
Illinois Department of Revenue
ST-556 Sales Tax Transaction Return Instructions (2) for Leasing Companies 
Selling at Retail

Who must file Form ST‑556?
When a leasing company — either an Illinois leasing company 
or an out-of-State leasing company — sells an item coming off 
a lease in Illinois and that item must be titled or registered by an 
agency of Illinois state government (e.g., vehicles, watercraft, 
aircraft, trailers, manufactured (mobile) homes), the leasing 
company is considered to be selling such items at retail in 
Illinois. These leasing companies must register with the Illinois 
Department of Revenue and are obligated to collect Illinois Sales 
Tax on these transactions. If you are a leasing company engaged 
in the business of selling such previously leased items to Illinois 
purchasers and the items are located in Illinois at the time of the 
sale, you must report these sales on Form ST-556, Sales Tax 
Transaction Return.
How can I file Form ST-556?
Form ST-556 must be filed electronically if your annual gross 
receipts average $20,000 or more. Form ST-556 can be filed 
electronically by using MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov or by 
using an approved service provider in the Electronic Registration and 
Title program (ERT). 
Note: You may request a waiver of the electronic filing 
requirement if you do not have internet access or demonstrate 
hardship in filing electronically. Contact Taxpayer Assistance 
at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336 to request a waiver form. 
Complete the waiver form and mail it to the address listed on 
the form. The Department will notify you if the waiver request is 
approved or denied. 
If you are not mandated to file Form ST-556 electronically or 
have received a waiver of the electronic filing requirement, you 
can request preprinted paper returns by calling our Central 
Registration Division at 217 785-3707. 			 

You can also obtain preprinted paper returns using MyTax 
Illinois. Note that preprinted paper forms will be pre-filled 
with certain information for each of your business locations. 
Related sales and use tax forms are available on our website at 
tax.illinois.gov.
Do I need to file Form ST‑556 if no tax is due?
Yes. Anytime you sell an item at retail in Illinois that is of the 
type that must be titled or registered by an agency of Illinois 
state government, you must report the sale on Form ST‑556, 
regardless of whether you are reporting tax due. Failure to file 
Form ST-556 as required subjects you to possible penalties for 
each transaction that goes unreported.
If you make sales for resale in Illinois of items that must be 
reported on Form ST-556 and these items had been previously 
rented or leased, you have the option of bulk reporting these 
sales for resale on Form ST‑556-D, Nontaxable Sales for Resale 
of Previously Rented or Leased Vehicles. Form ST-556-D can be 
filed electronically using MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov. For 
more information see the instructions for filing Form ST-556-D, 
available on our website at tax.illinois.gov.
What if I make a mistake while filling out a 
preprinted paper form?
If you make a mistake on a preprinted paper Form ST-556, write 
“VOID” across the form. Keep the voided return in your records 
for at least 42 months. Do not send the form to us. You will need 
to complete a new form to send to the Department.
What if I need help?
If you need help, call us at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336, 
call our TDD-telecommunications device for the deaf at 
1 800 544-5304, or visit our website at tax.illinois.gov.  

General Information

Specific Instructions
1: Enter the purchaser’s name and address
The purchaser’s name and address must be the same as the 
name on the application for title or registration. If there is more 
than one purchaser, be sure to enter each name.
2: Describe the item sold
Check the correct box (A-E) to show the type of item sold. If the 
type of item sold is not identified in boxes A-E, check box F and 
enter the type of item sold.
Check the correct box to show whether the item sold is new or 
used.
Next, enter the appropriate identification number for the item sold, 
such as a vehicle identification number (VIN) for vehicles, trailers, 
and manufactured (mobile) homes, a hull identification number 
(HIN) for watercraft, or (N) number for aircraft.
Finally, enter the year, make, body style, and model of the item 
sold.
Note: If you sold more than one type of item (e.g., a watercraft 
and a trailer) or more than one item of the same type (e.g., 
three motor vehicles) you generally must complete a separate 
Form ST-556 for each item sold. You may, however, report 
sales for resale of previously rented or leased items on Form 
ST-556-D, Tax-Exempt Sales for Resale of Previously Rented or 
Leased Vehicles. Form ST-556-D allows you to report multiple 
sales for resale, to the same or multiple purchasers, on the same 
schedule. Form ST-556-D must be filed electronically using 

