
Suppliers Only
Read this information first - Deductions that are not for 
interstate commerce or for resale must be identified as “other” 
deductions. Examples for both Gas Revenue Tax and Gas Use 
Tax “other” deductions are bad debt, sales or deliveries to the 
federal government, and sales or deliveries to DCEO-certified 
enterprise zone manufacturers. Examples for “other” deductions 
for only Gas Revenue Tax include sales or deliveries to electric 
vehicle manufacturers, electric vehicle component parts 
manufacturers, or electric vehicle power supply equipment 
manufacturers at DCEO-certified REV Illinois Project sites. 
Examples for “other deductions” for only Gas Use Tax include 
gas delivered by a supplier for use: 
•	 by a self-assessor;  
•	 by a governmental body or entity organized and operated 	
	 exclusively for charitable, religious, or educational purposes;  
•	 in the production of electric energy;
•	 in a petroleum refinery operation;
•	 in liquefaction and fractionation processes that produce 	
	 value	added natural gas by-products for resale; or
•	 in the production of anhydrous ammonia and nitrogen 		
	 fertilizer for resale.  

Step 1:  Figure your receipts subject to tax
Line 1 - “Receipts” is the amount received for gas distributed, 
supplied, furnished, or sold for use or consumption (not for 
resale), and for all related services (including the transportation 
or storage of gas for an end user). Enter the total receipts 
where the tax on receipts is less than the tax on a per-therm 
basis. This excludes any receipts for therms reported in Step 2.
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Who must file Form RG-1-X?
You must file Form RG-1-X, Amended Gas Tax Return, to 
correct your original return or previously filed amended return, 
or to claim a credit for an overpayment. You must also attach any 
supporting documentation.

What is the deadline for filing this form? 
The period for which you can claim a credit for an overpayment 
of Gas Revenue Tax and Gas Use Tax depends on when you 
file your Form RG-1-X. If you file this amended return between 
January 1 and June 30 of this year, you may file a claim for 
credit for the amounts you overpaid during the current year and 
previous 36 months. Beginning July 1, you may file a claim for 
the amounts you overpaid during the current year and previous 
30 months. 
Note: We use the U.S. Postal Service postmark date as the 
filing date of a properly amended return (claim for credit). 
There is no deadline for making an additional payment; 
however, the longer you wait to pay, the more interest and, 
when applicable, penalty you will owe. For more information 
about penalties and interest, see Publication 103, Penalties and 
Interest for Illinois Taxes, which is available on our website at 
tax.illinois.gov.

Note: If an amended return claiming a credit or refund is filed 
within six months of the expiration of the statute of limitations, 
then beginning June 25, 2021, the statute of limitations 
will automatically be extended an additional six months for 
issuing an assessment of additional tax due.

Can I file this return electronically?
Yes, you can use MyTax Illinois at mytaxillinois.gov to 
file your Form RG-1-X. Note: This only applies for reporting 
periods where the original RG-1 was filed electronically.
Also provide any correct information (if applicable). 
Note: If you checked “Other” and you are a party to a civil 
suit, involving the amount claimed, enter the name of the suit 
on the line provided.

What if I have questions?
If you have any questions, write us at the address below or 
call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 217 
782-5906.

Where do I mail Form RG-1-X?
GAS REVENUE TAX 
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 19019							    
SPRINGFIELD IL  62794-9019

Specific Instructions

Step 2:  Figure your therms of gas subject to tax
Line 5 - Enter the total therms of gas from sales. 
Line 8a - Include only the non-deductible therms of gas on 
which the tax on a per-therm basis is less than the tax on a 
receipts basis.
Line 8b - Include all non-deductible therms of gas.

Step 3:  Figure your tax due
Line 12 - If you are a supplier and file a return and pay 
the amount due by the due date, you are allowed a cost of 
collection discount for Gas Use Tax. Multiply the amount of 
Gas Use Tax included in Line 10b by 1.75 percent (.0175) 
and enter the results on Line 12. All others enter “0.”

