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		  ACH debit telephone option — you 
instruct us to debit the payment from 		
your account.  

For more information regarding our 
electronic options, visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov, call 217 782-6257, or email 
us at rev.taxpay@illinois.gov. 

What penalties may be assessed?
To avoid penalties, all tax withheld must be 
paid by each payment due date. You must  
provide payroll information on Form IL-941 to 
verify your pay dates. 
You will owe a late-payment penalty if you 
are required to make monthly or semi-weekly 
tax payments and do not pay the required 
amounts by the payment due dates. 
A bad check penalty of $25 will be assessed 
if you send a remittance that is not honored 
by your financial institution. This penalty will 
be assessed in addition to any other penalty. 
For more information about penalties and 
interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and 
Interest for Illinois Taxes.

What if I need additional assistance?
• Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov
• Write to us at

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19044
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9044

• Call our Taxpayer Assistance Division at
1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336 (or our
TDD (telecommunications device for the
deaf) at 1 800 544-5304)

• Visit an IDOR regional office. See website
for locations and office hours.

Who should use this payment 
coupon?
Use this payment coupon to pay the Illinois 
Income Tax you withheld if
• you are a NEW business and have not

received your registration information from
us yet; or

• you are an existing business and
1) cannot electronically pay (see “May

I pay electronically?”); or
2) do not use a tax professional or tax

prep software; or
3) have ordered but not yet received

personalized payment coupons
from us.

When are my payments due?
Important:  If you have been notified that you 
are required to make semi-weekly payments, 
you must make your payments electronically.
Most taxpayers who use payment coupons  
are considered monthly payers. Monthly 
payers must pay by the 15th day of each 
month for amounts withheld the preceding 
month. You may pay more frequently using 
one of our electronic methods or preprinted 
payment coupons. Do not use your return, 
Form IL-941, to pay more frequently. 
If you exceed $12,000 in withholding 
during a quarter, you must begin using 
the semi-weekly payment schedule for the 
following quarter, the remainder of the year, 
and the subsequent year. In addition, you 
must make your payments electronically. 
See Publication 131, Withholding Income 
Tax Payment and Filing Requirements, for 

Check the box to tell us the quarter that includes the month when you withheld the 
withholding income tax you are paying. Check one box only.  Make sure to report all 
Form IL-501 payments on Form IL-941, Step 5, Line 4, for the corresponding quarter.

Jan Apr Jul Oct
Feb May Aug Nov
Mar Jun Sep Dec

1	 2	 3		 4	

Amount paid: $ ___________________.____

• Make check payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue” and write your
FEIN and “IL-501” on the check.-

• Mail to: ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19447
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9447

NOTE: Do not mail Form IL-501 if you electronically pay or are reporting a zero amount.
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more information. Do not make a payment 
or submit an IL-501 Payment Coupon if no 
Illinois income tax was withheld.
When is income tax considered withheld?
In Illinois, income tax is considered withheld 
on the date you pay your employees or 
others.  This is important to determine when 
your payment is due. Do not estimate your 
withholding income tax. 

How much should I pay?
The amount you pay is dependent upon the 
amount you withhold from your payee (refer to 
IL-700-T) minus any credit amounts received 
from the Illinois Department of Commerce and 
Economic Opportunity (DCEO) or the Illinois 
Department of Revenue (IDOR).

May I pay electronically?
Yes. We encourage you to pay electronically.
• MyTax Illinois on our website at

mytax.illinois.gov offers an easy,
convenient, and fast way to submit
payments at any time. You can schedule
the dollar amount, debit date, and tax
period. No software is required and it is
available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

• Federal State Employment Tax (FSET)
program allows you to directly debit your
account.

• Other electronic options (You must
complete Form EFT-1, Authorization
Agreement for Certain Electronic
Payments.):

ACH credit — you instruct your 		
financial institution to transfer funds from 	
your account to ours. 

IL-501 Front  (R-12/20)

Complete the following information.	

  Tax year

___ ___ - ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ 
Federal employer identification number  Seq. number 

_______________________________________________ 
Business name

_______________________________________________ 
Number and street address

_______________________________________________ 
City State ZIP

(_______)_______________________________________ 
Daytime phone)
IL-501 (R-12/20)

2021

This form is for limited use only
Most withholding payments should be made electronically or with preprinted, personalized forms — not the form below. 

For your payment to be applied quickly and accurately to your account, either 
• electronically pay on our website at mytax.illinois.gov, or
• order personalized, preprinted forms by calling us at the numbers listed below.

*71112211W*

Printed by the authority of the State of Illinois - web only, 1 copy.
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