
Page 1 of 4 IL-1120-X Instructions (R-12/09)

 Illinois Department of Revenue

 IL-1120-X Instructions       2009

Who must fi le Form IL-1120-X?
You should fi le Form IL-1120-X if you are amending a previously fi led, 
processable Form IL-1120, Illinois Corporation Income and Replacement 
Tax Return, or Form IL-1120-X, for a tax year ending on or after Decem-
ber 31, 1986. Your change can occur from a state or federal change that 
affects items used to compute your Illinois net income, net loss, or credits, 
such as

• an amendment of your federal income tax return,
• an adjustment made by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or
• any other recomputation or redetermination.

A separate Form IL-1120-X must be fi led for each tax year you need 
to amend.

 Use Form IL-1120X-PY, Amended Corporation Income 
and Replacement Tax Return, to amend tax years ending prior to 
December 31, 1986.

What if I need to correct my return before the 
extended due date expires?
If you fi led your original Form IL-1120 and a state or federal correction or 
change needs to be made before the extended due date expires (see the 
instructions of your original return), you should fi le Form IL-1120-X, and 
write “CORRECTED” at the top. Due to the automatic extension, any cor-
rected return fi led after the original return and prior to the extended due 
date will be treated as the original return, rather than an amended return.

If you are fi ling a “corrected return” to change the election on your original 
return to treat all income other than compensation as business income, 
mark the box in Step 1, Line I, and provide a written explanation indicating 
the change to your election in Step 2 of Form IL-1120-X. 

How long do I have to amend my return?
The amount of time you have to amend your return depends on 
whether your Form IL-1120-X is being fi led to report a state or federal 
change.

State change - If your change creates or increases the Illinois net 
loss for the year, you must fi le Form IL-1120-X showing the increase 
in order to carry the increased loss amount to another year.
If your change decreases the tax due to Illinois and you are entitled 
to a refund, you must fi le Form IL-1120-X within

•  three years after the due date of the return (including extensions),
• three years after the date your original return was fi led, or
• one year after the date your Illinois tax was paid, whichever is 

latest.
If your change increases the tax due to Illinois, you should fi le Form 
IL-1120-X and pay the tax, penalty, and interest promptly.

Federal change - You should not fi le this form until you receive a fed-
eral fi nalization notifi cation from the IRS, stating that they have accept-
ed your change, either by paying a refund, or by fi nal assessment, 
agreement, or judgment.

If your federal change decreases the tax due to Illinois and you are 
entitled to a refund, you must fi le Form IL-1120-X within two years 
plus 120 days of federal fi nalization.

If your federal change increases the tax due to Illinois, you must fi le 
Form IL-1120-X and pay any additional tax within 120 days of IRS partial 
agreement or fi nalization. In order to avoid late payment penalties, you 
must attach proof of the federal fi nalization date, showing the change 
was reported to Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you may 
be assessed a late-payment penalty.

 If you fail to notify us of your change by fi ling Form IL-1120-X, 
we may issue a notice of defi ciency at any time. Once you fi le your 
change, we may issue a notice of defi ciency within two years.

What if my amended return involves unitary 
fi ling?
If you are amending your original 

• unitary Form IL-1120 to report a state or federal change to your 
unitary income, you must fi le one combined Form IL-1120-X 

 What is new for 2009?

General Information

•  Fiscal year fi lers only:  The Replacement Tax Investment Credit 
scheduled to expire December 31, 2008, has been extended.  If you 
are a fi scal year fi ler that had qualifying property placed in service 
on or after January 1, 2009, and you fi led a fi scal 2009 tax return but 
did not claim the credit on Form IL-477, you may fi le an amended 
tax return and a complete Form IL-477 in order to claim the credit.

•  For tax years beginning on or after July 30, 2009, the Research 
and Development credit has expired and is no longer allowable.

•  For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, 
broadcasting companies with income inside and outside Illinois 
must use the new special sales factor.

