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Synopsis: 

 The Department of Revenue (“Department”) issued a Notice of Tax Liability (“NTL”) to 

ABC Business (“taxpayer”) that assessed tax, penalty and interest on the use of an aircraft 

pursuant to the Use Tax Act (35 ILCS 105/1 et seq.).  The taxpayer filed a timely protest to the 

NTL.  The parties filed a Stipulation of Facts, with attached exhibits, and subsequent briefs.  The 

parties agreed to have the case decided based on the documents that were filed.  In its brief, the 

taxpayer raised the following issues:  (1) whether the members of the taxpayer are the owners of 

the aircraft for use tax purposes and the nonresident exemption bars imposition of the tax; (2) 

whether the Department miscalculated the depreciation allowance; and (3) whether the taxpayer 



should be allowed a credit for use taxes paid to the State of Colorado.  After reviewing all of the 

evidence presented, it is recommended that this matter be resolved in favor of the Department. 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

1. The taxpayer is a limited liability company organized under the laws of the State of 

Colorado on or about December 11, 2002.  (Stip. #1) 

2. Since its organization, the taxpayer has been treated as a disregarded entity for federal 

and state income tax purposes.  (Stip. #2) 

3. On or about December 11, 2002, the taxpayer entered into a written Piston Aircraft 

Purchase Agreement (“Purchase Agreement”) with XYZ Aviation, Inc. (“XYZ 

Aviation”) to purchase a new model T182T Cessna Aircraft Company aircraft bearing 

serial number XXXX and U.S. Registration Number XXX (“aircraft”).  (Stip. #3; Ex. A) 

4. On or about December 20, 2002, the taxpayer purchased the aircraft from XYZ Aviation 

in Broomfield, Colorado for $315,200.  (Stip. #4; Ex. B) 

5. The taxpayer paid for the aircraft with three checks.  The total amount paid by check was 

$315,200.  (Stip. #5; Ex. C) 

6. On or about December 20, 2002, John Doe, a member of the taxpayer, on behalf of the 

taxpayer, signed a written agreement with XYZ Aviation appointing XYZ Aviation to 

make the aircraft available for rental on a short-term basis (“Rental Agreement”).  (Stip. 

#6; Ex. D) 

7. Beginning on December 20, 2002, the taxpayer based the aircraft at Jefferson County 

Airport a/k/a Rocky Mountain Metropolitan Airport, Broomfield, Colorado.  (Stip. #7) 



8. Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes §39-26-713(1)(a), the State of Colorado permits 

taxpayers to remit sales tax on lease payments in lieu of paying sales or use tax on the 

purchase of an aircraft.  (Stip. #8; Ex. E) 

9. Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes §39-26-713(1)(a), the taxpayer did not pay sales 

or use tax on the purchase of the aircraft.  (Stip. #9) 

10. To date, the taxpayer has been unable to locate documents substantiating the payment of 

sales tax (on the lease payments) paid to the State of Colorado.  The Colorado 

Department of Revenue has refused to provide any information regarding the same, 

despite being served with a Subpoena issued by the Office of Administrative Hearings.  

(Stip. #10; Ex. F) 

11. The taxpayer relocated the aircraft to Illinois on or about September 21, 2003 and leased 

the aircraft to LMN School, a flight school located at Schaumburg Regional Airport, 

Schaumburg, Illinois.  (Stip. #11) 

12. The taxpayer has not paid any sales or use taxes to the State of Illinois with respect to the 

aircraft.  (Stip. #12) 

13. The taxpayer has not filed a sales or use tax return with respect to the aircraft in Illinois.  

(Stip. #13) 

14. On or about July 9, 2008, the Illinois Department of Revenue sent the taxpayer notice 

that it had initiated an audit of the aircraft.  (Stip. #14) 

15. As a result of the audit, the Department of Revenue sent the taxpayer a Notice of Tax 

Liability for Form EDA-95 dated November 18, 2009 with the following balances: 

Audit Tax   $18,614.00 
Late Payment Penalty         250.00 
Interest                  6,255.99 
Balance   $25,119.99  (Stip. #15) 



