
 Illinois Department of Revenue

 PST-1-X Amended Prepaid Sales Tax Return Instructions

Who must fi le Form PST-1-X?
You must fi le Form PST-1-X if you fi led Form PST-1, Prepaid Sales Tax 
Return, and

• you want to correct your return, either to pay more tax or to 
request a credit for overpaid tax; or

• you are making corrections to nonfi nancial information on your 
return. 

Do not fi le Form PST-1-X for amounts of less than $1.

You must fi le one Form PST-1-X for each month you are amending. 
You cannot fi le one PST-1-X to amend several months. 

Note: If you received a notice from us that your original return is 
unprocessable, we cannot process an amended return (claim for 
credit) until you respond to the notice. Also, if you are requesting a 
credit, you will not be able to use it until we notify you that your credit 
has been approved.

What is the deadline for fi ling this form?
The deadline for fi ling to obtain a credit for overpayment of the 
Prepaid Sales Tax changes semiannually on January 1 and July 1. If 
you fi le an amended return between January 1 and June 30 of this 
year, you may fi le a claim for credit for the amounts you overpaid 
during the current year and previous 36 months. Beginning July 1, 
you may fi le a claim for credit for the amounts you overpaid during 
the current year and previous 30 months.

Note: We use the U.S. Postal Service postmark date as the fi ling 
date of a properly signed amended return (claim for credit).

Which steps of this form must I complete?
Everyone must complete Steps 1, 2, and 4. You must also complete 
Step 3 if you are changing fi nancial information.

Step 1: Identify your business
Write your Illinois account ID number as it appears on your original 
Form PST-1. Also, write the reporting period for which you are fi ling the 
amended return. Next, write the name of your business as it appears 
on your original return.

Step 2: Mark the reason you are fi ling an amended return
Mark the reason  that best explains why you are fi ling Form PST-1-X.

If you marked 2a (gallons sold to a federal or foreign government or 
a mass transit system), you must write the organization’s tax-exempt 
“E” number on the line provided. See note below.

If you marked 2c (gallons sold and distributed tax-free to other 
licensed distributors or suppliers), you must write the Illinois account  
ID on the line provided. If you sold to more than one business, write 
each business’ account ID on a separate sheet and attach it to your 
return. 

If you marked 2d (gallons sold to units of local government), you 
must write the organization’s tax-exempt “E” number on the line 
provided. See note below.

If you marked 2e (gallons sold to schools, churches, or charities), 
you must write the organization’s tax-exempt “E” number on the line 
provided. See note below.

If you marked 2g (gallons of exempt motor fuel sold), the sale must 
have occurred on or after July 1, 2003. If the sale occurred before 
July 1, 2003, you may not claim the exemption. If you do, we may 
issue an assessment.
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If you are making an additional payment, there is no deadline; 
however, the longer you wait to pay, the more interest and, when 
applicable, penalty you will owe.

How do I get forms?
If you need additional amended returns, you may photocopy a blank 
return, or visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov, or call our 24-hour 
Forms Order Line at 1 800 356-6302

How do I get help?
Visit our web site at tax.illinois.gov or call weekdays between 8 a.m. 
and 5 p.m. at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336. The number for our 
TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) is 1 800 544-5304.  

If you have a specifi c question about an amended return you have 
already fi led, call us at 217 782-7517 or write us at

SALES TAX PROCESSING DIVISION
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19013
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9013.

To what address do I mail my completed forms?
Mail your completed return to:
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19034
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9034

General Information

Specifi c Instructions

Mark 8 only if 1 through 7 do not apply. On the lines provided, please 
explain why you are correcting your original return.

Note: To qualify as a tax-exempt sale under 2a, 2d, or 2e, the buyer 
must be the organization itself rather than a member or offi cer of the 
organization. The organization’s tax-exempt number must have been 
in effect on the day of the purchase. If you sold to more than one 
organization, write each organization’s tax-exempt “E” number on a 
separate sheet and attach it to your return. 

Step 3: Correct your fi nancial information
Complete all applicable lines when making the corrections to 
the fi nancial information. If you do not complete all lines, we will 
use the most recent fi gures fi led. 

