
Use this table 
if you marked 
Step 5, Table A.

Lines 2 and 3:  If your address for vehicle registration or titling 
is within a local government that imposes a private party vehicle 
use tax, see RUT-6, Form RUT-50 Reference Guide, available for 
download at tax.illinois.gov.

Line 5:  Credit is allowed only if proof of tax paid is attached and the 
tax is separately stated.  

Line 6:  Make remittance payable to “Illinois Department of 
Revenue”.

Note: You owe a late filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late payment penalty if you do not pay the 
amount you owe by the original due date of the return, a bad check 
penalty if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution, 
and a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount you owe 
within 30 days of the date printed on a bill that we send you. For 
more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for 
Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this publication, visit our website 
at tax.illinois.gov.

Use the tables below to determine the Illinois Private Party Vehicle 
Use Tax due.

	 Age table - for use with Table A 	 Example Yours 
 	 a	 Write the year of the title application.	 _______	  ______

	 b	 Write the year of the vehicle.	 _______	  ______

	 c	 Subtract Line b from a. This is the vehicle age.	_______	  ______
 
	 Table A                  Vehicle age	 Tax due                                                                             		  	                       
 			   1 or less……………………………	 $   390
 			   2…………………………………………	290
 			   3…………………………………………	215
 			   4…………………………………………	165
 			   5………………………………………… 	115 
 			   6………………………………………… 	 90
 			   7………………………………………… 	 80 
 			   8………………………………………… 	 65
 			   9………………………………………… 	 50
 		  10 ………………………………………… 	 40
 		  11 or more………………………………..	 25

 	 Table B	 Purchase price or fair market value 	 Tax due

				   $15,000 to 19,999.99  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	$   750
				   $20,000 to 24,999.99  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .	   1,000
				   $25,000 to 29,999.99  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .	   1,250	
				   $30,000 or more   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .	  1,500
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Step 1 — Complete the purchaser’s information
Lines 1, 2, and 3: Enter the purchaser’s name and address exactly 
as it appears on the Illinois title or registration application. This 
address must be the actual physical address of the party who will be 
using the item in Illinois. Do not use a post office box number.

Step 4 — Transaction description
1	Exemption — Mark the appropriate box and write “$0” 

on Step 6, Lines 1, 2 and 3.
1a)	Charitable, religious, educational, or governmental organization with 

an active Illinois Department of Revenue exemption number. 	

1b)	Farm machinery or equipment used primarily in production 
agriculture (excluding motor vehicles required to be registered 
under the Illinois Vehicle Code); or a ready-mix concrete truck 
used in manufacturing tangible personal property for sale.

1c)	Rolling stock item for hire to haul persons or commodities in 
interstate commerce. See Informational Bulletins FY 2005-01 
and 2008-03.

1d)	You were an out-of-state resident; item was used outside Illinois 
at least 3 months. You must surrender the out-of-state title, 
registration or other proof of the item’s use when you apply for an 
Illinois title. You cannot claim this exemption if you are a leasing 
company, lessee, business relocating into Illinois, an individual 
who used the item outside Illinois for less than three months, or 
military person whose home of record is Illinois. 

2	Exception — Mark the appropriate box and write “$15” 
on Step 6, Line 1. 

2b)	Transferred due to the organization, reorganization, dissolution, 
or partial liquidation of business. Beneficial ownership is not 
changing. 

2c)	Transferred or purchased from spouse, parent, brother, sister, or 
child. Spouses include parties in a civil union.

3 Motorcycle or ATV — Write “$25” on Step 6, Line 1.    
	 Includes motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, three or four-wheel all 	
	 terrain vehicle (ATV), or motorized pedalcycle. 

Step 5 — Illinois Private Party Vehicle Use Tax
Table A: If the purchase price or fair market value is less than 
$15,000, you must use Table A to determine your Illinois tax due. 

Table B: If the purchase price or fair market value is $15,000 or 
more, you must use Table B to determine your Illinois tax due.  

Step 6 — Figure your tax
Line 1:  Enter your Illinois Private Party Vehicle Use Tax due, as 
determined in Step 4 or Step 5.

General Instructions

Specific Instructions

RUT-50 (R-07/15)	

Who must file Form RUT-50?
You must file Form RUT-50, Private Party Vehicle Use Tax 
Transaction, if you purchased or acquired by gift or transfer a motor 
vehicle from a private party. 
If you purchased a vehicle from an unregistered out-of-state dealer, 
lending institution, leasing company, or retailer; or if you purchased 
a passenger car from an unregistered Illinois lending institution or 
leasing company, you must complete Form RUT-25, Vehicle Use Tax 
Transaction Return.

When is Form RUT-50 due?
Within 30 days from the date of acquiring the vehicle if acquired in Illinois 
or within 30 days of bringing it into Illinois if acquired outside Illinois.