 
16. On January 15, 2010, the taxpayer filed a request for an administrative hearing initiating 

the above-captioned proceeding.  (Stip. #16; Ex. G) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Under the Use Tax Act (“Act”) Illinois imposes a tax upon the privilege of using in 

Illinois tangible personal property purchased at retail from a retailer.  35 ILCS 105/3.  The word 

“use” means “the exercise by any person of any right or power over tangible personal property 

incident to the ownership of that property ….”  35 ILCS 105/2.   Section 12 of the Act 

incorporates by reference section 5 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act (“ROTA”) (35 ILCS 

120/1 et seq.), which provides that if the taxpayer fails to file a return, the Department shall 

determine the amount of tax due “according to its best judgment and information.”  35 ILCS 

105/12; 120/5.  A certified copy of the Department’s determination of the amount of tax due 

"shall, without further proof, be admitted into evidence… and shall be prima facie proof of the 

correctness of the amount of tax due, as shown therein."  Id.   

Once the Department has established its prima facie case, the burden shifts to the 

taxpayer to overcome this presumption of validity.  Clark Oil & Refining Corp. v. Johnson, 154 

Ill. App. 3d 773, 783 (1st Dist. 1987).  To prove its case, a taxpayer must present more than 

testimony denying the Department's assessment.  Sprague v. Johnson, 195 Ill. App. 3d 798, 804 

(4th Dist. 1990).  The taxpayer must present sufficient documentary evidence to support its claim.  

Id.  In addition, tax exemption provisions must be strictly construed in favor of taxation.  Quad 

Cities Open, Inc. v. City of Silvis, 208 Ill. 2d 498, 507 (2004); Heller v. Fergus Ford, Inc., 59 Ill. 

2d 576, 579 (1975).  The party claiming the exemption must prove by clear and convincing 

evidence that it is entitled to the exemption.  Heller, at 579; Provena Covenant Medical Center v. 



Department of Revenue, 236 Ill. 2d 368, 388 (2010).  All doubts are resolved in favor of 

taxation.  Id. 

Whether the Members are the Owners 
 and the Nonresident Exemption Applies 

 
Since its organization on December 11, 2002, the taxpayer has been treated as a 

disregarded entity for federal and state income tax purposes.  (Stip. #2)  The taxable activities of 

a disregarded entity “are treated in the same manner as a sole proprietorship, branch, or division 

of the owner.”  26 CFR §301.7701-2(a); see also 86 Ill. Admin. Code §100.9750.  As a 

disregarded entity, the activities of the taxpayer are treated as the activities of its individual 

members for income tax purposes.  For example, the State of Illinois permits the members of a 

disregarded entity to pay personal income taxes based on their federal adjusted gross income, 

which is generally increased and reduced by their entity’s income and expenses.  The taxpayer 

believes that if the Department imposes use tax in this case, it will result in a patent contradiction 

because the payment of the use tax will be treated as a payment made by the taxpayer’s members 

when they file their personal income tax returns. 

The taxpayer also argues that the taxpayer is exempt from the use tax because its 

members qualify for the nonresident exemption in the first paragraph of section 3-70 of the Act.  

Section 3-70 provides as follows: 

Property acquired by nonresident. The tax imposed by this Act does not apply to 
the use, in this State, of tangible personal property that is acquired outside this 
State by a nonresident individual who then brings the property to this State for use 
here and who has used the property outside this State for at least 3 months before 
bringing the property to this State. 
 
Where a business that is not operated in Illinois, but is operated in another State, 
is moved to Illinois or opens an office, plant, or other business facility in Illinois, 
that business shall not be taxed on its use, in Illinois, of used tangible personal 
property, other than items of tangible personal property that must be titled or 
registered with the State of Illinois or whose registration with the United States 



Government must be filed with the State of Illinois, that the business bought 
outside Illinois and used outside Illinois in the operation of the business for at 
least 3 months before moving the used property to Illinois for use in this State. 
 
‘Acquired outside this State’, whenever used in this Act, in addition to its usual 
and popular meaning, also means the delivery, outside Illinois, of tangible 
personal property that is purchased in this State and delivered from a point in this 
State to a point of delivery outside this State. 35 ILCS 105/3-70. 

