lllinois Department of Revenue

IL-1120 Instructions

1997

What's new for 1997

« Effective for tax years ending on or after
January 1, 1997, the disqualification
criteria changes for the recapture of the
High Impact Business Investment Credit.
See Schedule 4255, Recapture of
Investment Tax Credits, for more informa-
tion.

¢ The Internal Revenue Code (IRC),
Section 172, has been amended. Due to
this amendment, lllinois net losses in tax
years beginning after August 5, 1997,
must be carried back 2 years, then
forward 20 years. See General Informa-
tion, “What if | have an lllinois net loss
deduction (NLD)?”

« Effective for tax years ending on or after
January 1, 1998, an Environmental
Remediation Tax Credit is available to
taxpayers for certain amounts paid for
unreimbursed eligible remediation costs
and approved by the lllinois Environmen-
tal Protection Agency (EPA). See Sched-
ule 1299-D, Income Tax Credits, for more
information.

General Information
Who must file Form IL-11207?

You must file Form IL-1120 if you are a

corporation that

¢ has net income or loss as defined under
the lllinois Income Tax Act (IITA); or

« is qualified to do business in the state of
lllinois and required to file a federal
income tax return (regardless of net
income or loss).

It is your duty as a taxpayer to obtain forms
and failure to obtain them is not an excuse
for failure to file returns as required by law.

Unitary filers — If you are a corporation that
is a member of a unitary business group,

you should refer to Schedule UB, Combined
Apportionment for Unitary Business Group,
and its instructions for information about
filing requirements. Even though all lllinois
members receive a booklet, the designated
agent is the only one filing the return.

Political organizations and homeowners’
associations — If you are a corporation that
falls under the definition in IRC, Sections 527
and 528, and report your federal taxable
income on U.S. Form 1120-POL or U.S.

Form 1120-H, you are subject to lllinois
income and replacement tax and must file
Form IL-1120. If you are a Cooperative, write
“cooperative” at the top of Form IL-1120.

Limited liability companies —  If you are an
entity formed under the Illinois Limited
Liability Company Act and you file as a
corporation for federal income tax purposes,
you are treated as a corporation for Illinois
purposes.
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Foreign corporations —  If you are a foreign
corporation, you must observe the same filing
requirements as U.S. Domestic Corporations.
For lllinois purposes, you should report the
taxable income you are reporting for federal
purposes under IRC, Sections 881 through
885. You must use only the domestic factor
information regarding property, payroll, and
double-weighted sales information in the
“everywhere” denominator when apportion-
ing business income to lllinois. If you are a
foreign corporation that is a member of a
unitary business group, you should refer to
Schedule UB and instructions for information
about filing requirements.

Domestic international sales corporations

and foreign sales corporations —  If you
are a Domestic International Sales Corpora-
tion (DISC) under IRC, Section 992, you are
not subject to the taxes imposed by IRC,
Subtitle A (except for the tax imposed on
transfers to avoid income tax under IRC,
Section 1491). Similarly, you are not required
to file Form IL-1120.

For lllinois purposes, distributions from
DISCs (for periods after 1984) are treated in
accordance with the federal rules pertaining
to dividends, dividend exclusions, and
dividend-received deductions.

If you are a Foreign Sales Corporation (FSC)
for federal purposes and have federal taxable
income apportionable or allocable to lllinois,
you are subject to lllinois tax rules applicable
to all corporations. You are taxed by lllinois to
the extent that your non-exempt foreign trade
income, investment income, and carrying
charges (taxable for federal purposes) are
allocable to lllinois. You typically do not have
an office, employees, sales or assets in
Illinois and generally do not have an lllinois
tax liability.

Note: Shareholders of a DISC or FSC who
are residents of lllinois are taxed by lllinois
on actual and deemed distributions (to the
extent so treated for federal income tax
purposes) from such corporations. Corporate
shareholders deriving income from lllinois
should include actual and deemed distribu-
tions from a DISC or FSC in business
income.

Real estate mortgage investment

conduits — If you are a real estate mort-
gage investment conduit in accordance with
IRC, Sections 860A through G, you are not
required to file Form IL-1120.

Charitable organizations, etc. — If you are
an organization exempt from federal income
tax by reason of IRC, Section 501(a), you
are not required to file Form IL-1120.
However, unrelated business taxable income,
as determined under IRC, Section 512, is
subject to tax (without any deduction for
lllinois income tax) and must be reported on
Form IL-990-T, lllinois Exempt Organization
Income and Replacement Tax Return,
instead of Form IL-1120. For further informa-
tion, refer to Form IL-990-T instructions.

Small business corporations —  If you are
an S corporation, as defined by IITA,
Section 1501(a)(28), you are subject only to
lllinois replacement tax and must file

Form IL-1120-ST, lllinois Small Business
Corporation Replacement Tax Return,
instead of Form IL-1120. The shareholders of
these corporations are taxed by lllinois on
their distributive shares of the corporation’s
income. For further information, refer to
Form IL-1120-ST instructions.

How do | register my business?

If you are required to file Form IL-1120, you
must register by filing Form NUC-1, lllinois
Business Registration. Form NUC-1 is
available from the lllinois Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 19010, Springfield, IL
62794-9010.

Registering with the lllinois Department of
Revenue (IDOR), prior to filing your return
will ensure that your tax returns are accu-
rately processed and that you will receive the
appropriate forms.

Your identification as an lllinois business
taxpayer will be your federal employer
identification number (FEIN).

When should | file?

Your lllinois filing period is the same as your
federal filing period. In general, Form IL-1120
is due on or before the 15th day of the 3rd
month following the close of the tax year. If
the original due date of your federal return is
later than the 15th day of the 3rd month, your
lllinois due date will be the same as your
federal due date.

Automatic seven-month extension —  We
grant you an automatic seven-month exten-
sion of time to file your corporate tax return.
You are not required to file Form IL-505-B,
Automatic Extension Payment, in order to
obtain this automatic extension. However, if
you expect tax to be due, you must use
Form IL-505-B to pay any tentative tax you
owe in order to avoid interest and penalty on
tax not paid by the original due date of the
return. An extension of time to file your
Form IL-1120 is not an extension of time for
payment of lllinois tax.

Additional extensions beyond the

automatic extension period —  We will
grant an extension of more than seven
months only if an extension of more than six
months is granted by the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS). A copy of the approved federal
extension must be attached to your

Form IL-1120 when it is filed.

Where should | file?

Mail your Form IL-1120 to

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19008
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9008
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When should | pay?

Payment of tax — You must pay your lllinois
income and replacement tax in full on or
before the original due date of the return.
This payment date applies even though an
automatic extension for filing your return has
been granted.