Are trade-in allowances reported on Form RUT-50?
No — Trade-in allowances are not allowed on Form RUT-50.

What is “purchase price”?
“Purchase price” is the value given for a motor vehicle and may be in 
the form of money, credit, property or service. Attaching a copy of the 
bill of sale or proof of purchase may prevent future notices.

What if I don’t know the purchase price?
When there is no stated purchase price, such as a gift or even trade, 
fair market value is used.

How do I know the fair market value?
You can obtain the fair market value from a licensed dealer.

What if I need help?
Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov or call weekdays between 8 a.m. 
and 5 p.m. at 1 800 732‑8866 or 217 782-3336. Call 1 800 544-5304, 
our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf).

Where do I send my Form RUT-50?
Send Form RUT-50 and attachments with your Illinois Secretary of 
State registration application and fee to:
OFFICE OF THE ILLINOIS SECRETARY OF STATE
VEHICLE SERVICES DEPARTMENT
HOWLETT BLDG
SPRINGFIELD IL  62756
Note: Keep a copy for your records. 

Use this table 
if you marked 
Step 5, 
Table B.



RUT-6
Form RUT-50 Reference Guide

Local Government Private Party 
Vehicle Use Tax Charts

•		 Tax due based on vehicle age

•		 Tax due for certain exceptions

•		 Tax due for motorcycles or ATVs

 

Note: This publication lists the most current rates for the municipal and county private party vehicle use 
taxes the Department administers. Rate changes generally occur on January 1 or July 1 of each year. Local 
governments may impose additional taxes that are not administered by the state. For information regarding a 
locally imposed and administered tax, you must directly contact the local government.
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Municipality listing		
	 Age of Vehicle	 Tax due
City of Chicago	 3 years or newer................…….......		 $80
		  4 to 8 years.……………...…...…......		 $65
		  9 to 14 years………………………....		 $50
		  15 years or older...…………….........		  $0

County listing		
		  Age of Vehicle	 Tax due
Cook County	 3 years or newer………………....….	 $225
		  4 to 8 years…………………….........	 $175
		  9 years or older………………..........	 $90

Note: There may be rebates available through your local municipality or county. You may contact your local 
government for more information about claiming any applicable rebates.

Tax due based on vehicle age

Other than exceptions and motorcycles or ATVs, the local government private party vehicle use tax due is based on 
the age of the vehicle. This is the standard method for determining tax and applies to most vehicles. Your municipal tax 
amount must be entered on Form RUT-50, Step 6, Line 2. Your county tax amount must be entered on Form RUT-50, 
Step 6, Line 3. If your purchase qualifies as an exception or as a motorcycle or ATV, see Pages 2 and 3 of this guide for 
the applicable tax due. Applicable tax locations are based on the address provided on your Illinois title or registration 
application. If this address is within a municipality and county listed below, you must pay the tax for both locations.
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Municipality listing

	 	 Tax due
City of Chicago ………………………………………………………………………………… 		 $15

County listing		

		  		  Tax due
Cook County …………………………………………………………………………………… 		 $25

Note: There may be rebates available through your local municipality or county. You may contact your local 
government for more information about claiming any applicable rebates.

Tax due for certain exceptions

The following chart provides the local government private party vehicle use tax due if the vehicle you purchased qualifies 
for certain exceptions. If you marked any of the exceptions listed on Form RUT-50, Step 4, Lines 2a, 2b, or 2c, the 
municipal and county tax amounts for your transaction are listed below. You are not subject to the tax amounts listed in the 
vehicle age charts on the previous page. Your municipal tax amount must be entered on Form RUT-50, Step 6, Line 2. 
Your county tax amount must be entered on Form RUT-50, Step 6, Line 3. Applicable tax locations are based on the 
address provided on your Illinois title or registration application. If this address is within a municipality and county listed 
below, you must pay the tax for both locations.
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Municipality listing

	 	 Tax due
City of Chicago ………………………………………………………………………………… 		 $15

County listing		

		  		  Tax due
Cook County …………………………………………………………………………………… 		 $90

Note: There may be rebates available through your local municipality or county. You may contact your local 
government for more information about claiming any applicable rebates.

Tax due for motorcycles or ATVs

The following chart provides the local government private party vehicle use tax due if your private party vehicle transaction 
was the purchase of a motorcycle or ATV (includes motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, three or four-wheel all terrain vehicle 
(ATV), and motorized pedalcycle). If you indicated on Form RUT-50, Step 4, Line 3, that the item is a motorcycle or ATV, 
the municipal and county taxes due are listed below. You are not subject to the tax amounts listed in the vehicle age charts 
on Page 1. Your municipal tax amount must be entered on Form RUT-50, Step 6, Line 2. Your county tax amount must 
be entered on Form RUT-50, Step 6, Line 3. Applicable tax locations are based on the address provided on your Illinois 
title or registration application. If this address is within a municipality and county listed below, you must pay the tax for both 
locations.