 
The taxpayer contends that because (1) the aircraft should be treated as the property of the 

taxpayer’s members for use tax purposes; (2) the members were Colorado residents at the time 

the aircraft was purchased; and (3) the members used the aircraft for more than 3 months before 

relocating it to Illinois on September 21, 2003, the use tax should not apply. 

 In addition, the taxpayer maintains that the case of JB4 Air, LLC v. Department of 

Revenue, 388 Ill. App. 3d 970 (2nd Dist. 2009) does not apply to this case.  In JB4 Air, LLC, a 

Delaware limited liability company purchased an aircraft that remained in Wisconsin for 

approximately 12 months before it was relocated to Illinois.  The taxpayer argued that it qualified 

for the nonresident exemption under section 3-70 because the term “individual” in the first 

paragraph included limited liability companies.  The taxpayer also argued that a “substance over 

form” analysis should apply and JB4 would be exempt from use taxes because its sole member 

was the substantive owner of the aircraft.  The court rejected both arguments.  The court found 

that the term “individual” in section 3-70 does not include limited liability companies because 

the two terms are used separately and distinctly throughout the Use Tax Act, and the second 

paragraph of section 3-70 would be rendered ineffective.  Id. at 974-975.  Also, the court found 

that the “substance over form” doctrine did not apply because the identity of the purchaser was 

undisputed, and the doctrine is not used to reclassify an entity that purchased the property.  Id. at 

976-977.  The taxpayer in the present case argues that JB4 Air, LLC does not apply because the 

court did not consider whether the taxpayer was a disregarded entity. 



 The Department argues that no legal requirement exists to treat the taxpayer as a 

disregarded entity.  The Department believes that the taxpayer has not cited any statute or case 

law that requires the Department, for sales tax purposes, to treat the taxpayer as a disregarded 

entity because there is no such requirement.  The Department states that although there are no 

cases in Illinois dealing with this question, a Michigan appellate court in Kmart Michigan 

Property Services, LLC v. Department of Treasury, 283 Mich. App. 647 (2009) found that filing 

as a disregarded entity for federal income tax purposes does not require a single member LLC to 

be a disregarded entity for purposes of Michigan’s Single Business Tax Act (“SBTA”) (MCL 

208.1 et seq.).  The court found that nothing in the SBTA or the federal regulations require an 

entity to be consistent in its self-classification with respect to its state and federal tax filings for a 

given year.1 

 The Department also argues that the stipulations are silent as to whether any member of 

the taxpayer personally flew the aircraft during the times that it was being leased.  Therefore, 

there is a presumption that the use of the aircraft was limited to the taxpayer.  The Department 

contends that because the aircraft was used for business purposes in both Colorado and Illinois, 

the second paragraph of section 3-70 applies in this case.  Under the second paragraph, the 

aircraft “must be titled or registered with the State of Illinois” or the “registration with the United 

States Government must be filed with the State of Illinois.”  35 ILCS 105/3-70; see also 620 

ILCS 5/42(1) (federal licenses, certificates or permits of civil aircrafts must be registered every 2 

years).  The Department argues that although the aircraft was used by a business that was not 

operated in Illinois for a period of at least 3 months, because the aircraft must be registered with 

the State of Illinois, the exemption under paragraph 2 of section 3-70 does not apply. 

                                                 
1 Under the Illinois Income Tax Act, if a taxpayer is a disregarded entity for federal income tax purposes, then the 
taxpayer is also a disregarded entity for Illinois income tax purposes.  See 35 ILCS 5/1501(a)(4); 86 Ill. Admin. 
Code §100.9750(b)(1). 



 As the Department has stated, nothing in the Use Tax Act or case law requires that an 

LLC that is treated as a disregarded entity for income tax purposes must be treated as a 

disregarded entity for use tax purposes.  Contrary to the taxpayer’s argument concerning the 

reporting of the use tax, if the taxpayer owes use tax on an aircraft that was purchased from an 

out-of-state retailer, then the taxpayer cannot report that use tax on a Form IL-1040.  The 

taxpayer must file Form RUT-25 (Vehicle Use Tax Transaction Return), which is filed by both 

individuals and businesses.2  See 86 Ill. Admin. Code §150.705(e), (i). 

