# Illinois Department of Revenue Enterprise Zones, Foreign Schedule 1299-S Trade Zones, and Sub-Zones

**Enterprise zones** are economically distressed areas in Illinois, of 12 to 15 square miles, that qualify for special tax incentives once they are designated by the state and participating local governments.

Portions of the municipalities and counties listed have been designated as enterprise zones. For further information about any particular zone, please contact the local zone administrator.

Foreign or "free" trade zones or sub-zones are secured areas legally outside a nation's customs territory. Their purpose is to attract and promote international trade or commerce. In Illinois, foreign trade zones are located in portions of Chicago, Granite City, Peoria, Rock Island, and Moline. If you need more information about a particular foreign trade zone, please call the contact person for the zone project.

For the name of your zone administrator or zone project contact person, you may call us at **1 800 732-8866**, **217 782-3336**, or our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) at **1 800 544-5304**.

## Designated July 1, 1983

Canton / Fulton Co. Chicago (Zones II and III) Decatur East St. Louis Joliet / Rockdale / Will Co. (Lockport deleted February 24, 1997) (Des Plaines River Valley) Peoria Rockford

# Designated July 1, 1984

Chicago (Zones I, IV, and V) Chicago Heights Cicero Danville Galesburg Kankakee / Bradley / Bourbonnais / Kankakee Co. (Kankakee River Valley) Mound City / Pulaski Co. Springfield Streator / Livingston Co. / LaSalle Co. Summit / Bedford Park

# Designated July 1, 1985

Alsip / Blue Island / Robbins / (Crestwood and Worth deleted January 25, 1990) (Cal-Sag) Belleville Belvidere / Boone Co. Bloomington / Normal / McLean Co. East Peoria Elgin Granite City / Madison / Venice / Madison Co. (Southwestern Madison Co.) Monmouth Mt. Carmel Quincy / Adams Co. Rock Island Urbana

#### **Designated May 31, 1986** Nashville / Washington Co.

#### Designated June 1, 1986

Alton / E. Alton / Hartford / Roxana / S. Roxana / Wood River / Madison Co. (Riverbend) Cairo / Alexander Co. Harvey Kankakee Co. (Manteno) Macomb / McDonough Co. Mt. Vernon / Jefferson Co. Ottawa / LaSalle Co. Pekin / Tazewell Co. Designated July 1, 1986 Champaign / Champaign Co. LaSalle / Peru / Oglesby / LaSalle Co. (Illinois Valley) McCook / Hodgkins Morton Washington

Designated October 29, 1986 Bartonville / Peoria Co.

Designated February 27, 1987 Rantoul

Designated March 30, 1987 Beardstown

#### Designated June 30, 1987

Calumet City / Dolton / Riverdale (Calumet Region) Central City / Centralia / Wamac / Clinton Co. / Marion Co. / Washington Co. (Greater Centralia) Chicago (Zone VI) Dixon / Lee Co. Flora / Clay Co. Greenville Ladd / Princeton / Spring Valley / Bureau Co. / Putnam Co. (Bureau and Putnam Co.) Lincoln / Logan Co. Mendota Olney / Richland Co. Tilton added to Danville Zone (see July 1, 1984) **Designated March 28, 1988** 

Moline / East Moline / Silvis (Quad Cities) Designated March 30, 1988

Sterling / Rock Falls / Morrison / Whiteside Co.

Designated April 28, 1988 Effingham / Effingham Co.

Designated May 18, 1988 North Utica added to Illinois Valley Zone (see July 1, 1986)

#### Designated June 29, 1988

Carmi / White Co. Kewanee Maywood Metropolis / Joppa / Massac Co. Vandalia / Fayette Co. West Frankfort

### Designated June 30, 1988

Bellevue added to Bartonville / Peoria Co. Zone (see October 29, 1986)

Designated December 1, 1988 Washington Park added to East St. Louis Zone (see July 1, 1983)

Designated April 1, 1989 Hennepin added to Bureau / Putnam Co. Zone (see June 30, 1987)

#### Designated May 1, 1989

Aroma Park added to Kankakee River Valley Zone (see July 1, 1984) Romeoville added to Des Plaines River Valley Zone (see July 1, 1983)

#### **Designated March 1, 1990**

American Bottoms (Cahokia, Dupo, Sauget and St. Clair Co.)
Benton / Franklin Co.
Coles Co. (Charleston, Mattoon, Oakland and Coles Co.)
Freeport / Stephenson Co.
Jackson Co. (Carbondale, Murphysboro and Jackson Co.)
Jackson Ville
Lawrenceville / Lawrence Co.
Litchfield / Hillsboro / Montgomery Co.

# Robinson

Salem / Marion Co.

South Beloit / Rockton / Winnebago Co.

## Designated April 1, 1990

Fairfield / Wayne Co. McLeansboro / Hamilton Co. Villages of Calumet Park / Dixmoor added to Cal-Sag (see July 1, 1985)

Designated June 19, 1990 Prophetstown / Fulton / Lyndon added to Whiteside Co. (see March 30, 1988)

Designated July 1, 1990 Hoffman Estates

Designated February 1, 1991 Savannah / Thompson / Carroll Co. added to

Savannah / Thompson / Carroll Co. added to Whiteside Co. (see March 30, 1988)

**Designated February 13, 1991** Manteno added to Kankakee Co.

(see June 1, 1986)

# Designated July 1, 1991

Altamont Carterville / Herrin / Johnston City / Marion / Cambria / Crainville / Energy / Williamson Co. DuQuoin / Pinckneyville / St. Johns / Perry Co. Gillespie / Carlinville / Macoupin Co. Harrisburg / Eldorado / Raleigh / Muddy /

Saline Co. Marshall / Martinsville / Casey / Westfield /

Designated October 1, 1991

Clark Co.

Crawford Co. added to Robinson (see March 1, 1990)

Designated November 15, 1991 Cook Co. added to Cal-Sag (see July 1, 1985)

**Designated December 31, 1991** Taylorville / Christian Co. Village of Ford Heights

Designated June 1, 1992 Mark added to Bureau / Putnam Co. (see June 30, 1987)

Designated November 2, 1992 Amboy added to Dixon / Lee Co. (see June 30, 1987)

Designated November 20, 1992 Alorton / Centreville added to East St. Louis (see July 1, 1983)

Designated February 11, 1993

Carrier Mills / Galatia added to Saline Co. (see July 1, 1991)

**Designated March 9, 1993** Village of Hanover / Jo Daviess Co. added

to Freeport / Stephenson Co. (see March 1, 1990)

Designated October 1, 1993 Marshall Co. (Henry, Lacon, Toluca, and Village of Sparland)

Designated February 23, 1995

Villages of Paw Paw / Franklin Grove / Ashton added to Dixon / Lee Co. (see June 30,1987)

Designated April 17, 1996

St. Clair Co. added to Southwestern Madison Co. (see July 1, 1985)

**Designated September 8, 1997** 

Edwardsville / Pontoon Beach / Madison Co. (Gateway Commerce Center)

Designated September 23, 1997 Village of Clay City added to Flora / Clay Co. (see June 30, 1987)

Designated July 13, 1998

Smithboro added to Greenville (see June 30, 1987)

Designated August 27, 1998

Bethalto added to Riverbend (see June 1, 1986)