MyTax Illinois, available at mytax.illinois.gov.
3: Enter the date of delivery
Enter the month, day, and year in which the purchaser took 
possession of the item. If the purchaser has been leasing the 
item and, therefore, already has possession of it, enter the date 
you applied for a change in the title.
Note: This return is due no later than 20 calendar days after the 
date of delivery.
4: Describe the trade-in, if any
If you did not claim a qualified trade-in, skip this section and go to 
Section 5.
If you claimed a qualified trade-in, enter the type of item traded 
in (e.g., automobile, truck, airplane, boat, trailer). Next, enter the 
appropriate identification number, year, make, body style, and 
model of the trade-in.
What is a qualified trade-in?
A qualified trade-in is an item:

•	 that the purchaser gives you to reduce the selling price (in 
part or in full) of the item sold;

•	 that you are allowed to subtract from the selling price; and
•	 that you are in the business of selling. 

You are “in the business of selling” a particular kind of item if you 
hold yourself out to the public as being engaged in (or habitually 
engage in) selling such items. 
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Example: You may claim the trade-in of a boat on an auto if you 
are in the business of selling both boats and autos.
However, you may not claim the trade-in of a boat on an auto if 
you are in the business of selling only autos.
Note: For sales made on or after January 1, 2020, up to and 
including December 31, 2021, for purposes of calculating your 
Sales Tax due, you cannot claim trade-in credit exceeding 
$10,000 for any first division motor vehicle that was traded in 
during the sale being reported on Form ST-556. For sales made 
on or after January 1, 2022, the $10,000 trade-in credit limit no 
longer applies.
5: Exempt
If the sale is to an Illinois resident and taxable, skip this section 
and go to Section 6.
If the sale is exempt from tax, check the correct box (A-F), and 
complete Section 6, Lines 1 and 2.
If you are not required to submit title or registration paperwork on 
the item, send the return directly to us at:

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
RETAILERS’ OCCUPATION TAX
PO BOX 19042
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9042

A.	Sold to a nonresident purchaser (NOT an out-of-State 
dealer)

Do not check this box. All the sales you report will be to Illinois 
purchasers. This exemption cannot apply to any of your sales. 
See “Who must file Form ST-556?” in the General Information 
section above.
B.	Sold for resale to a DEALER
Check this box if you sold the item to an Illinois dealer for resale. 
Enter the Illinois account ID number of the dealer to whom you 
sold the item. If you sold to an Illinois dealer as junk or salvage 
or for parts, enter “Junked,” “Salvage,” or “Parts Only” after the 
account ID number. Keep a completed Form CRT-61, Certificate 
of Resale, in your records for documentation. See “Who must file 
Form ST-556?” in the General Information section above.
You can also use Form ST-556-D, Nontaxable Sales for Resale 
of Previously Rented or Leased Vehicles, for multiple sales for 
resale of vehicles coming off a lease or rental. Form ST-556-D 
must be filed electronically using MyTax Illinois, available at 
mytax.illinois.gov.
C.	Sold to an exempt organization
Check this box if you sold the item to one of the following 
tax-exempt Illinois purchasers that have an active Illinois Sales 
Tax exemption “E” number:

•	 a government agency;
•	 a school;
•	 a religious organization; or
•	 a charitable organization.

In the space provided, enter the organization’s active Illinois 
Sales Tax exemption “E” number. To qualify, the purchaser must 
be the organization itself rather than a member or officer of the 
organization. The item must be titled and/or registered in the 
organization’s name and paid for with the organization’s funds. 
The organization’s exemption number must have been in effect 
on the day you made the sale.
D.	Sold to an interstate carrier for hire for use as rolling 
stock
Check this box if you sold an item for use as rolling stock to haul 
persons or commodities for hire in interstate commerce. In the 
space provided, enter the certificate of authority number. Keep 
a properly completed Form RUT-7, Rolling Stock Certification, in 
your books and records for documentation.

