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General Information
What is a use tax?
A use tax is a tax upon the privilege of using tangible personal 
property in Illinois. It is designed to distribute the tax burden 
fairly among Illinois consumers and to assure fair competition 
between Illinois businesses and out-of-state businesses. 
Illinois law requires you to pay tax at the Illinois rate when you 
buy an item from another state or country to use in Illinois. 

Is Illinois increasing its efforts to collect use taxes?
Yes, Illinois is increasing its efforts to collect use taxes. Illinois 
shares sales information with other states and bills Illinois 
residents for unpaid tax, penalty, and interest. Illinois also 
gathers information on overseas purchases from the U.S. 
Customs Service. (Use tax is due whether or not an item 
has to be declared or is subject to duty tax.) Illinois also 
encourages out-of-state businesses to register and collect the 
tax voluntarily as a convenience to their customers. If they do 
not, we can bill their Illinois customers directly. 

What is the definition of “cigarette” effective July 1, 2012? 

Some tobacco products previously regulated and taxed 
under the Tobacco Products Tax Act, meet the new definition 
of “cigarette” and will be regulated and taxable under the 
Cigarette Tax Act and the Cigarette Use Tax Act effective 
July 1, 2012. 

Effective July 1, 2012, “cigarette” means any roll for smoking 
made wholly or in part of tobacco: 1) irrespective of size or 
shape, whether or not such tobacco is flavored, adulterated 
or mixed with any other ingredient, and the wrapper is made 
of paper or 2) labeled as anything other than a cigarette or 
not bearing a label, if it meets two or more of the following 
criteria:

1.	 the product is sold in packs similar to cigarettes

2.	 the product is available for sale in cartons of ten packs

3.	 the product is sold in soft packs, hard packs, flip-top 
boxes, clam shells, or other cigarette-type boxes

4.	 the product is of a length and diameter similar to 
commercially-manufactured cigarettes

5.	 the product has a cellulose acetate or other integrated 
filter

6.	 the product is marketed or advertised to consumers as a 
cigarette or cigarette substitute

7.	 other evidence that the product fits within the definition of 
cigarette

When do I owe Illinois Cigarette Use Tax?
You owe Cigarette Use Tax and must complete Form RC-44 if you 
bought or acquired cigarettes from another state or country for 
use in Illinois. For your convenience, the calculation for Illinois 
(sales) Use Tax, which is also due on these purchases of 
cigarettes, is included in Step 4 of Form RC-44. 

When is Cigarette Use Tax due?
You must pay the Cigarette Use Tax no later than 30 days 
after you purchase or acquire cigarettes for use in Illinois. 

Note: Keep a copy of your completed return for your records.

How do I know if I also owe Illinois (sales) Use Tax 
on cigarettes?
You also owe Illinois Use Tax if the person or business from 
which you bought cigarettes did not collect Illinois Sales Tax 
(e.g., purchases from catalogs, out-of-state retailers, TV 
advertisements, magazines, the Internet); and 

	 •	 you will use or consume the cigarettes in Illinois; and

	 •	 you have not yet paid Illinois Sales Tax or an equivalent 	
	 amount to another state.

You must pay the Illinois (sales) Use Tax no later than 30 days 
after you purchase or acquire cigarettes for use in Illinois.   

Note: Some out-of-state businesses collect Illinois Sales Tax, 
and their customers pay the tax just as they would pay state 
sales tax to an Illinois retailer. You can check your receipt or 
invoice to determine if Illinois Sales Tax was collected.

What if I fail to file this return and pay the tax I 
owe?
You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late-payment penalty if you do not 
pay the amount you owe by the original due date of the return, 
a bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your 
financial institution, and a cost of collection fee if you do not 
pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed 
on an assessment. Interest is calculated on tax from the day 
after the original due date of your return through the date you 
pay the tax. We will bill you for penalties and interest. For more 
information about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, 
Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes. To receive a copy of 
this publication, visit our website at tax.illinois.gov or call us 
at 1 800 356-6302. 

How do I get help?
If you have questions, you may
•	 visit our website at tax.illinois.gov 
•	 call us at 217 782-6045 
•	 write us at 
	 ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
	 PO BOX 19477
	 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9477
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