Each qualifying organization that wishes to conduct a bingo event must complete an application with the Department. You should allow at least 30 days prior to the event.
To qualify for a license to conduct bingo games, the organization must:
- be not-for-profit;
- be a bona fide religious, charitable, labor, fraternal, youth athletic, senior citizens', educational, or veterans' organization in Illinois;
- have been organized and in existence in Illinois for at least the last five years or affiliated and chartered with a national organization for two years and have had members carrying out the organization's goals during either period;
- not have any officers, directors, employees, or people participating of the management or operation of bingo who have been convicted of a felony within the last 10 years or who have been convicted of a violation of Article 28 of the Criminal Code of 2012; and
- not compensate people participating in the management or operations of bingo.
License fees must be paid when the application is filed. To apply for a license, qualifying organizations must file Form RB-3, Bingo Application for License, either electronically through MyTax Illinois or by mail. You must also complete Form RB-40, List of Bingo Workers, and if renewing, Form RB-32, Expenditure of Funds Earned Through Bingo. Keep these forms in your records and make them available to us when we request them.
Note: After your have filed Form RB-3 and you need to add or revise a scheduled event, you must complete Form RCG-1-E, Charitable Games, Bingo, or Pull Tabs Events Updates, 30 days before the event. Mail your completed information to the address on the form.
Providers must file Form RB-30, Provider of Premises License Application either electronically through MyTax Illinois or by mail.
Suppliers must file Form RB-2, Application for Bingo Supplier’s License, either electronically through MyTax Illinois or by mail.
- Taxpayers who hold a regular license must file quarterly on Form RB-1, Bingo Quarterly Tax Return. File your return by the 20th day of the month following the end of the reporting period either electronically through MyTax Illinois or by mail.
- Taxpayers who hold a limited license must file Form RB-1-L, Limited Bingo Tax Return. File your return within 20 days following the last day of the event either electronically through MyTax Illinois or by mail.
- Taxpayers who hold a supplier’s license must complete Form RB-41, Bingo Supplier Quarterly Report. Keep it in your records and make it available to us when we request it.
Note: First-time applicants must provide a copy of the organization's bylaws. First-time applicants also must provide a copy of either their constitution, charter, or articles of incorporation. One set of meeting minutes per year from the previous five years, or two years when affiliated and chartered with a national organization, is also required to establish that the organization has been in existence for at least that long.