 Although the specific issue concerning disregarded entities was not raised in JB4 Air, 

LLC, the taxpayer’s arguments are similar to those raised in that case.  The taxpayer argues, 

essentially, that the aircraft should be treated as property of the LLC’s individual members so 

that the nonresident exemption in the first paragraph of section 3-70 would apply.  This argument 

was rejected by the court in JB4 Air, LLC.  The court clearly found that for use tax purposes, the 

property of a single-member LLC is not considered property of an individual.  In the present 

case, because nothing requires treating an LLC as a disregarded entity for use tax purposes and 

the property of an LLC is not considered to be the property of an individual, the first paragraph 

of section 3-70 does not apply.  Instead, the second paragraph of section 3-70 applies, and 

because an aircraft must be titled or registered with the State of Illinois, the exemption for 

tangible personal property that is used by a business for at least 3 months before moving the 

property to Illinois also does not apply.  Therefore, use tax must be assessed on the aircraft. 

Whether the Department Miscalculated 
the Depreciation Allowance 

 

                                                 
2 If an individual purchases tangible personal property (other than vehicles) and the amount of use tax owed is more 
than $600, then the amount cannot be reported on Form IL-1040.  Form ST-44 (Illinois Use Tax Return) must be 
filed.  See Instructions 2010 Form IL-1040, line 22. 



The taxpayer argues that the depreciation allowed on the aircraft should be 2% per month 

for 9 months, which is the allowable depreciation for a motor vehicle.  Ex. H, p. 10; Ill. 

Aircraft/Watercraft and Vehicle Tax Information Guide (Dec. 2008), pp. 6, 13.  The auditor’s 

work papers state that there is “nothing in the regulations for depreciation of aircraft,” and the 

Department merely uses an “allowance of 1% per month for aircraft and watercraft.”3  Ex. H, pp. 

2, 10.  The auditor, however, “checked the class life for an aircraft for federal purposes,” and 

found it to be 6 years.  Ex. H, p. 2.  The auditor then used straight line depreciation that resulted 

in a rate of 1.39% per month.  That rate was multiplied by 9 months, which totaled 12.51%.  Id.  

The auditor multiplied 12.51% by the purchase price, $315,200, which resulted in the 

depreciation amount of $39,431.52.  Id.   

The taxpayer contends that the Department has no basis for denying depreciation of 2% 

per month for an aircraft.4  The aircraft should be allowed 2% because that is what the 

Department allows for motor vehicles, and the aircraft fits within the Department’s definition of 

“motor vehicle” in that it is self-propelled and not operated upon rails.  Ill. Aircraft/Watercraft 

and Vehicle Tax Information Guide (Dec. 2008), p. 6. 

The taxpayer also contends that if 2% is not allowed, then at the very least the taxpayer 

should be allowed 1.67% per month because that is the rate that is allowed for aircrafts under 

federal guidelines.5  The taxpayer states that although the auditor claimed to follow federal 

guidelines, the auditor’s depreciation does not comport with federal guidelines.  The IRS 

requires taxpayers to use the Modified Accelerated Cost Recovery System (“MACRS”) to 

depreciate aircrafts.  IRS Pub. 946 (March 11, 2010), p. 8.  The taxpayer claims that under 

MACRS, airplanes are asset class 00.21 and have a recovery period of 5 years.  The taxpayer 

                                                 
3 At the rate of 1% per month, the class life would be 8 years and 4 months. 
4 At the rate of 2% per month, the class life would be 4 years and 2 months. 
5 At the rate of 1.67% per month, the class life would be 5 years. 



argues that the class life used by the Department (6 years) is applicable only as an exception to 

depreciation under MACRS, which is known as the Alternative Depreciation System (“ADS”).  

