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Lessors of tangible personal property under true leases in Illinois are deemed end users of the 
property to be leased. See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.220.   (This is a GIL.)  

 
 
 
 
      August 15, 2007 
 
 
 
Dear Xxxxx: 
 

This letter is in response to your letter dated June 29, 2007, in which you request information.   
The Department issues two types of letter rulings.   Private Letter Rulings (“PLRs”) are issued by the 
Department in response to specific taxpayer inquiries concerning the application of a tax statute or 
rule to a particular fact situation.  A PLR is binding on the Department, but only as to the taxpayer 
who is the subject of the request for ruling and only to the extent the facts recited in the PLR are 
correct and complete.    Persons seeking PLRs must comply with the procedures for PLRs found in 
the Department’s regulations at 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.110.  The purpose of a General Information 
Letter (“GIL”) is to direct taxpayers to Department regulations or other sources of information 
regarding the topic about which they have inquired.   A GIL is not a statement of Department policy 
and is not binding on the Department.   See 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.120.  You may access our website 
at www.ILTAX.com to review regulations, letter rulings and other types of information relevant to your 
inquiry.   
 

The nature of your inquiry and the information you have provided require that we respond with 
a GIL.  In your letter you have stated and made inquiry as follows: 

 
We are writing to obtain clarification on the application of Illinois sales / use tax to a 
unique transaction.  
 
ABC provides equipment necessary to receive our satellite signal, under several 
business models. We require clarification regarding the scenario under which we lease 
the hardware to our subscribers.  
 
Subscribers choosing to obtain their satellite receiver pursuant to a lease will be billed 
$4.99 per month, plus applicable state sales and / or gross receipts tax. They will also 
receive a credit of $4.99 on the same monthly bill for the first leased unit. All additional 
receiver(s) will be billed $4.99 each, plus tax, per month. There will be no credit for any 
receiver other than the first.  
 
The following questions pertain to the charge for, and the credit on, the first leased 
receiver.  
 
Is the credit of $4.99 for the first leased receiver deemed to be a rebate or a point of 
sale cash discount?  
 
Is the charge of $4.99 for the first leased receiver, subject to sales / use tax?  
 



If the charge for the first receiver is subject to tax, and that tax is deemed to be use tax, 
may ABC reimburse itself by collecting the tax from the subscriber?  
 
If you have any questions or need further clarification, please contact me.  

 
 
DEPARTMENT’S RESPONSE: 

 
The State of Illinois taxes leases differently for Retailers’ Occupation Tax and Use Tax 

purposes than the majority of other states.   For Illinois sales tax purposes, there are two types of 
leasing situations: conditional sales and true leases. 
 

A conditional sale is usually characterized by a nominal or one dollar purchase option at the 
close of the lease term.  Stated otherwise, if lessors are guaranteed at the time of the lease that the 
leased property will be sold, this transaction is considered to be a conditional sale at the outset of the 
transaction, thus making all receipts subject to Retailers’ Occupation Tax. 
 

A true lease generally has no buy out provision at the close of the lease.   If a buy out provision 
does exist, it must be a fair market value buy out option in order to maintain the character of the true 
lease.   Lessors of tangible personal property under true leases in Illinois are deemed end users of 
the property to be leased.   See the enclosed copy of 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.220.   As end users of 
tangible personal property personal property located in Illinois, lessors owe Use Tax on their cost 
price of such property.  The State of Illinois imposes no tax on rental receipts. Consequently, lessees 
incur no tax liability. 
 

As stated above, in the case of a true lease, the lessors of the property being used in Illinois 
would be the parties with Use Tax obligations.   The lessors would either pay their suppliers, if their 
suppliers were registered to collect Use Tax, or would self-assess and remit the tax to the 
Department.   If the lessors already paid taxes in another state with respect to the acquisition of the 
tangible personal property, they would be exempt from Use Tax to the extent of the amount of such 
tax properly due and paid in such other state.   See subsection (a)(3) of the enclosed copy of 86 Ill. 
Adm. Code 150.310. 
 

Under Illinois law, lessors may not “pass through” their tax obligation to the lessees as taxes.   
However, lessors and lessees may make private contractual arrangements for a reimbursement of 
the tax to be paid by the lessees.   If lessors and lessees have made private agreements where 
lessees agree to reimburse lessors for the amount of the tax paid, then lessees are obligated to fulfill 
the terms of the private contractual agreements. 
 

The above guidelines are applicable to all true leases of tangible personal property in Illinois 
except for automobiles leased under terms of one year or less, which are subject to the Automobile 
Renting Occupation and Use Tax found at 35 ILCS 155/1 et seq.   There are also some limited 
exceptions to the general rule described in the preceding paragraphs.   There is an exemption from 
Retailers' Occupation Tax for sales of tangible personal property to lessors who lease that property to 
governmental bodies under leases of one year or longer. See the enclosed copy of 86 Ill. Adm. Code 
130.2012.    In addition, the sale of computers and communications equipment and equipment used 
in the diagnosis, analysis, or treatment of hospital patients is exempt when sold to lessors who lease 
that property under leases of one year or longer with hospitals to whom the Department has issued a 
tax exemption identification number.  See the enclosed copy of 86 Ill. Adm. Code 130.2011. 

 
If the leases referenced in your letter are true leases, then none of the lease payments are 

subject to tax.     Please note that the lessor will be subject to Use Tax liability on the equipment 



being leased in Illinois.   If the purchase of the leased property occurs in Illinois, the purchaser/lessor 
must pay the Use Tax to the retailer at the time of purchase.    If the purchases of the leased property 
occurs outside Illinois, the purchaser/lessor must self assess Use Tax liability and remit it directly to 
the Department.    In such situations, Illinois will give a credit for taxes properly due and paid in 
another state on the purchase of the leased property   See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 150.310(a)(3).   In 
addition, depreciation is allowed for out-of-State use of the leased property.   See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 
150.105(a). 

 
I hope this information is helpful.  If you require additional information, please visit our website 

at www.ILTAX.com or contact the Department’s Taxpayer Information Division at (217) 782-3336.   If 
you are not under audit and you wish to obtain a binding PLR regarding your factual situation, please 
submit a request conforming to the requirements of 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.110 (b). 
 

Very truly yours,  
 
 
 

Terry D. Charlton 
Senior Counsel, Sales & Excise Taxes 

 
TDC:msk 
 


