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This bulletin is written to inform you 
of recent changes; it does not replace 
statutes, rules and regulations, or 
court decisions.

Effective January 1, 2015, the type of out-of-state retailers required to 
register in Illinois and collect and remit Use Tax has expanded.
	
Public Act 98-1089, 35 ILCS 105/2(1.1) and 35 ILCS 110/2(1.1), applies to 
out-of-state retailers and servicemen that satisfy the following criteria: 
•	 the out-of-state retailer has a contract with a person in Illinois; 
•	 under the contract, the person in Illinois refers potential customers to 

the retailer and the retailer pays to the person in Illinois a commission 
or other consideration based on the sale of tangible personal property 
by the retailer;

•	 the person in Illinois provides to the potential customers a promotional 
code or other mechanism that allows the retailer to trace the purchases 
made by these customers; 

•	 the retailer made cumulative gross sales of $10,000 during the  
preceding four quarterly periods to customers referred by persons 
located in Illinois, regardless of the location of the customers.  

If all of these conditions are met, the retailer is presumed to be maintaining 
a place of business in Illinois and is required to register and to collect and 
remit Use Tax on all of its sales to Illinois customers.

Example
Example.com sells books to customers throughout the United States and 
the world.  It is based in Montana where its corporate headquarters and 
principal sales office are located.  Example.com keeps its inventory in 
warehouses throughout the United States, though none of the warehouses 
are in Illinois.  Example.com does not employ salespeople in Illinois and 
has no offices in Illinois.  

Example.com has an agreement with Illinoisbased.com, a discount book 
finder located in Illinois. Under the agreement, Illinoisbased.com provides 
a link on its website to the website of Example.com, and Example.com 
compensates Illinoisbased.com based on the sales of books Example.com 
sells to customers that reached its website through the Illinoisbased.com 
link.

Example.com has similar agreements with other Illinois businesses, each 
of which provides a link on its website to Example.com, and/or provides 
promotional codes in its sales materials for Example.com, and each 
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of which is compensated by Example.com based on 
Example.com’s sales to customers who were referred 
through the sales efforts of these Illinois businesses.

During the preceding four quarterly periods, Example.com 
cumulatively sold more than $10,000 worth of books 
to customers referred by all of the Illinois-based 
businesses with which it has agreements, including 
$500 worth of books to customers referred to it through 
Illinoisbased.com. Example.com’s sales to Illinois 
customers were $4,000 during the preceding four quarters 
through referrals and direct sales.	
Under Public Act 98-1089, Example.com is presumed to 
be a retailer maintaining a place of business in Illinois. 
Example.com must register with the Illinois Department 
of Revenue and collect and remit Use Tax on its gross 
receipts on sales to all Illinois customers.  It does not 
matter if total sales to Illinois consumers are less than 
$10,000. Nor does it matter whether the Illinois sales 
were direct sales by Example.com or sales referred to 
Example.com by one of the websites or other referring 
businesses with which Example.com has agreements. 

In the stated example, if the $4,000 in sales to Illinois 
customers had occurred after January 1, 2015, 
Example.com would be responsible for collecting the tax 
on those sales at the time they occurred.

What is Illinois Use Tax and why am I, as 
an out-of-state retailer, responsible for 
collecting it?
The Illinois Use Tax Act imposes a tax on the privilege 
of using in Illinois tangible personal property purchased 
from a retailer.  Although this tax falls on the users of the 
property, the Illinois Use Tax Act requires retailers that 
“maintain[ ] a place of business in this State” to collect the 
tax from purchasers at the time of sale and to remit it to  
the Department.

Does the law change apply to all out-of 
state-retailers?
No. It only applies to entities that meet requirements of the 
law outlined on page one of this bulletin. 

How do I determine whether the law applies 
to me?
Each retailer must identify the location of its referring 
businesses, review its agreements with those businesses 
and examine the total sales referred by those businesses 
located in Illinois to determine whether its cumulative sales 
for the preceding four quarterly periods exceed $10,000, 
regardless of the customer’s locations.  
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What action must I take if I determine 
the law applies to me?
Retailers must register with the Department and 
begin reporting, collecting and remitting Use Tax 
on sales to Illinois customers. Registration and 
reporting and payment of tax should be completed 
electronically using MyTax Illinois, available on our 
website at tax.illinois.gov. For more information, 
contact our Central Registration Division at 
217 785-3707. 

What if I don’t believe the law applies to 
my business?
An entity can rebut the presumption that it is a retailer 
doing business in Illinois by presenting proof to the 
Department of Revenue upon audit that the persons 
in Illinois that referred customers to it had so little 
connection to Illinois that the nexus standards in the 
Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution prohibit 
imposing registration and collection requirements.  
Failure to collect and remit Use Tax if required 
by statute will subject a retailer to liability for the 
uncollected amounts, plus penalties and interest.  

What if I am unable to come into 
compliance by January 1, 2015?
The Department recognizes that there are many 
factors related to determining whether compliance 
is required and that many out-of-state-retailers, 
particularly smaller retailers, may struggle to achieve 
full compliance by the deadline, which coincides with 
the busiest retail selling period.

For the first 30 days following the effective date of 
the law, the Department will base its determination 
of whether enforcement action is warranted against 
an out-of-state retailer subject to registration and 
collection requirements under P.A. 98-1089 on 
whether the out-of-state retailer made reasonable 
and good faith efforts to comply with P.A. 98-1089.  
So long as retailers make reasonable efforts to 
understand the requirements of the law as applied 
to them, and take steps toward compliance, the 
Department will exercise its discretion against 
issuing assessments.  Out-of-state retailers that are 
in full compliance with P.A. 98-1089 no later than 
February 1, 2015, will be presumed to have engaged 
in good faith efforts to comply with the law.


