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 County School
Facility Occupation 

Tax  

PTAX-1002-8-C (R-08/15) 

There may be imposed in each county, except Cook County, a tax upon all persons 
engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail (retailers’ 
occupation tax) and upon all persons engaged in the business of making sales 
of service, who, as an incident to making those sales of service, transfer tangible 
personal property in that county (service occupation tax). This tax is referred to as 
the County School Facility Occupation Tax. The Illinois Department of Revenue is 
responsible for administering this tax. 

Yes, the county school facility tax does not apply to the sale of:
•	 	 tangible personal property that is titled or registered with an agency of 

this state’s government, (e.g., cars, trucks, boats, motorcycles, trailers, 
snowmobiles, aircraft), or 

•	 	 food for human consumption that is to be consumed off the premises where it 
is sold (other than alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and food which has been 
prepared for immediate consumption) and prescription and non-prescription 
medicines, drugs, medical appliances and insulin, urine testing materials, 
syringes, and needles used by diabetics.

 

The revenue generated is to be used exclusively for “school facility purposes” in 
that county as defined in the statute. 

Yes. In order to be imposed, the County School Facility Occupation Tax must have 
voter approval.

Upon a resolution by school district boards that represent more than 50 percent 
of the student enrollment within the county, the regional superintendent of schools 
must certify the question of whether the tax shall be imposed in the county to the 
proper election authority, who submits the proposition at an election in accordance 
with the general election law. If a majority of the electors voting on the proposition 
vote in favor of it, the tax shall be imposed.

What is the County 
School Facility 

Occupation Tax?

Do any restrictions 
exist on how 

counties can use 
the collections 
from this tax?

Are there kinds of 
sales that are not 
subject to this tax 

and that will not 
generate additional  

revenue?

Is voter approval 
required before 

implementation?

What steps 
must be taken to 

establish this tax?  
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PTAX-1002-8-C (R-08/15) 

County School Facility Occupation Tax

What action is 
required after 

voter approval?

What is the 
deadline for filing 
certified election 

results?

How are the taxes 
distributed?

The County School Facility Occupation Tax may be imposed in ¼ percent 
increments and may not exceed 1 percent. 

The county clerk must file certified election results with the Illinois Department 
of Revenue. The filing must include an abstract of votes and a copy of the exact 
language of the ballot question proposed to the voters.

If the county clerk files the certified election results with the Department on or 
before:
•	 May 1, the tax will take effect July 1 of the same year, or 
•	 October 1, the tax will take effect January 1 of the following year.

Yes. The requirements for discontinuing or changing the rate of tax depend on 
whether the tax was initially imposed before August 23, 2011. Please consult the 
County School Facility Occupation Tax Law for more information.

For taxes imposed effective January 1, the first monthly disbursement will be 
made to the Regional Superintendent of Schools during the following April. For 
taxes imposed effective July 1, the first monthly disbursement will be made to 
the Regional Superintendent of Schools during the following October. Within 30 
days after receiving the disbursements, the Regional Superintendent of Schools 
must disburse the proceeds to each school district in the county, based upon 
the number of each school district’s resident pupils that reside within the county 
collecting the tax, divided by the total number of resident students within the 
county.

•	 County School Facility Occupation Tax will be disbursed separately from other 
taxes authorized for disbursement by the Illinois Department of Revenue. 

•	 Taxpayers are allowed to take a 1.75 percent discount for timely filing and 
payment of these taxes. Any allowable discount that is taken is reflected in the 
distributions that are made to the Regional Superintendents of Schools. 

•	 A two percent administration fee is retained by the Illinois Department of 
Revenue.

County School Facility Occupation Tax Law 
55 ILCS 5/5-1006.7

Can this tax be 
discontinued or 

changed?

What tax rate can 
be imposed?
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Is there other 
general 

information I 
should know?

Statutory 
reference


