

Illinois Department of Revenue

Schedule 1299-S

Enterprise Zones, Foreign Trade Zones, and Sub-Zones

What are Enterprise Zones?

Enterprise zones are economically distressed areas in Illinois that qualify for special tax incentives once they are designated by the state and participating local governments. The following portions of the municipalities and counties listed are designated as enterprise zones. For further information, please contact the local zone administrator.

What are Foreign or "Free" Trade Zones or Sub-Zones?

Foreign or "free" trade zones or subzones are secured areas legally outside a nation's customs territory. In Illinois, foreign trade zones are located in portions of Chicago, Granite City, Peoria, Rock Island, and Moline. For further information, please call the zone project contact person.

What if I Need More Information?

For the name of your administrator or contact person,

 call the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO) at 217 785-6145, or visit the DCEO Web site at www.commerce.state.il.us for a complete listing.

Illinois Enterprise Zone Listing

Note Illinois Enterprise Zones are listed in order by the date they were designated as Enterprise Zones by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity.

July 1, 1983

Canton / Fulton Co. Chicago (Zones II and III) Decatur

Decatul

East St. Louis

Des Plaines River Valley (Joliet / Rockdale / Will Co.) (A portion of Lockport deleted February 24, 1997)

Peoria Rockford

July 1, 1984

Chicago (Zones I, IV, and V) Chicago Heights

Cicero

Danville

Galesburg

Kankakee River Valley (Kankakee / Bradley / Bourbonnais / Kankakee Co.)

Mound City / Pulaski Co.

Springfield

Streator / Livingston Co. / LaSalle Co.

Summit / Bedford Park

July 1, 1985

Cal-Sag (Alsip / Blue Island / Robbins) (Crestwood and Worth deleted January 25, 1990)

Belleville

Belvidere / Boone Co.

Bloomington / Normal / McLean Co.

East Peoria

Elgin

Southwestern Madison Co. (*Granite City / Madison / Venice / Madison Co.*)

Monmouth

Mt. Carmel

Quincy / Adams Co.

Rock Island

Urbana

May 31, 1986

Nashville / Washington Co.

June 1, 1986

Alton / E. Alton / Hartford / Roxana / Riverbend (South Roxana / Wood River / Madison Co.)

Cairo / Alexander Co.

Harvev

Kankakee Co. (Manteno)

Macomb / McDonough Co.

Mt. Vernon / Jefferson Co.

Ottawa / LaSalle Co.

Pekin / Tazewell Co.

July 1, 1986

Champaign / Champaign Co.
Illinois Valley (*LaSalle / Peru / Oglesby / LaSalle Co.*)

McCook / Hodgkins

Morton

Washington

October 29, 1986

Bartonville / Peoria Co.

February 27, 1987

Rantoul

March 30, 1987

Beardstown

June 30, 1987

Calumet Region (Calumet City / Dolton / Riverdale)

Greater Centralia (Central City / Centralia / Wamac / Clinton Co. / Marion Co. / Washington Co.)

Chicago (Zone VI)

Dixon / Lee Co.

Flora / Clay Co.

Greenville

Bureau and Putnam Co. (Ladd / Princeton / Spring Valley / Bureau Co. / Putnam Co.)

Lincoln / Logan Co.

Mendota

Olney / Richland Co.

Tilton added to Danville Zone

(see July 1, 1984)

March 28, 1988

Quad Cities (Moline / East Moline / Silvis)

March 30, 1988

Sterling / Rock Falls / Morrison / Whiteside Co.

April 28, 1988

Effingham / Effingham Co.

May 18, 1988

North Utica added to Illinois Valley Zone (see July 1, 1986)

June 29, 1988

Carmi / White Co.

Kewanee

Maywood

Metropolis / Joppa / Massac Co.

Vandalia / Fayette Co.

West Frankfort

June 30, 1988

Bellevue added to Bartonville / Peoria Co. Zone (see October 29, 1986)

December 1, 1988

Washington Park added to East St. Louis Area Zone (see July 1, 1983)

April 1, 1989

Hennepin added to Bureau / Putnam Co. Zone (see June 30, 1987)

May 1, 1989

Aroma Park added to Kankakee River Valley Zone (see July 1, 1984) Romeoville added to Des Plaines River Valley Zone (see July 1, 1983)

March 1, 1990

American Bottoms (Cahokia / Dupo / Sauget / St. Clair Co.)

