
Effective September 1, 2004, tax is owed
when a watercraft is acquired by gift,
donation, transfer, or non-retail purchase if
the watercraft will be used in Illinois.

Note: For the purposes of this bulletin, the
term “non-retail purchase” means a
purchase from a person or entity that is not
in the business of selling watercraft at retail.

Generally, two groups are affected by
these changes —

individuals, businesses, and other
entities who will use a watercraft in
Illinois that was acquired by gift,
donation, transfer, or non-retail
purchase; and
lessors who are engaged in the
business of leasing or renting water-
craft and who sell a used watercraft in
connection with that business to a
purchaser who will use the watercraft
for his or her own use.

Individuals, businesses, and other
entities should read the section in this
bulletin titled, “Watercraft Use Tax.”

Lessors should read the section in this
bulletin titled, “Sales of Watercraft by
Lessors.”

How is “watercraft” defined?
For the purposes of this bulletin, the term
“watercraft” includes

Class 2, Class 3, and Class 4 water-
craft as defined in Section 3-2 of the
Boat Registration and Safety Act; and
personal watercraft as defined in
Section 1-2 of the Boat Registration
and Safety Act (jet skis, wave runners,
etc.).

The term “watercraft” does not include
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Class 1 watercraft as defined in
Section 3-2 of the boat and Safety
Registration and Safety Act, or
canoes and kayaks.

Watercraft Use Tax
You must pay Watercraft Use Tax if you
use a watercraft in Illinois that was ac-
quired by gift, donation, transfer, or non-
retail purchase.

On what amount must
Watercraft Use Tax be paid?
You must pay Watercraft Use Tax on the
watercraft’s purchase price, including the
value of any motor sold with, or as part of,
the transaction.

Note: If you purchase or acquire a share of
a watercraft, you must pay Watercraft Use
Tax on the share’s purchase price.

The term “purchase price” is defined below.

Except for transactions between
immediate family members, the pur-
chase price is the fair market value on
the date the watercraft or share of
watercraft was acquired or brought into
Illinois, whichever is later, unless you
can demonstrate that another value is
reasonable.
In cases of transfers between immedi-
ate family members, the purchase price
is the amount actually paid unless it
appears from the facts and circum-
stances that the primary motivation for
the transfer was to avoid the payment
of tax.

If you acquired the watercraft outside
Illinois before you brought it into Illinois,
you will receive a credit for tax properly due
and paid to another state.

Note: You may not receive credit for any
watercraft that you used as a trade-in.

This bulletin is written to

inform you of recent

changes; it does not replace

statutes, rules and regula-

tions, or court decisions.
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What is the tax rate?
The tax rate is 6.25 percent of the
purchase price of the watercraft or
share of the watercraft.

How do I report the tax?
You must file Form RUT-75, Aircraft/
Watercraft Use Tax Return, no later
than 30 days from the acquisition date
or the date the watercraft is brought into
Illinois, whichever is later.

Note: You must submit proof of tax
payment or proof of exemption before
your watercraft registration will be
issued by the Illinois Department of
Natural Resources.

Are any transactions exempt?
Certain transactions are exempt under
the Watercraft Use Tax Act. These
transactions are listed below.

The transaction is already taxed
under the Illinois Use Tax Act. For
example, the watercraft is purchased
from an out-of-state retailer. This
type of transaction is taxed and
reported on Form RUT-25, Use Tax
Transaction Return.
The watercraft is acquired by an
exempt organization that has been
issued an active exemption number
by the Illinois Department of
Revenue.
The watercraft is acquired by an
interstate carrier for hire for use as
rolling stock to transport persons or
commodities in interstate commerce.
The watercraft is a gift to a benefi-
ciary in an estate and the beneficiary
is the surviving spouse.
The watercraft is exempted from
the numbering provisions of
Section 3-12 of the Boat Registra-
tion and Safety Act. However, tax
is owed if the watercraft
— is exempted from the number-

ing provisions under para-
graphs A, B, C, F, or G, and

— is used on Illinois waters for
more than 30 days in any
calendar year.

The watercraft is acquired outside
Illinois and, after being brought into

Illinois and stored here temporarily,
is removed and never returned to
Illinois.

What happens if I do not
pay the tax or I pay late?
You owe a late filing penalty if you do
not file a processable return by the due
date, a late payment penalty if you do
not pay the amount you owe by the
original due date of the return, a bad
check penalty if your remittance is not
honored by your financial institution, and
a cost of collection fee if you do not pay
the amount you owe within 30 days of the
date printed on an assessment. We will
bill you for any amounts owed. For more
information, see Publication 103, Uniform
Penalties and Interest. To receive a copy
of this publication, visit our web site at
www.ILtax.com, or call 1 800 356-6302.

Sales of Watercraft by
Lessors
Effective September 1, 2004, you are
considered a retailer under the Retailers’
Occupation Tax Act if you are engaged
in the business of leasing or renting
watercraft and you sell a used watercraft
in connection with your business to a
purchaser who will use the watercraft for
his or her own use.

On what amount must tax
be paid?
When you sell a watercraft, you must
pay sales tax on the watercraft’s selling
price, minus any trade-in credit.

What is the tax rate?
Generally, the tax rate is 6.25 percent.
Your rate may be higher if units of local
government have imposed taxes. Booklet
ST-25, Sales Tax Rate Reference
Manual, lists all tax rates for each tax
location in Illinois. We update this manual
in January and July of each year. This
document is available on our web site.

How do I report the tax?
You must file Form ST-556, Sales Tax
Transaction Return, 20 days after the
date the watercraft is delivered. Contact

our Central Registration Division to
properly register as a retailer of water-
craft and obtain the necessary ST-556
forms.

Note: The watercraft cannot be
registered with the Illinois Department
of Natural Resources until tax is paid or
proof that the transaction is exempt
from taxation is submitted.

Are any transactions
exempt from tax?
Any transaction currently exempt under
the Retailers’ Occupation Tax Act is an
exempt transaction. You must be able
to document the exempt sale. For more
information, see the instructions for
Form ST-556, or Booklet ST-9, A Guide
for Reporting Sales Using Form ST-556,
Sales Tax Transaction Return.

What happens if I do not
pay the tax or I pay late?
You owe a late filing penalty if you do
not file a processable return by the due
date, a late payment penalty if you do
not pay the amount you owe by the
original due date of the return, a bad
check penalty if your remittance is not
honored by your financial institution, and
a cost of collection fee if you do not pay
the amount you owe within 30 days of the
date printed on an assessment. We will
bill you for any amounts owed. For more
information, see Publication 103, Uniform
Penalties and Interest. To receive a copy
of this publication, visit our web site at
www.ILtax.com or call 1 800 356-6302.

Questions?
If you have questions or need more
information, please call or write us. Our
telephone numbers and address are
printed on the front left side of this
bulletin.


