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•	 you have received notification 

from the Illinois Department of 
Revenue that you qualify to file 
annually and you have chosen 
to update your filing status on 
MyTax Illinois. 

3.	 For annual filers — If you exceed 
$12,000 in withholding during a 
quarter, you must begin to file your 
IL-941 quarterly for the following 
quarter, the remainder of the year, 
and the subsequent year. 

When are my IL-501 payments 
due?

There are three different payment 
schedules — annually, monthly, and 
semi-weekly. Your payment due dates 
are based on 
1.	 the payment schedule we assign to 

you based on your liability, and 
2.	 the day you pay your payees from 

whom tax is withheld. 

The due dates are as follows:

•	 Annual payments are due with your 
IL-941 return by the end of January 
following the year the amounts were 
withheld. Few taxpayers are given 
the option of an annual payment 
schedule.

•	 Monthly payments are due by the 
15th day of the month following the 
month in which the tax was withheld.  

•	 Semi-weekly payments are due by 
Wednesday for amounts withheld on 
the preceding Wednesday, Thursday, 
or Friday, and by Friday for amounts 
withheld on the preceding Saturday, 
Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday.  

If you are assigned to the semi-weekly 
payment schedule, you must make your 
withholding tax payments electronically.

Note: You will owe a late-payment 
penalty if you do not pay the tax you 
owe by each payment due date.  We may 
ask you to provide payroll information 
electronically.

For more information, see Publication 
131, Withholding Income Tax Payment 
and Filing Requirements. 

How do I calculate how much 
my IL-501 payments should be?

The IL-501 payments you make should 
be the exact amount you withheld from 
your payee minus any credits you may 
have available. For example:

Example 1 (no credits)
Your January 1- January 15 payroll 
totaled $15,000.00; you withheld Illinois 
income tax totaling $600.00 from your 
employees’ pay; and you have no 
available credits on your account.  Your 
IL-501 payment should be $600.00.
Payroll total = 	$15,000.00 
IL withholding total = 	      $600.00
Credits =		       $    0.00
IL-501 payment = 	      $600.00

Who must file Form IL-941?

You must file Form IL-941 if you paid 
amounts subject to Illinois withholding 
income tax (either required or by 
voluntary agreement), such as:

•	 Wages and other employee 
compensation including bonus, 
overtime, and commission pay, 
usually reported to the recipient on a 
Form W-2.

•	 Non-wage income such as pensions, 
annuities, unemployment income, 
and sick pay that you have agreed to 
voluntarily withhold, usually reported 
to a recipient on a Form 1099. 

•	 Gambling and lottery winnings 
(paid by the entity issuing the 
winnings such as the Illinois Lottery 
or a casino), usually reported to a 
recipient on a Form W-2G.

•	 Amounts paid to purchase rights to 
Illinois lottery winnings reported on a 
Form 1099-MISC.

Note: Form IL-941 is the only form used 
to report Illinois income tax withholding 
with the exception of household 
employee withholding, which can be 
reported on Form IL-1040, Individual 
Income Tax return. If you have household 
employees, see Publication 121, Illinois 
Income Tax Withholding for Household 
Employees. 

For more information, see Publication 
130, Who is Required to Withhold Illinois 
Income Tax. 

You must file Form IL-941 even if no tax 
was withheld during the reporting period 
(e.g., employees who are seasonal 
workers). If you discontinue having Illinois 
employees, complete Step 2, Line B, for 
your final reporting period.

When is my IL-941 return due?

See the box to the right. Your IL-941 
return will be due either quarterly 
or annually.  Unlike the federal 
government, Illinois does not require 
an annual reconciliation return.  See 
the “End of the Year Instructions,” after 
the Step by Step Instructions section, for 
more information.  

Important: 

1.	 If you are an annual return filer, do 
not file quarterly IL-941 returns. 

2.	  Do not file an annual return unless 

•	 you were previously filing annual 
returns and have not received 
notification that your filing status 
has changed or 
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This form is authorized as outlined under the tax or fee Act imposing the tax or fee for which this form is filed. Disclosure of this 
information is required. Failure to provide information may result in this form not being processed and may result in a penalty.

FILING / PAYMENT SCHEDULES
 If you are a(n):	 You will be assigned to 		
		  make either: 

Annual Filer          	•  an annual payment, or
		  •  monthly payments

Quarterly Filer      	•  monthly payments, or
 		  •  semi-weekly payments

Quarterly Filer
 Your Form IL-941 is due by the last day of the month that follows the end                  	
 of the quarter.

 The quarter includes...		  Quarter ends	 IL-941 is due

 1.  January, February, March	 March 31	 April 30
 2.  April, May, June		  June 30		  July 31
 3.  July, August, September	 September 30	 October 31
 4.  October, November, December	 December 31	 January 31

 Annual Filer
 Your Form IL-941 is due by the last day of the month that follows the end             	
 of the year.  January-December is due on January 31.