E.	Sold for rental use
Check this box if:

•	 you sold the vehicle to a business that is registered to collect 
Automobile Renting Occupation Tax; and

•	 the purchaser will use the vehicle for rental purposes in rental 
agreements of one year or less.

Enter the purchaser’s Illinois Automobile Renting Occupation Tax 
account ID number.
F.	Other
Check this box if the sale is exempt for a reason not identified in 
boxes A-E.
For example, you sold the item to a foreign consul who has a 
card from the U.S. Department of State declaring that the foreign 
consul does not have to pay sales tax on that item. In the space 
provided, enter “Foreign Consul.”
6: Enter the price and figure the tax
Note: When completing Section 6, round to the nearest dollar by 
dropping amounts of less than 50 cents and increasing amounts 
of 50 cents or more to the next higher dollar.
Line 1: Enter the selling price, including accessories, federal 
excise taxes, freight and labor, dealer preparation, documentary 
fees, and any rebates or incentives for which you as a dealer 
receive reimbursement. Do not subtract the value of any rebate 
made directly to the customer. In general, any cost passed on to 
the customer as part of the sale of an item and for which gross 
receipts are received should be included in the selling price. 
Line 2: If you claimed a qualified trade-in (see Section 4), enter 
the total trade-in credit or value (see Note below). You must 
identify the traded-in item in the spaces provided in Section 4.
If you claimed an exemption in Section 5 and no tax is due, you 
do not need to complete the remaining Lines 3-14 of Section 6. 
Remember that you and all purchasers must sign the return.
Note: For sales made on or after January 1, 2020, up to and 
including December 31, 2021, for purposes of calculating your 
Sales Tax due, you cannot claim trade-in credit exceeding 
$10,000 for any first division motor vehicle that was traded in 
during the sale being reported on Form ST-556. For sales made 
on or after January 1, 2022, the $10,000 trade-in credit limit no 
longer applies.
Line 3: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.
Special Instructions for Completing Line 4
Leasing company with no registered sales locations in 
Illinois
Line 4: Multiply Line 3 by the tax rate. This tax rate is 
determined by the purchaser’s address entered in Section 1. 
To find this tax rate, use the Tax Rate Database on our website 
at tax.illinois.gov, or call us at 1 800 732-8866 or call our 
TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) at 1 800 544-5304. 
Also, enter the tax rate in the correct space on the form.
Leasing company with registered sales locations in 
Illinois
Line 4: Calculate your tax due using the following to determine 
the appropriate rate:

•	 If you made this sale at your standard business location (i.e., 
the location printed on the front of the paper Form ST-556 
returns the Department issues to you), multiply Line 3 by the 
tax rate printed on your return.

•	 If you made this sale at an off-site location (e.g., a tent sale), 
follow the instructions on ST‑23, How to Report Off-Site 
Sales on Form ST‑556, Sales Tax Transaction Return, or 
Form ST-556-LSE, Transaction Return for Leases, available 
on our website at tax.illinois.gov.
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•	 If you made this sale to a nonresident who is taking delivery 
of the item in Illinois but who will title it in a state that does 
not have a reciprocal nonresident purchaser exemption for 
Illinois residents, multiply Line 3 by the nonresident’s state 
sales tax rate, up to 6.25 percent. See ST-58, Reciprocal 
- Non-Reciprocal Vehicle Tax Rate Chart, available on our 
website at tax.illinois.gov.

