
Who must file Form MC-1-X?
You must file Form MC-1-X if you filed Form MC-1, Medical 
Cannabis Cultivation Privilege Tax Return, and you need to

•	 correct your return, either to pay more tax or to request a 
credit for overpaid tax;

•	 respond to a bill or notice; or
•	 make corrections to line items but not change the amount 

of tax due.

You must file one Form MC-1-X for each month you are 
amending. You cannot file one MC-1-X to amend several 
months.

Note: If you received a notice from us that your original return 
is unprocessable, we cannot process an amended return until 
you respond to the notice. Also, if you are requesting a credit, 
you will not be able to use it until we notify you that your credit 
has been approved.

What must I attach to this return?
You must attach Schedule MC-2, Medical Cannabis Sales, to 
your MC-1-X return to identify each dispensing organization to 
whom you made sales of medical cannabis during the reporting 
period.

You must attach Schedule MC-3, Medical Cannabis 
Deductions, to your MC-1-X return to identify each dispensing 
organization for which you are claiming deductions of medical 
cannabis during the reporting period.

What if I do not attach all applicable 
schedules to this return?
We will consider your amended return unprocessable and will 
issue a notice to you if you do not attach all required supporting 
schedules.

What is the deadline for filing this form?
The period for which you can claim a credit for an overpayment 
of Medical Cannabis Cultivation Privilege Tax depends on 
when you file your Form MC-1-X. If you file this amended 
return between January 1 and June 30 of this year, you may 
file a claim for credit for the amounts you overpaid during 
the current year and previous 36 months. Beginning July 1, 
you may file a claim for the amounts you overpaid during 
the current year and previous 30 months.

Note: There is no deadline for making additional payments; 
however, the longer you wait to pay, the more interest and, 
when applicable, penalty you will owe.

Can I file this return electronically?
Yes, you can use MyTax Illinois, available on our website at 
tax.illinois.gov, to file your Form MC-1-X and all necessary 
schedules.

Where do I send my Form MC-1-X if I 
choose to file on paper?
Mail your completed Form MC-1-X and attachments to:

	 	 SPRINGFIELD CASHIERING OPERATIONS
		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
		  PO BOX 19018
		  SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9018

How do I make a payment?
Payments must be made electronically. You can make an 
electronic payment through MyTax Illinois, available on our 
website at tax.illinois.gov.

Note: Businesses that cannot pay electronically are required 
to make cash payments. Additional instructions for submitting 
cash payments to the Department will be provided upon 
request.

What if I fail to file or pay the amount I 
owe?
You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late-payment penalty if you do not 
pay the amount you owe by the original due date of the return, 
a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
financial institution, and a cost of collection fee if you do not 
pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on 
a bill. Interest is calculated on tax from the day after the original 
due date of your return through the date you pay the tax. We 
will bill you for penalty and interest. For more information, see 
Publication 103, Penalty and Interest for Illinois Taxes, which is 
available on our website at tax.illinois.gov. 

What if I need help?
Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov, or call us weekdays 
between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at 217 782-6045.
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When completing this form, please round to the nearest dollar 
by dropping amounts of less than 50 cents and increasing 
amounts of 50 cents or more to the next dollar.

You must use Schedule MC-2, Medical Cannabis Sales, to 
report sales to each dispensing organization.

You must use Schedule MC‑3, Medical Cannabis Deductions, 
to report deductions for each dispensing organization for which 
you are claiming deductions.

Step 1: Figure the total number of ounces 
sold
Line 1a - Enter the sum of the number of bulk ounces sold to 
dispensing organizations from Schedule MC-2. (Enter ounces 
to three decimal places.)

Line 1b - Enter the sum of the number of deductible bulk 
ounces from Schedule MC-3. This amount cannot exceed the 
amount you entered on Line 1a. (Enter ounces to three decimal 
places.)

Line 1 - Subtract Line 1b from Line 1a. This is your net bulk 
ounces sold to dispensing organizations.

Line 2a - Enter the sum of the number of ounces infused into 
products sold to dispensing organizations from Schedule MC-2. 
(Enter ounces to three decimal places.)

Line 2b - Enter the sum of the number of deductible ounces 
infused into products from Schedule MC-3. This amount cannot 
exceed the amount you entered on Line 2a. (Enter ounces to 
three decimal places.)

Line 2 - Subtract Line 2b from Line 2a. This is your net ounces 
infused into products sold to dispensing organizations.

Line 3 - Add Lines 1 and 2. This is your total ounces sold to 
dispensing organizations subject to tax.

Step 2: Figure your privilege tax due
Line 4a - Enter the sum of the consideration received from 
dispensing organizations for bulk ounces from Schedule MC-2.

Line 4b - Enter the sum of deductible consideration for bulk 
ounces from Schedule MC-3. This amount cannot exceed the 
amount you entered on Line 4a.

Line 4 - Subtract Line 4b from Line 4a. This is your net 
consideration received from dispensing organizations for bulk 
ounces.

Line 5a - Enter the sum of the consideration received from 
dispensing organizations for ounces infused into products from 
Schedule MC-2.

Line 5b - Enter the sum of deductible consideration for ounces 
infused into products from Schedule MC-3. This amount cannot 
exceed the amount you entered on Line 5a.

Line 5 - Subtract Line 5b from Line 5a. This is your net 
consideration received from dispensing organizations for 
ounces infused into products.

Line 6 - Add Lines 4 and 5. This is your total consideration 
received from dispensing organizations subject to tax.

Line 7 - Multiply Line 6 by the tax rate.

Line 8 - Complete this line only if you filed your original return 
and paid the tax owed by the due date. If you filed on time, 
figure your discount at the rate of 1.75 percent (.0175) of the 
amount you paid on time.

If you are increasing the amount of tax due, you may not 
increase the amount of your discount unless the increased tax 
due was paid on or before the due date of the original return.

Line 9 - Subtract Line 8 from Line 7. This is your tax due after 
discount.

Line 10 - If you have a credit memorandum or prior 
overpayment and you wish to use it toward what you owe, enter 
the amount you are using.

Line 11 - Subtract Line 10 from Line 9. This is your net tax due.

Line 12 - Enter the total amount paid for this reporting 
period. This figure includes the amount you paid with your 
original return, any subsequent amended return(s), and any 
assessment payments you have made. Be sure to reduce the 
total amount you have paid by any credit or refund of tax you 
have received for this reporting period.

Line 13 - If Line 12 is greater than Line 11, enter the difference 
on Line 13. This is the amount you have overpaid.

Line 14 - If Line 12 is less than Line 11, enter the difference 
on Line 14. This is the amount you have underpaid. Pay 
this amount when you file this return. We will bill you for any 
additional tax, penalty, and interest that is due. See Publication 
103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, for more 
information.

Step 3: Mark the reason you are filing this 
amended return
Mark the best description of why you are completing Form 
MC-1-X. Also, provide any correct information (if applicable).

Note: If you mark “other”, and you are a party to a civil suit 
involving the amount claimed on this return, enter the name of 
the suit on the line provided.

Step 4: Sign below
We cannot process this form until it is signed by the owner, 
officer, or other person authorized to sign the return.
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