Id. at 35, 103.  The taxpayer believes that the Department applied the ADS class life without 

noting why that class life applies.  Therefore, the taxpayer claims that at the very least, if the 2% 

rate is not applied, then the 1.67% rate should apply.  The taxpayer also argues that the 1.67% 

should apply because that would be the rate used for automobiles under MACRS. 

Under the federal guidelines for depreciating property for federal income tax purposes, 

most property must be depreciated using MACRS.  Id. at 8.  MACRS consists of two 

depreciation systems, the General Depreciation System (“GDS”) and the Alternative 

Depreciation System (“ADS”).  Id. at 34.  These two systems provide different methods and 

“recovery periods” to use in figuring depreciation deductions.6  Id.  Generally, a taxpayer must 

use GDS unless the taxpayer is specifically required by law to use ADS, or the taxpayer elects to 

use ADS.  Id.  A taxpayer must use ADS for certain types of property, one of which is the 

following:  “listed property” used 50% or less in a qualified business use.7  Id.   

Under the federal guidelines, airplanes are included in asset class 00.21 and have a “class 

life” of 6 years.8  Id. at 103.  The guidelines also show that the recovery period for airplanes is 5 

years for the GDS method and 6 years for the ADS method.  Id.  In the present case, as the 

auditor indicated, she used the “class life for an aircraft for federal purposes,” which is 6 years.  

Ex. H, p. 2.  The auditor’s depreciation method, therefore, comports with federal guidelines. 

As previously stated, the federal guidelines are used for depreciating property for federal 

income tax purposes.  Nothing requires an auditor to use the federal guidelines to determine 

                                                 
6 A “recovery period” is the period of time, in years, over which the property is depreciated using the MACRS 
method.  Id. at 41, 103. 
7 “Listed property” includes airplanes.  Id. at 58-59. 
8 “Class life” is a period of time, in years, that is used to determine the class in which the property is put.  Id. at 113.  
It is also used to determine the recovery period for most types of property.  Id.   



depreciation for Illinois use tax purposes.  The auditor indicated that the Department usually uses 

a rate of 1% per month for depreciating airplanes for use tax purposes.  By using the federal class 

life of 6 years, the auditor increased the rate to 1.39%.  The taxpayer is now arguing that the 

recovery period under the GDS method of 5 years should be used, resulting in a rate of 1.67%.  

As previously mentioned, the recovery period is the time over which the property is depreciated 

using the MACRS method, but nothing requires the auditor to use that recovery period or that 

method to depreciate the aircraft.  In addition, the recovery period under the ADS method is 6 

years, which is the same as the class life.  The ADS method must be used for airplanes that are 

used 50% or less in a qualified business use.  It is possible that the taxpayer’s aircraft falls under 

this category.  Nevertheless, the auditor followed the federal guidelines for determining the class 

life, and nothing warrants a change in the rate to 1.67%. 

Furthermore, nothing warrants using the rate of 2%.  The Department allows 2% per 

month for motor vehicles.  86 Ill. Admin. Code §150.110(a); Ill. Aircraft/Watercraft and Vehicle 

Tax Information Guide (Dec. 2008), pp. 6, 13.  The Department’s regulation further states as 

follows: 

Effective January 1, 1968, as to tangible personal property other than motor 
vehicles, a “reasonable allowance for depreciation” is deemed by the Department 
to be the amount of depreciation determined by use of the straight line method of 
depreciation.  86 Ill. Admin. Code §150.110(c). 
 

As discussed previously, the Department determined a reasonable allowance for depreciation.  

Although the taxpayer argues that the aircraft fits within the Department’s definition of “motor 

vehicle” because it is self-propelled and not operated upon rails (Ill. Aircraft/Watercraft and 

Vehicle Tax Information Guide (Dec. 2008), p. 6), the Department’s Information Guide has 

separate definitions for aircrafts and motor vehicles.  Id. at 5, 6.  The term “aircraft” includes 

“airplanes, helicopters, hot-air balloons, gliders, blimps, dirigibles, seaplanes, and anything else 



defined as ‘aircraft’ by the Federal Aviation Administration.”  Id. at 5.  Nothing in the 

Information Guide indicates that an aircraft should be treated the same as a motor vehicle or that 

the depreciation allowed for motor vehicles should be used for aircrafts. 