•  For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2009, and on or 
before December 30, 2020, the Student-Assistance Contribution 
Credit allows a credit for employers who make matching contributions 
to Illinois pre-paid tuition programs. The credit is limited to $500 per 
qualifying employee, cannot reduce tax to less than zero, and may be 
carried forward fi ve years.

•  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010, the 
Veterans Jobs Credit has been increased to the lesser of 10 
percent of wages or $1200 per qualifying employee.

• For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, 
Illinois has published regulations for calculating discharge of 
indebtedness loss reductions. See Specifi c Instructions for more 
information.

• Effective for tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, 
partnerships, S corporations, and trusts are required to make 
pass-through entity payments on behalf of all nonresident 
partners and benefi ciaries. Pass-through entities should report 
payments made on your behalf on Illinois Schedules K-1-P or 
K-1-T.  Any payments received from pass-through entities may be 
claimed as credit on this form. Owners claiming any credit must 
attach the Schedule K-1-P or K-1-T they receive from the pass-
through entity. For more information, see Information Bulletin, 
FY-2009-02, Pass-through Entity Payments.

• For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, the sales 
factor apportionment laws have changed. 

• For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, the 
law regarding the treatment of insurance companies, fi nancial 
organizations, and transportation companies has changed.

• For tax years ending on or after December 31, 2008, the law 
regarding related-party expenses has changed. 

Use for tax years ending on or 
after December 31, 2009.
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for all members and a revised Illinois Schedule UB, Combined 
Apportionment for Unitary Business Groups.

• non-unitary Form IL-1120 to be included in an existing unitary group, 
you must fi le Form IL-1120-X, reporting a zero tax liability, and the 
unitary group must fi le one combined Form IL-1120-X and attach a 
revised Illinois Schedule UB that includes you as a member.

What if my amended return involves an Illinois 
net loss deduction (NLD)?
If you have an Illinois NLD carryforward from any loss year ending on 
or after December 31, 1986, it is subtracted from and limited to base 
income allocable to Illinois.

To determine your “Illinois net loss” start with federal taxable income  
and apply all addition and subtraction modifi cations, and all allocation 
and apportionment provisions.

If you are carrying an Illinois NLD, you must complete and attach Illinois 
Schedule NLD, Illinois Net Loss Deduction, and claim the deduction on 
Step 6, Line 40. See specifi c instructions for Step 6, Line 40.

If you are a member of a unitary business group and you are carry-
ing an Illinois NLD, you must complete and attach Illinois Schedule 
UB/NLD, Unitary Net Loss Deduction to support the amount of Illinois 
NLD claimed. Additionally, you must attach a copy of each loss year’s 
Illinois Schedule UB, Step 6. If Step 6 does not report each member’s 
average apportionment factor, you must also attach a separate worksheet 
providing this information. Refer to current Illinois Schedule UB for an 
example of the required formatting.

If you had discharge of indebtedness income for a taxable year ending 
on or after December 31, 2008, and all or a portion of this income 
was excluded from your federal gross income due to bankruptcy or 
insolvency, then you may be required to reduce any Illinois net loss you 
incurred for that year or Illinois net loss carryovers to that year before 
you determine your Illinois NLD. See the instructions for Form IL-1120, 
Step 5 and Schedule NLD or UB/NLD for more information.

Do not fi le Form IL-1120-X to report an Illinois NLD carryforward until after 
you have fi led the loss year Form IL-1120 or Form IL-1120-X reporting the 
loss. When you fi le Form IL-1120-X, you must attach a completed Illinois 
Schedule NLD or UB/NLD. Failure to attach the correct and completed 
schedule could result in partial or total denial of your claim.

If you need more information visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov 
and view the Illinois Income Tax Regulations, Sections 100.2050 and 
100.2300 through 100.2330. 