Estimated tax payments — If you reason-
ably expect your lllinois income and replace-
ment tax liability to be more than $400 for the
tax year, you are required to make quarterly
payments of estimated tax. For further
information regarding 1998 estimated taxes,
refer to the instructions for Form IL-1120-ES,
Estimated Income and Replacement Tax
Payments for Corporations.

Who should sign the return?

Your Form IL-1120 must be signed by the
president, vice president, treasurer, or any
other officer duly authorized to sign the
return. In the case of a bankruptcy, a
receiver, trustee, or assignee must sign any
return required to be filed on behalf of the
corporation. If you are a unitary business
group filing an lllinois combined return, the
designated agent should sign the return. If
you are filing as a Limited Liability Company,
an authorized manager or member should
sign the return. The signature verifies by
written declaration (and under penalties of
perjury) that the signing officer has person-
ally examined the return and the return is
true, correct, and complete. An individual's
name signed to a return is prima facie
evidence that the individual is authorized to
sign the return on behalf of the corporation.

Any person paid to prepare the return (other
than a regular, full-time employee of the
taxpayer, such as a clerk, secretary, or
bookkeeper) must provide a handwritten
signature, date the return, and indicate their
taxpayer identification number. If the preparer
is an employee or partner of a firm or
corporation, they must also provide the firm’s
name, address, and instead of the preparer’s
taxpayer identification number, they must
provide the firm's FEIN. A self-employed
preparer must check the “self-employed” box
and provide their name, address, and
taxpayer identification number in the
appropriate spaces.

Note: If your return shows an overpayment
of tax (including a credit carryover) and is
unsigned, the overpayment is considered
forfeited if, after notice and demand for
signature, you fail to provide a signature
within three years from the date your return
was filed.

What are the penalties and
interest?

Penalties and interest — You owe a late
filing or nonfiling penalty  if you do not file
a processable return by the due date. You
owe a late payment penalty if you are
required to make estimated tax payments
and fail to do so, or fail to make your pay-
ments timely. You also owe this penalty if you
do not pay the tax you owe by the original
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due date of the return, even if you have an
extension of time to file. Interest is calculated
on tax and penalty from the day after the
original due date of your return through the
date you pay the tax and penalty.

We will bill you for penalties and interest. If
you prefer to figure these amounts, see
Publication 103, Uniform Penalties and
Interest. To receive a copy of this publication,
see “What if | need additional assistance?”
for our phone numbers and addresses.

What if | am discontinuing my
business?

Liquidation, withdrawal from lllinois or

loss of charter — If you are a corporation
that is liquidated, withdraws either voluntarily
or involuntarily from lllinois, or in any manner
surrenders or loses your charter during any
tax year, you are still required to file tax
returns. We will pursue the assessment and
collection of taxes if you are liable for income
and replacement tax for that or any previous
tax period.

Sales or transfers — If you are a corpora-

tion that, outside the usual course of

business, sells or transfers the major part of

any one or more of

¢ the stock of goods which you are in the
business of selling,

e the furniture or fixtures,

e the machinery and equipment, or

< the real property of your business,

you should complete and send us

Form NUC-542-A, Notice of Sale or Pur-

chase of Business Assets, no later than 10

days after the date the sale took place. Mall

this form, along with copies of the sales

contract and financing agreement, to lllinois

Department of Revenue, Bulk Sales Section,

P.O. Box 641155, Chicago, IL 60664-1155.

Request for prompt determination —  You
may make a request for prompt determina-
tion of liability if you are a corporation that is
contemplating or in the process of dissolu-
tion, or has already dissolved. Before you
can make this request, you must file a return
with us. If your request is properly made, the
expiration of the statute of limitations (absent
fraud) will not extend beyond 18 months from
the date of your request. Mail your request to
Illinois Department of Revenue, Taxpayer
Correspondence Section, PO. Box 19044,
Springfield, IL 62794-9044.

What if | need to correct or
change my return?

Corrected — If you need to correct or
change your return after it has been filed, but
before the automatic extension due date has
passed, you must file Form IL-1120-X, lllinois
Amended Corporation Income and Replace-
ment Tax Return. Mark the form “COR-
RECTED” at the top and show the changes.
Any correction made may cause a recalcula-
tion of penalties and interest.

Amended — If you need to correct or
change your return after it has been filed,
and the automatic extension due date has
passed, you must file Form IL-1120-X
showing the changes.

A State changes only — If you discover an

error on your lllinois return that does not

relate to an error on your federal return but

was caused by

e a mistake in transferring information from
your federal return to your lllinois return,

« failing to report to lllinois an item that has
no effect on the federal return, or

» a mistake in another state’s tax return that
affects the computation of your lllinois tax
liability,

you must file Form IL-1120-X, promptly.

If you are filing Form IL-1120-X to claim an

overpayment, it must be filed within three

years after the extended due date, date the

return was filed, or one year after the tax

giving rise to the overpayment was paid,

whichever is latest.

B Federal changes only — If you have
been notified by the IRS that they have made
changes to your return due to an error, or as
a result of an examination, you must file
Form IL-1120-X. This includes any change in
your federal income tax liability; any tax
credit; or in the computation of your federal
taxable income as reported for federal
income tax purposes if the change affects
any items entering into the computation of net
income, net loss, or any credit for any year
under the IITA. You must file Form IL-1120-X
no later than 120 days after the changes
have been agreed to or finally determined.

If you are filing Form IL-1120-X to claim an
overpayment, it must be filed no later than
two years after the date such notification was
due (regardless of whether such notice was
given). For further information, refer to

Form IL-1120-X instructions.

Note: For tax years ending prior to Decem-
ber 31, 1986, Form IL-1120X-PY, Amended
Corporation Income and Replacement Tax
Return, must be used.

What records must | keep?

You must maintain books and records to
substantiate any information reported on
Form IL-1120. Your books and records must
be available for inspection by our authorized
agents and employees.

Do the IDOR and the IRS
exchange income tax
information?

The IDOR and the IRS exchange income tax
information for the purpose of verifying the
accuracy of information reported on federal
and lllinois tax returns. All amounts you
report on Form IL-1120 are subject to
verification and audit.

Should | round?

To make it easier for you to figure your tax,
you may round the dollar amounts on

Form IL-1120 and accompanying schedules
to whole-dollars. To do this, you should drop
any amount less than 50 cents and increase
any amount of 50 cents or more to the next
higher dollar.
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What is base income/taxable
income?

Your lllinois base income (loss) is your
federal taxable income (loss) plus any
additions on Line 3 minus any subtractions
on Line 6. See specific instructions for Part I.

