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Who must file Form MMFT-1-X?
You must file Form MMFT-1-X if you filed Form MMFT‑1, Municipal 
Motor Fuel Tax Return, and
•	 you want to correct your return, either to pay more tax or to 

request a credit for tax you overpaid; or
•	 you are making corrections to nonfinancial information on your 

return.
Do not file Form MMFT-1-X for amounts of less than $1.

You must file one Form MMFT-1-X for each reporting period you 
want to amend. For example, if you file Form MMFT-1 monthly, you 
must file one Form MMFT-1-X for each month you are amending. You 
cannot file one MMFT-1-X to amend several months. Likewise, if you 
file Form MMFT-1 on a quarterly or annual basis, you must file one 
amended return for each quarter or year that you want to amend.

If you originally filed Form MMFT-2, Multiple Site Form, you 
must file Form MMFT-2-X, Amended Multiple Site Form, for the 
locations whose figures need to be amended and attach it to 
Form MMFT-1-X. For those locations with no change, we will use the 
most recent figures filed. Failure to file Form MMFT-2-X will delay 
the processing of your Form MMFT-1-X or may lead us to not accept 
your changes.

Note: If you received a notice from us that your original return is  
unprocessable, we cannot process an amended return (claim for 
credit) until you respond to the notice. Also, if you are requesting a 
credit, you will not be able to use it until we notify you that your credit 
has been approved.

What is the deadline for filing this form?
The period for which you can claim a credit for an overpayment 
of Municipal Motor Fuel Tax depends on when you file your 
Form MMFT-1-X. If you file this amended return between January 1 
and June 30 of this year, you may file a claim for credit for the 
amounts you overpaid during the current year and the 36 months 
prior to the current year.  If you file this amended return between 
July 1 and December 31 of this year, you may file a claim for credit 
for the amounts you overpaid during the current year and the 
30 months prior to the current year.

Note: We use the U.S. Postal Service postmark date as the filing date 
of a properly signed amended return (claim for credit).

There is no deadline for making an additional payment; however, 
the longer you wait to pay, the more interest and, when applicable, 
penalty you will owe. For more information about penalties and 
interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, 

which is available on our website at tax.illinois.gov.

Can I file this return and pay the tax due 
electronically?
Yes, you can use MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov to file your 
Form MMFT-1-X if you filed your original return for the same period 
through MyTax Illinois. MyTax Illinois also allows for electronic 
payment of any tax due.

What if I need to add or remove one of my site 
locations?
MyTax Illinois allows users to add or remove their site locations.
Note: To add or remove site locations for Municipal Motor Fuel Tax 
using MyTax Illinois, you must use the Maintain Locations link in your 
Sales and Use Tax (ST-1) account in MyTax Illinois. 
You also can contact us by calling 217 785-3707 or writing us at: 

CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
PO BOX 19030 
SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9030
It is important to keep your registration information updated so your 
returns will include the correct tax rates.
How do I get forms?
If you need additional amended returns, visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov.

How do I get help?
If you need help, visit our website at tax.illinois.gov or call weekdays 
between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. at 1 800 732‑8866 or 217 782-3336. The 
number for our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) is 
1 800 544-5304.

If you have a specific question about an amended return you have 
already filed, call us at 217 782-5906. 

Where do I mail my completed return?
Mail your completed return to:
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19019
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9019

Everyone must complete Steps 1, 2 and 4. You must also complete 
Step 3 if you are changing financial information. 

Step 1: Identify your business
Enter your Illinois Account ID as it appears on your original 
Form MMFT-1. Also, enter the reporting period for which you are 
filing the amended return. Next, enter the name of your business as it 
appears on your original return. 

Step 2:  Mark the reason you are filing an amended 
return
Mark the reason  that best explains why you are filing Form MMFT-1-X. 

If you checked Reason 2a (i.e., motor fuel sold to an Illinois business 
for resale), you must also provide the business’s Account ID. If you 
sold motor fuel to more than one business, list each business’s 
Account ID on a separate sheet and attach it to your return. 

Note: MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov allows you to enter 
multiple businesses’ Account IDs when you file Form MMFT-1-X. 
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If you checked Reason 2b (i.e., motor fuel sold to an exempt 
organization), you must also provide the organization’s Illinois Tax 
Exemption (E) number. If you sold motor fuel to more than one 
exempt organization, list each organization’s Illinois Tax Exemption 
number on a separate sheet and attach it to your return. The 
organization’s Illinois Tax Exemption number must have been in effect 
on the day you made the sale.

