
Who must file Form RG-6?
You must file Form RG-6, Assistance Charges Return for 
Natural Gas Distributors, if you are a public utility, a gas 
cooperative, or a municipal gas utility that delivers natural 
gas in Illinois and you collect the Energy Assistance Charge 
and the Renewable Energy Resources and Coal Technology 
Development Assistance Charge (hereafter referred to as the 
“Renewable Energy Charge”) from your customers.

When must I file Form RG-6?
You must file Form RG-6 on or before the 20th day of the 
month to report and pay the total amount of assistance 
charges you collected from your customers during the 
preceding month.

What is the Energy Assistance Charge?
This is an amount that a public utility, a gas cooperative, 
or a municipal gas utility collects monthly from each of its 
customers for natural gas services delivered by the utility 
or cooperative. The utility or cooperative then pays the total 
collected charges each month to the Illinois Department of 
Revenue (IDOR). Revenue collected from the charge will 
assist low-income residential customers with energy services.

Note: The Energy Assistance Act states:
The Base Energy Assistance Charge shall be 
$0.48 per month for the calendar year beginning 
January 1, 2022 and shall increase by $0.16 per 
month for any calendar year, provided no less than 
80% of the previous State fiscal year’s available 
Supplemental Low-Income Energy Assistance Fund 
funding was exhausted. The maximum Base Energy 
Assistance Charge shall not exceed $0.96 per month 
for any calendar year. 305 ILCS 20/13(b).

What is the Renewable Energy Charge?
This is an amount that a public utility, a gas cooperative, 
or a municipal gas utility collects monthly from each of its 
customers for natural gas services delivered by the utility 
or cooperative. The utility or cooperative then pays the total 
collected charges each month to IDOR. Revenue collected 
from the charge is used to foster investment in renewable 
energy resources, as well as their development and use.

What is “residential gas service”?
“Residential gas service” is a gas utility service for household 
purposes delivered to a dwelling 
•	 of two or fewer units that is billed under a residential rate; or 
•	 unit or units that are billed under a residential rate and are 	

	registered by a separate meter for each dwelling unit.

What is “nonresidential gas service”?
“Nonresidential gas service”  is all gas utility service that is not 
residential gas service.

Can I file this return and pay the tax due 
electronically?
Yes, you can use MyTax Illinois at mytax.illinois.gov to file 
your Form RG-6. MyTax Illinois also allows for electronic 
payment of any tax due.

Where do I send Form RG-6?
Mail your completed Form RG-6 and payment to:

	 ASSISTANCE CHARGES
	 ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
	 PO BOX 19019
	 SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9019

What if I have questions?
If you have any questions, write to us at:

	 ASSISTANCE CHARGES
	 ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
	 PO BOX 19013
	 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9013
You can also call weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 
at 217 782-5906 or visit our website at tax.illinois.gov.

RG-6 Instructions (R-12/21) Page 1 of 2

General Information

Printed by authority of the State of Illinois
Web only — One copy

	 Illinois Department of Revenue

Instructions for Form RG-6, Assistance Charges Return for 
Natural Gas Distributors

Specific Instructions
Step 1: Figure your assistance charges due
Line 1 – Enter the total number of accounts to which you 
delivered residential gas service and from which you collected 
the Energy Assistance Charge and the Renewable Energy 
Charge during this liability period.

Line 2 – Multiply Line 1 by the applicable rate. Beginning 
on January 1, 2022, the rate depends on the number of 
customers you were serving on January 1, 2021:
•	 If you were serving less than 100,000 customers on 

January 1, 2021, your rate is $0.40 per account. 
•	 If you were serving 100,000 or more customers on 

January 1, 2021, your rate is $0.48 per account. 



RG-6 Instructions (R-12/21) Page 2 of 2

Line 3 – Multiply Line 1 by $0.05.

Line 4 – Enter the total number of accounts to which you 
delivered nonresidential gas service and to which you 
delivered less than 4 million therms of gas during the previous 
calendar year, and from which you collected the Energy 
Assistance Charge and the Renewable Energy Charge.

Line 5 – Multiply Line 4 by the applicable rate. Beginning 
on January 1, 2022, the rate depends on the number of 
customers you were serving on January 1, 2021:
•	 If you were serving less than 100,000 customers on 

January 1, 2021, your rate is $4.00 per account. 
•	 If you were serving 100,000 or more customers on 

January 1, 2021, your rate is $4.80 per account. 

Line 6 – Multiply Line 4 by $0.50.

Line 7 – Enter the total number of accounts to which you 
delivered nonresidential gas service and to which you 
delivered 4 million or more therms of gas during the previous 
calendar year, and from which you collected the Energy 
Assistance Charge and the Renewable Energy Charge.

Line 8 – Multiply Line 7 by the applicable rate. Beginning 
on January 1, 2022, the rate depends on the number of 
customers you were serving on January 1, 2021:
•	 If you were serving less than 100,000 customers on 

January 1, 2021, your rate is $300.00 per account. 
•	 If you were serving 100,000 or more customers on 

January 1, 2021, your rate is $180.00 per account. 

Line 9 – Multiply Line 7 by $37.50.

Line 10a: Utility companies that offer an Arrearage Reduction 
Program may take a subtraction for the amount necessary to fund 
and cover the cost of the program. The amount of the subtraction 
cannot exceed the incremental difference between the energy 
assistance rates charged prior to August 1, 2009, and the rates 
charged on or after August 1, 2009, times the number of accounts 
for each energy assistance rate classification. 

Line 10b: If the number of customers you were serving 
on January 1, 2009, was 100,000 or greater, and you fund 
a Percentage of Income Payment Plan (PIPP) from the 
Supplemental Low Income Energy Assistance Fund, enter the 
amount of administrative and operational costs incurred for the 
PIPP during the reporting period on line 10b.

Line 10c: Add lines 10a and 10b, then subtract the sum from 
line 10.  This is your total Energy Assistance Charge.  If the sum 
of lines 10a and 10b is greater than line 10, enter 0 on line 10c.

Line 11 – Add Lines 3, 6, and 9. This is your total Renewable 
Energy Charge.

Line 12 – Add Lines 10c and 11. This is your total assistance 
charges.

Step 2: Sign below
An owner, partner, or officer of the corporation, or other 
person who is authorized to file this return must sign the 
return. Be sure to include a daytime telephone number where 
we can reach you if we have questions.