“Taxable income” as reported for federal
income tax purposes is determined differ-
ently for certain corporations. If you are a

e certain life insurance company  subject
to the tax imposed by IRC, Section 801, your
taxable income is the life insurance company
taxable income, plus the amount of distribu-
tion from pre-1984 policyholder surplus
accounts as calculated under IRC,

Section 815a.

¢ nonlife mutual or nonlife stock insur-

ance company subject to the tax imposed
by IRC, Section 831, your taxable income is
the insurance company taxable income, plus
the amount of distribution from pre-1984
policyholder surplus accounts as calculated
under IRC, Section 815a.

¢ regulated investment company  subject
to the tax imposed by IRC, Section 852, your
taxable income is the investment company
taxable income.

¢ real estate investment trust  subject to
the tax imposed by IRC, Section 857, your
taxable income is the real estate investment
trust taxable income.

e corporation included in the filing of a
consolidated income tax return  for the tax
year for federal income tax purposes, your
taxable income is determined as if you had
filed a separate return for federal income tax
purposes for the tax year and each preced-
ing tax year you were a member of an
affiliated group. Your separate taxable income
must be determined as if the election
provided by IRC, Section 243(b)(2) had been
in effect for all years.

e cooperative or association, your taxable
income is the taxable income determined in
accordance with the provisions of IRC,
Sections 1381 through 1388.

« foreign corporation, your taxable income
is the amount of federal taxable income
described in IRC, Sections 881 through 885.

What if | have a federal net
operating loss (NOL)
carryforward?

If you have a federal NOL carryforward from
any loss year ending prior to December 31,
1986, it is subtracted on Part I, Line 5g, to the
extent not previously used for lllinois pur-
poses. The subtraction is limited to lllinois
base income in the year you are claiming the
carryforward. For further information, see
Part | - specific instructions for Line 5g.

What if | have an Illinois net
loss deduction (NLD)?

If you have an lllinois NLD from any loss year
ending on or after December 31, 1986, it is
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subtracted from and limited to your base
income allocable to lllinois.

To determine your “lllinois net loss” start with
federal taxable income, without regard to any
federal net operating loss deduction (NOLD),
and apply all addition and subtraction
modifications and all allocation and appor-
tionment provisions. This lllinois net loss is
allowed as a carryback or carryforward
deduction in the manner allowed under IRC,
Section 172, including, for example, the
conditions and limitations of IRC,

Sections 381 and 382. Effective for losses

in tax years beginning after August 5,

1997, IRC, Section 172, has been amended
to allow federal NOL's to be carried back 2
years, then forward 20 years.

lllinois net losses in tax years beginning on
or before August 5, 1997, must be carried
back 3 years, then forward 15 years. lllinois
net losses in tax years beginning after
August 5, 1997, must be carried back 2
years, then forward 20 years. However, you
may make the election to forgo the lllinois
NLD carryback period by checking the box
below Part 1V, Line 1. This election must be
made by the extended due date of the loss
year return. Once made, the election is
irrevocable.

If you are carrying forward an lllinois NLD,
you must complete Illinois Schedule NLD,
lllinois Net Loss Deduction, and claim the
deduction on Part IV, Line 2. Refer to Part IV -
specific instructions for Line 2.

If you have an lllinois net loss for this tax
year, you must file Form IL-1120 reporting
the loss, in order to use it as a carryback or
carryforward to another year.

If you need further information, write to lllinois
Department of Revenue, Legal Services
Office, 101 West Jefferson Street, Spring-
field, IL 62702, and request the lllinois
Income Tax Regulations, Sections 100.2050
and 100.2300 through 100.2330.

What is the standard
exemption?

The standard exemption is $1,000 multiplied
by a fraction, the numerator is your base
income allocable to lllinois and the denomi-
nator is your total base income. If you have a
change in your tax year end and the result is
a period of less than 12 months, the stan-
dard exemption is prorated, based on the
number of days in the tax year. If this is your
first or final return, you are allowed the full
standard exemption. If you need further
information on short year returns, refer to
IITA, Section 401(b).

What attachments do | need?

When filing your return there are certain
types of income items and subtraction
modifications that require the attachment of
lllinois or federal forms and schedules.
Instructions for these attachments appear
throughout the specific instructions for
completing your return. If you are filing as a
member of a unitary group you should refer
to Schedule UB instructions for proper
attachments, and see Exception no. 3.

You must attach a copy of your U.S.

Form 1120, Page 1 and Schedules L, M-1,
and M-2, or U.S. Form 1120-A, Pages 1
and 2 to your lllinois return.

« Exception no. 1 — If you are a corpora-
tion whose taxable income is included in a
consolidated federal tax return, you must
provide a pro forma copy of U.S. Form 1120,
Page 1, Schedules L, M-1, and M-2 as if you
had filed a separate federal return.

e Exception no. 2 — If you are a life
insurance company, nonlife mutual, or nonlife
stock insurance company, you must attach a
copy of U.S. Form 1120L, Page 1, or U.S.
Form 1120-PC, Page 1 (and Schedule A, if
filed).

« Exception no. 3 — If you are a member
of a group filing as a unitary business, you
do not need to attach U.S. Form 1120,
Page 1, Schedules L, M-1, or M-2.

Note: When filing your Form IL-1120 include
only forms and schedules required to
support your return. Send correspondence
separately to PO. Box 19044, Springfield, IL
62794-9044.

What if | need additional
assistance?

If you have questions about this form, you
may call us at 1 800 732-8866, 217
782-3336, or the TDD-telecommunications
device for the deaf 1 800 544-5304. Our
office hours are 8 a.m.to 5 p.m. If you prefer,
you may write to us at PO. Box 19044,
Springfield, IL 62794-9044.

If you need additional forms or schedules to
complete your Form IL-1120, you may call
our Forms Order Line at 1 800 356-6302; call
our lllinois Tax Fax at 217 785-3400; or visit
our Web site at <www.revenue.state.il.us>. If
you prefer, you may write to us at P.O. Box
19010, Springfield, IL 62794-9010.

Specific Instructions

Name, address, and FEIN — If your lllinois
income and replacement tax booklet has a
pre-addressed label, remove the label and
place it in the correct area on the form. If any
of the information is not correct, cross
through it and write the correct information
directly on the label. If your name or address
has changed, check the appropriate box. If
you did not receive a pre-addressed label,
type or print the required information clearly
in the spaces provided. Be sure that your
name, address, FEIN, and tax year ending
are correctly reported at the top of your
Form 1L-1120.

Combined unitary — If you are filing an
Illinois combined unitary return, mark the box
and attach a completed Schedule UB. For
further information, see Schedule UB
Instructions.