Benton / Franklin Co.

Coles Co. (Charleston / Mattoon / Oakland / Coles Co.)

Freeport / Stephenson Co.

Jackson Co. (Carbondale / Murphysboro / Jackson Co.)

Jacksonville

Lawrenceville / Lawrence Co.

Litchfield / Hillsboro / Montgomery Co.

Robinson

Salem / Marion Co.

South Beloit / Rockton / Winnebago Co.

April 1, 1990

Fairfield / Wayne Co.

McLeansboro / Hamilton Co.

Villages of Calumet Park and Dixmoor added to Cal-Sag (see July 1, 1985)

June 19, 1990

Prophetstown / Fulton / Lyndon added to Whiteside Co. (see March 30, 1988)



July 1, 1990

Hoffman Estates

January 3, 1991

Village of Phoenix added to Harvey (see June 1, 1986)

February 1, 1991

Savannah / Thomson / Carroll Co. added to Whiteside Co. (see March 30, 1988)

February 13, 1991

Manteno added to Kankakee Co. (see June 1, 1986)

July 1, 1991

Altamont

Williamson County(Carterville / Herrin / Johnston City / Marion / Cambria / Crainville/ Energy / Williamson Co.)

Perry County (DuQuoin / Pinckneyville / St. Johns/ Perry Co.)

Macoupin County (Gillespie / Carlinville / Macoupin Co.)

Saline County (Harrisburg / Eldorado / Raleigh / Muddy / Saline Co.) Clark County (Marshall / Martinsville / Casey / Westfield / Clark Co.)

October 1, 1991

Crawford Co. added to Robinson (see March 1, 1990)

November 15, 1991

Cook Co. added to Cal-Sag (see July 1, 1985)

December 31, 1991

Taylorville / Christian Co. Ford Heights

June 1, 1992

Mark added to Bureau / Putnam Co. (see June 30, 1987)

November 2, 1992

Amboy added to Dixon / Lee Co. (see June 30, 1987)

November 20, 1992

Alorton and Centreville added to East St. Louis Area (see July 1, 1983)

February11, 1993

Carrier Mills and Galatia added to Saline Co. (see July 1, 1991)

March 9, 1993

Village of Hanover and Jo Daviess Co. added to Freeport / Stephenson Co. (see March 1, 1990)

October 1, 1993

Marshall Co. (Henry / Lacon / Toluca / Village of Sparland)

February 23, 1995

Villages of Paw Paw / Franklin Grove / Ashton added to Dixon / Lee Co. (see June 30,1987)

April 17, 1996

St. Clair Co. added to Southwestern Madison Co. (see July 1, 1985)

September 8, 1997

Gateway Commerce Center (Edwardsville / Pontoon Beach / Madison Co.)

September 23, 1997

Village of Clay City added to Flora / Clay Co. (see June 30, 1987)

July 13, 1998

Smithboro added to Greenville (see June 30, 1987)

August 27, 1998

Bethalto added to Riverbend (see June 1, 1986)

November 25, 1998

Jefferson Co. added to Greater Centralia (see June 30, 1987)

June 11, 1999

Bridgeport and Sumner added to Lawrenceville / Lawrence Co. (see March 1, 1990)

July 1, 1999

Mounds added to Mound City / Pulaski Co. (see July 1, 1984)

September 27, 1999

Rock Island Co. added to Quad Cities (see March 28, 1988)

January 1, 2000

St. Clair Co. Mid America (*Lebanon / Mascoutah / O'Fallon / Shiloh / St. Clair Co.*)

May 16, 2000

Shelby Co. added to Effingham / Effingham Co. (see April 28, 1988)

July 25, 2000

Sauk Village added to the Village of Ford Heights (see December 31, 1991)

October 12, 2000

City of St. Elmo, Villages of Brownstown and Ramsey added to Vandalia / Fayette Co. (see June 29, 1988)

March 20, 2001

Village of Milan added to Quad Cities (see March 28, 1988)

January 14, 2002

Village of Rochelle and Ogle Co. added to Dixon / Lee County (see June 30, 1987)

July 30, 2002

Village of Hazel Crest added to Harvey (see June 1, 1986)

September 10, 2002

Village of Granville added to Bureau / Putman Co. (see June 30, 1987)

January 1, 2003

Joliet Arsenal added to Will County

July 7, 2003

City of Newton and Jasper County added to Olney/Richland County (see June 30, 1987)