Line 14 - If you pay on a quarter-monthly basis and have 
overpaid your tax, do not file a claim with us. We will approve 
a credit for any amount you have overpaid.

Line 19 – Enter the total amount that you have paid. This 
figure includes the amount you paid with your original return, 
any subsequent amended return(s), and any tax you paid 
on any assessment for this liability period. This figure does 
not include any quarter-monthly payments you have made. 
Quarter-monthly payments should be reported on Line 14 of 
this return. Do not include any penalty and interest you 
paid on any assessment. You must reduce the total amount 
you have paid by the amount of any credit or refund of tax 
you have received for this liability period. Do not include any 
interest you received on the credit or refund.

Line 20 – Amount you overpaid.
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Line 21 – Pay this amount with your return and make your 
check payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue.” We will 
bill you for penalties and interest.

Step 4:  Check the reason you are filing this 
amended return
Check the best description of why you are completing Form 
RG-1-X. 

Self-assessors Only
Step 1:  Figure your receipts subject to tax
Line 1 - “Receipts” is the amount you were billed for gas 
delivered, supplied, or furnished to you. Enter the total of 
your bill(s) to calculate Gas Use Tax using the receipt basis. 
Include only the purchases where the tax on the purchase 
price is less than the tax on the per therm basis.

Line 2a, b, c & 3 - Self-assessors have no deductions - Enter 
“0”.

Step 2:  Figure your therms subject to tax
Line 5 - Enter the total therms of gas delivered to you. Include 
only the therms where the tax on the per therms basis is less 
than the tax on purchase price using the receipt basis.

Line 6a, b, c & 7 - Self-assessors have no deductions - Enter 
“0”.

Step 3:  Figure your tax due
Line 12 - Self-assessors have no collection discount. Enter 
“0”.

Line 14 - If you pay on a quarter-monthly basis and have 
overpaid your tax, do not file a claim with us. We will approve 
a credit for any amount you have overpaid.

Line 19 – Enter the total amount that you have paid. This 
figure includes the amount you paid with your original return, 
any subsequent amended return(s), and any tax you paid 
on any assessment for this liability period. This figure does 
not include any quarter-monthly payments you have made. 
Quarter-monthly payments should be reported on Line 14 of 
this return. Do not include any penalty and interest you 
paid on any assessment. You must reduce the total amount 
you have paid by the amount of any credit or refund of tax 
you have received for this liability period. Do not include any 
interest you received on the credit or refund.

Line 20 – Amount you overpaid.

Line 21 – Pay this amount with your return and make your 
check payable to “Illinois Department of Revenue.” We will 
bill you for penalties and interest.

Step 4:  Check the reason you are filing this amended 
return
Check the best description of why you are completing 		
Form RG-1-X.  Note: If you checked “Other” and you are a 
party to a civil suit, involving the amount claimed, enter the 
name of the suit on the line provided.

Step 5: Sign below
An owner, partner, or officer of the corporation, or other 
person who is authorized to file this return must sign the 
return. Be sure to include a daytime telephone number where 
we can reach you if we have questions.

Penalty and Interest Information
If, on this amended return, you are increasing the amount of 
the Gas Revenue Tax or Gas Use Tax due, we will bill you for 
any additional penalty and interest that we calculate is due.
If, on this amended return, you are reducing the amount of the 
Gas Revenue Tax or Gas Use Tax due, we will recalculate any 
penalty and interest that is due and include the recomputed 
amounts in determining the amount you have overpaid.

You owe a late-filing penalty if you do not file a processable 
return by the due date, a late-payment penalty if you do not 
pay the amount you owe by the original due date of the return 
or were required to make quarter-monthly payments and 
failed to do so, a bad check penalty if your remittance is not 
honored by your financial institution, and a cost of collection 
fee if you do not pay the amount you owe within 30 days 
of the date printed on a notice or bill. For more information, 
see Publication 103, Penalties and Interest for Illinois Taxes, 
available on our website at tax.illinois.gov. 
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