When to File Form IL-941



Example 2 (with credits) 
Your January 1- January 15 payroll 
totaled $15,000.00; you withheld Illinois 
income tax totaling $600.00 from your 
employees’ pay; and you received 
a DCEO credit of $250.00 that was 
available for use.  Your IL-501 payment 
should be $350.00.  See below.

Payroll total = 	$15,000.00 
IL withholding total = 	      $600.00
DCEO credits = 	   -  $250.00
IL-501 payment = 	      $350.00

Where do I report the amount 
of Illinois Income Tax I withheld 
from my employees’ or others’ 
pay?

You must report the amount of Illinois 
Income Tax you withheld on Line 2 of 
your IL-941 return.  For example, you 
withheld Illinois income tax totaling 
$600.00 from your employees’ pay for 
your January payroll.  You withheld 
Illinois income tax totaling $525.00 from 
your employees’ pay for the February 
payroll.  You withheld Illinois income tax 
totaling $600.00 from your employees’ 
pay for the March payroll.  On your 
1st quarter IL-941, you would report 
$1,725.00 on Line 2.
January withholding =          	 $600.00
February withholding =        	 $525.00
March withholding =             	 $600.00
1st quarter Form IL-941, 
Line 2 =                                   $1,725.00

What is an IDOR-approved 
credit?

An IDOR-approved credit is an overpay-
ment from a previous period or that you 
have reported on an amended return 
you filed that has been verified by the 
Department. You must have written 
notification from us that a credit has 
been approved before you are able to 
claim it. After receiving written approval 
of a credit, you may claim it on Step 5, 
Line 4 of your Form IL-941.  If you have 
not received approval from us or are un-
certain if your credit has been approved, 
submit a request in writing to the follow-
ing address asking for the credit to be 
verified. 
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF 
REVENUE
PO BOX 19004	
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9004 

If you have filed an amended return, you 
must wait for the return to be processed. 
If a credit is created as a result of our 
processing your amended return, we will 
send written notification to you stating 
the amount of credit available.

How do I use my Department of 
Commerce and Economic Op-
portunity (DCEO) credits?

DCEO credits should be claimed on 
Line 5 of your IL-941 return. We receive 
notification from DCEO and apply cred-
its when they become available. Do not 
claim these credits on your IL-941 return 
until they are available for use per your 
tax credit certificate or your certificate 
of verification that you received from 
DCEO. 

There are two different types of DCEO 
credits for Illinois withholding income 
tax:
•	 Illinois Small Business Job Cre-

ation Tax credit (ILSBJC) - This 
credit is applied to the first liability 
due after the tax credit certificate is 
issued, and before any IL-501 pay-
ments you have made. The federal 
employer identification number 
(FEIN) you use on your Form IL-941 
must match the FEIN on the tax 
credit certificate you receive from 
DCEO.  

•	 Economic Development for a 
Growing Economy withholding 
tax credit (EDGE) - The EDGE 
credit is applied to the first liability of 
the tax year following the Certificate 
of Verification year and is also con-
sidered before any IL-501 payments.    
This credit is not common.

Please account for your credits when 
you plan your payments so that your 
account remains in balance. Even if 
you use a DCEO credit, you still need 
to report the total amount you withheld 
from your employees on Step 4, Line 2 
of Form IL-941. 

Your DCEO credits are applied to your 
tax liability before your payments. If you 
made payments that, added with your 
DCEO credit, resulted in you overpay-
ing your tax, make sure to claim them 
on your Form IL-941, Step 5, Line 3, and 
include the overpayment on Step 6, Line 
8.  You will receive written notification 
from IDOR once the overpayment has 
been verified and approved as a credit 
that can be used for future withholding 
tax liabilities.

How can I file or pay 
electronically?
To file — You may use 
•	 MyTax Illinois on our website at 

tax.illinois.gov or 
•	 an IDOR-approved Tax-Prep 

software program (software you 
develop or purchase off-the-shelf) to 
file electronically. 

To pay — You may use
•	 MyTax Illinois, 
•	 an IDOR-approved Tax-Prep 

software program, or
•	 ACH Credit payment option.
MyTax Illinois is our online account 
filing and management program that 
is available to you, free of charge, to 
file, pay, and monitor your Illinois tax 
accounts. 
For detailed information, go to our 
website at tax.illinois.gov. 

Electronic mandates for Illinois 
withholding income tax: 
•	You must make withholding tax 

payments electronically if you are 
assigned to the semi-weekly payment 
schedule. 

•	If you are federally mandated to 
electronically file Forms W-2 and 
W-2-C, you are also required to 
electronically submit these forms to 
Illinois.

Do I figure my own penalties or 
interest?