Federal consolidated — If you are a
member of a federal consolidated group,
check the “yes” box and write the FEIN of the
federal parent. Refer to General Information,
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“What is base income/taxable income?” and
“What attachments do | need?”

Note: You must complete Form IL-1120
itself. Do not send a computer printout with
line numbers and dollar amounts attached to
a blank copy of the return.

You must use the same accounting method
(e.g., cash or accrual) and tax year that you
used for federal income tax purposes.

A double deduction is prohibited by IITA,
Section 203(g). You cannot deduct the same
item more than once.

Part | — Computation of base
income (loss)

Specific instructions for most of the lines are
provided on the following pages. Lines that
are not discussed in the instructions are self-
explanatory.

Line 1 — To determine the amount to write
on Line 1 of Form IL-1120, complete the
worksheet. This worksheet reports federal
taxable income (loss) without regard to any
federal NOLD. To report net operating loss
deductions, see Part | - specific instructions
for Line 5g, and Part IV - specific instructions
for Line 2.

In accordance with the IITA,

Section 203(e)(2)(E), if you are filing as part
of a federal consolidated group, you must
compute federal taxable income as though
you had filed a separate federal return.

If you are filing as a combined unitary
taxpayer, you should refer to Schedule UB,
Specific Instructions for Completing

Form 1L-1120.

Line 1 Worksheet

1 Taxable income before
NOL deduction and
special deductions from
U.S. Form 1120, Line 28, or
U.S. Form 1120-A,
Line 24.

2 Special deductions from
U.S. Form 1120, Line 29b,
or U.S. Form 1120-A,
Line 25b.

3 Taxable income (loss)
before NOL deduction.
Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.
Write on Line 1 of
Form IL-1120.

Additions

Note: Do not write negative amounts on
Lines 2a through 2c. If you are claiming over
accrued taxes, identify and include them on
Line 5f.

Line 2a — Write the following amounts paid

or accrued to you during the tax year to the

extent excluded from federal taxable income.

¢ Tax exempt interest from U.S. Form 1120,
Schedule M-1, Line 7 (or equivalent)
Note: If you are a life insurance com-
pany, the gross investment income
earned from federally tax exempt sources
must be added back.
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e All distributions received from regulated
investment companies

Line 2c — Identify each of the following

items in the space provided, and write the

total amount of income from the following

sources

¢ If you are a regulated investment
company, include the excess of the net
long-term capital gain for the tax year,
over the amount of capital gain dividends
designated as such in accordance with
IRC, Section 852(b)(3)(C) and any
amount designated under IRC,
Section 852(b)(3)(D), attributable to the
tax year.

¢ If you are a corporation that is a partner in
a partnership, or beneficiary of a trust or
estate, include your distributive share of
additions reported by the partnership,
trust, or estate.

Subtractions

Line 5a — Write the total interest received
or accrued from U.S. Treasury bonds, notes,
bills, and savings bonds that is included in
the federal taxable income. This amount is
net of any bond premium amortization
deducted federally.

Line 5b — Write the enterprise zone or
foreign trade zone/sub-zone dividend
subtraction from lllinois Schedule 1299-B,
Enterprise Zone and Foreign Trade Zone/
Sub-Zone Subtractions, Part |, Line 4.
Attach Schedule 1299-B to your

Form IL-1120.

Line 5¢c — Write the enterprise zone project
contribution subtraction from Illinois Sched-
ule 1299-B, Part I, Line 2. Attach

Schedule 1299-B to your Form IL-1120.

Line 5d — For financial organizations
only — Write the enterprise zone or high
impact business interest subtraction from
lllinois Schedule 1299-B, Part lll, Line 2.
Attach Schedule 1299-B to your

Form IL-1120.

Line 5e — Write the amount of any
contribution made to a job training project
established under the “Real Property Tax
Increment Allocation Redevelopment Act,” as
amended. For further information, refer to
lllinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 65,
paragraph 5/11—74.4—1 et seq.

Line 5f — Identify each of the following

subtractions in the space provided on the

form. You may not list anything that is not

identified below or in the lllinois

Publication 101, Income Exempt from Tax.

Write the total of

e the refund of lllinois income and replace-
ment tax for a prior year, to the extent
included in your federal taxable income.

e any other income included on Part I,
Line 4, exempt from taxation by lllinois by
reason of its Constitution or the Constitu-
tion, treaties, or statutes of the United
States. This amount is net of any bond
premium amortization deducted federally.
For further information, refer to the lllinois
Publication 101.

< your distributive share of subtractions
furnished to you by the partnership, trust,

or estate that you were either a partner or
beneficiary. Exclude any August 1, 1969,
appreciation amount included in the share.
e and identify the deduction for “foreign
dividend gross-up (IRC, Section 78)," if
you are electing a foreign tax credit under
the provisions of IRC, Section 901.
Attach U.S. Form 1120, Schedule C (or
equivalent) to your Form IL-1120.

Note: If you are completing an lllinois
Schedule J, Foreign Dividends, include
this subtraction in Part | of that form
instead of listing it separately on Line 5f.

e any amounts shown on lllinois Schedule J,
Part |, Line 11, for foreign dividends
received. Attach Schedule J and U.S.
Form 1120, Schedule C (or equivalent)
to your Form IL-1120.

e any “exempt-interest” dividends, as
defined in IRC, Section 852(b)(5), paid to
shareholders for the tax year, by you, as a
regulated investment company.

¢ the amounts disallowed as federal
deductions or interest expenses under
IRC, Sections 171(a)(2), 265(a)(1),
265(a)(2), and 291(a)(3).

« the amount equal to the deduction used
to compute the federal tax credit for
restoration of amounts held under claim
of right under IRC, Section 1341.

e any income included in Part I, Line 4,
which is exempt from taxation by lllinois
statutes other than the IITA. For further
information, refer to the lllinois
Publication 101.

Line 5g — Write the total federal net
operating loss carryforward from lllinois
Schedule NL-5g, Federal Net Operating Loss,
Part I, Line 11. Attach Schedule NL-5g or
unitary Schedule UB/NL-5g, Unitary

Federal Net Operating Loss, to your

Form IL-1120.

Federal net operating loss carryforwards
from tax years ending prior to December 31,
1986, are deductible to the extent of Illinois
base income (Line 4 minus the sum of Lines
5a through 5f) and to the extent not previ-
ously used against lllinois base income.

Part Il — Computation of total
tax

Complete Parts lll, IV, and V before complet-
ing Part Il.

Line 4b — Follow the instructions on the
form. If you have an additional federal
extension beyond six months, you must
attach a copy of your approved federal
extension to your return.

Lines 5 through 6a — Follow the
instructions on the form. Your refund will not
be issued if your return is determined to be
unprocessable.

