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            + HOW OPTOMETRISTS AND EYEWEAR LABS MEET THEIR SALES
                          AND USE TAX LIABILITIES

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+---+
|TO:|OPTOMETRISTS,       HOW DO I PAY TAX ON      - If your invoices do
+---+EYEWEAR             MEDICAL APPLIANCES         not separately state
     LABORATORIES, AND   TRANSFERRED IN             your charges for
     PRACTITIONERS       CONJUNCTION WITH THE       medical appliances and
                         SERVICE I PERFORM?         service, you pay us
Changes in tax law                                  tax on 50 percent of
effective January 1,     The answer depends upon    your gross receipts or
1990, have affected      the ratio of your          your cost, whichever
the way in which         average annual costs       is greater.
optometrists and         for medical appliances
eyewear laboratories     to your average annual   If you  have registered
meet their sales tax     gross receipts.          with us and are
(Service Occupation                               collecting and paying
Tax) and use tax         For purposes of this     sales tax to us, you are
liabilities.             bulletin, MEDICAL        entitled to buy these
                         APPLIANCES are           medical appliances tax
Although Illinois does   prescription eyewear--   free from your suppliers
not generally tax        such items as frames,    as long as you provide
charges for service      lenses, and other parts  them with a valid
alone, the state does    of the finished product  certificate of resale
levy sales and use tax   which are transferred    including your
on the selling price of  to the service customer. registration number.
materials transferred
in conjunction with      If your average annual   MOST OF YOU have a cost/
service.                 costs for medical        receipt ratio that is
                         appliances are equal to  below this 35 percent
HOW DO I PAY TAX ON      or greater than 35       threshold. If this is
ITEMS PURCHASED FOR USE  PERCENT of your average  the case, you have three
OR CONSUMPTION?          annual gross receipts )  options:
                         the amount you charge
When you buy items used  for medical appliances   - You may pay sales tax
in your business, such   and service), you must     on your cost directly
as furniture and office  register with us,          to your supplier.
supplies, you pay        collect sales tax on
either sales tax or use  your SELLING PRICE, and  - If you buy from a
tax. If your supplier    pay us directly.           supplier who does not
is registered with us                               collect Illinois sales
to collect sales tax,    - If your invoices         tax, you must register
you pay sales tax to       separately state the     with us and pay us
the supplier as part of    charges for medical      Illinois Use Tax
the transaction. If        appliances and           directly at the rate
your supplier is not       service, you pay us      of 1 PERCENT of your
registered-- typically     tax on your   charges    cost of these medical
when the supplier sells    for the medical          appliances (see the
from a location outside    appliances.              discussion of use tax
Illinois-- you pay                                  on Page 2).
Illinois Use Tax at the
rate of 6.25 PERCENT of



your cost directly to us.
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- You may register with  WHAT IS THE MOST         I SELL TO THE PUBLIC
  us and charge tax to   CONVENIENT WAY TO PAY    NONPRESCRIPTION EYEWEAR
  service customers on   SALES TAX?               AND OTHER RETAIL ITEMS
  the selling price of                            WHICH ARE NOT SOLD IN
  medical appliances in  FOR OPTOMETRISTS...      CONJUNCTION WITH
  the same manner that                            SERVICE. HOW DO I MEET
  is required for        Optometrists whose cost/ MY SALES TAX LIABILITY?
  servicepersons over    receipt ratio is less
  the 35 percent         than the 35 percent      Optometrists and labs
  threshold.             threshold may wish to    that sell items such as
                         purchase their medical   nonprescription
I AM AN OPTOMETRIST      appliances from labs     sunglasses, athletic
WHOSE COST/RECEIPT RATIO and suppliers which      safety bands, and
IS LESS THAN THE 35      charge sales tax. An     contact lens cleaning
PERCENT THRESHOLD, AND   optometrist who pays     solution over the
THE LAB FROM WHICH I     sales tax on his or her  counter MUST register
PURCHASE MEDICAL         cost for medical         with us as retailers and
APPLIANCES DOES NOT      appliances usually has   collect and pay us sales
CHARGE ME TAX. DO I OWE  no further sales tax     tax (Retailers'
ILLINOIS TAX?            liability.               Occupation Tax) on these
                                                  items. Registering
In this situation, you   FOR LABS...              permits them to purchase
must pay Illinois USE                             these items tax free for
TAX to us directly,      Labs which purchase      resale from their
even if the lab paid     medical appliances for   suppliers.
sales tax to its         resale may wish to
supplier. Figure your    register with us and     QUESTIONS?
tax using either of      collect and pay us
these methods:           sales tax even though    If you have questions or
                         their cost/receipt       need more information,
- If the lab's invoice   ratio is less than the   please call or write us.
  separately states the  35 percent threshold     Our telephone numbers
  charges for medical    discussed on Page 1. By  and address are listed
  appliances and         so doing, they provide   at the bottom of this
  service, your tax is   their optometrist        bulletin.
  1 percent of the       clients with a tax-paid
  lab's selling price    purchase and relieve
  of the medical         them of the
  appliances.            responsibility of
                         registering and paying
- If the lab's invoice   use tax. Registered
  does not separately    labs may then purchase
  state the charges for  tax free those medical
  medical appliances     appliances intended for
  and service, your tax  resale.
  is 1 percent of half
  of the lab's selling   Labs that sell only to
  price.                 the public and whose
                         cost/receipt ratio is
                         less than 35 percent
                         may fulfill their sales
                         tax liability by paying
                         sales tax to their
                         suppliers. If their
                         suppliers do not collect
                         sales tax, labs must



                         pay use tax as
                         described above.
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     FOR        CALL:  1 800 732-8866 or
INFORMATION            1 217 782-3336
               WRITE:  Illinois Department of Revenue
                       101 W. Jefferson St., P.O. Box 19044
                       Springfield, IL 62794-9044
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