Who should sign the return?
Your Form IL-1120-X must be signed by the president, vice president, 
treasurer, or any other offi cer duly authorized to sign the return. If you 
paid someone to prepare your return, that individual must also provide a 
signature, date the return, and provide his or her tax identifi cation number. 
If the preparer is an employee or partner of a fi rm or corporation, he 
or she must also provide the fi rm’s name, address, and instead of the 
preparer’s taxpayer identifi cation number he or she must provide the fi rm’s 
FEIN. Self-employed preparers must check the “self-employed” box and 
provide their own name, address, and preparer’s taxpayer identifi cation 
number in the appropriate spaces.

Can a reasonable facsimile be used?
In general, you must obtain and use forms prescribed by the Illinois 
Department of Revenue. Separate statements not on forms provided or 
approved by the department will not be accepted and you will be asked 
for appropriate documentation. Failure to comply with this requirement 
may result in failure to fi le penalties, or delay the processing of 
your return, or generating any refund. Additionally, failure to submit 
appropriate documentation when requested may result in a referral to our 
Audit Bureau for compliance action.

Corporations must complete Form IL-1120-X. Do not send a computer 
printout with line numbers and dollar amounts attached to a blank copy of 
the return. Computer generated printouts are not acceptable, even if they 
are in the same format as the department forms. Computer generated 
forms from a department-approved software developer are acceptable.

What are the penalties and interest?
Penalties  — You will owe 

• a late-fi ling penalty if you do not fi le a processable return by the 
extended due date;

• a late-payment penalty if you do not pay the tax you owe by the 
original due date of the return; 

• a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
fi nancial institution; 

• a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount you owe 
within 30 days of the date printed on your bill.

Interest — The interest rate is the “short-term federal rate” for the fi rst 
year that the overpayment or underpayment accrues interest. This rate is 
set by the IRS under IRC Section 6621. After one year, interest will accrue 
on any remaining balance at the underpayment rate, which is also set by 
the IRS under IRC Section 6621, and is 3 percent higher than the short-
term federal rate.

 For more information about penalties and interest, see Publica-
tion 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this 
publication, see “What if I need additional assistance or forms?” for our 
phone numbers and addresses.

What must I attach to my Form IL-1120-X?
This form must contain a complete explanation of the reasons for fi ling the 
claim or amendment. You must attach any required schedules or forms 
(or reasonable facsimiles) to support your claim. If Form IL-1120-X is sub-
mitted without the proper attachments it may be partially or totally denied.

If you are fi ling Form IL-1120-X because

• you fi led a federal Form 1120X or federal Form 1139 and your tax due 
to Illinois decreases, you must include a copy of that return, plus any 
other related forms, schedules, or attachments, including a signed and 
dated copy of any federal report of income tax examination changes 
(e.g., Form 4549A and B), if applicable.

• you fi led a federal Form 1120X and your tax due to Illinois increases, 
you must attach proof of the federal fi nalization date,  including a 
signed and dated copy of any federal report of income tax examination 
changes (e.g., Form 4549A and B), if applicable, showing the change 
was reported to Illinois within 120 days of IRS acceptance, or you may 
be assessed a late-payment penalty.

• of a change by the IRS, you must include all copies of the federal exam-
ining offi cer’s reports, including preliminary, revised, corrected, and su-
perseding reports, and a signed and dated copy of any federal report of 
income tax examination changes (e.g., Form 4549A and B), if applicable.

• you copied information incorrectly from your federal Form 1120 onto 
your Form IL-1120, you must include a copy of your federal Form 1120.

• of a change in, or audit of, another state’s tax return, you must include 
a copy of the other state’s corrected return or the examining offi cer’s 
reports.

• of an Illinois net loss carryback, you must include a completed Illinois 
Schedule NLD or UB/NLD. See Specifi c Instructions for Step 6, Line 40.

• of changes, other than those described above, see Form IL-1120 
Instructions and any schedules for the year you are changing to deter-
mine what attachments you must provide.
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Write the tax year you are amending in the space provided at the top 
of Form IL-1120-X.