We will bill you for penalties and interest, 
if applicable. For more information about 
penalties and interest, see Publication 
103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois 
Taxes.

How do I correct a misapplied 
payment error I made to IDOR?
To correct a payment that was applied 
to an incorrect period, you must send a 
written request to us to have the pay-
ment moved.  In your written request, 
please include your account number; 
the amount and date of the payment; 
what period it needs to be applied to 
and the reason for your request to move 
the payment. Also include a complete 
list of payment amounts and dates for 
the period to which you are moving it.  
Send the request to the address listed in 
the “Where do I get help?” section.  
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What form do I use to report 
my employees’ or payees’ 
income and withholding at the 
end of the year?
You must report income and withhold-
ing on the correct withholding form type 
listed in the chart below.  Refer to the 
IRS website for more information. 

How do I correct an error 
if I over-withheld or under-
withheld from a payee?
The method for correcting an error on 
withholding is determined by the time 
of year that the error is made.  If you 
over-withheld or under-withheld prior 
to the end of the calendar year, you 
may simply correct it in future payroll 
cycles within the same calendar year by 
adjusting the amount you withhold by 
the amount of the over-withholding or 
under-withholding.  Amounts reported 
on Form IL-941 always must be the 
exact amounts withheld from payees. If 
you do not make the correction before 
the end of the calendar year, you must 
report the amount actually withheld on 
the W-2 or 1099 forms for the payee to 
claim on his/her income tax return. Your 
employee or other individual from whom 
you withheld will either receive a refund 
of the over-withheld amount or have to 
pay the under-withheld amount on their 
Individual Income Tax Return.

Examples 
•	 If you withheld too much from an 

employee during the 1st quarter, you 
may withhold less during the 2nd 
quarter to make up for the overage.   
On your Form IL-941, report the 
exact amount you withheld during 
the quarter. 

•	 If you withheld too little from your 
employee during the January 15th 
payroll, you may withhold more 
during the February 15th payroll. On 
your Form IL-941, report the exact 
amount you withheld during the 
quarter. 

How do I correct withholding 
that I have over-reported or 
under-reported?
You must always report the exact 
amount of tax that you actually withheld 
during the reporting period on your 
Form IL-941.  If the amount you reported 
was more or less than the amount you 
actually withheld, then you must file an 
amended return (IL-941-X) .  

Where do I get help?
•	Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov
•	Call us at 1 800 732-8866 or 

217 782-3336
•	Call our TDD (telecommunications de-

vice for the deaf) at 1 800 544-5304
•	Write to			 

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF 
REVENUE
PO BOX 19044	
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

Form IL-941 has a scanline for 
automated processing that contains your 
FEIN, the reporting period, and a check 
digit. Do not photocopy the form and use 
for any other FEIN or reporting period.

Step-by-Step 
Instructions

Follow the instructions on the form. 
Remember to complete each line using 
the total for the full reporting period. Do 
not file more than one Form IL-941 per 
reporting period.  

Step 1: Provide your 
information
Enter your information and check any 
box that is applicable.  
Note:  Your sequence number should 
be “000” unless you have been as-
signed a different sequence number 
when you registered.
Reporting Period — Complete this 
section. 	
If you are
•	a quarterly filer, check the correct 

quarter you are reporting (even if you 
have no withholding to report). File 
one return for each quarter. Do not file 
an annual return.  Note: If you are fil-
ing your quarterly return because you 
are an annual filer and you met the 
$12,000 threshold, report everything 
from the beginning of the year to the 
end of the quarter on the IL-941 return, 
and check the box for the quarter for 
which you are filing. 

•	an annual filer, check the annual box. 
Do not file quarterly returns.

Step 2: Tell us about your W-2 
forms and your business
Complete this Step only if this is your 
4th quarter return, annual return, or you 
have permanently stopped withholding 
and this is your final return.
Item A — Enter the total number of 
W-2 forms reporting Illinois withholding 
you were required to issue for the entire 
year. 
Item B — Complete this line if appli-
cable.

Step 3: Tell us about the 
amount subject to withholding

Line 1 — Enter the total of all amounts 
subject to Illinois withholding income tax 
(either required or by voluntary agree-
ment) including payroll, compensation, 

Type of Income Withholding Form 
Type

Payroll W-2

Compensation W-2 or 1099 series

Gambling winnings W-2G

Illinois Lottery Win-
nings

W-2G

Amount paid to pur-
chase rights to Illinois 
Lottery Winnings

1099-MISC

Voluntary Withholding 
Agreement — Unem-
ployment, Retirement, 
Interest or Dividend 
Income 

1099 series

Other 1099 series
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Step-by-Step Instructions, 
continued

gambling winnings (such as Illinois 
Lottery winnings), amounts paid to 
purchase the rights to Illinois Lottery 
winnings, or any other non-wage in-
come. Do not leave blank - if you had 
no amount subject to Illinois withholding, 
enter zero.