Note: Your refund or credit carryforward may
be reduced by us to satisfy any unpaid tax,
penalty, and interest due for this year or any
preceding year. If we reduce your credit
carryforward, it could result in a penalty in
the succeeding year for underpaid estimated
tax.
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Line 7 — Follow the instructions on the
form. This is your amount of tax due that
must be paid in full if $1 or more. Make your
check or money order payable to “lllinois
Department of Revenue” We will compute
any penalty or interest due and notify you
(see General Information, “What are the
penalties and interest?”). If you prefer to
calculate and pay any penalties and interest
when you file, include the amounts on Line 7
and identify each amount to the left of the
line.

If you completed Form IL-2220, Computation
of Penalties for Businesses, check the box
below Line 7 and attach Form IL-2220 to
your Form IL-1120.

Part Il — General
Instructions

Who must complete Part I11?

You must complete Part Ill if any portion of
Part I, Line 7, base income (loss) is derived
outside lllinois. If you do not complete all of
Part 1ll, we may issue a notice and demand
proposing 100 percent of business income
being apportioned to lllinois.

In order to properly allocate your base
income (loss), you need to determine what
portion of the total base income is business
income (loss) that is to be apportioned
among all the states in which you do
business, and what portion is honbusiness
income (loss) that is to be allocated to a
particular state.

Definitions

All references to “income” include losses.
The following definitions may be helpful in
completing Part Il of Form IL-1120.

Business income means income arising
from transactions and activity in the regular
course of your trade or business, after any
allowable deductions. It includes income from
tangible and intangible property if the
acquisition, management, and disposition of
the property are integral parts of your regular
trade or business operations.

Most income of a corporation is regarded as
business income. Consequently, in the case
of a corporation, other than a personal
holding company, the consistent treatment of
income from intangibles as business income
in filing lllinois tax returns will be presumed
to be correct.

Commercial domicile is the principal place
where your trade or business is directed or
managed.

Nonbusiness income is all income other
than business income or compensation. For
information about the different types of
nonbusiness income, see instructions for
Schedule NB, Nonbusiness Income.

Taxability (taxable) in other states means
you are subject to and pay “tax” in another
state. “Tax” includes net income tax, fran-
chise tax measured by net income, franchise
tax for the privilege of doing business, and
corporate stock tax. You are considered
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taxable in another state if that state has
jurisdiction to subject you to a net income
tax, even though that state does not impose
such a tax. This definition is for purposes of
allocating nonbusiness and apportioning
business income inside or outside of lllinois.

Part Ill — Base income (loss)
allocable to lllinois

Note: If you fail to provide complete appor-
tionment and allocation information, we will
consider 100 percent of business income
being attributable to lllinois for taxation
purposes.

Line 2a — Write the amount of all
nonbusiness income (loss) included in base
income, net of any related deductions, from
lllinois Schedule NB, Column A. Attach
Schedule NB to your Form IL-1120.

Line 2b — Wwrite the amount of all non-
unitary business income (loss) included in
base income received from any partnership,
estate, or trust of which you are a partner or
beneficiary.

Special Note: If your activities and the
activities of a partnership of which you are a
partner constitute a unitary business
relationship, any shares of partnership
income (loss) and your factors as a partner
must be included in your business income
and your factors. This income cannot be
subtracted on Line 2b of Part Ill. For further
information, refer to the lllinois Income Tax
Regulations, Section 100.3380(c).

Lines 5 through 7 — You must complete
Lines 5 through 7 only if business income
(loss) is derived inside and outside lllinois.
Follow specific instructions below for Lines 5
through 7. Insurance companies, transporta-
tion companies, and financial organizations
should see “Special Apportionment Formu-
las” in these instructions.

Line 5a — Property factor — In
Column 1, write the average value of real
and tangible personal property owned or
rented and used in your trade or business
everywhere. In Column 2, write the average
value of real and tangible personal property
owned or rented and used in your trade or
business in lllinois. For Column 3, divide
Column 2 by Column 1 and write the result,
carried to six decimal places. If zero is
written in Column 1, this factor is not
applicable. Write “N/A” in Column 3.

Property owned by you is valued at its
original cost, plus the original cost of any
capital additions or improvements. The
average value of property is determined by
averaging the values at the beginning and
end of the tax year. The director may require
the averaging of monthly values during the
tax year, if reasonably required to properly
reflect the average value of your property.
Leasehold improvements made by you, as a
lessee, are treated as property owned by you
regardless of the useful life of the improve-
ments or the person in whom title is vested
on termination of the lease.

Property rented by you is valued at eight
times the net annual rental rate. Net annual

rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by
you, less any annual rental rate received by
you from nonbusiness sub-rentals.

Line 5b — Payroll factor — In Column 1,
write the total compensation paid every-
where. In Column 2, write the total compen-
sation paid inside lllinois. For Column 3,
divide Column 2 by Column 1 and write the
result, carried to six decimal places. If zero is
written in Column 1, this factor is not
applicable. Write “N/A” in Column 3.

Compensation is paid in lllinois if

¢ the individual's service is performed
entirely inside lllinois;

¢ the individual's service is performed both
inside and outside lllinois, but the service
performed outside lllinois is incidental to
the service performed inside lllinois;

« some of the service is performed inside
lllinois, and either the base of operations,
or if there is no base of operations, the
place from which the service is directed
or controlled is inside lllinois; or

¢ the base of operations or the place from
which the service is directed or controlled,
is not in any state where some part of the
service is performed, but the individual is
a resident of lllinois.

Note: Payments made to a nonresident who
performs personal services under a personal
services contract for sports performances
taking place in lllinois, are included in
Column 2 if the professional sports team that
the individual is a member of, is a resident of
a state that imposes a comparable tax
liability on lllinois residents. For further
information, refer to Illinois Income Tax
Regulations, Sections 100.3100(e) and
100.3120(a)(3).

Line 5¢ — Sales factor — In Column 1,
write your total sales everywhere. In

Column 2, write your total sales inside
Illinois. For Column 3, divide Column 2 by
Column 1 and write the result, carried to six
decimal places. If zero is written in Column 1,
this factor is not applicable. Write “N/A” in
Column 3 and in Column 3, Line 5d.

Do not include the following items of income

in the numerator or denominator of your

sales factor:

e dividends;

¢ amounts included under IRC, Section 78;
and

¢ subpart F income as defined in IRC,
Section 952.

