
 
 
 
ST 15-0116 (GIL) October 28, 2015 SALE OF SERVICE 
 
If no tangible personal property is transferred to the customer, then no Illinois Retailers’ 
Occupation Tax or Service Occupation Tax would apply.  See 86 Ill. Adm. Code Parts 130 and 
140.  (This is a GIL.) 
 
 
 
     
     October 28, 2015 
 
 
 
Dear Xxxxx: 
 

This letter is in response to your letter dated October 16, 2015, in which you request 
information.  The Department issues two types of letter rulings.  Private Letter Rulings (“PLRs”) 
are issued by the Department in response to specific taxpayer inquiries concerning the 
application of a tax statute or rule to a particular fact situation.  A PLR is binding on the 
Department, but only as to the taxpayer who is the subject of the request for ruling and only to 
the extent the facts recited in the PLR are correct and complete.  Persons seeking PLRs must 
comply with the procedures for PLRs found in the Department’s regulations at 2 Ill. Adm. Code 
1200.110.  The purpose of a General Information Letter (“GIL”) is to direct taxpayers to 
Department regulations or other sources of information regarding the topic about which they 
have inquired.  A GIL is not a statement of Department policy and is not binding on the 
Department.  See 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.120.  You may access our website at 
www.tax.illinois.gov to review regulations, letter rulings and other types of information relevant 
to your inquiry. 
 

The nature of your inquiry and the information you have provided require that we 
respond with a GIL.  In your letter you have stated and made inquiry as follows: 
 

We are contemplating opening up a commercial business entity in your state for 
the purpose of owning and operating a ABC CLUB. 
 
One important component of our proposed business is to provide crew (rowing) 
lessons to children and adults.  Our business entity will provide all of the 
equipment and the training coaches as may be necessary to provide such crew 
lessons.  Anyone wanting to learn about the sport of rowing can pay a participant 
fee and enter one of our programs. All programs and lessons will be staffed by a 
coach.  There will be no membership fees, no initiation fees, no sign-
up/registration fees and no dues required to participate in our programs. 
 
While programs vary in content, they will all be focused on rowing, both on and 
off the water.  Programs will be held either on the water neighboring our facility 
or indoors in our facility.  Our programs range in length from 2 to 12 weeks and 
may be held anywhere from 2 to 6 days per week.  We operate similar row clubs 

http://www.iltax.com/


Page 2 
 
 

in many states and some of those jurisdictions consider our rowing lessons as 
subject to sales tax. 
 
We seek your advice as to whether or not our business activity of providing 
rowing lessons to children and adults is subject to state or local sales tax AT THIS 
LOCATION.  
 
 

DEPARTMENT’S RESPONSE: 
 

The Illinois Retailers’ Occupation Tax Act imposes a tax upon persons engaged in this 
State in the business of selling tangible personal property to purchasers for use or consumption.  
86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.101.  The Use Tax Act imposes a tax upon the privilege of using in this 
State tangible personal property purchased at retail from a retailer. 86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.101. If 
no tangible personal property is being transferred to the customers, then neither Illinois Retailers’ 
Occupation Tax nor Use Tax would apply.  Likewise, the Service Occupation Tax Act and 
Service Use Tax are imposed on the transfer of tangible personal property incident to sales of 
service.  86 Ill. Adm. Code 140.101 and 160.101.  Depending on the nature of the transaction, 
Service Occupation Tax or Service Use Tax could apply, but if no tangible personal property is 
being transferred to participants incident to the services being provided, then neither Illinois 
Service Occupation Tax nor Service Use Tax would apply. 
 

I hope this information is helpful.  If you require additional information, please visit our 
website at www.tax.illinois.gov or contact the Department’s Taxpayer Information Division at 
(217) 782-3336.] 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 

Debra M. Boggess 
Associate Counsel 
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