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TITLE 86:  REVENUE 

 

PART 660 

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX ACT OF 1995 

 

 

Section 660.24  Books and Records – Retailers 
 

a) Through December 31, 2015, every retailer shall keep complete and accurate records 
of tobacco products held and purchased, and tobacco products sold or otherwise 
disposed of, and shall preserve and keep all invoices, bills of lading, sales records, and 
copies of bills of sale.  Books, records, papers, and documents that are required by the 
Act to be kept shall, at all times during the usual business hours of the day, be subject 
to inspection by the Department or its duly authorized agents and employees.  The 
books, records, papers, and documents for any period with respect to which the 
Department is authorized to issue a notice of tax liability shall be preserved until the 
expiration of that period. [35 ILCS 143/10-36] 

 
b) Beginning January 1, 2016, every retailer, as defined in Section 10-5 of the Act, shall 

keep complete and accurate records of tobacco products held, purchased, sold, or 
otherwise disposed of, and shall preserve and keep all invoices, bills of lading, sales 
records, and copies of bills of sale, returns and other pertinent papers and documents 
relating to the purchase, sale, or disposition of tobacco products.  Those records need 
not be maintained on the licensed premises, but must be maintained in the State of 
Illinois; however, if access is available electronically, the records may be maintained out 
of state.  However, all original invoices or copies thereof covering purchases of tobacco 
products must be retained on the licensed premises for a period of 90 days after the 
purchase, unless the Department has granted a waiver in response to a written request 
in cases in which records are kept at a central business location within the State of 
Illinois or in cases in which records that are available electronically are maintained out 
of state. [35 ILCS 143/10-35(b)]  The Department will grant a written waiver when the 
following requirements are met by the retailer: 

 
1) The retailer submits a letter to the Department containing: 

 
A) the retailer's license number and FEIN; 
B) the address or addresses of the licensed premises where records are 

currently maintained; 
 
C) the address of the out-of-state location where the retailer intends to 

maintain the records;  
 
D) an explanation of the process and system that will enable the Department 

or its duly authorized employees to electronically access the records from 
the licensed premises on demand; and 

 



E) an acknowledgement by the retailer that the Department, upon 30 days 
written notice, may revoke the waiver of the retailer for one or more 
licensed premises if the retailer:  

 
i) fails to provide electronic access in accordance with the 

requirements of the written waiver; 
 

ii) transfers or sells the licensed premises to another person; or 
 
iii) changes the process or system for providing access to the records 

electronically. 
 

2) The Department is given access electronically to accurate records of tobacco 
products held, purchased, sold or otherwise disposed of; invoices; bills of lading; 
sales records; and copies of bills of sale, returns and other pertinent papers and 
documents relating to the purchase, sale or disposition of tobacco products kept 
at the licensed premises in the normal course of business at the time of the 
request. 

 
3) The Department has tested the process and system from the licensed premises 

and verified that the Department and its duly authorized employees have access 
electronically to the required records from the licensed premises on demand. 

 
c) Books, records, papers, and documents that are required by the Act to be kept shall, at 

all times during the usual business hours of the day, be subject to inspection by the 
Department or its duly authorized agents and employees.  The books, records, papers, 
and documents for any period with respect to which the Department is authorized to 
issue a notice of tax liability shall be preserved until the expiration of that period. [5 
ILCS 143/10-35(c)]  

 
(Source:  Added at 40 Ill. Reg. 10954, effective July 29, 2016) 