Step 4: Tell us about the 
amount withheld

Line 2 — Enter the total of all amounts 
of Illinois Income Tax actually withheld 
(either required or by voluntary agree-
ment) this reporting period, even if you 
are able to use a DCEO or other credit 
to pay your withholding liability. Do not 
estimate this amount. This includes 
employee withholding and any with-
holding that was made on other Illinois 
income. Do not leave blank - if you did 
not withhold during this period, enter 
zero.  

Step 5: Tell us about your pay-
ments and credits

Line 3 — Enter the total amount of 
withholding payments you have made 
during this period. This includes all 
IL-501 payments (electronic and paper 
coupons). Do not leave blank.

Line 4 — Enter the amount of IDOR-
approved credit you are using toward 
your tax liability.  Do not include any 
amounts on this line unless you 
have received written confirmation 
from IDOR that those credits have 
been approved. For more information, 
see the section, “What is an IDOR-
approved credit?”

Line 5 — Enter the amount of credit you 
have received through the Department 
of Commerce and Economic Opportu-
nity (DCEO). This credit is applied to 
your tax liability before your payments 
and other credits. You can claim the 
Small Business Job Creation Tax Credit 
or the EDGE Credit only if you received 
a tax credit certificate or a certificate of 
verification from DCEO. Do not attach 
the DCEO certificate. This credit can 
only be used to reduce your withholding 
income tax liability.  A DCEO credit can-
not result in a refund.  However, if you 
have remaining credit, you can use it 
for future Illinois withholding income tax 
liabilities.  See the worksheet at the top 
of the next column.

Line 6 — Follow the instructions on 
the form. This is your total credits and 
payments.

Step 6:  Figure the amount you 
owe or your credit

Line 7 — Follow the instructions on the 
form. This is your balance due.  

Line 8 — If the total of your payments 
and credits on Line 6 is greater than 
your withholding amount on Line 2, 
review your amounts.  You should only 
show an overpayment on Line 8 if an 
error was made on the amount you paid 
or credit claimed on Line 6 or the tax 
you reported on Line 2.  The amount 
on Line 8 is not available for use on 
any future IL-941 return until you 
receive written notification from 
IDOR that the credit is approved.  
After your IL-941 return has been 
processed, if you have not received 
written notification from IDOR stating 
that the amount written on Step 6, Line 
8 has been approved as a verified 
credit, file an IL-941-X, Amended 
Illinois Withholding Income Tax Return, 
including all necessary support, to 
request this amount be verified as a 
credit.

Step 7: Sign here 
You must sign and date your return. If 
you do not sign your return, it will not 
be considered filed and you may be 
subject to a nonfiler penalty. If you 
want to allow the preparer listed in this 
step to discuss this return with us, check 
the box. This authorization will allow 
your preparer to answer any questions 
that arise during the processing of your 
return, call us with questions about 
your return, and receive or respond to 
notices we send. The authorization will 
automatically end no later than one year 
from the due date of this return. You 
may revoke the authorization at any time 
by calling or writing us.

End of the Year 
Instructions:

At the end of the year, you, as the 
withholding agent, are required to report 
the total amount you withheld from each 
payee on the appropriate form (W-2, 
W-2G, or 1099).  To verify your records, 
compare the total withholding with the 
amount you reported on your Form IL-
941s throughout the year by following 
these steps:

1.	 Add together the Illinois state 
withholding reported on each of the 
W-2s, W-2Gs, and/or 1099 forms 
you issued.  Write the total amount 
here:                                 	

	 _________________

2.	 Add together the amounts from  
Step 4, Line 2 of each of the IL-941 
returns you filed with us for 2015.  
Write the total here:  

	 _________________

3.	 Compare the amounts on the two 
lines above.  They should agree.  If 
the amounts do not agree, review 
your records.  If you made an 
error in the amount you reported 
to your employee or payee on the 
W-2, W-2G, or 1099 forms, you 
must provide them with the correct 
amount on a W-2c or a corrected 
W-2G or 1099 as required by the 
Internal Revenue Service. If your 
W-2s and 1099 forms are correct,  
you need to file an IL-941-X, 
Amended Illinois Withholding 
Income Tax Return. 

The amount you withheld should 
always agree with the amount you 
report to us. 
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DCEO Credit Worksheet                      

 A  Total amount of DCEO credit 
      available from certificate or 
      left over from a previous return:    _________

 B   Enter Step 4, Line 2 from this 
       IL-941.       		              _________

 C  Subtract Line B from Line A.   	
      If this is a negative number,          _________
     enter zero. This is the amount of 
     DCEO credit you have remaining 
     to use on future Illinois withholding 
     income tax liability.            	            	
      Keep this amount for future 
      returns.  		             	  


