
Who must file Form RL-26-X?
You must file Form RL-26-X to correct your original re-
turn or your previously filed amended return, or to claim 
a credit for an overpayment.  You must also attach sup-
porting schedules (Sch.) or documentation.

Where do I file?
Form RL-26-X can be filed electronically in MyTax 
Illinois at mytaxillinois.gov. MyTax Illinois also allows 
for electronic payment of any tax due. also allows for 
electronic payment of any tax due.

You can also complete a paper Form RL-26-X and mail it 
along with attachments to:

ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FUEL DIVISION
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19467
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9467
If you have questions, email us at 
REV.ATP-MFR@illinois.gov, write us at the address 
above, or call us weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at 
217 782-6045 or visit our website at tax.illinois.gov.

What is the deadline for filing this form? 
The period for which you can claim a credit for an 
overpayment of Liquor Revenue Tax depends on when 
you file your Form RL-26-X. If you file this amended return 
between January 1 and June 30 of this year, you may file 
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Step 2: Figure your tax due
Line 9: 
Distillers, rectifiers, or blenders licensed as 
manufacturers: Gallons on hand (including gallons in 
public/bonded warehouses) that were bottled or made 
ready for sale at the beginning of this reporting period.
Importing distributors: Gallons on hand at the close of  
business on the last day of the preceding month. Include 
all alcoholic liquor, regardless of where it was purchased 
or housed. Note: This should be identical to Line 19 from 
the preceding month.
Line 10: 
Distillers, rectifiers, or blenders licensed as 
manufacturers: Gallons bottled during the month plus 
the number sold in bulk.
Purchasers of alcoholic liquor in bulk: Report the 
purchases on Sch. D regardless of where or from whom 
you made the purchases. Although such alcoholic liquor 
does not appear on your  Form RL-26 until it is used in 
production or resold in bulk, this information is needed to 
allow exemption to the seller.
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a claim for credit for the amounts you overpaid during the 
current year and previous 36 months. Beginning July 1, 
you may file a claim for the amounts you overpaid during 
the current year and previous 30 months. 
Note: We use the U.S. Postal Service postmark date as the 
filing date of a properly amended return (claim for credit). 

There is no deadline for making an additional payment; 
however, the longer you wait to pay, the more interest 
and, when applicable, penalty you will owe. For more 
information about penalties and interest, see Publication 
103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, which is 
available on our website at tax.illinois.gov.
Note: Effective June 25, 2021, for any period included 
in a claim for credit or refund for which the statute of 
limitations for issuing a notice of tax liability under the 
Retailer’s Occupation Tax Act will expire less than 6 
months after the date a taxpayer files the claim for credit 
or refund, the statute of limitations for issuing a notice of 
tax liability is automatically extended for 6 months from 
the date it would have otherwise expired.
What records must I keep?
You must keep (for at least three years) within Illinois 
complete and accurate records of all purchases and 
sales of alcoholic  liquor and of all alcoholic liquor 
produced, manufactured, or compounded.

Specific Instructions

Line 11a:  Gallons you imported into Illinois. Attach Sch. A.  
Line 11b: Gallons you purchased from Illinois 
manufacturers or other licensed importing distributors 
on which Illinois Liquor Gallonage Tax was not paid when 
you made the purchase. Attach Sch. F.    

Line 11c: Gallons of tax-paid alcoholic liquor 
purchased from or returned to you from retailers and 
distributors. Attach Sch. G.

Line 13: Gallons shipped from a point in Illinois to a 
point outside Illinois pursuant to sale. Attach Sch. C. 

Line 14: Gallons you sold tax-free to other Illinois 
licensed manufacturers or importing distributors. Attach 
Sch. B.    

Manufacturers who sell bulk goods: Treat sales as 
deductions on Lines 13  or 14. Include such bulk goods 
in the quantity you report as manufactured on Line 10. 
Attach Sch. B, Sch. C, or both.

Line 15: Gallons you sold to holders of non-beverage 
user licenses.  Attach Sch. E & permits authorizing the 
purchase of alcoholic liquor for non-beverage purposes.
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Line 16: Gallons lost during bottling. This must be 
included in your inventory on Line 9. To deduct bottling 
losses, you must maintain accurate records and support 
the deduction by  Sch. J.
Line 17: Other deductions necessary to account for 
all alcoholic liquor manufactured or imported that is 
not subject to the tax. You must fully explain these 
deductions on Form RL-115, Other Illinois Liquor Tax 
Deductions. Attach Form RL-115.

Line 18: Gallons you sold tax-free to authorized U.S. 
governmental agencies. Attach Sch. N.

Line 19: Gallons on hand and ready for sale at the close 
of business on the last day of the month for which you 
are filing this return. Enter this amount on Step 2, Line 9, 
of succeeding month’s return.

