This series of questions and answers refers specifically to the use tax incurred on the purchase of general merchandise, food, and medical appliances that are not required to be titled or registered with another state agency. For items that are required to be titled or registered with another state agency, such as vehicles, watercraft, and aircraft, use tax is due and can be paid on the appropriate forms. See instructions for Form RUT-25, Vehicle Use Tax Transaction Return, Form RUT-25-LSE, Use Tax Return for Lease Transactions, Form RUT-50, Private Party Vehicle Use Tax Transaction Return, and Form RUT-75, Aircraft/ Watercraft Use Tax Transaction Return. If you need to obtain Form RUT-25, RUT-25-LSE, RUT-50, or RUT-75 prior to registering the item, you can request copies be mailed to you by emailing our mail room or by calling the Illinois Department of Revenue's 24-hour Forms Order Hotline at 1-800-356-6302. Do not make copies of the forms prior to completing. These forms have unique transaction numbers that should not be duplicated. Doing so could delay processing.
Use tax is a form of sales tax designed to distribute the tax burden fairly among consumers and assure fair competition between in-state and out-of-state businesses. Illinois, like most other states, imposes use tax on the privilege of using goods within their borders as a complement to sales taxes. This tax applies to individuals, businesses, and organizations. Illinois law requires you to pay tax at Illinois rates on purchases you make for use or consumption in Illinois
Note: If you bought or acquired cigarettes from another state or country for use in Illinois, you also owe Cigarette Use Tax and must complete Form RC-44. For your convenience, Illinois (sales) Use Tax, which is also due on the purchase of cigarettes, can be paid together with Cigarette Use Tax on Form RC-44.
You owe Illinois Use Tax if you purchase an item
In addition, if you purchase an item for use or consumption in Illinois from an Illinois retailer and you do not pay tax to the retailer, you owe Illinois Use Tax.
If you use goods in Illinois that were purchased tax free or at lower rates outside Illinois, you owe use tax to the department. If you do not pay, it is unfair to Illinois retailers, consumers, and taxpayers in the following ways:
Illinois is aggressively focusing upon collecting this tax.
Note: By voluntarily paying, on time, all of the Illinois Use Tax you owe, you will avoid being billed for unpaid tax and additional penalty and interest charges.
The Illinois Department of Revenue can assess use tax owed by taxpayers who do not pay voluntarily. For taxpayers who do not have records to document their use tax liability, the department will estimate liability. Taxpayers have the right to refute the department’s estimates by following established protest procedures.
Illinois Use Tax rates are 6.25 percent of the purchase price of general merchandise and 1.00 percent of the purchase price of qualifying food, drugs, and medical appliances.
The 1.00 percent rate applies to
The use tax due date is based on how much use tax you owe.
If your total tax liability for the year is
Note: If you bought or acquired cigarettes from another state or country for use in Illinois, you also owe Cigarette Use Tax. Illinois (sales) Use Tax and Cigarette Use Tax can be paid together by filing Form RC-44, Illinois Cigarette Use Tax Return, no later than 30 days after you purchase or acquire cigarettes for use in Illinois.
Generally, individuals, organizations, and unregistered businesses must report and pay use tax directly to the Illinois Department of Revenue using Form ST-44, Illinois Use Tax Return.
You may report and pay any use tax due for purchases you made during that particular filing year if the amount of use tax due for the year is not over $600.
Note: If the amount of use tax due on your IL-1040 for the year is over $600, you will need to file and pay using Form ST-44.If you are a registered Illinois retailer or serviceperson, and currently file Form ST-1, Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge Return, you must report and pay use tax on that form.
Payments can be made, with the filing of a return, by
Note: Make check(s) payable to the Illinois Department of Revenue.
Yes, we do allow credit for taxes properly due and paid to other states. However, if you pay tax to another state at less than the Illinois Use Tax rates, you must pay Illinois the difference.
No, you are not allowed credit for any taxes paid to foreign governments. These purchases are subject to the full Illinois tax rates.
No. Use tax is due whether or not an item has to be declared or is subject to a duty tax.
Yes, you can file and pay your use tax on either Form ST-44 or Form IL-1040 using MyTax Illinois. You can also file and pay your cigarette use tax on Form RC-44 using MyTax Illinois. Before you begin, you must have the following:
Your IL-PIN is the same 8-digit number that the department assigned for you to use in filing your IL-1040 or paying your individual income tax through our website. If you do not know your IL-PIN, go to our Pin Inquiry System to see if an IL-PIN has been assigned to you, or call 1 800 732-8866.
If you do not have use tax to report on your IL-1040 or you are filing and paying your use tax on Form ST-44, write “0” on the use tax line on your IL-1040.
To correct your use tax reported on your IL-1040
Send a copy of the Return Correction Notice along with the requested documentation and a signed, written request detailing the correction requested.
No, you should send in a signed, written request detailing the correction requested. If you are filing an amended return for a separate reason, attach the completed IL-1040-X and any attachments to the back of the use tax correction request. Both should be mailed to
No. Items purchased for use in Illinois by an exempt organization in support of its organizational purpose qualify as sales-tax exempt purchases if the exempt organization has applied for and received an exemption identification number (“E” number) from the Illinois Department of Revenue. Examples of exempt organizations are
No. Items purchased for use in Illinois from persons who make isolated or occasional sales and who are not engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail are not subject to use tax.