Step 1: Provide the following business information

A — Type or print the required name and address information clearly 
in the spaces provided. If your name or address has changed since 
you last fi led a return, check the box.

B — If you are fi ling an Illinois combined unitary return, check the 
box and attach a completed Illinois Schedule UB. For more informa-
tion, see Illinois Schedule UB instructions.

    — If you are a foreign insurer, check the box and, if you are 
entitled to a tax reduction, attach a completed Illinois Schedule INS, 
Computation of Tax for a Foreign Insurer. If you are fi ling a combined uni-
tary return and one or more of your members are foreign insurers, check 
both boxes. If your unitary group is entitled to a tax reduction, attach a 
completed Illinois Schedule UB/INS, Computation of Tax for a Unitary 
Business Group with Foreign Insurer Members. For more information, 
see Illinois Schedule INS or Illinois Schedule UB/INS. Complete Form 
IL-1120-X, writing the corrected tax amounts from Illinois Schedule INS 
or UB/INS on Step 9, Lines 50 and 51.

C — Check the box if you are fi ling this form only to report an increased 
net loss and no refund will result. Complete Steps 3 and 4, and Step 5, 
if applicable, and Step 6, Lines 37 through 39. Sign the return in Step 10 
and leave the rest of the form blank.

D — Follow the instructions on the form. Attach Form IL-2220.

E — If you are entitled to take income tax credits on Step 8, Line 48, 
you must check the box on Line E, and attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D, 
Income Tax Credits. If you have earned credits in this tax year, but are 
unable to use them, you must still complete and submit Illinois Schedule 
1299-D and show the credits you have earned.

F — Write your federal employer identifi cation number (FEIN). If you 
are a unitary company, write the FEIN of the designated agent.

G — Check the appropriate box for the reason you are fi ling this 
return. If you are amending due to a federal change, you must check 
the appropriate box for partial agreed or fi nalized and include the date 
of IRS fi nalization, not the date the federal change was fi led. Please 
attach a dated copy of the federal examining offi cer’s report. If you do 
not provide this date, you may be assessed penalties and interest. 

H — If you have completed federal Form 8886 or Schedule M-3 to 
report a tax shelter and you did not attach a copy to the original return, 
check the appropriate box and attach a copy of the federal form or 
schedule to this return. If you are fi ling this return because of changes 
associated with federal Form 8886 or Schedule M-3, provide a detailed 
explanation in Step 2.

I — If you are fi ling a “corrected” return and wish to make the election to 
treat all income, other than compensation, as business income, check this 
box. If you previously had nonbusiness income on Form IL-1120, Step 4, 
Lines 26 and 34, you must reduce these amounts to zero on this Form 

IL-1120-X. This election must be made by the extended due date of the 
original tax return. Once made, the election is irrevocable. If you are fi ling 
Form IL-1120-X after the extended due date of the original return, check 
the box only if you made the election on your original return. 

J — Write your Illinois corporate fi le (charter) number assigned to 
you by the Illinois Secretary of State. If you are fi ling a unitary return, 
write the corporate fi le (charter) number of the designated agent.

K — Check the box if you must adjust your income or loss due to 
Discharge of Indebtedness. For more information, see the instructions 
for Line 38 and the Discharge of Indebtedness worksheet.

Step 2:  Explain the changes on this return
The purpose of Step 2 is to allow you to explain what specifi c 
changes you are making to your Illinois tax return. You should include 
all relevant information, including, but not limited to, changes made to

• specifi c addition and subtraction modifi cations, 
• unitary membership or unitary status, 
• the business income election, 
• credit or credit recapture amounts, 
• the Illinois net operating loss deduction, and
• the federal or other state return that caused changes to the Illinois return.
You must provide an explanation for each line item you change.

General Information for Steps 3 through 8

Column A — Write the amounts from your most recently fi led return 
or as most recently adjusted for the year that you are amending. This 
may be your original Form IL-1120 or as previously amended.

Column B — Write the correct amount for each line in Column B.

