
RL-26-W (R-04/12)

Form RL-26-W Instructions
General Information

Who must file a return?
You must file this return if you are licensed as a direct wine 
shipper that sells wine to consumers located in Illinois. Do not 
report shipments to licensed distributors using Form RL-26-W. 
This type of transaction must be reported on Form RL-26-L, 
Out-of-State Sellers’ Shipment Report.

When and where do I file?
You must file Form RL-26-W, Liquor Direct Wine Shippers Re-
turn, on or before the 15th day of each month for the preced-
ing month.

You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late-payment penalty if you do not 
pay the tax you owe by the original due date of the return, and 
a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
financial institution. Interest is calculated on tax from the day 
after the original due date of your return through the date you 
pay the tax. We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more 
information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, 
Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive this publica-
tion, call 1 800 356-6302 or visit our Web site at tax.illinois.gov.

Mail your completed Form RL-26-W to:

	 	 ALCOHOL, TOBACCO AND FUEL DIVISION
	 	 ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
	 	 PO BOX 19019
	 	 SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9019
Note: If you prefer, you can file Form RL-26-W using our Web-
File program at tax.illinois.gov.

If you have questions, write us at the address above or call us 
weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at 217 782-6045.

What records must I keep?
You must keep complete and accurate records for at least 	
3 years.

What other penalties may be imposed?
If you fail to keep the required records or if you violate 
provisions of the Liquor Control Act of 1934 or our rules 
and regulations, you are guilty of a petty offense for the first 
offense. For a second or subsequent offense, you are guilty of 
a Class B misdemeanor.

Each day you engage in business in violation of the act consti-
tutes a separate offense.

Step-by-Step Instructions

Step 2: Figure your tax due
Line 8 – Number of gallons of cider (alcohol content between 
0.5% and 7%) you shipped and sold to Illinois consumers. Re-
port the cider that contains more than 7% in the appropriate 
“Wine” category. 

Line 9 – Multiply Line 8 by .231 

Line 10 – Number of gallons of wine (alcohol content less 
than 20%) you shipped and sold to Illinois consumers.

Line 11 – Multiply Line 10 by 1.39 

Line 12 – Number of gallons of wine (alcohol content 20% or 
more) you shipped and sold to Illinois consumers.

Line 13 – Multiply Line 12 by 8.55

Line 14 – Add Line 9, 11, and 13. This is the total tax due.

Line 15 – If you timely file and pay this tax electronically you 
are entitled to a discount. To determine the discount amount, 
multiply Line 14 by 2% (.02). Compare the amount to the dis-
count cap of $2,000; and, enter the lesser on Line 15.

Line 16 – Subtract Line 15 from Line 14 - tax due before 
any credit you may wish to apply.

Line 17 – Write the amount of credit you wish to apply.

Line 18 – Subtract Line 17 from Line 16 and pay this amount. 
If you do not pay the tax you owe by the due date, you will owe
additional penalty and interest. We will bill you for penalties 
and interest you owe. For more information, see Publication 
103, Uniform Penalties and Interest. To receive a copy of Pub-
lication 103, visit our Web site at tax.illinois.gov or call us at 
1 800 356-6302. 

Step 3: Signatures
An owner or officer must sign (include title) and date your 
return. Also provide a daytime phone number where you can 
be contacted. If a tax preparer completed your return, the pre-
parer must also complete the information in this Step.
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