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TITLE 86: REVENUE

PART 450
CIGARETTE USE TAX ACT

Section 450.130 Protest Procedures

a)

b)

Any person aggrieved by any decision of the Department under Section 4 of the Act
(denial of distributor's license) may, within 20 days after notice of the decision, file a
written protest and request a hearing. (See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 200, Practice and
Procedure for Hearing Before the lIllinois Department of Revenue.) Upon receiving a
written request for a hearing, the Department shall give notice to the person requesting
the hearing of the time and place fixed for the hearing and shall hold a hearing in
conformity with the provisions of the Act and then issue its final administrative decision in
the matter to that person. In the absence of a written protest and request for a hearing
within 20 days, the Department's decision shall become final without any further
determination being made or notice given. (Section 4 of the Act)

Any distributor aggrieved by any decision of the Department under Section 6 of the Act
(revocation or suspension of license) may, within 20 days after notice of the decision, file
a written protest and request a hearing. (See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 200, Practice and
Procedure for Hearing Before the Illinois Department of Revenue.) Upon receiving a
written request for a hearing, the Department shall give notice in writing to the distributor
requesting the hearing that contains a statement of the charges preferred against the
distributor and that states the time and place fixed for the hearing. The Department shall
hold the hearing in conformity with the provisions of the Act and then issue its final
administrative decision in the matter to the distributor. In the absence of a written
protest and request for a hearing within 20 days, the Department's decision shall become
final without any further determination being made or notice given. (Section 6 of the Act)

Any person aggrieved by a decision of the Department under Section 13 or 13a of the
Act (examination and correction of returns and failure to file a return) may, within 60
days after a notice of tax liability, file a written protest and request a hearing (see 86 III.
Adm. Code 200, Practice and Procedure for Hearings Before the lllinois Department of
Revenue). Upon receiving a written request for a hearing, the Department shall give
notice in writing to the distributor that states the time and place fixed for the hearing.
The Department shall hold the hearing in conformity with the provisions of the Act and
then issue its final administrative decision in the matter to the distributor. In the
absence of a written protest and request for a hearing within 60 days after issuance of a
notice of tax liability, the notice of tax liability shall become final without any further
determination being made or notice given. (Section 13 and 13a of the Act)

(Source: Amended 27 Ill. Reg. 1647, effective January 15, 2003)