Line 22: Gallons entered on Line 11c.

Line 24: Complete your return using the preprinted tax 
rates on Line 24. If you file electronically using MyTax 
Illinois the rates will be populated for you. 

Line 26: Add all columns’ Line 25. This is your total tax due.

Line 27: If you timely file and pay this tax electronically 
you are entitled to a discount. To determine the discount 
amount, multiply Line 17 by 2% (.02); compare the 
amount to the discount cap of $2,000; and, enter the 
lesser on Line 18.

Line 28: Subtract Line 27 from Line 26.
Line 29: If you have a credit memorandum issued to you 
by us and wish to apply that toward your balance due, 
enter the amount of credit you wish to apply.

Line 30: Subtract Line 29 from Line 28. This is your net 
tax due.

Line 31: Total amount of tax paid for this reporting pe-
riod. Enter the total amount that you have paid. This 
figure includes the amount you paid with your original 
return, any subsequent amended return(s), and any tax 
you paid on any assessment for this liability period. Do 
not include any penalty and interest you paid on 
any assessment. You must reduce the total amount you 
have paid by the amount of any credit or refund of tax you 
have received for this liability period. Do not include any 
interest you received on the credit or refund.
Line 32: This is the amount you are overpaid.

Line 33: This is the amount you owe.

Returned merchandise
•	 Sch. C - if you returned alcoholic liquor to an out-of-

state firm from whom you made the purchase (report 
it as a sale in interstate commerce).”

•	 Sch.F - if alcoholic liquor on which tax has not been 
paid is returned to you. The shipper will report (and 

you attach) the transaction on Sch. B. 
•	 Sch. G - to report alcoholic liquor on which tax has 

been paid and is returned to you by a retailer or 
distributor

•	 Sch. A - if an out-of-state customer returned 
alcoholic liquor to you (report it as an importation).  

Step 3: Check the reason you are filing this 
amended return
Check the best description of why you are completing       
Form RL-26-X.
Note: If you check “other”, and you are a party to a civil 
suit involving the amount claimed on this return, enter 
the name of the suit on the line provided.

Step 4: Sign below
An owner, partner, or officer of the corporation, or other 
person who is authorized to file this return must sign the 
return. Be sure to include a daytime telephone number 
where we can reach you if we have questions.

Penalty and Interest Information
If, on this amended return, you are increasing the amount 
of Liquor Revenue Tax due, we will bill you for any 
additional penalty and interest that we calculate is due.

If, on this amended return, you are reducing the amount 
of the Liquor Revenue Tax due, we will recalculate 
any penalty and interest that is due and include the 
recomputed amounts in determining the amount you 
have overpaid.

You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not file a 
processable return by the due date, a late-payment 
penalty if you do not pay the tax you owe by the original 
due date of the return, and a bad check penalty if your 
remittance is not honored by your financial institution. 
Interest is calculated on tax from the day after the origi-
nal due date of your return through the date you pay the 
tax. We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more 
information about penalties and interest, see Publication 
103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a 
copy of this publication, call 1 800 356-6302 or visit our 
website at tax.illinois.gov.

What other penalties may be imposed?
If you fail to keep the required records or if you violate 
provisions of the Liquor Control Act of 1934 or our rules 
and regulations, you are guilty of a petty offense for the 
first offense. For a second or subsequent offense, you 
are guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. Each day you en-
gage in business as a manufacturer, foreign importer, 
importing distributor, or retailer in violation of the act 
constitutes a separate offense.

For help on setting up a CSV file, see the next 
page of these instructions.
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The CSV (Comma Separated Value) file format is used for importing the RL-26 file directly to an Illinois Liquor Revenue Tax 
account. The import feature is recommended for users who have software that can create the CSV format. Using a spreadsheet 
program (e.g., Excel), columns are required to create a CSV file that is recognized and accepted by MyTax Illinois. You may also 
use a text file following the same formatting. The invoices should be sorted and grouped by schedule type (Column 1) before 
importing the file. The file should have no header row. The file must contain the following columns in this order:

Submission with CSV file in MyTax Illinois

Field 
Name

Max Length Data Type Description

1st 
Column

Schedule 
Name

3 characters Alpha and 
Numeric

Indicate which of the liquor return schedule the information in this entry belongs on 
by entering "A",  "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "J", "N", or "115"

2nd 
Column

Invoice 
Number

30 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

The invoice number this entry pertains to; only valid on entries where Column 1 = 
"A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", and "115"

3rd 
Column

Invoice 
Date

10 characters Numeric The date the transaction occured; only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", 
"C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", and "115"   Example: January 1, 2020 should be entered 

as "1/1/2020".