Sales of tangible personal property are in

lllinois if

e the property is delivered or shipped from
anywhere to a purchaser in lllinois, other
than the United States government,
regardless of the f.0.b. point or other
conditions of the sale;

e the property is shipped from lllinois to any
place and the purchaser is the United
States government;

e the property is shipped from lllinois to
another state and you are not taxable in
the state of the purchaser or you did not
file a tax return in the state of the pur-
chaser; or
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e your salesperson operates out of an office
in lllinois, and the property sold by the
salesperson is shipped from a state in
which you are not taxable, to a state in
which you are not taxable.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal

property, are in lllinois if

¢ the income-producing activity is per-
formed in lllinois; or

¢ the income-producing activity is per-
formed both inside and outside lllinois,
and a greater proportion of the income-
producing activity is performed inside
lllinois than outside lllinois, based on
performance costs.

Line 7 — If an amount (other than zero) is
shown in Column 1 for all factors, divide
Line 6 by 4. If either the property or payroll
factor shown in Column 1 is zero, divide
Line 6 by 3. If both property and payroll
factors shown in Column 1 are zero, divide
Line 6 by 2. If the sales factor shown in
Column 1 is zero, divide Line 6 by 2. If the
sales factor, and either the property or
payroll factors shown in Column 1 are zero,
write the decimal from Line 6.

Note: If you use a special apportionment
formula (see “Special Apportionment
Formulas” in these instructions), write on
Line 7 the decimal shown in Column 3,
Line 5c.

Line 8 — Follow the instructions on the
form. If Lines 5 through 7 are blank, write the
amount from Line 4.

Line 9 — Write the amount of net nonbusi-
ness income (loss) allocable to lllinois from
Illinois Schedule NB, Column B.

Line 10 — Write the amount of non-unitary
business income (loss) apportionable to
lllinois as reported by the partnership, trust,
or estate (see Part lll, Line 2b).

Part IV — Computation of net
income (loss) and replacement
tax

Line 1 — Follow instructions on the form. If
this amount is a loss, you may carry it to
other years as an lllinois net loss deduction
(NLD). If you are electing to forgo the lllinois
NLD carryback period you must check the
box below Line 1. This election must be
made by the extended due date of this
return. Once made, the election is irrevo-
cable. (See General Information, “What if |
have an lllinois net loss deduction (NLD)?")

Line 2 — Write your lllinois NLD
carryforward from any lllinois loss year ending
on or after December 31, 1986, from lllinois
Schedule NLD, Line 5. Attach Schedule NLD
or unitary Schedule UB/NLD to your

Form IL-1120.

Line 8b — Write your recapture of invest-
ment credits from lllinois Schedule 4255,
Recapture of Investment Tax Credits, Part IV,
Column C, Line 12.

If you claimed an lllinois investment tax
credit in a prior year, on Form IL-477,
Replacement Tax Investment Credits, and
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any of the property was disqualified within
48 months of being placed in service, you
must use Schedule 4255 to compute the
amount of recapture. Credit must be recap-
tured in the year the property became
disqualified.

Line 10 — Write the amount from
Form IL-477, Part |, Line 9. Attach
Form IL-477 to your Form 1L-1120.

You may claim a replacement tax investment
credit of .5 percent (.005) of the basis of
qualified property placed in service in lllinois
during the tax year.

An additional credit of up to .5 percent (.005)
of the basis of qualified property is available
if your lllinois base employment increased
over the preceding year or if your business is
new to lllinois. Excess credit may be carried
forward for five years following the excess
credit year. For further information, refer to
Form IL-477 instructions.

PartV — Computation of
income tax

Line 2b — Write your recapture of invest-
ment credits from Schedule 4255, Part IV,
Columns A and B, Line 12.

If you claimed an lllinois Enterprise Zone
Credit or High Impact Business Investment
Credit in a prior year on Schedule 1299-D,
Income Tax Credits, and any of the property
becomes disqualified, you must use
Schedule 4255 to compute the amount of
recapture. Credit must be recaptured in the
year in which the property became disquali-
fied. Effective for tax years ending on or
after January 1, 1997 , the disqualification
criteria changes for the High Impact Busi-
ness Investment Credit. See Schedule 4255
for more information.

Note: If you are a member of the Life and
Health Insurance Guaranty Association or
the Health Maintenance Organization
Guaranty Association refer to the note at the
end of Line 4a instructions.

Line 4a — Write the amount from

Schedule 1299-D, Part VIII, Line 41. The total
of all credits is limited to the total income tax
shown on PartV, Line 3. Attach

Schedule 1299-D to your Form IL-1120.

For further information, refer to

Schedule 1299-D instructions.

A new income tax credit, the Environmental
Remediation Tax Credit, is available for tax
years ending on or after January 1, 1998 .

The TECH-PREP Youth Vocational Programs
Credit and the Dependent Care Assistance
Program Tax Credit, are available to taxpay-
ers primarily engaged in manufacturing. Any
excess credit may be carried forward for two
years following the excess credit year.

¢ TECH-PREP Youth Vocational Programs
Credit — The programs must be certified as
qualifying TECH-PREP programs by the State
Board of Education and the department. The
credit is for an amount equal to 20 percent
(.20) of your direct payroll expenditures for
cooperative secondary school youth voca-

tional programs in lllinois. The payroll expendi-
tures must not have been claimed for the
Training Expense Credit. You may also claim
an additional credit of 20 percent (.20) for
personal services rendered by a TECH-PREP
student or instructor that would be subject to
withholding if they were employed by you and
no other credit is claimed by the actual
employer.

» Dependent Care Assistance Program
Credit — A credit of 5 percent (.05) of the
amount of expenditures reported, pursuant
to IRC, Section 129(d)(7), to provide an on-
site facility dependent care assistance
program as defined in IRC, Section 129.

The following seven credits are also available
and may be carried forward for five years
following the excess credit year:

e Coal Research and Coal Utilization
Investment Credits — A credit of 20 percent
(.20) of the amount donated during your tax
year to the lllinois Center for Research on
Sulfur in Coal, and a credit of 5 percent (.05)
of the amount spent on qualifying coal
combustion and pollution control equipment
placed in service during your tax year. The
“amount spent” is defined as the basis of the
equipment for federal depreciation deduction
purposes.

¢ High Impact Business Investment

Credit — A credit of .5 percent (.005) of the
basis of qualified property placed in service
in lllinois by you during your tax year as a
“High Impact Business,” certified as such by
the lllinois Department of Commerce and
Community Affairs. This credit is available
only after you have met the minimum
investment required by the lIllinois Enterprise
Zone Act.

e Jobs Tax Credit — A credit of $500 per
eligible employee hired to work in an lllinois
enterprise zone or foreign trade zone
(sub-zone) during your preceding tax year. If
you hired eligible employees during the
current year, credit cannot be claimed until
the subsequent year’s return is filed.

e Enterprise Zone Investment Credit —
A credit of .5 percent (.005) of the basis of
qualified property placed in service in an
lllinois enterprise zone during the tax year.

e Training Expense Credit — A credit of
1.6 percent (.016) of all federally deducted
amounts that were paid or accrued for
educational or vocational training in semi-
technical or technical fields, or semi-skilled
or skilled fields (on behalf of all persons
employed by you in lllinois or lllinois resi-
dents employed outside of Illinois).