Column A
Lines 1 through 11: Write the fi gures from your most recent fi led 
return. These fi gures may be from your original Form PST-1 or from 
any corrections you have made since you fi led your original Form 
PST-1. If you do not complete all lines, we will use the most recent 
fi gures fi led when processing this Form PST-1-X.

Column B
Lines 1 through 11: Write the corrected fi gures. If there is no 
change from Column A, write the fi gures from Column A. If you 
have an amount written in Column A that you are reducing to zero, 
write “0” in Column B. Leaving the line in Column B blank may 
delay the processing of your return or may cause your changes to 
Form PST-1-X to not be accepted. 



Detailed instructions for certain lines in Step 3
Line 4a, Column A 
Write the total number of gallons of gasohol and, for periods 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011, biodiesel blends (1% - 10%) 
subject to prepaid sales tax for any previously-fi led PST-1 forms for 
this reporting period. This is the total from Line 8a of the PST-2 forms 
you attached to your original Form PST-1 plus the total from Line 8a 
of the PST-2 forms you attached to any amended returns you fi led 
before you fi led this return.

Line 4a, Column B
Write the total number of gallons of gasohol and, for periods 
beginning on or after January 1, 2011, biodiesel blends (1% - 10%)  
subject to prepaid sales tax from Line 8a of all PST-2 forms you 
have attached to all original and amended PST-1 forms you have 
fi led for this reporting period. Include the gallons from Line 8a of 
any PST-2 forms attached to this amended return. 

Line 4b, Column A
Write the total number of gallons of motor fuel subject to prepaid 
sales tax for any previously-fi led PST-1 forms for this reporting  
period. This is the total from Line 9a of the PST-2 forms you attached 
to your original Form PST-1 plus the total from Line 9a of the PST-2 
forms you attached to any amended returns you fi led before you fi led 
this return.

Line 4b, Column B
Write the total number of gallons of motor fuel subject to prepaid 
sales tax from Line 9a of all PST-2 forms you have attached to all 
original and amended PST-1 forms you have fi led for this reporting 
period. Include the gallons from Line 9a of any PST-2 forms 
attached to this amended return.

Line 5, Column B
Multiply Line 4a, Column B by the established rate for the period 
you are amending.  For effective rates, visit our web site at 
tax.illinois.gov. 

Line 6, Column B
Multiply Line 4b, Column B by the established rate for the period 
you are amending.  For effective rates, visit our web site at 
tax.illinois.gov. 

Line 12
Write the total you have paid. This fi gure includes the amount you 
paid with your original Form PST-1, any subsequent amended 
returns, and any assessment payments you have made. Be sure to 
reduce the total amount paid by any credit or refund of tax you have 
received for this liability period.

Line 13
If Line 12 is greater than Line 11, Column B, write the difference on 
Line 13. This is the amount you have overpaid. 

Line 14
If Line 12 is less than Line 11, Column B, write the difference on 
Line 14. This is the amount you have underpaid. Please pay this 
amount when you fi le this return. We will bill you for any additional 
tax, penalty, and interest that is due. Please write the amount you are 
paying on the line provided in the “Read this information fi rst” section 
on the front of the return.

Step 4: Sign below
We cannot process this form until it is signed by the owner, offi cer, or 
other person authorized to sign the original return.

Penalty and interest information
If, on this amended return, you are increasing the amount of tax 
due, we will bill you for any additional penalty and interest that we 
calculate is due.

If, on this amended return, you are reducing the amount of tax due, 
we will recalculate any penalty and interest that is due and include 
the recomputed amounts in determining the amount you have 
overpaid.

You owe a late fi ling penalty if you do not fi le a processable 
return by the due date, a late payment penalty if you do not pay 
the amount you owe by the original due date of the return or were 
required to make quarter-monthly payments and failed to do so, 
a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
fi nancial institution, and a cost of collection fee if you do not pay 
the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on a notice 
or bill. For more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and 
Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of this publication, visit 
our web site at tax.illinos.gov or call our 24-hour Forms Order Line 
at 1 800-356-6302. 
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