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Under the Service Occupation Tax Act, servicemen are taxed on tangible personal property 
transferred incident to sales of service.    See 86 Ill. Adm. Code Part 140.    (This is a GIL.) 

 
 
 
 
      July 12, 2007 
 
 
 
 
Dear Xxxxx: 
 

This letter is in response to your letter dated December 27, 2006, in which you request 
information.   We apologize for the delay in responding to your inquiry.   The Department issues two 
types of letter rulings.   Private Letter Rulings (“PLRs”) are issued by the Department in response to 
specific taxpayer inquiries concerning the application of a tax statute or rule to a particular fact 
situation.  A PLR is binding on the Department, but only as to the taxpayer who is the subject of the 
request for ruling and only to the extent the facts recited in the PLR are correct and complete.    
Persons seeking PLRs must comply with the procedures for PLRs found in the Department’s 
regulations at 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.110.  The purpose of a General Information Letter (“GIL”) is to 
direct taxpayers to Department regulations or other sources of information regarding the topic about 
which they have inquired.   A GIL is not a statement of Department policy and is not binding on the 
Department.   See 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.120.  You may access our website at www.ILTAX.com to 
review regulations, letter rulings and other types of information relevant to your inquiry.   
 

The nature of your inquiry and the information you have provided require that we respond with 
a GIL.  In your letter you have stated and made inquiry as follows: 

 
I have a client that provides service to Automobile Dealerships in the State of Illinois. 
This client basically provides a service, and is not selling any taxable parts or 
accessories.  
 
The Auto Dealerships will furnish a used slightly disfigured new car to my client for 
minor restoration and ‘detailing’. The restoration and detailing of the auto includes the 
removal of small dents and surface imperfections, plus labor to sand and buff the 
exterior of the auto to restore the surface to original condition.  
 
On several occasions, exterior components are purchased to replace damaged or 
missing parts. These parts are purchased either locally, and sales taxes and [sic] 
included and paid with these purchases, or they are bought from out-of-state sources, 
where no sales taxes are charged. 
 
My client will provide a firm quotation to the dealership for the total job to be performed. 
This would include the small components to be included in the completion of the job, as 
well as the labor incurred.  
 
Our main concern is, at what point does my client charge sales tax; if the job is quoted 
as a finished service and sales tax has been charged for the small components used, 



do we have to charge sales tax also, or should we obtain a resale certificate and 
purchase the componentry without sales tax.  
 
We understand that we are going to file an ST-1 for sales tax on the out-of-state 
purchases on an annual basis.  
 
We estimate the annual sales tax due out-of-state purchases will approximate $200.00 
to $250.00.  
 
At your earliest convenience, would you please provide the guidelines relative to our 
present situation.  

 
 
DEPARTMENT’S RESPONSE: 

 
Based on the description in your letter, your client would appear to be engaged in a service 

occupation.    Illinois Retailers' Occupation and Use Taxes do not apply to sales of service that do not 
involve the transfer of tangible personal property to customers.  However, if tangible personal 
property is transferred incident to sales of service, this will result in either Service Occupation Tax 
liability or Use Tax liability for the servicemen depending upon his activities.   For your general 
information see of 86 Ill. Adm. Code 140.101 through 140.109 regarding sales of service and Service 
Occupation Tax.    

 
Under the Service Occupation Tax Act, businesses providing services (i.e. servicemen) are 

taxed on tangible personal property transferred as an incident to sales of service.   See 86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 140.101.   The purchase of tangible personal property that is transferred to the service 
customer may result in either Service Occupation Tax liability or Use Tax liability for the servicemen 
depending upon his activities.  The serviceman’s liability may be calculated in one of four ways:  

 
(1) separately stated selling price of tangible personal property transferred incident to service;  
 
(2) 50% of the servicemen's entire bill;  

 
(3) Service Occupation Tax on the servicemen's cost price if the servicemen are registered de 

minimis servicemen; or  
 

(4) Use Tax on the servicemen's cost price if the servicemen are de minimis and are not 
otherwise required to be registered under Section 2a of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act. 

 
Using the first method, servicemen may separately state the selling price of each item 

transferred as a result of the sale of service.   The tax is then calculated on the separately stated 
selling price of the tangible personal property transferred.  If the servicemen do not separately state 
the selling price of the tangible personal property transferred, they must use 50% of the entire bill to 
the service customer as the tax base. Both of the above methods provide that in no event may the tax 
base be less than the servicemen's cost price of the tangible personal property transferred.   See 86 
Ill. Adm. Code 140.106. 

 
The third way servicemen may account for their tax liability only applies to de minimis 

servicemen who have either chosen to be registered or are required to be registered because they 
incur Retailers' Occupation Tax liability with respect to a portion of their business. See 86 Ill. Adm. 
Code 140.109.  Servicemen may qualify as de minimis if they determine that the annual aggregate 
cost price of tangible personal property transferred as an incident of the sale of service is less than 



35% of the total annual gross receipts from service transactions (75% in the case of pharmacists and 
persons engaged in graphics arts production). Servicemen no longer have the option of determining 
whether they are de minimis using a transaction-by-transaction basis.   Registered de minimis 
servicemen are authorized to pay Service Occupation Tax (which includes local taxes) based upon 
their cost price of tangible personal property transferred incident to the sale of service.   Such 
servicemen should give suppliers resale certificates and remit Service Occupation Tax using the 
Service Occupation Tax rates for their locations.   Such servicemen also collect a corresponding 
amount of Service Use Tax from their customers, absent an exemption. 

 
The final method of determining tax liability may be used by de minimis servicemen that are 

not otherwise required to be registered under Section 2a of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act.   Such 
de minimis servicemen handle their tax liability by paying Use Tax to their suppliers.   If their suppliers 
are not registered to collect and remit tax, the servicemen must register, self-assess and remit Use 
Tax to the Department.  The servicemen are considered to be the end-users of the tangible personal 
property transferred incident to service.   Consequently, they are not authorized to collect a "tax" from 
the service customers. See 86 Ill. Adm. Code 140.108. 
 

It appears from the description in your letter of the services your client provides that it may 
qualify under the fourth method described above as long as it does not make any retail sales.   

 
I hope this information is helpful.  If you require additional information, please visit our website 

at www.ILTAX.com or contact the Department’s Taxpayer Information Division at (217) 782-3336.   If 
you are not under audit and you wish to obtain a binding PLR regarding your factual situation, please 
submit a request conforming to the requirements of 2 Ill. Adm. Code 1200.110 (b). 
 

Very truly yours,  
 
 
 

Terry D. Charlton 
Senior Counsel, Sales & Excise Taxes 

 
TDC:msk 
 