» Research and Development Credit —

A credit of 6.5 percent (.065) of the qualifying
expenditures for increasing research
activities conducted in lllinois, and which
would be allowable under IRC, Section 41,
as in effect before PL. 101-239.

¢ Environmental Remediation Tax

Credit — A credit of 25 percent (.25) of the
amount of unreimbursed eligible remediation
costs in excess of $100,000 per site.
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However, the $100,000 threshold does not
apply to sites certified by the lllinois Depart-
ment of Commerce and Community Affairs
(DCCA). These costs cannot include any
approved eligible remediations costs that are
deducted under the provisions of the IRC. To
claim this credit, you must have received
approval of the unreimbursed eligible
remediation costs from the lllinois EPA. The
credit must be claimed in the tax year in
which the lllinois EPA approval is granted.
The maximum credit you may claim is
$40,000 annually, with a maximum total of
$150,000 per site.

Note: If you are a member of the Life and
Health Insurance Guaranty Association or
the Health Maintenance Organization
Guaranty Association, write the amount of
offset to which you are entitled under
Section 531.13 or Section 125/6-13, of the
lllinois Insurance Code on Line 4a. Identify
this amount by writing “LHIGA” or “HMOGA”
in the margin to the left of Line 4a.

Lines 4b and 4c — You must complete
the worksheet on this page. The IITA
provides a credit against income tax for
replacement tax paid. This credit may be
carried forward for five years following the
excess credit year. Use the worksheet on this
page to compute your current year credit and
the amount of credit you have available to
carry forward.

Special Apportionment
Formulas

Certain businesses that derive their income
from inside and outside lllinois require a
special apportionment formula. The following
definitions will help in completing Part III.

A Direct writing company — an insurance
company whose direct insurance premi-
ums are 50 percent or more of its total
insurance premiums.

B Reinsurer — an insurance company
whose reinsurance premiums assumed
are 50 percent or more of its total
insurance premiums.

C Total insurance premiums — the sum of
both direct insurance premiums and
reinsurance premiums assumed without
any reduction for reinsurance ceded.

D Annual statement — the annual state-
ment required to be filed with the director
of insurance of the state of lllinois.

E Life insurance company — an insur-
ance company taxable under IRC,
Section 801, for the tax year.

F Nonlife mutual and nonlife stock
insurance companies — an insurance
company taxable under IRC, Section 831,
for the tax year.

G Business income — See Part Il -
General Instructions, “Business income”
under Definitions.

H Financial organization — any bank,
bank holding company, trust company,
savings bank, industrial bank, land bank,
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Lines 4b and 4c Worksheet

Write your net replacement tax from Form IL-1120, Part IV, Line 11. a

Write the number from Part 1V, Line 5.
Multiply Line a by Line b.

b

C

Multiply Line c by 4.8% (.048). This is your credit for the current year.

Write also on PartV, Line 4b.

d

Write the amount of credit being carried forward, if any. This amount
comes from the 1996 Lines 4b and 4c Worksheet, Line j.

Write also on PartV, Line 4c.
Add Lines d and e.

Write the amount from Form IL-1120, PartV, Line 3.
Write the amount from Form IL-1120, PartV, Line 4a.

Subtract Line h from Line g.

Subtract Line i from Line f. If Line i is larger than Line f, write “0.”
This is the amount of credit which you may carry to a succeeding

year's return. (Do not write this amount on your current year return.) j

safe deposit company, private banker,
savings and loan association, building
and loan association, credit union,
currency exchange, cooperative bank,
small loan company, sales finance
company, investment company, or any
person which is owned by a bank or bank
holding company.

Business income from sources within

lllinois — Business income of a financial

organization from sources within lllinois is
the sum of

 fees, commissions, or other compen-
sation for financial services rendered
within Illinois;

e gross profits from trading in stocks,
bonds, or other securities managed
within Illinois;

¢ dividends received within lIllinois;

« interest from lllinois customers received
within Illinois;

* interest charged to customers at places
of business maintained inside lllinois for
carrying debit balances on margin
accounts, without deduction of any
costs incurred in carrying such
accounts; and

e any other gross income resulting from
the operation as a financial organiza-
tion inside lllinois.

In computing these amounts, any amount

received by a member of an affiliated group

(determined under IRC, Section 1504(a),

but without reference to whether any such

corporation is an “includible corporation”
under IRC, Section 1504(b)) from another
member of the group must be included
only to the extent the amount exceeds
expenses of the original recipient.

Revenue miles — A revenue mile is the
transportation of one passenger, or one
net ton of freight, the distance of one mile.
In the case of transportation by pipeline, a
revenue mile is the transportation of one
barrel of oil, 1,000 cubic feet of gas, or
any specified quantity of any other
substance, the distance of one mile.

What if | am an insurance
company?

If you are an insurance company taxable
under IRC, Section 801 or 831, and your
income is derived from inside and outside
Illinois, you must apportion your business
income as follows.

Direct writing companies —  Life insur-
ance companies, nonlife mutual, and

nonlife stock insurance companies - Do
not make any entries on Part Ill, Lines 5a,
5b, or 5d. On Line 5c, line out the words
“Sales factor” and write “Insurance premi-
ums.” In Column 1, write the amount of total
direct premiums (gross direct premiums less
return premiums) from the annual statement
(relating to life insurance premiums, annuity
considerations, and accident and health
insurance premiums, including policy,
membership, annuity and other fund depos-
its, and other fees).

In Column 2, write the amount of direct
premiums on property or risk located in
Illinois from the annual statement.

For Column 3, divide Column 2 by Column 1,
carried to six decimal places. Write the result
in Column 3 and on Lines 6 and 7. See
Specific Instructions, Part Il - Base income
(loss) allocable to lllinois, for completing
Lines 8 through 11.

Reinsurers — Life insurance companies,
nonlife mutual, and nonlife stock insur-

ance companies - Do not make any entries
on Part lll, Lines 5a, 5b, or 5d. On Line 5c,
line out the words “Sales factor” and write
“Insurance premiums.” In Column 1, write
from the annual statement (relating to life
insurance premiums, annuity considerations,
and accident and health insurance premi-
ums, including policy, membership and other
fees) the sum of the total direct premiums
(gross direct premiums less return premi-
ums) and the total reinsurance premiums
assumed.