Note for business locations in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, 
McHenry, or Will County when the customer’s address is in 
Chicago:
If your sales location is in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, 
or Will County and the purchaser’s address on Form ST‑556, 
Section 1, is within the corporate limits of the city of Chicago, 
you must collect an additional 1.25 percent (.0125) Chicago 
Home Rule Use Tax. To help you calculate the tax due on one 
of these sales, we preprint a combined rate below Line 4 on 
the paper Form ST-556 returns the Department issues to you. 
This combined rate includes your tax rate, plus the additional 
1.25 percent Chicago Home Rule Use Tax. To figure the correct 
tax due, multiply the amount subject to tax on Line 3 by the 
combined rate. Enter the result on Line 4. 
Line 5: Enter the name of the Illinois county in which the 
purchaser’s address is located. If the purchaser’s address falls 
within the limits of an Illinois city or village, enter the name of the 
city or village. If the purchaser’s address falls within Madison or 
St. Clair County, enter the name of the township in which the 
address is located.
Do not enter a dollar amount on this line. 
Line 6: Enter the amount from Line 4.
Line 7: If you are filing this return and paying the tax due within 
20 days of the date of delivery entered in Section 3, multiply Line 
6 by the rate printed on your return.
Line 7a:	 The Illinois Department of Revenue is responsible for 
collecting and administering the fee imposed by the Metro-East 
Mass Transit District (MED) on items that are required to be titled 
or registered in Illinois. You must collect this fee if, at the end of a 
lease, you sell a motor vehicle that is located in the MED portion 
of St. Clair County. Multiply Line 3 by 0.5 percent (0.005). 

•	 If the result is less than $20, enter the result on Line 7a. 
•	 If the result is $20 or more, enter $20 on Line 7a. 

Line 8: Subtract Line 7 from Line 6. If you calculated an amount 
on Line 7a according to the above instruction, subtract Line 7 
from Line 6, and then add to that total the amount on Line 7a.
Line 9: If we have notified you that you have an overpayment 
credit on your account, you may use this overpayment credit to 
pay some or all of the tax due on this return. Enter the amount 
you wish to use.
Line 10: You may be able to claim a credit for tax paid on an 
item you are now selling at the end of a lease. You may claim 
this credit only if, when you purchased the item, tax was either 
collected by an Illinois retailer and reported on From ST-556 
or Form ST-556-LSE, or paid directly to the Department using 
Form RUT-25 or Form RUT-25-LSE.
Enter the amount of tax paid (but not exceeding the amount of tax 
due on Form ST-556 on which you are now reporting the retail 
sale of this previously leased item) and the tax return number 
from either the Form ST-556 or Form ST-556-LSE filed by the 
Illinois retailer when you purchased the item and paid the tax, or 
the Form RUT-25 or Form RUT-25-LSE filed when the item was 
purchased and the tax paid.

Note: If you are selling an item that was purchased for lease 
on or after January 1, 2015, you may not claim this credit if 
the selling price reported on the original Form ST-556-LSE or 
Form RUT-25-LSE when you purchased the item was the amount 
due under the lease contract; you may claim this credit only if 
the selling price reported was equal to the actual selling price.
Line 11: If you collected more tax than is due on this sale, enter 
the amount you overcollected.
Line 12: Subtract Lines 9 and 10 from Line 8 and add Line 11.
Line 13: If you have a credit memorandum and you wish to use 
it towards what you owe, enter the amount you are using on 
Line 13.
Line 14: Subtract Line 13 from Line 12, and enter the amount 
due. Also, enter the identifying number from the remittance you 
are sending to pay the tax due on this return. If you are filing 
more than one Form ST-556, enclose a separate remittance for 
each return.
Sign the return
Both the seller and all purchasers must sign the return. If you 
claimed a qualified trade-in for the item sold, the signatures also 
declare that the title of the traded-in item has been properly 
assigned and surrendered to the seller.
Penalty and Fee Information
We will bill you for any amounts owed, including the following 
penalties and fees:

•	 You owe a late filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date.

•	 You owe a late payment penalty if you do not pay the 
amount you owe by the original due date of the return.

•	 You owe a bad check penalty if your remittance is not 
honored by your financial institution.

•	 You owe a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the 
amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on a bill 
that we send you.

•	 You owe a nonfiling penalty for transaction returns if you 
do not file a processable transaction return (ST-556, Sales 
Tax Transaction Return, or ST-556-LSE, Transaction Return 
for Leases) by the due date, but only if no tax is due on the 
return.

For more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest 
for Illinois Taxes, available on our website at tax.illinois.gov. 
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