For each line item you change, you must provide an explanation for 
that change in Step 2.

For instructions regarding completion of Steps 3 through 8, refer to the 
Form IL-1120 Instructions and schedules for the year being amended.

Specifi c instructions for most of the lines are provided on this page. 
Lines that are not discussed in the instructions are self-explanatory.

 If you are fi ling this form only to report an increase in your 
Illinois net loss and the change will not result in a refund, see the 
instructions for Step 6, Line 37.

Step 3:  Figure your income or loss
Lines 1 through 9 — Refer to your Form IL-1120, Step 2, Specifi c 
Instructions, for the year being amended.

 Do not apply your Illinois net loss deduction amount from Illinois 
Schedule NLD in this step. NLDs are reported on Step 6, Line 40.

Step 4:  Figure your base income or loss
Lines 11 through 23 — List each item and the amount on the 
line provided. You must identify all subtractions and attach all of the 
required supporting documentation.

Specifi c Instructions

What if I need additional assistance or forms?
If you need additional assistance,

• visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov; 
• write to us at P.O. Box 19044, Springfi eld, Illinois 62794-9044;
• call our Taxpayer Assistance Division at 1 800 732-8866 or 

217 782-3336; or
• call our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) at 

1 800 544-5304.

If you need additional forms or schedules, 

• visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov; 
• call our 24-hour Forms Order Line at 1 800 356-6302; or 
• write to us at P.O. Box 19010, Springfi eld, Illinois 62794-9010.

Our offi ce hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, 
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Line 25 — This is your base income or loss. If your base income or 
loss is derived solely inside Illinois, write this amount on Step 6, Line 
37 and complete the rest of the return. If your base income or loss is 
derived inside and outside Illinois, continue to Step 5 and complete 
the rest of the return.

Step 5:  Figure your income allocable to Illinois
Complete Step 5 only if you originally completed this part, or 
you need to make a change that affects your base income or 
loss allocable to Illinois. Refer to Form IL-1120, Step 4, Specifi c 
Instructions, for the year being amended.

Lines 26 and 34 — If you elected to treat all of your income other 
than compensation as business income on your original or corrected 
return, you must follow that election by writing zero on Form 
IL-1120-X, Lines 26 and 34. If you are fi ling a “corrected” return and 
are making the election to treat all nonbusiness income as business 
income, Column B, Lines 26 and 34 should be reduced to zero.

Step 6:  Figure your net income

Line 37 — Follow the instructions on the form. If the amount in 
Column A refl ects income and the corrected amount in Column B 
refl ects a loss, you may be able to carry this loss to other years as 
an Illinois NLD. See the instructions for Illinois Schedule NLD or 
Illinois Schedule UB/NLD for more information.

 If you are fi ling this form only to report an increase in your 
Illinois net loss and the change will not result in a refund, check the 
box in Step 1, Line C, complete Steps 3 and 4, Step 5, if applicable, 
and Step 6, Lines 37 through 39. Complete Step 2, explaining what 
caused the increase in the Illinois net loss and sign the return in Step 
10. Leave the rest of the form blank.

Line 38 — If you were required to reduce the net operating loss re-
ported on your federal Form 1120 or 1120A because you excluded any 
discharge of indebtedness income from this tax year’s gross income, 
then you may be required to reduce the net loss reported on Line 37. 
Use the worksheet in the IL-1120 instruction booklet to fi gure your loss 
reduction. Attach a copy of your federal Form 982 Reduction of 
Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness, to your Form 
IL-1120. 

If you are a combined group reporting a combined net loss on Line 37, 
you may be required to reduce this loss if one or more of your group 
members excluded discharge of indebtedness income and was required 
to reduce a federal net operating loss incurred for this tax year. 

 If you also have Illinois net operating loss carryovers to the tax 
year of the debt cancellation, you may also be required to reduce those 
carryovers. See Schedule NLD or UB/NLD for more information.