For Column 2, write from the annual state-
ment, the sum of the direct premiums on
property or risk located in lllinois and the
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reinsurance premiums assumed inside
lllinois, determined under any one of the
following methods:

Method A — Determine the reinsurance
premiums assumed, relating to property or
risk located in lllinois.

Method B — For each company from which
reinsurance is accepted, determine the
ceding insurance company'’s ratio of direct
premiums on property or risk located in
Illinois, to its total direct premiums. Apply this
ratio to the reinsurance premiums assumed
from that company. For example, reinsurer R
assumes premiums of $40,000 and $50,000
from ceding companies A and B respectively.
Company A'’s ratio of direct premiums on
property or risk located in lllinois, to its total
direct premiums, is 10 percent and
Company B’s ratio is 20 percent. Reinsurer R
has $14,000 of reinsurance premiums
assumed on property or risk located in
lllinois, consisting of $4,000 from ceding
Company A (10 percent of $40,000) and
$10,000 from ceding Company B (20 percent
of $50,000).

Method C — Determine the amount of
reinsurance premiums assumed from
insurance companies commercially domi-
ciled in lllinois. Include in reinsurance
premiums assumed in lllinois, all premiums
for reinsurance accepted from insurance
companies commercially domiciled in lllinois.

For Column 3, divide Column 2 by Column 1,
carried to six decimal places. Write the result
in Column 3 and on Lines 6 and 7. See
Specific Instructions, Part Il - Base income
(loss) allocable to lllinois, for completing
Lines 8 through 11.

What if | am a financial
organization?

If you are a financial organization and your
income is derived from inside and outside
lllinois, you must apportion your business
income as follows.

Financial organizations — Do not make
any entries on Part Ill, Lines 5a, 5b, or 5d.
On Line 5c¢, line out the words “Sales factor”
and write “Financial organization.” In Column 1,
write the amount of business income from all
sources. In Column 2, write the amount of
business income from sources within Illinois.
For Column 3, divide Column 2 by Column 1,
carried to six decimal places. Write the result
in Column 3 and on Lines 6 and 7. See
Specific Instructions, Part Il -Base income
(loss) allocable to lllinois, for completing
Lines 8 through 11.

International banking facilites —  If you
are a financial organization that has estab-
lished an international banking facility in
lllinois, refer to IITA, Section 304(c)(2), to
determine apportionable income. If you have
guestions about these provisions, write to
lllinois Department of Revenue, Legal
Services Office, Senior Counsel - Income
Tax, 5-500, 101 West Jefferson Street,
Springfield, IL 62702.
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What if | am a transportation
service?

If you are a company that furnishes transpor-
tation services both inside and outside
lllinois you must apportion business income
as follows.

A Transportation other than pipeline  —
Do not make any entries on Part lll,
Lines 5a, 5b, or 5d. On Line 5c, line out
the words “Sales factor” and write
“Revenue miles.” In Column 1, write the
amount of revenue miles everywhere. In
Column 2, write the amount of revenue
miles in Illinois. For Column 3, divide
Column 2 by Column 1, carried to six
decimal places. Write the result in
Column 3 and on Lines 6 and 7. See
Specific Instructions, Part Il - Base
income (loss) allocable to lllinois, for
completing Lines 8 through 11.

Note: If you are a corporation engaged in

the transportation of both passengers and

freight, Column 3, Line 5c¢, is determined

by means of an average of the passenger

revenue mile fraction and the freight

revenue mile fraction, weighted to reflect

your

e relative railway operating income from
total passenger and total freight
service, as reported to the Interstate
Commerce Commission in the case of
transportation by railroad; and

e relative gross receipts from passenger
and freight transportation in the case
of transportation other than by railroad.

B Transportation by pipeline — Do not
make any entries on Part I, Lines 5a, 5b,
or 5d. On Line 5c, line out the words
“Sales factor” and write “Pipeline.” In
Column 1, write the amount of revenue
miles everywhere. In Column 2, write the
amount of revenue miles in lllinois. For
Column 3, divide Column 2 by Column 1,
carried to six decimal places. Write the
result in Column 3 and on Lines 6 and 7.
See Specific Instructions, Part Il - Base
income (loss) allocable to lllinois, for
completing Lines 8 through 11.

What if | have two or more
discrete businesses?

If you are a corporation engaged in the
conduct of two or more discrete businesses,
you are entitled to compute your lllinois tax
liability by determining the income
attributable to each of those businesses, and
apportioning that income by application of a
separate apportionment formula determined
for each. You must attach the separate
computations to Form IL-1120. However, you
must report the aggregate as if the business
were one taxable entity. For further informa-
tion, refer to lllinois Income Tax Regulations,
Section 100.3010(b).

What if | am a unitary business
group member?

The term “unitary business group” means a
group of persons related through common
ownership, whose business activities are
integrated with, dependent on, and contrib-
ute to each other. In the case of a corpora-
tion, common ownership is defined as the
direct or indirect ownership or control of
more than 50 percent of the outstanding
voting stock of a corporation.

If you determine that you are a member of a
unitary business group, refer to Schedule UB
for further information regarding your lllinois
filing requirements and the computation of
your lllinois tax liability. Even though all
lllinois members receive a booklet, the
designated agent is the only one filing the
return.

What if | want to use an
alternative apportionment
formula?

If you want to use the separate accounting
method or any alternative apportionment
method, you must receive permission from
the IDOR prior to filing your return. Send
your request to lllinois Department of
Revenue, Legal Services Office, Senior
Counsel - Income Tax, 5-500, 101 West
Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 62702.

Note: If you need the procedures for
petitioning for an alternative apportionment
formula, refer to the lllinois Income Tax
Regulations, Section 100.3390, or contact
the department for further information.

You will be authorized to use a fair and
accurate alternative apportionment formula
only when the apportionment methods
prescribed by IITA, Sections 304(a) through
(d), do not fairly and accurately reflect your
business activity in lllinois, or lead to a
grossly distorted result. Neither you, nor the
director, may invoke this method merely
because it reaches a different apportionment
percentage than the regularly required
formula. In order to use an alternative
apportionment method, you must show in
your petition, by clear and cogent evidence,
that the statutory formula would result in the
taxation of extraterritorial values. You must
also show that it operates unreasonably and
arbitrarily in attributing to Illinois a percent-
age of income which is out of proportion to
the business transacted in this state. Finally,
you must prove that the use of an alternative
apportionment formula would fairly and
accurately apportion income to lllinois based
upon business activity in this state.

If you receive permission to use an alterna-
tive formula, you must attach a copy of the
letter granting permission to your
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