
Effective August 28, 2007, limousines 
used in interstate commerce may now 
qualify for the rolling stock exemption 
under Illinois Sales and Use Tax.      

How is “limousine” defined?
For the purpose of this bulletin, “lim-
ousine” is defined as any privately 
owned first division vehicle intended to 
be used for transportation of persons 
for-hire when payment is not based on 
a meter charge, but is prearranged for 
a designated destination (625 ILCS 
5/1-139.1.)

What are the requirements for 
a limousine to qualify for the 
rolling stock exemption?
A limousine must carry for hire, per-
sons or property, in interstate com-
merce for either 
	 more than 50 percent of its total 

trips in a 12-month period, or
  more than 50 percent of its total 

miles in a 12-month period.  

What qualifies as trips or miles 
in interstate commerce?
Trips or mileage of limousines for which 
persons or property are carried for hire 
just between points in Illinois may be 
used to qualify for the exemption if the 
journey of the passenger or shipment of 
the property either originates or termi-
nates outside Illinois.

How do I document the 
qualifying method?
At the time of purchase you must identify 
which qualifying method, trips or miles, 
you will use and report that choice to us 
on the required tax return. You must use 
the limousine in a qualifying manner for 
each consecutive 12-month period from 
the initial title or registration date, which-
ever is later. If you do not, the exemption 
will be revoked and applicable tax, pen-
alty, and interest will be due. Once made, 
the qualifying method cannot be changed.  

If you do not identify which qualifying 
method you will use, you will be deemed 
to have chosen the mileage method.  

Note: You do not have to use the same 
qualifying method for each limousine. 

Rolling Stock Exemption Changes

To:
All limousine purchasers who will claim the roll-
ing stock exemption and retailers who must 
document the exemption

For information 
or forms...

	 Call us at:
	 1 800 732-8866 or 

	 217 782-3336

	 Call our TDD
	 (telecommunications device 		
	 for the deaf) at: 
	 1 800 544-5304

	 Write us at:
	 Illinois Department of Revenue 
	 P.O. Box 19044
	 Springfield, IL 62794-9044

	 Visit our web site at: 	 	
	 tax.illinois.gov

	 Call our 24-hour 
	 Forms Order Line at: 
	 1 800 356-6302

This bulletin is written to 

inform you of recent changes; 

it does not replace statutes, 

rules and regulations, or court 

decisions. 
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How do I document the 
exemption?
Sellers of limousines at retail must 
retain a copy of Form RUT-7, Roll-
ing Stock Certification. This form 
is completed by the purchaser. 
Do not send the Form RUT-7 to 
the department. Keep the copy in 
your books and records. We have 
revised the Form RUT-7 to provide 
for the changes. 

Purchasers of limousines must 
maintain sufficient documentation 
in their books and records to 
indicate their qualifying use. This 
includes but is not limited to log 
books, bills of lading, passenger, 
and destination lists. 

   How do I report titled and 
registered sales?
When the item qualifying as rolling 
stock

•	is sold by an Illinois deal-
er, it must be reported on 
Form ST‑556, Sales Tax Transac-
tion Return.

•	is purchased from an out-of-state 
dealer, it must be reported on 
Form RUT‑25, Use Tax Transac-
tion Return.

•	is purchased (or acquired by gift 
or transfer) from an individual or 
other private party, 
on Form RUT‑50, Vehicle 
Use Tax Transaction Return.

How do I report repair and 
replacement parts sales?
Repair and replacement parts sold 
by a retailer must be reported on 
Form ST‑1, Sales and Use Tax 
Return. 

 

 


