Illinois Department of Revenue

RUT-75 Instructions for Aircraft/Watercraft Use Tax Transaction Return

General Information

Who must file Form RUT-75?

If you acquire an aircraft or watercraft by gift, donation, transfer, or non-retail purchase, you must file Form RUT-75, Aircraft/ Watercraft Use Tax Transaction Return.

"Aircraft" includes airplanes, helicopters, hot-air balloons, ultra lights, gliders, blimps, dirigibles, seaplanes, and anything else defined as aircraft in Section 3 of the Illinois Aeronautics Act.

"Watercraft" includes

- Class 2, Class 3, and Class 4 watercraft as defined in Section 3-2 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act; and
- personal watercraft as defined in Section 1-2 of the Boat Registration and Safety Act (jet skis, wave runners, *etc.*). "Watercraft" does not include canoes or kayaks.

What is a "non-retail purchase"?

A purchase from a person or business not in the business of selling aircraft or watercraft at retail is considered a "**non-retail purchase**."

Note: For these instructions, "item" refers to both aircraft and watercraft as defined above.

What if I purchase from a dealer or leasing company?

Do not use Form RUT-75 if you acquired the item from an Illinois dealer or leasing company. If you acquired the item from an Illinois dealer or leasing company, the Illinois dealer or leasing company must file Form ST-556, Sales Tax Transaction Return. If you acquired the item from an unregistered **out-of-state** dealer, lending institution, or leasing company selling at retail, you must file Form RUT-25, Vehicle Use Tax Transaction Return.

When is Form RUT-75 due?

Form RUT-75 is due within 30 days from the date of acquiring the aircraft or watercraft if acquired in Illinois or within 30 days of bringing the aircraft or watercraft into Illinois if acquired outside Illinois. You must pay the tax or submit proof of tax payment or exemption before your registration will be issued by the

- Department of Transportation Division of Aeronautics (aircraft).
- Department of Natural Resources (watercraft).

What if I need help?

If you have questions, visit our website at **tax.illinois.gov** or scan the QR code provided. You may also call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. at **1 800 732-8866**, **217 782-3336**, or **1 800 544-5304** (TTY).

Language assistance services are available upon request and are free of charge.

Specific Instructions

Step 1 — Purchaser or new owner information

Line 3: This is the address as it will appear on the Illinois registration.

Line 5: Social Security number or federal employer identification number (FEIN).

Line 6: Watercraft only - Check if reporting a transfer between immediate family members. If our review indicates that the primary reason for transfer was to avoid payment of tax, we will bill you for applicable tax, penalties, and interest.

Step 3 — Item information

Line 4: Date purchaser (not the seller) acquired the item.

Line 5: Date purchaser (not the seller) brought the item into Illinois. This date should **always** be on or after the purchase date. Line 7b: Type of **watercraft**. List one: open, cabin, houseboat, sailboat, pontoon, PWC/jetski, paddleboat or other.

Step 4 — Exempt Transaction - Mark the applicable box. If the transaction is taxable, skip to Step 5.

a Charitable, religious, educational, or governmental organization with an active Illinois Department of Revenue exemption number.



- **b** Rolling stock item for hire to haul persons or commodities in interstate commerce. Aircraft provide FAA certificate of authority number.
- f Watercraft only not required to be numbered under the Boat Registration and Safety Act and
 - will not be used upon Illinois waters for more than 30 days in any calendar year; or
 - regardless of time used upon Illinois waters, is either:
 - owned by the United States, a State, or subdivision thereof; and used solely for official purposes and clearly identifiable; or
 - used exclusively as a ship's lifeboat.

Step 5 — Figure your tax

Round to the nearest dollar: Drop amounts of less than 50 cents, and increase amounts of 50 cents or more to the next highest dollar.

Line 1: Tax is based on the purchase price or fair market value amount. Enter the higher of the purchase price or fair market value. Attach a copy of the purchase agreement/invoice which must have the purchase price and the tax previously paid clearly and separately stated. For **aircraft**, you must also attach a copy of the FAA bill of sale. If you purchase or acquire a **share** of an aircraft or watercraft, enter the share's purchase price or fair market value. For **watercraft**, purchase price is defined as the reasonable consideration paid for the watercraft received in money, cash, credits, property, services, etc., and including the value of any motor sold with, or in conjunction with, the watercraft. When there is no stated purchase price, such as a gift or trade, tax is imposed on the fair market value on the date the watercraft or the share of the watercraft was brought into Illinois, whichever is later. IDOR may utilize contracted vendors to determine the validity of the purchase price stated on your return.

In the case of a **watercraft** transfer between immediate family members (*i.e.*, a spouse, parent, brother, sister, or child), reasonable consideration ordinarily means the consideration paid, unless it appears that the primary motivation of the transfer was the avoidance of tax. Enter this purchase price on Line 1. In the case of gifts between immediate family members, no tax is due unless it appears that the primary motivation of the transfer was the avoidance of tax. If our review questions the amount stated on Line 1, we have the authority to determine the fair market value through an independent valuation. We will bill you if additional tax is owed, including penalties and interest.

Line 3: Provide the name of the state and the amount of sales or use tax you previously paid to that state. Credit is allowed only if the tax previously paid was properly due and separately stated on the proof of tax payment that must be attached to Form RUT-75.

Line 4: Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. This is the amount of tax that you owe. Make your remittance payable to "Illinois Department of Revenue" and attach it to Form RUT-75.

You owe a **late filing penalty** if you do not file a processable return by the due date, a **late payment penalty** if you do not pay the amount you owe by the original due date of the return, a **bad check penalty** if your remittance is not honored by your financial institution, and a **cost of collection fee** if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days of the date printed on a bill that we send you. For more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, available on our website at **tax.illinois.gov**.

Step 6 — Sign here

The purchaser and co-owner (if applicable) must sign Form RUT-75. Send your return and required attachments with your application and fees for registration to the appropriate address below.

Aircraft:

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION DIVISION OF AERONAUTICS ABRAHAM LINCOLN CAPITAL AIRPORT 1 LANGHORNE BOND DRIVE SPRINGFIELD, IL 62707-8415

Watercraft:

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES PO BOX 19226 SPRINGFIELD, IL 62794-9226