Whether the Taxpayer Should be Allowed a Credit 
for Use Taxes Paid to the State of Colorado 

 
 The taxpayer argues that it should be allowed a credit for sales taxes paid to the State of 

Colorado pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes §39-26-713(1)(a).  The taxpayer refers to the 

following section of the Illinois Use Tax Act: 

Multistate exemption.  To prevent actual or likely multistate taxation, the tax 
imposed by this Act does not apply to the use of tangible personal property in this 
State under the following circumstances: … 
 
(d) The use, in this State, of tangible personal property that is acquired outside 
this State and caused to be brought into this State by a person who has already 
paid a tax in another State in respect to the sale, purchase, or use of that property, 
to the extent of the amount of the tax properly due and paid in the other State….9  
35 ILCS 105/3-55 (d). 
 

The taxpayer states that Colorado permits its taxpayers to remit sales tax on lease payments in 

lieu of paying sales or use tax on the purchase of an aircraft.  Colo. Rev. Stat. §39-26-713(1)(a).  

Upon purchasing the aircraft, the taxpayer signed a Rental Agreement with XYZ Aviation that 

appointed XYZ Aviation to make the aircraft available for rental on a short-term basis.  Stip. #6; 

Ex. D.  The taxpayer notes that the State of Colorado refused to respond to the taxpayer’s 

subpoena regarding sales taxes remitted by XYZ Aviation on account of the rental of the aircraft, 

and the taxpayer claims that it cannot otherwise obtain records of the sales tax paid.  Stip. #10.  

The taxpayer contends that it should be allowed a credit for sales taxes remitted to the State of 

Colorado. 

                                                 
9 The term “person” includes a limited liability company.  35 ILCS 105/2. 



 The Department argues that the taxpayer has failed to provide any documentary proof 

that it paid any tax to the State of Colorado or that tax was paid on its behalf with respect to the 

purchase of the aircraft.  The Department states that section 12 of the Act incorporates by 

reference section 7 of the ROTA, which states in relevant part as follows: 

It shall be presumed that all sales of tangible personal property are subject to tax 
under this Act until the contrary is established, and the burden of proving that a 
transaction is not taxable hereunder shall be upon the person who would be 
required to remit the tax to the Department if such transaction is taxable.  35 ILCS 
120/7. 
 

The Department also states that mere testimony without corroboration by evidence identified 

with the taxpayer’s books and records is insufficient to rebut this presumption. A.R. Barnes & 

Co. v. Department of Revenue, 173 Ill. App. 3d 826, 835 (1st Dist. 1988).  Therefore, because the 

taxpayer has failed to provide documentary proof that the tax was paid, the taxpayer is not 

entitled to credit. 

 As the taxpayer indicated, under Colorado law, “[t]he department of revenue may permit 

a lessor of tangible personal property leased for a period of three years or less to acquire the 

property free of sales or use tax if the lessor agrees to collect sales tax on all lease payments 

received on the property.”  Colo. Rev. Stat. §39-26-713(1)(a); Ex. E.  Although the taxpayer 

signed a Rental Agreement with XYZ Aviation so that XYZ Aviation could make the aircraft 

available for rental on a short-term basis, the Rental Agreement states that the “[o]wner 

[taxpayer] shall pay all taxes, assessments, and charges attributable to the ownership of the 

Aircraft.”  Ex. D, p. 3.  Colorado did not respond to the taxpayer’s subpoena regarding sales 

taxes remitted by XYZ Aviation because those records are confidential.  Ex. F, p. 8.  Under the 

Rental Agreement, however, XYZ Aviation was not responsible for paying the taxes.  Because 

the taxpayer was required to make the payments, if the taxpayer actually did make the payments, 



then the taxpayer should have documents to verify that.  As the Department has indicated, 

without documentary evidence showing that taxes were paid, the credit cannot be given. 

Recommendation: 

 For the foregoing reasons, it is recommended that the NTL be upheld. 

 
    
   Linda Olivero 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 
Enter:  August 26, 2011 
 


