax return that you requested to be applied to this year's tax return.

Line 27b — Write the total amount of estimated payments you made during this tax year.

Line 27c — Write the amount of Illinois income and replacement tax paid with Form IL-505-B.

Line 27d — Write the total amount of gambling withholding. Attach Form W-2G.

Lines 28 and 31 — Follow the instructions on the form. Your refund will not be issued if you do not file a processable return.

ENOTE Your refund or credit carryforward may be reduced by us to satisfy any unpaid tax, penalty, and interest due for this year or any preceding year. If we reduce your credit carryforward, it may result in a late-payment penalty in the succeeding year.

Line 32 — Follow the instructions on the form. This is your amount of tax due that must be paid in full if \$1 or more. Make your check or money order payable to "**Illinois Department of Revenue**."

We will compute any penalty or interest due and notify you (see General Information, "What are the penalties and interest?").

You should also write the amount you are paying in the box located on the top of Page 1 of the Form IL-990-T.