Line 39 — If you have a discharge of indebtedness adjustment 
on Line 38, add Lines 37 (a negative number) and 38 (a positive 
number), and write the result here. This amount cannot be greater 
than zero. 

If you do not have a discharge of indebtedness adjustment, write 
zero on Line 38 and the amount from Line 37 on Line 39.

Line 40 — Write your Illinois NLD carryforward amount from an 
Illinois net loss year ending on or after December 31, 1986. This 
amount is from your loss year return, Form IL-1120 or Form IL-1120-X, 
reduced by any Illinois net loss applied to an earlier year.

You must attach an Illinois Schedule NLD, Illinois Net Loss 
Deduction, or Illinois Schedule UB/NLD, Unitary Net Loss 
Deduction, to support the amount of Illinois NLD claimed.

Step 7:  Figure your net replacement tax
Follow the instructions on the form. Be sure to attach any required 
schedules or forms.

Line 43 — See Illinois Schedule 4255 for more information 
regarding the recapture of investment credits. You must attach Illinois 
Schedule 4255 if you have an amount on this line. 

Line 45 — See Form IL-477 for more information regarding Investment 
Tax Credits. You must attach Form IL-477 if you have an amount on this line.

Step 8:  Figure your net income tax
Follow the instructions on the form. Be sure to attach any required 
schedules.

Line 48 — See Illinois Schedule 4255 for more information 
regarding the recapture of investment credits. You must attach Illinois 
Schedule 4255 if you have an amount on this line. 

Line 50 — See Illinois Schedule 1299-D for more information 
regarding income tax credits. If you have an amount on this line, 
attach Illinois Schedule 1299-D and mark the box in Step 1, Line E.

Step 9:  Figure your refund or balance due
 If you are fi ling this form only to report an increase in your 

Illinois net loss and a refund will not result, do not complete this part.

Lines 52 and 53 — Follow the instructions on the form. However, 
if you are a foreign insurer and you completed Illinois Schedule INS or 
Illinois Schedule UB/INS, write the reduced replacement and income tax 
amounts from that schedule.

Line 57 — Write the total amount of any subsequent tax payments 
you made with a previously fi led Form IL-1120-X, or for any other reason 
(e.g., responding to a bill). Do not include any penalty and interest you 
previously paid.

Line 59 — Write the total amount of any overpayment, credit, or 
refund (whether received or not) reported on your previously fi led Form 
IL-1120 or Form IL-1120-X. Do not include interest that you received.

Line 61 — Follow the instructions on the form. We will calculate any 
interest that may be due you and include it in your refund check. Any 
refund may be reduced to satisfy any outstanding liability.

 Overpayments from Form IL-1120-X cannot be credited 
to estimated tax, unless this is a “corrected” return fi led before the 
extended due date of the original return. 

Also, we are not required to credit your overpayment against any other 
liability at your request. If you have not made previous arrangements 
with us to credit your overpayment against another liability, and we 
refund your overpayment or credit it against a different liability, you may 
incur additional penalties and interest on your liability.

Line 62 — Follow the instructions on the form. This is your amount 
of tax due that must be paid in full if $1 or more. Make your check or 
money order payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue.” We will 
compute any penalty or interest due and notify you.

 We will apply all payments against tax fi rst, penalty second, 
and interest third.

Lines 63 through 65 — We will bill you for penalties and interest. If 
you prefer, you may calculate the penalties and interest you owe and 
write these amounts on the lines provided. For more information see 
“What are the penalties and interest?” and Publication 103, Penalties 
and Interest for Illinois Taxes. If you calculate penalty and interest, be 
sure that your payment is equal to the amount on Line 63.

 Lines 63 and 64 are applicable only if you wish to self-
assess late-fi ling and late-payment penalties on Form IL-2220. If you 
do not wish to complete Form IL-2220, we will compute any penalty 
or interest due and notify you.

If you have a balance due on Lines 62 or 65, be sure to write 
the amount you are paying on the top of Page 1 of the Form 
IL-1120-X. 




