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MF 11-03 
Tax Type: Motor Fuel 
Issue:  Denial Of Registration Number 

 
STATE OF ILLINOIS 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 
 
 
THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE   
OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS         
 
 v.       Docket # 10-ST-0273 
        Letter ID: L1440908480 
JOHN DOE       Registration Denial 
         
               Taxpayer 
  
 

RECOMMENDATION FOR DISPOSITION 
 
 
Appearances:  George Foster, Special Assistant Attorney General, for the Department of 
Revenue of the State of Illinois; John Doe, pro se 
 
Synopsis: 

 The Department of Revenue (“Department”) issued to John Doe (“taxpayer”) a 

Taxpayer Notification Registration Denial, which stated that his registration for motor 

fuel use tax was denied because the Department’s records indicate that he has an 

outstanding liability.  The taxpayer timely protested the Denial, and an evidentiary 

hearing was held.1  After reviewing the record, it is recommended that this matter be 

resolved in favor of the Department. 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT: 

                                                 
1 Administrative Law Judge Kenneth Galvin presided over the hearing.  Witness credibility is not an issue 
in this matter. 
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1. On June 30, 2010, the Department issued a Taxpayer Notification Registration 

Denial (“Denial”) to the taxpayer for his motor fuel use tax registration.  The 

Denial was admitted into evidence under the Director’s Certificate of Records.  

(Dept. Ex. #1) 

2. The Denial indicates that the taxpayer owes $524.15 for his individual income 

taxes and $4,263.78 for withholding income taxes for a corporation, ABC 

Business (“corporation”).  (Dept. Ex. #1) 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW: 

Section 2505-380 of Article 2505 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois 

provides as follows: 

Revocation of or refusal to issue a certificate of registration, permit, or 
license.  The Department has the power to refuse to issue or, after notice 
and an opportunity for a hearing, to revoke a certificate of registration, 
permit, or license issued or authorized to be issued by the Department if 
the applicant for or holder of the certificate of registration, permit, or 
license fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, fee, penalty, or interest 
shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, fee, penalty, 
or interest, as required by the tax or fee Act under which the certificate of 
registration, permit, or license is required or any other tax or fee Act 
administered by the Department…. 20 ILCS 2505/2505-380. 
 

The Department’s regulation concerning motor fuel use tax licenses contains a similar 

provision: 

Neither a license or decals shall be issued to any person who fails to file a 
return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest for a filed return, or to pay any 
final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by the Law, or as 
required by any other tax Act administered by the Department.  86 Ill. 
Admin. Code §500.305(c). 
 

Section 21 of the Motor Fuel Tax Law (35 ILCS 505/1 et seq.) incorporates by reference 

sections 4 and 5 of the Retailers' Occupation Tax Act (35 ILCS 120/1 et seq.), which 

provide that the Department's determination is prima facie correct.  35 ILCS 505/21; 
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120/4, 5.  Once the Department has established its prima facie case, the burden shifts to 

the taxpayer to prove that the Department’s determination is incorrect.  Mel-Park Drugs, 

Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 218 Ill. App. 3d 203, 217 (1st Dist. 1991); A.R. Barnes & 

Company v. Department of Revenue, 173 Ill. App. 3d 826, 832 (1st Dist. 1988); Lakeland 

Construction Co., Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 62 Ill. App. 3d 1036, 1039 (2nd Dist. 

1978).  To prove his case, a taxpayer must present more than his testimony denying the 

Department's assessment.  Id.; Barnes, at 835; Lakeland, at 1040.  The taxpayer must 

present sufficient documentary evidence to support his claim.  Id. 

The Department's prima facie case was established when the certified copy of the 

Denial was admitted into evidence.  In response, the taxpayer contends that the individual 

income tax liability shown on the Denial has been paid.  With respect to the liability 

owed by the corporation, the taxpayer states that the corporation was a truck repair shop, 

and the taxpayer worked as the foreman there.  The taxpayer claims that he only took 

care of trucks, did not have access to the checkbook, did not have signature authority for 

the account, and was not in charge of the payroll.  He said he was not responsible for 

paying the withholding taxes.  The taxpayer also said that he had one partner who ran the 

business, and after the taxpayer was alerted to the partner’s mishandling of the business, 

the taxpayer left in 2000.  The corporation was dissolved in 2001. 

 The taxpayer contends that he only has his testimony to rebut the Department’s 

findings because no physical evidence remains from the business.  The taxpayer did not 

have an amicable parting with his partner, and he was unable to obtain financial records 

when he left.  All of the taxpayer’s records were discarded after he closed out the last of 

his own personal matters regarding the corporation. 
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 In addition, the taxpayer argues that the Denial that was sent on June 30, 2010 

was his first notice of the corporation’s outstanding liability, and the liability is over 10 

years old.  Since the corporation was dissolved, the taxpayer has received two 

registrations from the Department for motor fuel use tax, and the Department did not 

consider the outstanding liability to be a problem at that time.  The taxpayer contends that 

if he was notified of the liability at the time he received his first motor fuel use tax 

registration, he would have addressed the problem then.  The taxpayer also asks why the 

statute of limitations does not apply to this liability.   

 Unfortunately, without documents supporting the taxpayer’s arguments, the 

Department’s decision must be upheld.  As indicated in the previously cited sections, the 

Department may refuse to issue a registration or license if the taxpayer fails to file a 

return or pay a tax, fee, penalty, or interest shown in a return required to be filed under 

any Act administered by the Department.  Although the taxpayer claims that he has paid 

the outstanding liability for his personal income tax, the record does not include 

documentation to support this finding. 

The record also does not include any documents to support the taxpayer’s 

arguments concerning the corporation’s liability.  Although the taxpayer has asked why 

the statute of limitations does not apply, it is not possible to determine whether it applies 

without additional information.  The taxpayer may have obtained from the Department, 

through an interrogatory or a request for admission, verification that the Department 

never issued a Notice of Deficiency regarding the outstanding withholding tax liability.  

Without knowing whether a Notice of Deficiency was issued, it is not possible to 

determine whether the statute of limitations would bar collection of the liability. 
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Although the taxpayer previously received two motor fuel use tax registrations, 

the Department may still deny the registration based on any outstanding liability.  

Without documentation supporting the taxpayer’s remaining contentions, it cannot be 

found that the taxpayer has met his burden of proof to overcome the Department’s prima 

facie case. 

Recommendation: 

For the foregoing reasons, it is recommended that the denial of the motor fuel use 

tax registration be upheld. 

 
    
   Linda Olivero 
   Administrative Law Judge 
 
Enter:  September 20, 2011 
 

 