Note: MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov allows you to 
enter multiple Illinois Tax Exemption numbers when you file 
Form MMFT-1-X. 

If you checked Reason 5, you must provide the correct Account ID.

If you checked Reason 6, you must provide the correct reporting 
period. 

Check Reason 7 only if Reasons 1 through 6 do not apply. On the 
lines provided, please explain why you are correcting your original 
return. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

Step 3:  Correct your financial information
Complete all applicable lines when making corrections to the financial 
information on your return. If you do not complete all lines, we will 
use the most recent figures filed. This includes Form MMFT-2-X. You 
will need to include only the locations that have a change. For those 
locations with no change, the most recent figures filed will be used.

When completing this form, round to the nearest whole number by 
dropping decimal amounts less than .50 and increasing decimal 
amounts of .50 or more to the next highest whole number.

Column A
Lines 1 through 13
Enter the figures from your most recent return. These figures may 
be from your original Form MMFT-1 or from any corrections you 
have made since you filed your original Form MMFT-1. If you do not 
complete all lines, we will use the most recent figures filed when 
processing this Form MMFT-1-X.

Column B
Lines 1 through 13
Enter the corrected figures. If there is no change from Column A, 
enter the figures from Column A.

Note: If you have an amount in Column A that you are reducing to 
zero, enter “0” in Column B. Leaving the line in Column B blank may 
delay the processing of your return.

Detailed instructions for certain lines in Step 3
Line 1
Enter the correct total number of gallons of motor fuel you sold 
at retail within a municipality that imposes a municipal motor fuel 
tax administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue under the 
Municipal Motor Fuel Tax Law.

Line 5a
Enter the taxable gallons sold at the current tax rate subject to the 
Municipal Motor Fuel Tax. 

Line 5b
Multiply Line 5a by the tax rate and enter the result in Line 5b. Tax 
rates are available in the Tax Rate Database on IDOR’s website at 
tax.illinois.gov.

Line 6a
Enter the taxable gallons sold at a prior tax rate subject to the 
Municipal Motor Fuel Tax. 

Line 6b
Multiply Line 6a by the applicable prior tax rate and enter the result in 
Line 6b. 

Line 8
Complete this line only if you filed your original return by the due 
date and timely paid the tax. If you have met the qualifications to 
claim a discount on your original return, the discount amount is 
1.75% of your tax due. 

If you are increasing the amount of tax due, you may not increase 
the amount of your discount unless the increased tax due was timely 
paid.

If you are decreasing the amount of tax due, you will need to 
recalculate the amount of discount to which you are entitled based on 
your new figures. 

Line 14
Enter the total amount you have paid. This figure includes the amount 
you paid with your original Form MMFT-1 and any subsequent 
amended returns, and any assessment payments you have made for 
this reporting period. Be sure to reduce the total paid by any credit or 
refund of tax you have received for this reporting period. 

Line 15
If Line 14 is greater than Line 13, Column B, enter the difference on 
Line 15. This is the amount you have overpaid. 

Line 16
If Line 14 is less than Line 13, Column B, enter the difference on 
Line 16. This is the amount you have underpaid. Please pay this 
amount when you file this return. We will bill you for any additional 
tax, penalty, and interest that is due. 

Please enter the amount you are paying on the line provided in the 
“Read this information first” section on the front of the return.

Penalty and Interest Information
If, on this amended return, you are increasing the amount of tax 
due, we will bill you for any additional penalty and interest that we 
calculate is due.

If, on this amended return, you are reducing the amount of tax due, 
we will recalculate any penalty and interest that is due and include 
the recomputed amounts in determining the amount you have 
overpaid.

You owe a late filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late payment penalty if you do not pay 
the amount you owe by the original due date of the return or were 
required to make quarter-monthly payments and failed to do so, a 
bad check penalty if your remittance is not honored by your financial 
institution, and a cost of collection fee if you do not pay the amount 
you owe within 30 days of the date printed on a notice or bill. For 
more information, see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for 
Illinois Taxes, which is available on our website at tax.illinos.gov. 

Step 4: Sign below
We cannot process this form until it is signed by the owner, officer, or 
other person authorized to sign the original return.
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