4th 
Column

FEIN 9 characters Numeric FEIN of company this entry pertains to; only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", 
"B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", and "115" NOT VALID if Column 9 is “Y”

5th 
Column

Cider 
0.5% to 
7% or 
beer

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for product type; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow 
remaining digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal 
places); only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", 

and "115"

6th 
Column

Alcohol 
14% or 

less

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for product type; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow 
remaining digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal 
places); only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", 

and "115"

7th 
Column

Alcohol > 
14% and 
< 20%

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for product type; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow 
remaining digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal 
places); only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", 

and "115"

8th 
Column

Alcohol 
20% or 
more

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for product type; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow 
remaining digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal 
places); only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", "N:", 

and "115"

9th 
Column

Foreign 
Country

1 character Alpha Notes if entry is for a source from a foreign country; enter "Y" to indicate foreign 
country; can be blank; only valid on entries where Column 1 = "A" or "C"

10th 
Column

Foreign 
Country 
Name

40 characters Alpha Name of Foreign Country; only valid if column 9 = "Y"

11th 
Column

Permit 
Num

30 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

Non-beverage Use Permit Number; only valid on entries where Column 1 = "E"

12th 
Column

Liquor 
Type

1 character Numeric The liquor type for this entry; must be "1", "2", "3", "4"; only valid on entries where 
Column 1 = "J"

13th 
Column

Wine 
gallons in 
tanks at 

beginning 
of month

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for entry; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow remaining 
digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal places); only 

valid on entries where Column 1 = "J"

14th 
Column

Wine 
gallons 

added to 
your tank

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for entry; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow remaining 
digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal places); only 

valid on entries where Column 1 = "J"

15th 
Column

Wine 
gallons in 
tanks at 

the end of 
the month

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for entry; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow remaining 
digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal places); only 

valid on entries where Column 1 = "J"
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16th 
Column

Wine 
gallons 
bottled 

during the 
month

29 characters Numeric Number of gallons for entry; allow up to 15 digits before decimal; allow remaining 
digits up to 29 total after decimal; round to nearest 1 millionth (6 decimal places); only 

valid on entries where Column 1 = "J"

17th 
Column

Military 1 character Alpha 
character

Notes if entry is for a sale to the military; enter "Y" to indicate sale to the military; can 
be blank; only valid on entries where Column 1 = N

18th 
Column

Deduction 25 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

Reason for deduction; must = "Breakage", "Defective", "Denaturation", "Non-Taxable 
Sale", "Theft", or "Witnessed Destruction"; only valid if Column 1 = "115"

19th 
Column

Name 40 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

Name of customer; valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", 
or "N"; valid on entries where Column 1 = "115" and Column 18 = "Non-Taxable Sale"

20th 
Column

Street 40 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

The street address of your customer; valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", 
"D", "E", "F", "G", or "N"; valid on entries where Column 1 = "115" and Column 18 = 

"Non-Taxable Sale"

21st 
Column

City 40 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

The city in which your customer is located; valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", 
"B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", or "N"; valid on entries where Column 1 = "115" and 

Column 18 = "Non-Taxable Sale"

22nd 
Column

State 2 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

The state in which your customer is located; valid on entries where Column 1 = 
"A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G", or "N"; valid on entries where Column 1 = "115" and 

Column 18 = "Non-Taxable Sale"; NOT VALID if Column 9 is "Y"

23rd 
Column

Zip 10 characters ASCII 
characters, 
no commas

The zip code of your customer.  A zip code of 5 or 9 digits is required.  Example: 
62568 or 62568-3214; valid on entries where Column 1 = "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", 
"G", or "N"; valid on entries where Column 1 = "115" and Column 18 = "Non-Taxable 

Sale"; Enter “99999” if Column 9 is “Y” 

Example: 
You are filing Schedule A, with invoice number 12345678, and invoice date 10/10/2021. Your FEIN is 123456789. Your shipper’s 
name is ABC Liquor, Inc., located at 101 Any Blvd., Springfield, MA 60001-1234. The Cider 0.5% to 7% or beer gallonage is 
150.123000. The record for the transaction would be reported as follows: CSV Spreadsheet Example (e.g., Excel)

A 12345678 10/10/2021 123456789 150.123000 ABC 
Liquor 
Inc.

101 Any 
Blvd.

Springfield MA 60001-1234

Text File Example (e.g., Notepad) A,12345678,10/10/2021,123456789,150.123000,,,,,,,,,,,,,,ABC Liquor Inc.,101 Any 
Blvd.,Springfield,MA,60001-1234 Save your spreadsheet or text file using the file type “CSV (Comma delimited) (*.csv)” option. 
For text files, separate each field with a comma and each record with a hard return. Once you have your file saved in this for-
mat, you may use the “Import” option in MyTax Illinois.
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